DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment, filed 02/05/2026, has been entered and carefully considered. Claims 1, 3, 9, 10, 15, and 16 are amended. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/05/2026have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, applicant argued that the combination of Agarwal and Zeine do not teach or suggest “an action frame defined by a wireless communication protocol", nor "providing power to the station via signaling defined by the wireless communication protocol".
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Zeine discloses paragraphs 0072-0074, the wireless power transmission system provides wireless power delivery parameters to the existing RF communication interface 610 of electronic device 600. The existing RF communication interface 610 provides the wireless power delivery parameters to the RF power interface 620 of the electronic device which, in turn, processes the wireless power delivery parameters. The wireless power delivery parameters can include, among other information, receive power information, code information and beacon timing information. The beacon timing information can be determined from a beacon schedule information, e.g., Beacon Beat Schedule (BBS). Once configured, the timing interface 630 generates and sends the beacon notifications to the RF power interface 620 in accordance with the beacon timing information. Optionally, the timing interface 630 can also generate and send power reception notifications to the RF communication interface 610 in accordance with the power schedule information. The power reception notifications direct the RF communication interface 610 to anticipate reception of wireless power from the wireless power transmission system during an upcoming power cycle. Paragraphs 0026, 0039, 0066, 0068, 0076, 0079, FIG. 6, the electronic device 600 includes an existing radio frequency (RF) communication interface 610 that is configured to transmit and receive communications over one or more antennas via a data communications protocol. the RF power interface 620 is coupled to the RF communication interface and configured to receive and process the wireless power delivery parameters, direct antenna 622 to transmit beacon signals to a wireless power transmission system responsive to beacon notifications from the timing interface and to process directed (or retrodirective) wireless power received.
Examiner recommend to disclose the type of message that station sends to the access point as disclosed in specification in Fig. 5a, in block 504, if the current power condition is ‘PowerBelowThreshold,’ station 234 wakes up its radio interface in block 506 and sends a ‘batteryPowerNotification PDU’ message to its access point 202, which the access point 202 receives in block 304 of FIG. 3. The access point 202 responds to the ‘batteryPowerNotification PDU’ according to blocks 306, 308, 310 in FIG. 3A. If the power condition is ‘PowerAboveThreshold,’ in block 514, station 234 sends a ‘notice’ of this condition to its access point, and in block 516, readjusts the TWT with its access point 202. The readjustment restores the TWT to the original period, removing the ‘battery preservation mode’ operation. Station 234 operates with its full-charge communication parameters, e.g., two simultaneous radio links and 1024 QAM are resumed (US PG PUB 2024/0015660 A1, paragraphs 0039-0041).
Thus, rejection of claim 1 is maintained under 35 U.S.C. 103. Similar arguments are applied to claims 1, 9 and 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agarwal et al. (Patent number 6,108,316) in view of Zeine et al. (US 2016/0359380 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 9 and 15, Agarwal discloses a system/ a method/ a non-transitory computer readable medium for managing battery power of a station in a wireless network, the system/ the method/ the non-transitory computer readable medium comprising: at least one station configured to connect to the wireless network; and at least one access point configured to connect to the wireless network; wherein the at least one access point is configured to (Fig. 2, discloses a mobile station comprises a processor, transmitter and receiver to perform the necessary functions, Fig. 3-4 discloses a base station comprises a processor, transmitter and receiver to perform the necessary functions):
receive a message from the at least one station operating in a power savings mode, the message indicating that the battery power at the at least one station has fallen below a threshold and that the at least one station can receive power over the wireless network (Parag. (13-14) description, a base station, within the system, receives battery power level information and other setup information from mobile terminals operating within the service area of the base station during call setup procedures. Based on the battery power level information and other setup information, the base station adapts scheduling priorities for the mobile terminals to expedite wireless transmissions from those mobile terminals reporting low battery power levels) wherein the at least one station, in response to the battery power having fallen below the threshold, wakes up a radio interface of the at least one station to send the message (Parag. (8, 13-14) description, method begins by receiving at the base station a signal from a mobile station that its battery power is below a threshold value. In response to this, the base station changes a mobile transmission schedule to cause transmission of messages from the mobile station to occur before transmission of messages from other stations. The base station then transmits the schedule to the mobile stations. By advancing the scheduled transmission of messages from a mobile station whose battery power is low).
