DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 01/08/2025 has been entered and considered by Examiner. Claims 1 - 20 are presented for examination. This Action is made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-8, 14-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US Pub. 20240104642 A1) in view of Cidon (US Pub. 20190104035 A1).
Re claim 1, Kang discloses a device, comprising: a processing system including a processor (Fig. 2) [0009, 0074]; and
a memory (220) that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processing system, facilitate performance of operations (Fig. 2) [0074, 0145], the operations comprising:
implementing a protocol stack in a network element that provides access to a network offering metaverse services (Figs. 5-7, setting up a collection of communication rules and software inside a network device that connects users or systems to a metaverse-enabled network) [0054, 0065, 0078, 0085];
wherein the protocol stack comprises communication protocols for managing access to the network [0065, 0078, 0085], and
metaverse protocols for tracking network resource usage associated with the metaverse services and for conducting transactions related to recording the network resource usage (Figs. 5 and 7, the protocol includes normal network access rules plus special metaverse rules that measure how much network capacity is used and handle related usage-recording transactions) [0056, 0088, 0121-122];
recording, in the network element, usage of a network resource owned by a mobile network operator using metaverse smart tokens defined in the metaverse protocols of the protocol stack (Figs. 5 and 7, the network device keeps track of how much of the operator’s network asset/resource is used, and represents that usage using metaverse-based digital tokens) [0056, 0088, 0121-122];
procedures performed by the network element are associated with cost items that quantify a value of the network resource (each action carried out by the network device is linked to a measurable cost that represents the value of the network resources consumed) [0099-101, 0121-124]
and
the metaverse smart tokens comprise smart contracts to record the usage based on the procedures performed by the network element (the digital tokens include automated contract logic that records network usage according to the actions taken by the network device) [0099-101, 0121-124], and
providing payment for the usage using the metaverse smart tokens (payment for the network resource usage is made using those same metaverse digital tokens) [0099-101, 0121-124].
But Kang doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the mobile network operator shares the network resource in the network with other network resources shared by a plurality of mobile network operators;
Cidon discloses wherein the mobile network operator shares the network resource in a network with other network resources shared by a plurality of mobile network operators (Fig. 1, the wireless company shares this resource with others in a network where many companies also share their resources) [0197, 0239, 0281],
Since, all are analogous arts addressing billing and payment used in a virtual/digital environment in a mobile system; Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kang with Cidon to ensure different network operators to assign network assets/resources, thus, improving asset/resource allocation for the serviced network.
Re claim 14, Kang discloses a non-transitory, machine-readable medium (Fig. 2) [0074, 0145], comprising executable instructions that, when executed by a processing system including a processor, facilitate performance of operations (Fig. 2) [0009, 0074], the operations comprising:
recording usage of a network resource owned by a mobile network operator using metaverse smart tokens defined in metaverse protocols, (Figs. 5 and 7, the protocol includes normal network access rules plus special metaverse rules that measure how much network capacity is used and handle related usage-recording transactions) [0056, 0088, 0121-122],
procedures performed by the network element are associated with cost items that quantify a value of the network resource (each action carried out by the network device is linked to a measurable cost that represents the value of the network resources consumed) [0099-101, 0121-124]
and
the metaverse smart tokens comprise smart contracts to record the usage based on the procedures performed by the network element (the digital tokens include automated contract logic that records network usage according to the actions taken by the network device) [0099-101, 0121-124], and
providing payment for the usage responsive to the recording of the usage of the network resource (payment for the network resource usage is made using those same metaverse digital tokens) [0099-101, 0121-124].
But Kang doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the mobile network operator shares the network resource in a network with other network resources shared by a plurality of mobile network operators to support virtual/digital services,
However, Cidon discloses wherein the mobile network operator shares the network resource in a network with other network resources shared by a plurality of mobile network operators to support digital services (the company shares its resource in a bigger shared network, where other companies share too, and this setup is used for virtual/digital activities) [0197, 0239, 0281],
Since, all are analogous arts addressing billing and payment used in a virtual/digital environment in a mobile system; Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kang with Cidon to ensure different network operators to assign network assets/resources, thus, improving asset/resource allocation for the serviced network.
Re claim 20, Kang discloses a method, comprising:
recording, by a processing system including a processor, usage of a network resource of a mobile network operator using metaverse smart tokens defined in metaverse protocols (Figs. 5 and 7, the protocol includes normal network access rules plus special metaverse rules that measure how much network capacity is used and handle related usage-recording transactions) [0056, 0088, 0121-122],
procedures performed by the network element are associated with cost items that quantify a value of the network resource (each action carried out by the network device is linked to a measurable cost that represents the value of the network resources consumed) [0099-101, 0121-124], and
the metaverse smart tokens comprise smart contracts to record the usage based on the procedures performed by the network element (the digital tokens include automated contract logic that records network usage according to the actions taken by the network device) [0099-101, 0121-124], and
receiving, by the processing system, payment for the usage from a user of the network resource (payment for the network resource usage is made using those same metaverse digital tokens) [0099-101, 0121-124].
