DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 13, 21, 65, 66, and 110-125 are pending.
Claims 13, 21, 66, 110, and 123-125 have been amended by Applicant.
Claims 13, 21, 65, 66, and 110-125 are currently under examination.
This Office Action contains New Rejections.
Claim Interpretation of “Kras G12D specific inhibitor” and cell “growth”
Pending claims recite a Kras G12D “specific” inhibitor. The instant specification does not explicitly disclose “Kras G12D specific inhibitor” or “specific inhibitor”. However, the instant specification uses cellular IC50 (half-maximal inhibitor concentration) as a measure of the ability of an inhibitor to reduce Kras activity (Figure 6B). Because the instant specification does not provide an explicit definition of “Kras G12D specific inhibitor” or “specific inhibitor”, a recited “Kras G12D specific inhibitor” is interpreted (in view of the instant specification) to include any inhibitor that exhibits a cellular IC50 against Kras G12D that is lower than that of the IC50 of said inhibitor against wild-type Kras or any other Kras mutant. See “The words of a claim must be given their “plain meaning” unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification” at MPEP 2111.01.
Pending claims further recite “growth” of cells. The instant specification equates cell “growth” with cell “proliferation” (see “…and examining the effect of different concentrations of an inhibitor on reducing cell growth (e.g., inhibiting proliferation of cancer cells….” at [00122] on page 24; see Example 5 (entitled “Cell Proliferation Assay”) of the instant specification as disclosing a single assay, the CellTiter-Glo assay (which is used to quantify numbers of viable cells) as being disclosed as being “used to assess growth” of cells, in particular).
Rejections Maintained
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 13, 65, 66, and 110-121 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Aay et al (US 2022/0105185 A1; 4/7/2022).
Aay et al teaches a method of treating Kras-G12D expressing cancer cells in a subject comprising contacting the cells with effective amounts of compounds that inhibit Kras-G12D by administering the compounds to the subject ([0326]-[0328] and claim 112, in particular). Aay et al further teaches said method wherein the cells are pancreatic cancer cells, colorectal cancer cells, or NSCLC cells ([0327]-[0328] and claims 114-117, in particular). Aay et al further teaches said method comprising further administering to the subject one or more additional inhibitor selected from a group comprising an inhibitor of SOS1, SHP2, EGFR, MEK, CDK4/6, PI3Ka, or a combination thereof ([0330] and claim 120, in particular). Aay et al further teaches said method wherein the additional inhibitor may be afatinib ([0426], in particular). Aay et al further teaches said method wherein compounds that inhibit Kras-G12D are administered in the same formulation (“unitary pharmaceutical composition”) as the additional inhibitor ([0395], in particular). Aay et al further teaches said method wherein the administered dosage of the additional inhibitor is reduced from standard dosages when administered alone ([0394], same as “sub-therapeutic amount”, in particular). Aay et al further teaches the compounds that inhibit Kras-G12D include those that inhibit Kras-G12D inhibit KRAS signaling (Fig. 13, in particular). Aay et al further teaches compounds that inhibit Kras-G12D include those that are selective for Kras-G12D over other Ras mutants or over wild-type ([0320], in particular). Aay et al further teaches compounds that inhibit Kras-G12D include those that exhibit greater potency with respect to KRAS-G12D “than what is known in the art” ([0321], in particular). Aay et al further teaches compounds that inhibit Kras-G12D include those that exhibit a greater decrease in cell viability with respect to KRAS-G12D “than what is known in the art” ([0322], in particular). Aay et al further teaches Kras-G12D inhibitor Compound A as an inhibitor of Kras-G12D that selectively inhibits Kras G12D-exprssing tumor cell proliferation/growth with a lower IC50 as compared to the IC50 of the inhibitor with control cells that comprise a Kras mutant protein other than Kras G12D (compare KRASG12D inhibition with KRASG13D inhibition at Fig 3, in particular). Aay et al further teaches Kras-G12D inhibitor Compound A as non-nucleic acid molecule that selectively inhibits Kras G12D activity relative to wildtype Kras with an IC50 that is at least 5x lower than that of the IC value against wildtype Kras ([0007] and Fig. 6B, in particular). Fig. 6B:
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Although Aay et al does not specifically teach (i) administering the Kras-G12D inhibitors in combination with inhibitors of SOS1, SHP2, EGFR, MEK, CDK4/6, and/or PI3Ka results in reduced Ras signaling output of cancer cells of the subject or an increase in steady state level of GDP-bound Ras protein, or (ii) Kras G12D inhibitor of Aay et al inhibits growth of Kras G12D-driven tumor cells by at least 20-fold as compared to control cells that comprise some other Kras mutant protein other than Kras G12D, the claimed method appears to be the same as the prior art, absent a showing of unobvious differences. The office does not have the facilities and resources to provide the factual evidence needed in order to establish that the method of the prior art does not possess the same material, structural and steps-like characteristics of the claimed method. In the absence of evidence to the contrary, the burden is on Applicant to prove that the claimed method is different from that taught by the prior art and to establish patentable differences. See In re Best 562F .2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977) and Ex parte Gray 10 USPQ 2nd 1992 (PTO Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1989).
