CTNF 18/297,292 CTNF 74634 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions Applicant's election with without traverse of Group I [without any argument] and with traverse of Embodiment I, Figures 1-6 in the reply filed on 3/15/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that searching both Species I-II would not be burden on the Examiner. This is not found persuasive because searching Species I and II require additional search and/or consideration in other areas, class/subclass. Claims 1-9 and 16-19 will be examined herewith. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 9, 16 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tang et al. [CN212136103 U] . Regarding claims 1 and 4, Tang et al. discloses an inductive device [figures 1-3] comprising: - a core structure comprising: a first end plate [2] located at a first side, and a second end plate [bottom part of 1, figure 3] located at a second side of the core structure opposite the first side; and wherein the first end plate and the second end plate comprise a first portion and a second portion that extend from opposing sides of a third portion, the first portion and the second portion comprising a cross-sectional area that increases from the third portion and towards distal ends of the first portion and second portion; wherein the increasing cross-sectional area of the first portion and the second portion is configured to provide soft saturation properties in response to current [figure 3], wherein the increasing cross-sectional area is in a direction that is substantially parallel to a direction of a magnetic flux which traverses a plane of the first end plate and the second end plate [figure 3]. The core structure of Tang et al. would exhibit the claimed soft saturation response to increase current. Regarding claim 2, Tang et al. further discloses the core structure further comprises: a central core layer [figure 3] disposed between the first end plate and the second end plate, the central core layer comprising: a first core member [side of core 1], a second core member [side of core 1], and a central disc member [4] located between the first core member and the second core member; wherein the central core layer comprises a channel formed between the central disc member and each of the first core member and the second core member [figure 3]. Regarding claim 3, Tang et al. discloses a coil member [3] located between the first end plate and the second end plate, wherein the coil member circumferentially winds around the central disc member between the first end plate and the second end plate [figure 3]. Regarding claims 6-7, Tang et al. discloses the core structure formed of high permeability material such as ferrite or nickel material. Regarding claim 9, Tang et al. discloses the first portion and second portion extend from the third portion by an angle configured to provide the increasing cross-sectional area of the first portion and the second portion [figures 2-3]. Regarding claim 16, Tang et al. discloses an assembly comprising: - an inductive device comprising a core structure, the core structure comprising: a first end plate [2] located at a first side, a second end plate [bottom part of core 1] located at a second side opposite the first side, and one central core layer [figure 3] located between the first end plate and the second end plate, wherein the first end plate and the second end plate comprise a first portion and a second portion that extend from opposing sides of a third portion, the first portion and the second portion comprising a cross-sectional area that increases from the third portion and towards distal ends of the first portion and second portion; and wherein the increasing cross-sectional area of the first portion and the second portion is configured to provide soft saturation properties in response to current [figure 3]; - a coil member [3], wherein the coil member extends through the central core layer from the first side towards the second side [figure 3]. The core structure of Tang et al. would exhibit the claimed soft saturation response to increase current. Regarding claim 18, Tang et al. discloses the core structure formed of high permeability material such as ferrite or nickel. Regarding claim 19, Tang et al. discloses each of the one central core layer further comprises: a first core member[side of core 1], a second core member [side of core 1], and a central disc member [4] located between the first core member and the second core member; wherein the one or more central core layers comprises a channel formed between the central disc member and each of the first core member and the second core member to enable the coil member to circumferentially wind around the central disc member [figure 3] . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 5, 8 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. in view of Lin et al. [US 2017/0287616 A1] . Regarding claims 5 and 17, Tang et al. disclose the instant claimed invention except for an air gap. Lin et al. discloses an inductor including a core structure [100] having air gap structure [G2, G4] arranged between top/bottom plates thereof [figure 2A], wherein the air gap is perpendicular to a plane of top/bottom plates [figure 2A]. Lin et al. further discloses the cross-sectional area from a center portion increase to other portions of the top/bottom plates [figures 2A-2B]. It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include an air gap in Tang et al., as suggested by Lin et al., for the purpose facilitating magnetic saturations. Lin et al. discloses the cross-sectional areas the same where the air gap arranged between the top/bottom plates and the center portion/layer [figures 2A-2B]. Regarding claim 8, both Tang et al. and Lin et al. discloses a dimension of the third portion is configured to determine a saturation initiation point. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TUYEN T NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-1996. The examiner can normally be reached Mon - Fri 8:30-5:30. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Shawki Ismail can be reached at 571-272-3985. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /TUYEN T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/297,292 Page 2 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/297,292 Page 3 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/297,292 Page 4 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/297,292 Page 5 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/297,292 Page 6 Art Unit: 2837