But Kang doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the mobile network operator shares the network resource in a network to support metaverse services, wherein the network includes other network resources shared by a plurality of mobile network operators,
However, Cidon discloses wherein the mobile network operator shares the network resource in a network to support metaverse services, wherein the network includes other network resources shared by a plurality of mobile network operators (Fig. 1, the network is a shared one, where many companies contribute resources) [0197, 0239, 0281],
Since, all are analogous arts addressing billing and payment used in a virtual/digital environment in a mobile system; Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kang with Cidon to ensure different network operators to assign network assets/resources, thus, improving asset/resource allocation for the serviced network.
Re claim 2, Kang, as modified by Cidon, Cidon further discloses the procedures performed by the network element comprise registration, frequency band usage, and bandwidth usage (a network node performs configuration/setup for network usages, tracking usage statistics, which include support for premium or residual frequency bandwidth) [0285, 0277, 0125-126]. See motivation to combine the references from the above.
Re claim 3, Kang, as modified by Cidon, discloses smart contracts comprise code to transfer ownership of the metaverse smart tokens to the mobile network operator. [0136-138].
Re claim 4, Kang, as modified by Cidon, Cidon further discloses the network resource comprises a radio frequency spectrum [0125-126, 0232, 0249-251]. See motivation to combine the references from the above.
Re claim 5, Kang, as modified by Cidon, Cidon further discloses the network resource includes radio access networking equipment [0103-104]. See motivation to combine the references from the above.
Re claim 6, Kang, as modified by Cidon, Cidon further discloses the network element includes user equipment [0072, 0104]. See motivation to combine the references from the above.
Re claim 7, Kang, as modified by Cidon, Cidon further discloses the network element includes an anchor node [0101-104]. See motivation to combine the references from the above.
Re claim 8, Kang, as modified by Cidon, Cidon further discloses the network element comprises a gateway [0279, 0282]. See motivation to combine the references from the above.
Re claim 15, Kang, as modified by Cidon, discloses the operations further comprise implementing, in the network element, a protocol stack comprising communication protocols for the network and the metaverse protocols that facilitate the recording of the usage and the providing of the payment (Figs. 5-7, setting up a collection of communication rules and software inside a network device that connects users or systems to a metaverse-enabled network for recording usage for payment) [0054, 0065, 0078, 0085].
Re claim 16, Kang, as modified by Cidon, Cidon further discloses the network resource comprises a radio frequency spectrum, and the network element comprises radio access networking equipment, user equipment, an anchor node, a gateway, or a combination thereof [0103-104]. See motivation to combine the references from the above.
Claims 9-13 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US Pub. 20240104642 A1) in view of Cidon (US Pub. 20190104035 A1) in further view of Dalmia et al. (US Pub. 20230241514 A1).
Re claim 9, Kang, as modified by Cidon, discloses all limitations this claim depended on.
But Kang, as modified by Cidon, doesn’t explicitly disclose the following limitation taught by Dalmia.
Dalmia discloses the usage is measured by metaverse entropy (step 1456 tracking limit in metaverse gaming) [0201, 0340].
Since, all are analogous arts addressing billing and payment used in a virtual/digital environment in a mobile system; Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kang, Cidon with Dalmia to ensure different virtual environments can be properly track for data/service usage, thus, improving accuracy of billing for the mobile network.
Re claim 10, Kang as modified by Cidon and Dalmia, Dalmia further discloses the payment is made by a virtual coin [0284, 0058-60]. See motivation to combine the references from the above.
Re claim 11, Kang as modified by Cidon and Dalmia, Dalmia further a user of the network incurs the usage of the network resource while receiving the metaverse services [0112-114, 0189, 0083]. See motivation to combine the references from the above.
Re claim 12, Kang as modified by Cidon and Dalmia, Cidon further discloses an identity of the user is associated with the usage [0080, 0282]. See motivation to combine the references from the above.
Re claim 13, Kang as modified by Cidon and Dalmia, Cidon further discloses the processing system comprises a plurality of processors operating in a distributed computing environment (Fig. 1) [0075]. See motivation to combine the references from the above.
Re claim 17, Kang, as modified by Cidon, discloses all limitations this claim depended on.
But Kang, as modified by Cidon, doesn’t explicitly disclose the following limitation taught by Dalmia.
Dalmia discloses the operations further comprise measuring the usage by metaverse entropy (step 1456 tracking limit in metaverse gaming) [0201, 0340]. Since, all are analogous arts addressing billing and payment used in a virtual/digital environment in a mobile system; Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kang, Cidon with Dalmia to ensure different virtual environments can be properly track for data/service usage, thus, improving accuracy of billing for the mobile network.
Re claim 18, Kang as modified by Cidon and Dalmia, Dalmia further discloses the payment is made by a virtual coin [0284, 0058-60]. See motivation to combine the references from the above.
Re claim 19, Kang as modified by Cidon and Dalmia, Dalmia further discloses a user of the network incurs the usage of the network resource while receiving the metaverse services [0112-114, 0189, 0083]. See motivation to combine the references from the above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to all the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
In view of amendment, a new reference has been used for new ground of rejections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiries
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Armouche, Hadi can be reached on 571-270-3618. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/PAKEE FANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409