Further, one would have been motivated with an expectation of success to treat Kras-G12D expressing cancer cells of any cancer type disclosed by Aay et al in a subject comprising administering any compounds that inhibit Kras-G12D of Aaya et al (including Compound A; including those that exhibit greater potency with respect to KRAS-G12D “than what is known in the art” ([0321], in particular); including those that exhibit a greater decrease in cell viability with respect to KRAS-G12D “than what is known in the art” ([0322], in particular)) to the subject in combination with any doses of inhibitors of SOS1, SHP2, EGFR, MEK, CDK4/6, and/or PI3Ka because Aay et al teaches methods of treating Kras-G12D expressing cancer cells in a subject comprising administering compounds that inhibit Kras-G12D to the subject in combination with inhibitors of SOS1, SHP2, EGFR, MEK, CDK4/6, and/or PI3Ka. This is an example of some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. See MPEP 2143.
Response to Arguments
In the Reply of 7/24/26, Applicant cites [0107] of Aay et al and states Ras inhibitors of Aay et al inhibit a variety of Ras proteins or Ras proteins other than Kras, including N-Ras and H-Ras. Applicant further states inhibitors of Kras of Aay et al target multiple Kras mutants and are therefore not selectively against Kras G12D. Applicant argues Aay does not teach or suggest a Kras selective inhibitor, let a lone a Kras G12D specific inhibitor. Applicant further argues Aay et al does not suggest to specifically inhibit Kras G12D activity relative to other Kras mutants in combination with at least one inhibitor of SOS, SHP2, or EGFR to yield deep inhibition of the specific cancer cell types recited in instant claim 13. Applicant further suggest that teachings of Aay would sway the skilled person away from the claimed invention and in favor of using a promiscuous pan-Ras inhibitor capable of simultaneously targeting multiple Ras isoforms and various mutants altogether. Applicant further cites Examples 12, 13, 14 and Figures 1-8 of the instant application as showing deep inhibition of NSCLC cells, pancreatic cancer cells, colorectal cancer cells, gastric cancer cells, and endometrial cancer cells achieved using a combination of a Kras G12D specific inhibitor with an inhibitor of SOS, SHP2, or EGFR that could not have been predicted from the teachings of Aay, alone or in combination with any other references cited in the 4/24/26 Office Action. Applicant further argues Aay does not teach Kras G12D specific inhibition as a way of targeting recited cancers. Applicant further argues Aay does not teach any Kras G12D specific inhibitor or a Kras G12D specific inhibitor that selectively inhibits growth of Kras G12D-driven tumor cells as recited by claim 13. Applicant further argues Aay does not teach or provide motivation to make any, and certainly not all, specific solutions required to arrive at the claimed invention, namely (1) a Kras G12D specific inhibitor, (2) a SOS, SHP2, or EGFR inhibitor, and (3) NSCLC, pancreatic cancer, colorectal cancer, gastric cancer, or endometrial cancer.
The amendments to the claims and the arguments found in the Reply of 7/24/26 have been carefully considered, but are not deemed persuasive. The examiner acknowledges Aay et al teaches Ras inhibitors inhibit a variety of Ras proteins or Ras proteins other than Kras, including N-Ras and H-Ras. The examiner further acknowledges inhibitors of Kras of Aay et al include those that target multiple Kras mutants and that are not selectively against Kras G12D.