Agarwal does not explicitly disclose the mechanism of transmit, in response to the message, an action frame defined by a wireless communication protocol to the at least one station indicating a channel and parameters for the at least one station to receive power over the wireless network; and provide power to the at least one station via signaling defined by the wireless communication protocol over the wireless network according to the action frame.
In an analogous art, Zeine discloses transmit, in response to the message, an action frame defined by a wireless communication protocol to the at least one station indicating a channel and parameters for the at least one station to receive power over the wireless network; and provide power to the at least one station via signaling defined by the wireless communication protocol over the wireless network according to the action frame (Paragraphs 0072-0074 disclose the wireless power transmission system provides wireless power delivery parameters to the existing RF communication interface 610 of electronic device 600. The existing RF communication interface 610 provides the wireless power delivery parameters to the RF power interface 620 of the electronic device which, in turn, processes the wireless power delivery parameters. The wireless power delivery parameters can include, among other information, receive power information, code information and beacon timing information. The beacon timing information can be determined from a beacon schedule information, e.g., Beacon Beat Schedule (BBS). Once configured, the timing interface 630 generates and sends the beacon notifications to the RF power interface 620 in accordance with the beacon timing information. Optionally, the timing interface 630 can also generate and send power reception notifications to the RF communication interface 610 in accordance with the power schedule information. The power reception notifications direct the RF communication interface 610 to anticipate reception of wireless power from the wireless power transmission system during an upcoming power cycle. Paragraphs 0026, 0039, 0066, 0068, 0076, 0079, FIG. 6, the electronic device 600 includes an existing radio frequency (RF) communication interface 610 that is configured to transmit and receive communications over one or more antennas via a data communications protocol. the RF power interface 620 is coupled to the RF communication interface and configured to receive and process the wireless power delivery parameters, direct antenna 622 to transmit beacon signals to a wireless power transmission system responsive to beacon notifications from the timing interface and to process directed (or retrodirective) wireless power received).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Zeine to the system of Agarwal to provide Techniques are described herein for leveraging these existing components of electronic devices with wireless or internet connectivity to reduce cost, size and complexity of electronic devices while enabling wireless power transfer. The techniques described herein can also be utilized to new low cost dual-function devices that utilize one or more of the same components for both wireless connectively and wireless power transfer (Abstract, Zeine).
Regarding claim 2, Agarwal discloses wherein providing power to the station includes an access point wirelessly coupled to the station and providing the power (Paragraphs 0027-0029 discloses The power receiver clients 102a-102n and/or the wireless power transmission systems 101a-101n are configured to operate in a multipath wireless power delivery environment. That is, the power receiver clients 102a-102n and the wireless power transmission systems 101a-101n are configured to utilize reflective objects 106 such as, for example, walls or other RF reflective obstructions within range to transmit beacon (or calibration) signals and/or receive wireless power and/or data within the wireless power delivery environment).
Claims 3-4, 10-11 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agarwal et al. (Patent number 6,108,316) in view of Zeine et al. (US 2016/0359380 A1) and further in view of Koc et al. (US 9609565 B2).
Regarding claims 3, 10, 16, AGARWAL wherein providing power to the station comprises sending a message to another access point wirelessly coupled to the station to provide power to the station, wherein the message includes a channel and a basic service set id of the another access point.
