DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 11-19 and 21-28 in the reply filed on 06/16/2025 is acknowledged.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a dispersion device… for” in claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The specification as originally filed does did not disclose “wherein the pump is configured to propel the first group of nanofibers through the passage such that the first group of nanofibers impacts and rebounds from the impact surface”. The nanofibers rebounding after impaction is not within the originally filed specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11, 13 and 26-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipate by US 8,118,170 (Sato).
Regarding claim 11 and 26 the Sato reference discloses a system for isolating individual nanoparticles within a gaseous medium, the system comprising: a housing configured to contain a first group of nanofibers having a first dimension, the first group of nanofibers comprise entangled shortcut nanoparticles (figure 3, object 21); a pump coupled to the housing (figure 3 both “pump”s); and a passage coupled to the pump and terminating at an impact surface (figure 3, objects 28 and 29). The pump has a flow rate selected to propel the first group of nanofibers into the impact surface at a sufficient velocity to convert the first group of nanofibers into a second group of nanofibers having a second dimension smaller than the first dimension is the method of using the apparatus which the Sato reference is capable of performing (column 2 lines 20-38 and column 5, lines 40-51). To note the current claim is an apparatus claim. As currently claimed there are no limitations the delineate the claimed structure from the structure of Sato. The MPEP 2144II. states "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
For claim 13 the Sato reference discloses a source of compressed air (this is being interpreted as a source that would allow for air flow as this is an apparatus claim, therefore “He” in figure 3 meets this limitation); and a passage coupling the source of compressed air to the pump (figure 3, object 24, 27 and 32).
For claims 27 and 28, the Sato reference discloses the passage comprises a junction and therein the surface is at the junction and the junction is substantially T-shaped junction (see arrows on the below).
For claim 29, the Sato reference discloses a system for generating nanoparticles with a gaseous medium, comprising: a housing containing a first group of nanofibers having a first dimension (figure 3, object 21) a pump fluidly coupled to the housing, (figure 3, object 25) a passage coupled to the pump and terminating at an impact surface (figure 3, objects 28 and 29); and wherein the pump is configured to propel the first group of nanofibers through the passage such that the first group of nanofibers impacts and rebounds from the impact surface and is converted into a second group of nanofibers having a second dimension smaller than the first dimension (paragraphs [0040] and [0041]).
Claims 30 and 31 recite the method of using the pump. To note the current claim is an apparatus claim. As currently claimed there are no limitations the delineate the claimed structure from the structure of Sato. The MPEP 2144II. states "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato.
For claims 12 and 25, the Sato reference does not disclose the velocity is about 500 feet/minute (fpm) to about 10,000 fpm and the velocity is about 2,000 fpm to about 6,000 fpm. The reference does disclose the velocity is equal to or less than sonic velocity (~67,000 fpm) which overlaps with the claimed range. Sato recognizes that the velocity of which the impactor is a result effective variable as “classification of small nanoparticles becomes easier as the gas velocity increases”. See Sato column 4 lines 31-36).
Therefore it would have been oblivious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the Sato reference to include the velocity is about 500 feet/minute (fpm) to about 10,000 fpm and the velocity is about 2,000 fpm to about 6,000 fpm (Sato column 4, lines 31-36) so as to easily classify small nano particles. Further the courts have held that in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato as applied in claim 13 above and further in view of US 2016/0312676 (Youssef et al.).
For 14, the Sato reference discloses a use of low pressure and using a vacuum pump “or the like” to adjust the pressure of the classifying chamber (column 4, lines 20-29 and figure 3 “pump”s). The reference does not disclose the pump comprises an eductor configured to generate a negative pressure to draw the first group of nanofibers from the housing and through the first passage.
The Youssef et al. reference discloses the use of eductors over vacuum pumps to guarantee negative pressure (paragraph [0276]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Sato reference to include the use of eductors over vacuum pumps (Youssef et al. paragraph [0276]) to guarantee negative pressure. When replacing the vacuum pumps of Sato with the eductors of Yousseff et al. this would generate a negative pressure to draw the first gorup of nanofibers from the housing and through the first passage.
Claim(s) 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato and Youssef et al. as applied in claim 14 above and further in view of US 10,201,836 (Jikihara et al.).
For claim 15, the Sato reference does not disclose a reactor having an internal chamber coupled to the passage; wherein the reactor is configured to separate the second group of nanofibers into individual nanoparticles having a third dimension smaller than the second dimension.
The Jikihara et al. reference discloses a reactor having an internal chamber coupled to the passage (figure 1, objects 36 and 18); wherein the reactor is configured to separate individual nanoparticles from a groups of nanofibers (figure 1, object 10 and column 2, lines 21-25).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Sato reference to include a reactor having an internal chamber coupled to the passage (Jikihara et al. figure 1, objects 36 and 18); wherein the reactor is configured to separate individual nanoparticles from a groups of nanofibers (Jikihara et al. figure 1, object 10 and column 2, lines 21-25) to provide additional classifying means with classification accuracy. The combination of Sato and Jikihara would result in a structure which is configured to separate the second group of nanofibers into individual particles having a third dimension smaller than the second dimension.
