Claim Objections
Claims 2-10 and 13-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4, line 2, “tapered segment” should read --a tapered segment--.
Claims 2-10, 13-15 and 17-20 “wherein” should read --,wherein--.
Claim 14, “the each” should read --each--.
Claim 16, line 9, “a length from” should read --a length--.
Claim 16, last line, “the footprint” should read --a footprint--.
Claim 16, line 13, “the top” should read --a top--.Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a torque strut” in last line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Because “a torque strut” is earlier recited in the claim. Therefore this limitation should read --the torque strut--.
Claims 2-10 are rejected due to dependency on rejected claim 1.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “a frustrum” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Because “a frustrum” is earlier recited in claim 3, to which claim 8 depends on. Therefore “a frustrum” in claim 8 should read --the frustrum--.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “a torque strut” in last two lines. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Because “a torque strut” is earlier recited in the claim. Therefore this limitation should read --the torque strut--.
Claims 12-15 are rejected due to dependency on rejected claim 11.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “the notch” in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Because “notch” is not earlier introduced. For the purpose of this examination “the notch” is interpreted to be --a notch--.
Claims 17-20 are rejected due to dependency on rejected claim 16.
Claims 4, 5, 6 and 9 recite “the X direction” and “the Y direction”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations. Claim 1 recites “X axis” and “Y axis” and it is not clear if applicant intended to claim --the X axis” and --the Y axis--.
Claim 8 recites “a frustrum having a length in the direction”. It is not clear which direction or axis is claimed. For the purpose of this examination and based on Figs. of the invention this limitation is interpreted to be --the X axis--.
Claim 16 recites “the X direction” and “the Y direction”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations. Claim 16 earlier recites “an X axis” and “a Y axis” and it is not clear if applicant intended to claim --the X axis” and --the Y axis--.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “a torque strut” in line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Because “a torque strut” is earlier recited in the claim. Therefore this limitation should read --the torque strut--.
Claim 17 recites the limitation “a torque strut” in line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Because “a torque strut” is earlier recited in claim 16. Therefore this limitation should read --the torque strut--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Guardline (GB 2032385 A).
Claim 1 recites an apparatus that is used for supporting torque struts of an aircraft. More limiting the features and relationship between the aircraft and the lift and support apparatus mount to mere components associated with the intended use of the recited apparatus. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (anticipation rejection affirmed based on Board’s factual finding that the reference dispenser (a spout disclosed as useful for purposes such as dispensing oil from an oil can) would be capable of dispensing popcorn in the manner set forth in appellant’s claim 1 (a dispensing top for dispensing popcorn in a specified manner)) and cases cited therein. See also MPEP § 2112 - MPEP § 2112.02. Thus, the prior art only needs to teach the recited components of the apparatus. Guardline teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) an apparatus having an X axis and a Y axis perpendicular thereto that is capable of intended use of supporting a torque strut of an aircraft for installation and removal (this depends of size and weight and material of the aircraft), the apparatus comprising: a mobile platform defining an XY plane and a vertical Z direction perpendicular thereto, the platform having a generally isosceles triangular shape with two equal isosceles sides and a notched side with a notch for accommodating an operator therein (this is intended use of the device and an operator can enter into the notch for moving the apparatus or maintaining it) and connecting the two isosceles sides, the two isosceles sides convergently having an included angle ranging from 40 degrees to 70 degrees (Fig. 3 shows angle a is approximately 70 degrees) and diverging as the notched side is approached; and a jack (single acting cylinder 15) disposed on the platform; the jack is capable of vertically raising and lowering objects including an aircraft’s torque strut; and at least one cradle (cradle comprises curved plates 12 and arms 7) disposed on the jack; the cradle is capable of receiving certain size objects thereon including a torque strut.
Regarding claim 2, Guardline teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the platform has an isosceles frustro-triangular shape (see thickness t).
Regarding claim 3, Guardline teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the two isosceles sides converge proximate a frustrum having a respective castor (caster 3) and comprising spaced apart two casters (casters 2) oppositely disposed proximate the notched side of the platform.
Regarding claim 4, Guardline teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) each isosceles side comprises tapered segment and a respective parallel segment connected thereto at a vertex, the parallel segment being parallel the Y direction and intercepting the notched side and the tapered segment extending from the frustrum to the vertex, whereby the platform comprises two tapered segments which converge as the frustrum is approached and two spaced apart parallel segments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guardline in view of Rich et al. (US 9139214 B2) hereinafter Rich.
Regarding claim 10, the notch is straight similar to the first embodiment of the invention shown in Fig. 3A and is not convergently tapered towards the frustrum as shown in second embodiment of the invention (Fig. 3B).
Rich teaches a lift device with convergently tapered outriggers “to accommodate different types and/or sizes of loads or items to be raised, lowered and/or moved” (see par. 26).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to make outrigger/notch of Rich adjustable. Doing so would make it capable of accommodating different types and/or sizes of loads or items to be raised, lowered and/or moved.
Claims 5-9, 11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guardline.