In regards to the argument that Aay does not teach or suggest a Kras selective (or specific) inhibitor or a Kras G12D selective (or specific) inhibitor encompassed by claim 13, the examiner disagrees. As stated above, pending claims recite a Kras G12D “specific” inhibitor. The instant specification does not explicitly disclose “Kras G12D specific inhibitor” or “specific inhibitor”. However, the instant specification uses cellular IC50 (half-maximal inhibitor concentration) as a measure of the ability of an inhibitor to reduce Kras activity (Figure 6B). Because the instant specification does not provide an explicit definition of “Kras G12D specific inhibitor” or “specific inhibitor”, a recited “Kras G12D specific inhibitor” is interpreted (in view of the instant specification) to include any inhibitor that exhibits a cellular IC50 against Kras G12D that is lower than that of the IC50 of said inhibitor against wild-type Kras or any other Kras mutant. Compound A of Aay et al is such a Kras G12D specific inhibitor. Aay et al teaches Kras-G12D inhibitor Compound A as an inhibitor of Kras-G12D that selectively inhibits Kras G12D-exprssing tumor cell proliferation/growth with a lower IC50 as compared to the IC50 of the inhibitor with control cells that comprise a Kras mutant protein other than Kras G12D (compare KRASG12D inhibition with KRASG13D inhibition at Fig 3, in particular). Aay et al further teaches compounds that inhibit Kras-G12D include those that are selective for Kras-G12D over other Ras mutants or over wild-type ([0320], in particular). Aay et al further teaches compounds that inhibit Kras-G12D include those that exhibit greater potency with respect to KRAS-G12D “than what is known in the art” ([0321], in particular). Aay et al further teaches compounds that inhibit Kras-G12D include those that exhibit a greater decrease in cell viability with respect to KRAS-G12D “than what is known in the art” ([0322], in particular).
In regard to the arguments that Aay et al does not suggest to specifically inhibit Kras G12D activity relative to other Kras mutants in combination with at least one inhibitor of SOS, SHP2, or EGFR to yield deep inhibition of the specific cancer cell types recited in instant claim 13, Aay does not teach Kras G12D specific inhibition as a way of targeting recited cancers, and Aay does not teach or provide motivation to make any, and certainly not all, specific solutions required to arrive at the claimed invention, namely (1) a Kras G12D specific inhibitor, (2) a SOS, SHP2, or EGFR inhibitor, and (3) NSCLC, pancreatic cancer, colorectal cancer, gastric cancer, or endometrial cancer: Aay et al teaches a method of treating Kras-G12D expressing cancer cells in a subject comprising contacting the cells with effective amounts of compounds that inhibit Kras-G12D of Aay et al by administering the compounds to the subject ([0326]-[0328] and claim 112, in particular). Aay et al further teaches said method wherein the cells are pancreatic cancer cells, colorectal cancer cells, or NSCLC cells ([0327]-[0328] and claims 114-117, in particular). Aay et al further teaches said method comprising further administering to the subject one or more additional inhibitor selected from a group comprising an inhibitor of SOS1, SHP2, EGFR, MEK, CDK4/6, PI3Ka, or a combination thereof ([0330] and claim 120, in particular). Further, one would have been motivated with an expectation of success to treat Kras-G12D expressing cancer cells of any cancer type disclosed by Aay et al in a subject comprising administering any compounds that inhibit Kras-G12D of Aaya et al (including Compound A; including those that exhibit greater potency with respect to KRAS-G12D “than what is known in the art” ([0321], in particular); including those that exhibit a greater decrease in cell viability with respect to KRAS-G12D “than what is known in the art” ([0322], in particular)) to the subject in combination with inhibitors of SOS1, SHP2, EGFR, MEK, CDK4/6, and/or PI3Ka because Aay et al teaches methods of treating Kras-G12D expressing cancer cells in a subject comprising administering compounds that inhibit Kras-G12D to the subject in combination with inhibitors of SOS1, SHP2, EGFR, MEK, CDK4/6, and/or PI3Ka. This is an example of some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. See MPEP 2143.
In regards to the argument teachings of Aay would sway the skilled person away from the claimed invention and in favor of using a promiscuous pan-Ras inhibitor capable of simultaneously targeting multiple Ras isoforms and various mutants altogether, the examiner disagrees. Aay does not “teach away” from the claimed method, as Aay does not criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage use of a Kras G12D specific inhibitor.
In regards to the citation of Examples 12, 13, 14 and Figures 1-8 of the instant application as showing deep inhibition of NSCLC cells, pancreatic cancer cells, colorectal cancer cells, gastric cancer cells, and endometrial cancer cells achieved using a combination of a Kras G12D specific inhibitor with an inhibitor of SOS, SHP2, or EGFR that could not have been predicted from the teachings of Aay, alone or in combination with any other references cited in the 4/24/26 Office Action, the "objective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support." In the instant case, results disclosed by Examples 12, 13, 14 and Figures 1-8 are limited to using instant compounds A, B, and C as G12D specific inhibitors and the claims are not so limited. Therefore, evidence only using instant compounds A, B, and C as G12D specific inhibitors is not commensurate in scope with claims using just any G12D specific inhibitor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13, 21, 65, 66, and 110-125 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aay et al (US 2022/0105185 A1; 4/7/2022) as applied to claims 13, 65, 66, and 110-121 above, and further in view of Wang et al (Cell Death and Disease, 2018, 9(739): 1-11).
