DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the specification contains molecular structures that are small, blurry, and pixelated that obscures the identity of bonds and atom labels. For example, Table 3 contains structures of host molecules that are small and blurry. Organometallic complexes also display small and blurry structures, such as compound DD43, that displays small atom labels, faint bonds, especially in the tert-butyl groups on the phenyl pyridine.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The phrase "tricyclic or higher cyclic fused ring" could possibly be read as "fused cyclic ring structure of 3 rings or more" to enhance clarity. The word "higher" is a relative term that usually modifies a number, but is currently modifying the word "tricyclic." This could lead to confusion in interpreting a cyclic structure "higher" than tricyclic such as whether a fused tricyclic 6 membered ring is "higher" than a fused tricyclic 5 membered ring. For the purposes of examination, the Examiner interprets "tricyclic or higher cyclic fused ring" as "fused cyclic ring structure of 3 rings or more.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (KR2017/0050048, hereinafter "Lee"). Note that a machine-generated English translation is relied upon and provided with this office action.
In the pertinent art of organic light-emitting devices, Lee teaches an organic light-emitting device with an organic layer between the anode and cathode, wherein the organic layer includes an organic polycyclic compound such as the Compound A-08, shown below, featuring a triphenylene group, a phenyl group, a phenyl group, and a heterocycle (Description pg 5-6).
The Compound A-08 of Lee is a compound of the instant formula 1 in instant claim 1 wherein:
Unit A is represented by 2-1 wherein;
n is 0;
Unit B is represented by 3-1 wherein;
m is 1;
X is O and S for compound A and compound B respectively;
Ring C denotes a single ring;
the fused ring is a bicyclic fused ring;
the fused ring is selected from 302.
Lee teaches the claimed invention above but does not expressly teach (i) the triplet energy T1 of unit A being less than the T1 of unit B. It is reasonable to presume that the T1 of unit A being less than the T1 of unit B is inherent to compound A-08 of Lee. Support for said presumption is found in that the triphenylene skeleton has a T1 energy less than the fused rings 301 and 318 based on the information in the instant specification (¶ [0048], Table 1, pg 12). The unit B of compound A-08 is bicyclic and contains a benzoxazole-like structure similar to instant ring 301. Unit B of compound A-08 contains a nitrogen substitution in the benzo-fused ring and is substituted by another phenyl ring which is similar to instant ring 318 in that both contain a 3-ring system and contain multiple nitrogen atoms and at least one oxygen atom. Therefore, the compounds A-08 expected to have the same properties of the claimed invention.
Lee teaches the claimed invention above but does not expressly teach (ii) the highest occupied molecular orbital (HOMO) and lowest unoccupied molecular orbital (LUMO) orbitals responsible for T1 transition are present in the unit A. It is reasonable to presume that the HOMO-LUMO responsible for T1 transition are present in the unit A is inherent to compound A-08 of Lee. Support for said presumption is found in that the instant specification demonstrates exemplary compound A1 contains unit A that has all the HOMO-LUMO orbitals responsible for T1 transition of a host molecule when the unit B is connected to the triphenylene skeleton via two phenylene spacers (¶ [0051]). The exemplary compound A1 has the similar structure as the compound A-08 of Lee and differs only in that the benzo-ring contains an additional nitrogen atom. Therefore, the compound A-08 of Lee are expected to have a unit A wherein the HOMO-LUMO responsible for T1 transition are present.
Therefore, the compound A-08 of Lee teaches claims 1-4.
Regarding instant claim 5-6, Lee teaches an organic light-emitting device Example 1 featuring an anode and a cathode, and disposed between the electrodes is organic emitting layer (130) including the compounds DNTPD, HT-1, compound A-08, Ir(pq)2acac, BAlq, and Alq3 (Figure 100, Description pg 15-16).
Therefore the organic light-emitting device Example 1 of Lee including the compound A-08 and Ir(pq)2acac teaches the organic light-emitting element of instant claim 5 wherein the A-08 is the first organic compound and Ir(Pq)2acac is the phosphorescent organometallic complex.
Regarding claim 7, Ir(pq)2acac is an organometallic complex having a tricyclic or higher cyclic fused ring wherein the fused ring counting is shown below. Note that there does not appear to be limitations on the counting of the ring fusion, and therefore, the ring fusion with Iridium is included.
Regarding instant claims 9-10, the organic light-emitting device Example 1 of Lee contains HT-1 which teaches the third component having a carbazole skeleton of instant claims 9-10.
Regarding instant claims 11, the organic light-emitting device Example 1 of Lee contains BAlq which teaches the third compound having an azine ring in a skeleton.
Claim 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (KR2017/0050048, hereinafter "Lee") as applied to claims 1-7 and 9-11 described above in view of Cao et al (CN104193783B, hereinafter "Cao"). Note that a machine-generated English translation is relied upon and provided with this office action.
Lee teaches the compound A-08 and the organic light-emitting device Example 1 that reads on the instant claims 1-7 and 9-11 as described above. However, Lee fails to teach the organometallic complex wherein the tricyclic fused ring is a benzoisoquinoline ring of instant claim 8.
In the relevant art of organic light-emitting devices, Cao teaches the organometallic iridium complex 1-slicR1 featuring a ligand with a benzoisoquinoline ring attached to a phenyl ring, shown below (claim 2).
1-slicR1 of Cao is similar to Ir(pq)2acac of Lee in that an iridium organometallic complex features a phenyl group attached to a polycyclic nitrogen-containing structure with at least 2 fused rings (Table 1).