Zeine discloses Wireless network as disclosed above in independent claims (Paragraphs 0026, 0039, 0066, 0068, 0076, 0079, FIG. 6, the electronic device 600 includes an existing radio frequency (RF) communication interface 610 that is configured to transmit and receive communications over one or more antennas via a data communications protocol. the RF power interface 620 is coupled to the RF communication interface and configured to receive and process the wireless power delivery parameters, direct antenna 622 to transmit beacon signals to a wireless power transmission system responsive to beacon notifications from the timing interface and to process directed (or retrodirective) wireless power received).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Zeine to the system of Agarwal to provide Techniques are described herein for leveraging these existing components of electronic devices with wireless or internet connectivity to reduce cost, size and complexity of electronic devices while enabling wireless power transfer. The techniques described herein can also be utilized to new low cost dual-function devices that utilize one or more of the same components for both wireless connectively and wireless power transfer (Abstract, Zeine).
Agarwal and Zeine do not explicitly disclose wherein providing power to the station comprises sending a message via the wireless network to another access point wirelessly coupled to the station to provide power to the station, wherein the message includes a channel and a basic service set id of another access point
In an analogous art, Koc discloses wherein providing power to the station comprises sending a message via the wireless network to another access point wirelessly coupled to the station to provide power to the station, wherein the message includes a channel and a basic service set id of another access point (Parag. (13-17) discloses a user equipment (UE) for initiating offloading from a cellular network to a WiFi network, the cellular network connecting through an evolved NodeB (eNB), the WiFi network connecting through a Wireless Local Area Network (WLAN), the method comprising: sending a Power Preference Indication (PPI) message to the eNB to indicate that the UE has a low power; receiving from the eNB an offload instruction for triggering the UE to offload to a single WLAN specified in the offload instruction, wherein the offload instruction includes a command to offload and a basic service set identification (BSSID) of the single WLAN and wherein the UE has not established a previous connection with the single WLAN prior to receiving the offload instruction; scanning for the single WLAN specified in the offload instruction and associated with the received BSSID and refraining from scanning for other WLANs; and connecting to the single WLAN associated with the received BSSID by communicating an offload initiation instruction)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Koc to the modified system of Agarwal and Zeine to provide a technique that allows the UE to indicate its power saving needs to the cellular network. In response, the cellular network can lower (or raise) a particular threshold, so that the UE now exceeds (or no longer exceeds) the threshold, and initiates offloading (Abstract, Koc).
Regarding claims 4, 11, 17, Agarwal and Zeine do not explicitly disclose wherein the message indicates that the station associate a link of the another access point to obtain power from the another access point.
In an analogous art, Koc discloses wherein the message indicates that the station associate a link of the another access point to obtain power from the another access point (Parag. (13-17) discloses a user equipment (UE) for initiating offloading from a cellular network to a WiFi network, the cellular network connecting through an evolved NodeB (eNB), the WiFi network connecting through a Wireless Local Area Network (WLAN), the method comprising: sending a Power Preference Indication (PPI) message to the eNB to indicate that the UE has a low power; receiving from the eNB an offload instruction for triggering the UE to offload to a single WLAN specified in the offload instruction, wherein the offload instruction (link) includes a command to offload and a basic service set identification (BSSID) of the single WLAN and wherein the UE has not established a previous connection with the single WLAN prior to receiving the offload instruction; scanning for the single WLAN specified in the offload instruction and associated with the received BSSID and refraining from scanning for other WLANs; and connecting to the single WLAN associated with the received BSSID by communicating an offload initiation instruction)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Koc to the modified system of Agarwal and Zeine to provide a technique that allows the UE to indicate its power saving needs to the cellular network. In response, the cellular network can lower (or raise) a particular threshold, so that the UE now exceeds (or no longer exceeds) the threshold, and initiates offloading (Abstract, Koc).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8, 12-14 and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Chen et al. (US 2010/0061284 A1) discloses FIG. 7 illustrates an example of multi-carrier sleep mode operation of a mobile station using wakeup indication method. The mobile station supports four RF carriers, one primary carrier and three secondary carriers with logic indexes #1, #2, and #3 respectively. As illustrated in FIG. 7, the mobiles station receives wakeup indication messages from the serving base station on its primary carrier during each of the listening windows. The wakeup indication message may be in the form of a bitmap, with each bit representing whether an associated RF carrier needs to be awakened in the upcoming listing window (Abstract).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROMANI OHRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413