Teachings of Aay et al are discussed above.
Aay et al does not specifically teach a method wherein the subject of Aay et al that has colorectal cancer and is administered a combination of the Kras-G12D inhibitor and the PI3K inhibitor of Aay et al wherein the subject further has a PI3k (same as “PIK3CA”) genetic mutation. However, these deficiencies are made up in the teachings of Wang et al.
Wang et al teaches PI3K is one of the most mutated genes in colorectal cancer (right column on page 1, in particular). Wang et al teaches PI3K mutation induced PI3K/Akt activation contributes to colorectal cancer stem cell survival and proliferation (Abstract, in particular).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, with a reasonable expectation of success, to perform the method of Aya et al wherein the subject has colorectal cancer with a PI3K mutation and is administered a combination of the Kras-G12D inhibitor and PI3K inhibitor as the additional inhibitor(s) of Aay et al because in an effort to inhibit PI3K mutation induced PI3K/Akt activation because Wang et al teaches PI3K mutation induced PI3K/Akt activation contributes to colorectal cancer stem cell survival and proliferation. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, absent unexpected results.
Response to Arguments
In the Reply of 7/24/26, Applicant repeats arguments addressed above.
New Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13, 65, 66, 110, 116-118, and 120-121 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Grolmusz et al (WO 2020/212895 A1; 10/22/20) in view of McFall et al (Sci Signal, 2019, 12 (eaaw8288): 1-14).
Grolmusz et al teaches antiproliferative Kras G12D inhibitors “molecule 501” and “molecule 601”, wherein the antiproliferative inhibitors exhibit significantly decreased IC15 and IC25 values in Kras G12D cancer cells as compared to wild-type Kras cells (page 4, in particular). Grolmusz et al further teaches the Kras G12D inhibitors function as “molecular glue” which connect the Kras G12D mutant proteins to GAP molecules (page 3, in particular) to facilitate inactivation of the Ras by hydrolyzing GTP to GDP and terminating Ras signaling of the Ras (pages 2-3 and Figure 3, in particular).
Grolmusz et al does not specifically teach a method comprising contacting colorectal cancer cells with a Kras G12D inhibitor in combination with an EGFR inhibitor, such as cetuximab. However, these deficiencies are made up in the teachings of McFall et al.
McFall et al teaches constitutively active Ras mutants are active in an EGFR-independent manner and are known to cause resistance to EGFR inhibitors (Figure 1A, in particular). McFall et al teaches G12D, G12V, and G13D are the three most common Kras mutations in colon cancer (Figure 1 legend, in particular). McFall et al further teaches cells with G12D Kras exhibit constitutively increased amounts of active RasGTP, which is consistent with G12D Kras being constitutively active (left column on page 3, in particular). McFall et al further teaches Kras G12D promotes resistance to the EGFR inhibitor cetuximab (paragraph spanning columns on page 3, in particular). Figure 1A of McFall:
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, with a reasonable expectation of success, to therapeutically treat a patient with colorectal cancer cells exhibiting insensitivity to an EGFR inhibitor (such as cetuximab) due to a G12D Kras mutation by performing a combined method comprising administering a formulation comprising (i) a Kras G12D specific inhibitor to the patient, such as a Kras G12D specific inhibitor of Grolmusz et al that functions as a “molecular glue” which connects the Kras G12D mutant proteins to GAP molecules to facilitate inactivation of the Ras by hydrolyzing GTP to GDP and terminating Ras signaling of the Ras in combination with (ii) the EGFR inhibitor resulting in inhibition of cancer cell proliferation/growth because McFall et al identifies Kras G12D as being a constitutively active Ras mutant and teaches constitutively active Ras mutants are active in an EGFR-independent manner and are known to cause resistance to EGFR inhibitors and inhibition of Kras G12D would prevent the constative activity of the Ras mutant from promoting cancer cell proliferation in the absence of EGFR activity. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, with a reasonable expectation of success, to perform the combined method wherein the Kras G12D inhibitor is extremely specific (and only inhibits Kras G12D) in order to minimize off-target interactions.