Regarding claims 5-7 and 9, Guardline is silent regarding size of the notch, notched side and parallel segment.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to change overall size of the lifting apparatus based on type and weight of the workpiece/load, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is general recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 8, Guardline teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the platform has an isosceles frustro-triangular shape (see thickness t) with a frustrum; but is silent regarding size of the frustrum.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to change overall size of the lifting apparatus based on type and weight of the workpiece/load, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is general recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 11 recites an apparatus that is used for supporting torque struts of an aircraft. More limiting the features and relationship between the aircraft and the lift and support apparatus mount to mere components associated with the intended use of the recited apparatus. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (anticipation rejection affirmed based on Board’s factual finding that the reference dispenser (a spout disclosed as useful for purposes such as dispensing oil from an oil can) would be capable of dispensing popcorn in the manner set forth in appellant’s claim 1 (a dispensing top for dispensing popcorn in a specified manner)) and cases cited therein. See also MPEP § 2112 - MPEP § 2112.02. Thus, the prior art only needs to teach the recited components of the apparatus. Guardline teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) an apparatus having an X axis and a Y axis perpendicular thereto that is capable of intended use of supporting a torque strut of an aircraft for installation and removal (this depends of size and weight and material of the aircraft), the apparatus comprising: a mobile platform defining an XY plane and a vertical Z direction perpendicular thereto, the platform having a generally isosceles triangular shape with two equal isosceles sides convergently defining a frustrum therebetween and an opposed notched side divergently connecting the two isosceles sides, the frustrum having an included angle (Fig. 3 shows angle a is approximately 70 degrees), the isosceles sides each having a respective segment (parallel segment) parallel to the Y axis and intercepting the notched side of the platform and a respective tapered segment connected to the parallel segment at a vertex and extending therefrom to the frustrum;a jack (single acting cylinder 15) capable of vertically raising and lowering objects including an aircraft’s torque strut; and two spaced apart cradles (cradle comprises two spaced apart curved plates 12 and two spaced apart arms 7) disposed on the jack; the cradle is capable of receiving certain size objects thereon including a torque strut.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to change overall size of the lifting apparatus including frustrum angle based on type and weight of the workpiece/load, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is general recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 15, Guardline teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the jack is a bottle jack (bottle jack with single acting cylinder 15 and piston rod 16).
Claims 12-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guardline in view of Betcher et al. (US 5605207 A) hereinafter Betcher.
Regarding claims 12-14, cradles of Guardline is connected to only one bottle jack and the cradles are not independently adjustable in the Z direction and are not connected to the top of the stage.
Betcher teaches a support and lifting apparatus with two independently adjustable cradles in the Z direction connected to the top of the stage (par. 11: “The cradle assemblies 74 and 76 can then be independently raised using the bottle jack assemblies 92 and 94 to a raised position”); each of the two spaced apart cradles is threaded and held in place with a respective jam nut (jam nut is inside the bottle jack engaging with external threads of threaded shaft 102) against the platform.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to use two bottle jacks for independently raising or lowering the cradles of Guardline. Doing so would make it possible to support the load in a tilted position as well as flat position.
Claim 16 recites an apparatus that is used for supporting torque struts of an aircraft. More limiting the features and relationship between the aircraft and the lift and support apparatus mount to mere components associated with the intended use of the recited apparatus. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (anticipation rejection affirmed based on Board’s factual finding that the reference dispenser (a spout disclosed as useful for purposes such as dispensing oil from an oil can) would be capable of dispensing popcorn in the manner set forth in appellant’s claim 1 (a dispensing top for dispensing popcorn in a specified manner)) and cases cited therein. See also MPEP § 2112 - MPEP § 2112.02. Thus, the prior art only needs to teach the recited components of the apparatus. Guardline teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) an apparatus having an X axis and a Y axis perpendicular thereto that is capable of intended use of supporting a torque strut of an aircraft for installation and removal (this depends of size and weight and material of the aircraft), the apparatus comprising: a frustro-triangular mobile platform defining an XY plane and a vertical Z direction perpendicular thereto, the platform having a generally isosceles triangular shape with two equal isosceles sides and a notched side connecting the two isosceles sides, a notch (Guardline does not teach the claimed size of the notch) for accommodating an operator therein (this is intended use of the device and an operator can enter into the notch for moving the apparatus or maintaining it), the two isosceles sides forming an included angle ranging from 40 degrees to 70 degrees (Fig. 3 shows angle a is approximately 70 degrees); and one jack (single acting cylinder 15) disposed on the platform; the jack is capable of vertically raising and lowering objects including an aircraft’s torque strut; and at least one cradle (cradle comprises curved plates 12 and arms 7) disposed on the jack; the cradle is capable of receiving certain size objects thereon including a torque strut.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to change overall size of the lifting apparatus based on type and weight of the workpiece/load, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is general recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Betcher teaches a support and lifting apparatus with two independently adjustable jacks independently operable to raise and lower an object (par. 11: “The cradle assemblies 74 and 76 can then be independently raised using the bottle jack assemblies 92 and 94 to a raised position”); the two spaced apart jacks comprise mutually identical manually actuated bottle jacks.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to use two bottle jacks for independently raising or lowering the cradles of Guardline. Doing so would make it possible to support the load in a tilted position as well as flat position.
Regarding claims 17-18, Betcher teaches the two independently adjustable jacks independently operable to raise and lower an object (par. 11: “The cradle assemblies 74 and 76 can then be independently raised using the bottle jack assemblies 92 and 94 to a raised position”); the two spaced apart jacks comprise mutually identical manually actuated bottle jacks.
Regarding claims 19-20, Betcher is silent regarding load capacity and extended size of the jacks.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to change overall size and capacity of the lifting apparatus based on type and weight of the workpiece/load, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is general recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Peters et al. (US 3850441 A) is a hand truck with isosceles triangular shape platform, two casters (11, 12) on base leg of the triangle and one caster (30) on the apex of the triangle.
Krug (US 20130299757 A1) teaches a lawn mower lift with isosceles triangular shape platform (equal side legs 13 and base 17).
MAHDI H. NEJAD
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/MAHDI H NEJAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723