DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 11-19 and 21-28 in the reply filed on 06/16/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a dispersion device… for” in claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11, 13 and 26-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipate by US 8,118,170 (Sato).
Regarding claim 11 and 26 the Sato reference discloses a system for isolating individual nanoparticles within a gaseous medium, the system comprising: a housing configured to contain a first group of nanofibers having a first dimension, the first group of nanofibers comprise entangled shortcut nanoparticles (figure 3, object 21); a pump coupled to the housing (figure 3 both “pump”s); and a passage coupled to the pump and having a surface (figure 3, object 28), wherein the pump is configured to propel the first group of nanofibers into the surface at a sufficient velocity to separate the first group of nanofibers into a second group of nanofibers having a second dimension smaller than the first dimension (column 2 lines 20-38 and column 5, lines 40-51). To note the current claim is an apparatus claim. As currently claimed there is no limitations the delineate the claimed structure from the structure of Sato.
For claim 13 the Sato reference discloses a source of compressed air (this is being interpreted as a source that would allow for air flow as this is an apparatus claim, therefore “He” in figure 3 meets this limitation); and a passage coupling the source of compressed air to the pump (figure 3, object 24, 27 and 32).
For claims 27 and 28, the Sato reference discloses the passage comprises a junction and therein the surface is at the junction and the junction is substantially T-shaped junction (see arrows on the below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato.
For claims 12 and 25, the Sato reference does not disclose the velocity is about 500 feet/minute (fpm) to about 10,000 fpm and the velocity is about 2,000 fpm to about 6,000 fpm. The reference does disclose the velocity is equal to or less than sonic velocity (~67,000 fpm) which overlaps with the claimed range. Sato recognizes that the velocity of which the impactor is a result effective variable as “classification of small nanoparticles becomes easier as the gas velocity increases”. See Sato column 4 lines 31-36).
Therefore it would have been oblivious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the Sato reference to include the velocity is about 500 feet/minute (fpm) to about 10,000 fpm and the velocity is about 2,000 fpm to about 6,000 fpm (Sato column 4, lines 31-36) so as to easily classify small nano particles. Further the courts have held that in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato as applied in claim 13 above and further in view of US 2016/0312676 (Youssef et al.).
For 14, the Sato reference discloses a use of low pressure and using a vacuum pump “or the like” to adjust the pressure of the classifying chamber (column 4, lines 20-29 and figure 3 “pump”s). The reference does not disclose the pump comprises an eductor configured to generate a negative pressure to draw the first group of nanofibers from the housing and through the first passage.
The Youssef et al. reference discloses the use of eductors over vacuum pumps to guarantee negative pressure (paragraph [0276]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Sato reference to include the use of eductors over vacuum pumps (Youssef et al. paragraph [0276]) to guarantee negative pressure. When replacing the vacuum pumps of Sato with the eductors of Yousseff et al. this would generate a negative pressure to draw the first gorup of nanofibers from the housing and through the first passage.
Claim(s) 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato and Youssef et al. as applied in claim 14 above and further in view of US 10,201,836 (Jikihara et al.).
For claim 15, the Sato reference does not disclose a reactor having an internal chamber coupled to the passage; wherein the reactor is configured to separate the second group of nanofibers into individual nanoparticles having a third dimension smaller than the second dimension.
The Jikihara et al. reference discloses a reactor having an internal chamber coupled to the passage (figure 1, objects 36 and 18); wherein the reactor is configured to separate individual nanoparticles from a groups of nanofibers (figure 1, object 10 and column 2, lines 21-25).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Sato reference to include a reactor having an internal chamber coupled to the passage (Jikihara et al. figure 1, objects 36 and 18); wherein the reactor is configured to separate individual nanoparticles from a groups of nanofibers (Jikihara et al. figure 1, object 10 and column 2, lines 21-25) to provide additional classifying means with classification accuracy. The combination of Sato and Jikihara would result in a structure which is configured to separate the second group of nanofibers into individual particles having a third dimension smaller than the second dimension.