Further, a Kras G12D specific inhibitor of Grolmusz et al that functions as a “molecular glue” which connects the Kras G12D mutant proteins to GAP molecules to facilitate inactivation of the Ras by hydrolyzing GTP to GDP would predictably increase the stead state level of GDP-bound Ras protein due to connection of the Kras G12D mutant proteins to GAP where GAP would hydrolyze any RAS-GTP.
This is an example of some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. See MPEP 2143. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, absent unexpected results.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13, 65, 66, 111, 113, 114, 116-118, and 120-121 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grolmusz et al (WO 2020/212895 A1; 10/22/20) in view of McFall et al (Sci Signal, 2019, 12 (eaaw8288): 1-14) as applied to claims 13, 65, 66, 110, 116-118, and 120-121 above, and further in view of Lu et al (Mol Cancer Ther, 2019, 18(7): 1323-1334).
Teachings of Grolmusz et al and McFall et al are discussed above.
Grolmusz et al and McFall et al do not specifically teach administering doses, such as sub-therapeutic doses, of an SHP2 inhibitor. However, these deficiencies are made up in the teachings of Lu et al.
Lu et al teaches administering a combination of SHP2 and MEK inhibitors results in enhanced antiproliferative activity in KRAS-mutant cells (left column on page 1324, in particular).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, with a reasonable expectation of success, to perform the combined method wherein subtherapeutic doses of SHP2 and MEK inhibitors are further administered to the patient where the SHP2 and MEK inhibitors result in enhanced antiproliferative activity due to any remaining KRAS activity that is not inhibited by the Kras G12D specific inhibitor of the combined method because Lu et al teaches administering a combination of SHP2 and MEK inhibitors results in enhanced antiproliferative activity in KRAS-mutant cells (left column on page 1324, in particular). This is an example of some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. See MPEP 2143. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, absent unexpected results.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13, 65, 66, 110-113, and 116-121 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grolmusz et al (WO 2020/212895 A1; 10/22/20) in view of McFall et al (Sci Signal, 2019, 12 (eaaw8288): 1-14) as applied to claims 13, 65, 66, 110, 116-118, and 120-121 above, and further in view of Hillig et al (PNAS, 2019, 116(7): 2551-2560).
Teachings of Grolmusz et al and McFall et al are discussed above.
Grolmusz et al and McFall et al do not specifically teach administering doses, such as sub-therapeutic doses, of an SOS inhibitor. However, these deficiencies are made up in the teachings of Hillig et al.
Hillig et al teaches SOS1 inhibitors inhibit cell proliferation by blocking KRAS-SOS1 complex (left column on page 1324, in particular).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, with a reasonable expectation of success, to perform the combined method wherein subtherapeutic doses of SOS1 inhibitors are further administered to the patient in order to further inhibit proliferation of cancer cells of the patient, including wherein the patient is KRASwt/G12D heterozygous where the SOS1 inhibitors result in enhanced antiproliferative activity because Hillig et al teaches SOS1 inhibitors inhibit cell proliferation by blocking KRAS-SOS1 complex (left column on page 1324, in particular). This is an example of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results and an example of some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. See MPEP 2143. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, absent unexpected results.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13, 21, 65, 66, 110, 116-118, and 120-125 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grolmusz et al (WO 2020/212895 A1; 10/22/20) in view of McFall et al (Sci Signal, 2019, 12 (eaaw8288): 1-14) as applied to claims 13, 65, 66, 110, 116-118, and 120-121 above, and further in view of Wang et al (Cell Death and Disease, 2018, 9(739): 1-11).
Teachings of Grolmusz et al and McFall et al are discussed above.
Grolmusz et al and McFall et al do not specifically teach a method wherein the patient that has colorectal cancer has a genetic aberration in the PI3K gene and is administered a PI3K inhibitor. However, these deficiencies are made up in the teachings of Wang et al.
Wang et al teaches PI3K is one of the most mutated genes in colorectal cancer (right column on page 1, in particular). Wang et al teaches PI3K mutation induced PI3K/Akt activation contributes to colorectal cancer stem cell survival and proliferation (Abstract, in particular).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, with a reasonable expectation of success, to perform the combined method of Grolmusz et al and McFall et al wherein the patient has colorectal cancer with a PI3K mutation and is additionally administered a PI3K inhibitor in a formulation with the Kras G12D specific inhibitor and EGFR inhibitor of the combined method in an effort to inhibit PI3K mutation induced PI3K/Akt activation because Wang et al teaches PI3K mutation induced PI3K/Akt activation contributes to colorectal cancer stem cell survival and proliferation. This is an example of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results and an example of some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. See MPEP 2143. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, absent unexpected results.
Conclusion
/SEAN E AEDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1642