Cao teaches that an organic light-emitting device containing an iridium complex 1-slicR1 has a high current density and power efficiency.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute include the Ir(pq)2acac of Lee in the light-emitting device of Lee with the iridium complex 1-slicR1 of Cao, based on the teachings of Cao. The motivation for doing so would have been to obtain a device with a high current density and power efficiency, as taught by Cao (Table 1).
The resulting Modified Device of Lee and Cao reads on instant claim 8 wherein iridium complex 1-slicR1 contains a tricyclic fused ring selected from benzoisoquinoline ring.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (KR2017/0050048, hereinafter "Lee") as applied to claims 1-7 and 9-11 described above in view of Horiuchi et al. (US2013/0037791A1, hereinafter "Horiuchi").
Lee teaches the compound A-08 and the organic light-emitting device Example 1 that reads on the instant claims 1-7 and 9-11 as described above. However, Lee fails to teach the organic light-emitting device containing a third compound having at least xanthone in a skeleton.
In the relevant art of organic light-emitting devices, Horiuchi teaches a xanthone compound A-7 shown below featuring a xanthone core with two phenyl groups substituted at the 1-, 3-, and 5-positions with aryl groups (¶ [0029] – [0033]).
Horiuchi teaches that the xanthone compound A-7 may be used in an organic light-emitting device featuring a phosphorescence-emitting material in order to achieve good emission efficiency and long device lifetime (¶ [0008], [0185]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further include the xanthone compound A-7 of Horiuchi in the light-emitting device of Lee, based on the teachings of Horiuchi. The motivation for doing so would have been to obtain a device with good emission efficiency and long device lifetime, as taught by Horiuchi (¶ [0008], [0185]).
The resulting Modified Device 2 of Lee and Horiuchi reads on instant claim 12.
Claims 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (KR2017/0050048, hereinafter "Lee") as applied to claims 1-7 and 9-11 described above in view of Miyashita et al. (US2020/0403173A1).
Lee teaches the compound A-08 and the organic light-emitting device Example 1 that reads on the instant claims 1-7 and 9-11 as described above. However, Lee fails to teach (1) the device comprising another light-emitting layer wherein the other light-emitting layer emits light of a different color; (2) a display apparatus of instant claim 14; (3) an imaging apparatus of instant claim 15; (4) an electronic equipment of instant claim 16; (5) a lighting apparatus of instant claim 17; (6) a moving body of instant claim 18; and (7) an exposure light source for an electrophotographic image-forming apparatus of instant claim 19.
In the relevant art of organic light-emitting devices, Miyashita teaches fused polycyclic primarily hydrocarbon compounds for use in organic light-emitting devices (¶ [0074] – [0082]). Miyashita teaches that fused polycyclic compounds may be used in organic light emitting elements with a first light emitting layer and second light emitting layer wherein the first light emitting layer contains a first host, third dopant, and first dopant and the second light emitting layer contains a second host and second dopant wherein the second dopant is a blue dopant, the first dopant is a green dopant, and the third dopant is a red dopant (Table 1-3, ¶ [0160] – [0175]). Miyashita teaches that the organic light emitting element structures provide a well-balanced white light emission (¶ [0182]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further include the organic light-emitting device Example 1 of Lee in the light-emitting device of Miyashita, based on the teachings of Miyashita. The motivation for doing so would have been to obtain a device with a well-balanced white light emission as taught by Miyashita (¶ [0182]).
Therefore, given the general formula and teachings of Miyashita, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the organic light-emitting device of Lee because Miyashita teaches the variable may suitably be selected as the light-emitting element of Miyashita. The substitution would have been one preferred element for another and one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art would reasonably expect the predictable result that the modified light-emitting element would be useful as the organic light-emitting device of Miyashita and possess the benefits of a well-balanced white light emission taught by Miyashita (¶ [0182]). See MPEP 2143.I.(B).
Therefore, the Modified Device 3 of Lee and Miyashita would have the device structure of Miyashita with a substitution containing the light-emitting device of Lee containing the compound A-08 and Ir(pq)2acac. The resulting Modified Device 3 contains another light-emitting layer that emits a different color of light that reads on instant claim 13.
Regarding instant claim 14, Miyashita teaches a display apparatus comprising a plurality of pixels wherein at least one of the plurality of pixels includes a transistor connected to the organic light-emitting element that reads on instant claim 14 (pg 42, claim 16).
Regarding instant claim 15, Miyashita teaches an image pickup apparatus comprising an optical unit including a plurality of lenses, an image pickup element configured to receive light that has passed through the optical unit, and a display unit configured to display an image captured by the image pickup element wherein the display unit includes the organic light-emitting element that reads on instant claim 15 (pg 42, claim 17).
Regarding instant claim 16, Miyashita teaches the organic light-emitting element may be included in an electronic device including a display unit, an operation unit, and a housing wherein the housing may include a circuit, a battery, and a communication unit (¶ [147]).
Regarding instant claim 17, Miyashita teaches the organic light-emitting element may be included in an illumination apparatus comprising a light source and a light diffusion unit (pg 43 claim 18).
Regarding instant claim 18, Miyashita teaches the organic light-emitting element may be included in a moving object comprising a light fixture and a body provided with the lighting fixture (pg 43 claim 19).
Regarding instant claim 19, Miyashita teaches the organic light-emitting element may be included as a component of an exposure light source in an electrophotographic image-forming apparatus (¶ [0129]).
Conclusion
/JENNIFER A BOYD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1786
/L.Q.N./Examiner, Art Unit 1786