For claim 16, the Jikihara et al. reference discloses the internal chamber of the reactor comprises one or more inlets coupled to the passage (figure 1, object 36), and wherein the pump (suction blower column 7, lines 13-15) is configured to propel the second group of nanofibers through the inlets with a velocity vector that creates a vortex within the reactor (column 7, lines 13-46).
For claim 17, the Jikihara et al. reference discloses the internal chamber includes a substantially central tube and the velocity vector includes a direction that it transverse to a longitudinal axis of the tube and wherein the central tube comprises a substantially cylindrical outer surface with an upper opening (figure 1, object 20), wherein the second group of nanofibers are propelled in the vortex around the outer surface of the central tube (column 7, lines 13-46).
For claim 18, the Jikihara et al. reference discloses the internal chamber comprises one or more outlets at an opposite end of the internal chamber from the one or more inlets (figure 1, object 39), the system further comprising a source of energy coupled to the outlets and configured to apply a negative pressure to the chamber to draw the groups of nanofibers through the outlets (Suction blower column 76, lines 13-15, figure 1, objects 39 and 20).
For claim 19, a dispersion device fluidly coupled to an outlet of the central tube for dispersing the individual nanoparticles (Figure 1, object 30 which is fluidly connected to the outlet of the central tube 20).
Claim(s) 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato as applied in claim 11 above and further in view of US 2003/0047076 (Liu).
For claims 21-23, the Sato reference does not disclose the housing comprises a separator configured to mechanically separate macro clusters of nanofibers into the first group of nanofibers.
The Liu reference discloses a separator configured to mechanically separate macro clusters of nanofibers into the first group of nanofibers (figure 2 Stages 16 and 18), comprising a hopper for feeding the macro clusters of nanofibers into the separator at a specified rate (figure 2, object 22), wherein the separator comprises a housing and a plurality of blades rotatably mounted within the housing, wherein the blades are configured to mechanically separate the macro clusters of nanofibers into the smaller clusters of nanoparticles (figure 2 objects 16, 18, 40 and 70).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Sato reference to include a separator configured to mechanically separate macro clusters of nanofibers into the groups of nanofibers (Liu figure 2 Stages 16 and 18), comprising a hopper for feeding the macro clusters of nanoparticles into the separator at a specified rate (Liu figure 2, object 22), wherein the separator comprises a housing and a plurality of blades rotatably mounted within the housing, wherein the blades are configured to mechanically separate the macro clusters of nanoparticles into the smaller clusters of nanoparticles (Liu figure 2 objects 16, 18, 40 and 70).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 24 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: while it is known within the prior art that blades have pitch and camber, the prior art does not demonstrate a first blade having a different pitch and camber than the second blade and reasoning to combine with the other claim limitations.
Double Patenting
Claims 11-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 21 and 23-27 of copending Application No. 18/297,247 (‘247). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claim 11 of the instant application corresponds to claim 21 (‘247).
Claim 12 of the instant application corresponds to claim 23 (‘247).
Claim 13 of the instant application corresponds to claim 24 (‘247).
Claim 14 of the instant application corresponds to claim 25 (‘247).
Claim 15 of the instant application corresponds to claim 26 (‘247).
Claim 16 of the instant application corresponds to claim 27 (‘247).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant contends that Sato does not disclose or suggest any mechanism for reducing the size of nanoparticles, specification stating that “the present claims recite a process of actively reducing the dimension of nanofibers to generate smaller nanoparticles, a feature wholly absent from Sato”.
It is noted that the claimed subject matter is directed towards an apparatus and not a process. Therefore the applicant is arguing that which is note claimed. As shown in the rejection above, the apparatus as claimed is anticipated by Sato. Further it is noted that Sato does in fact disclose classification of particulates by size (column 3, lines 25-38).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
AMBER ROSE ORLANDO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1731
/AMBER R ORLANDO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731