For claim 16, the Jikihara et al. reference discloses the internal chamber of the reactor comprises one or more inlets coupled to the passage (figure 1, object 36), and wherein the pump (suction blower column 7, lines 13-15) is configured to propel the second group of nanofibers through the inlets with a velocity vector that creates a vortex within the reactor (column 7, lines 13-46).
For claim 17, the Jikihara et al. reference discloses the internal chamber includes a substantially central tube and the velocity vector includes a direction that it transverse to a longitudinal axis of the tube and wherein the central tube comprises a substantially cylindrical outer surface with an upper opening (figure 1, object 20), wherein the second group of nanofibers are propelled in the vortex around the outer surface of the central tube (column 7, lines 13-46).
For claim 18, the Jikihara et al. reference discloses the internal chamber comprises one or more outlets at an opposite end of the internal chamber from the one or more inlets (figure 1, object 39), the system further comprising a source of energy coupled to the outlets and configured to apply a negative pressure to the chamber to draw the groups of nanofibers through the outlets (Suction blower column 76, lines 13-15, figure 1, objects 39 and 20).
For claim 19, a dispersion device fluidly coupled to an outlet of the central tube for dispersing the individual nanoparticles (Figure 1, object 30 which is fluidly connected to the outlet of the central tube 20).
Claim(s) 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato as applied in claim 11 above and further in view of US 2003/0047076 (Liu).
For claims 21-23, the Sato reference does not disclose the housing comprises a separator configured to mechanically convert macro clusters of nanofibers into the first group of nanofibers, comprising a hopper for feeding the macro cluster of nanofibers into the separator at a specified rate, a housing and a plurality of blades rotatably mounted within the housing, wherein the blades are configured to mechanically convert the macro clusters of nanofibers into the first group of nanoparticles.
The Liu reference discloses a separator configured to mechanically convert macro clusters of nanofibers into the first group of nanofibers (figure 2 Stages 16 and 18), comprising a hopper for feeding the macro cluster of nanofibers into the separator at a specified rate (figure 2, object 22), wherein the separator comprises a housing and a plurality of blades rotatably mounted within the housing, wherein the blades are configured to mechanically convert the macro clusters of nanofibers into the first group of nanoparticles (figure 2 objects 16, 18, 40 and 70).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Sato reference to include a separator configured to mechanically convert macro clusters of nanofibers into the first group of nanofibers (Liu figure 2 Stages 16 and 18), comprising a hopper for feeding the macro cluster of nanofibers into the separator at a specified rate (Liu figure 2, object 22), wherein the separator comprises a housing and a plurality of blades rotatably mounted within the housing, wherein the blades are configured to mechanically convert the macro clusters of nanofibers into the first group of nanoparticles (Liu figure 2 objects 16, 18, 40 and 70).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 24 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: while it is known within the prior art that blades have pitch and camber, the prior art does not demonstrate a first blade having a different pitch and camber than the second blade and reasoning to combine with the other claim limitations.
Double Patenting
Claims 11-16 and 29-31 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 21 and 23-27 of copending Application No. 18/297,247 (‘247). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claims 11 and 29-31 of the instant application corresponds to claim 21 (‘247).
Claim 12 of the instant application corresponds to claim 23 (‘247).
Claim 13 of the instant application corresponds to claim 24 (‘247).
Claim 14 of the instant application corresponds to claim 25 (‘247).
Claim 15 of the instant application corresponds to claim 26 (‘247).
Claim 16 of the instant application corresponds to claim 27 (‘247).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/31/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant contends the interpretation that claim 19 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f). Specifically the applicant states that the “dispersion device is not recited in isolation. Rather, it is recited as a physical component of the claimed system, is fluidly coupled to a specific structural element of the system, namely the outlet of the central tube, and performs a recognized dispersing operation within the nanoparticle processing system.”.
This is not found to be persuasive and is further evidenced by the applicant’s representatives contentions. Specifically it is stated that the device is fluidly coupled to the specific structural element of the system and performs a specific operation. There is no evidence that shows that this device is defined by anything other than its claimed function. It is unclear how merely stating the device being coupled to the outlet will be able to perform the function of “dispersing the individual nanoparticles”.
For claim 11 the applicant contends that Sato does not disclose “an impact surface and a flow rate selected to propel a first group of nanofibers into the impact surface with sufficient velocity to convert the first group of nanofibers into a second group of nanofibers having a smaller dimension. The claimed impact surface is therefore part of a size-reduction mechanism that generates a smaller group of nanofibers.” It is noted that the applicant also contends that the claim now recites “a passage terminating at an impact surface and a pump configured to propel nanofibers into that impact surface at a velocity sufficient to achieve the claimed invention.”
This is not found to be persuasive. Sato discloses and impact surface figure 3 object 29. Further the remaining arguments pertain to the method of using the apparatus. As currently claimed there are no limitations the delineate the claimed structure from the structure of Sato. The MPEP 2144II. states "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). It is noted that the passage terminating at the impact surface is addressed in the rejection above. Also the “configured to” language is not within claim 11.
For claim 11 the applicant contends that Sata is a size classification apparatus and does not convert a first group of nanofibers having a first dimension into a second group of nanofibers having a smaller dimension.
This is not found persuasive as the apparatus covers what the device is an not what a device does (see above).
The applicant present arguments for newly presented claim 29. These are addressed with the rejection above.
Conclusion
AMBER ROSE ORLANDO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1731
/AMBER R ORLANDO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731