DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/11/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
In response to the non-final office action dated 08/26/2025, applicant has amended claims 1, 4, 6 and 17-20. Claims 1-20 are currently pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LaBosco (US Pub No. 20200275204).
Regarding claim 1, LaBosco teaches a computer-implemented method, comprising: obtaining, by a teleconference computing system comprising one or more computing devices (Fig 1, audio conferencing system 150), a stereo audio output signal (¶ [0046], receive far end audio signal for output from one or more speakers); receiving, by the teleconference computing system, an audio input signal captured at an audio capture device located within a teleconferencing space (Fig 5, acoustic audio signals received by a plurality of microphones 502), wherein at least a portion of the audio input signal comprises audio caused by playback of the stereo audio output signal by a plurality of audio output devices (Fig 5 & ¶ [0269], acoustic audio signals output by speakers and received by mics), wherein both the plurality of audio output devices and a participant of a teleconference are located within the teleconferencing space (Fig 1, combined mics/speakers 108 and people 104); receiving, by the teleconference computing system, position information that is indicative of a position of the participant of the teleconference relative to the plurality of audio output devices (Fig 5 & ¶ [0246], adaptive beamforming circuit receives room image data signal 510 this includes user location data); assigning the position information to a first position cluster (¶ [0246], user location data) of a plurality of position clusters (¶ [0246], user location data of one or more people); and using by the teleconference computing system, the position information and the first position cluster to perform an Acoustic Echo Cancellation (AEC) process to the at least the portion of the audio input signal (Fig 5, noise cancellation performed on output of the adaptive beamforming circuit 512).
Regarding claim 2, LaBosco teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein obtaining the stereo audio output signal based on position information comprises: generating, by the teleconference computing system, the stereo audio output signal based on the position information indicative of the position of the participant of the teleconference relative to the plurality of audio output devices (Fig 5 & ¶ [0268], adaptive beamforming circuit receives room image data signal 510 this includes user location data), wherein both the participant and the plurality of audio output devices are located within the teleconferencing space (Fig 1, combined mics/speakers 108 and people 104); and causing, by the teleconference computing system, playback of the stereo audio output signal at the plurality of audio output devices located within the teleconferencing space (Fig 5, noise reduced beam audio signal transmitted for output 516).
Regarding claim 11, LaBosco teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the teleconference computing system comprises a participant computing device associated with the participant (Fig 7 & ¶ [0168, 0255], user experience can be embodied as a visual display associated with an application or service through which a user interacts with the application or service. This can include mobile devices such as laptops).
Regarding claim 12, LaBosco teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein generating the stereo audio output signal based on the position information comprises: receiving, by the teleconference computing system, a mono audio output signal from a teleconference orchestration entity (Fig 5, acoustic audio signals received by a plurality of microphones 502), wherein the mono audio output signal is generated at a second teleconference computing system associated with a second participant in the teleconference (¶ [0255], user experience can be embodied as a visual display associated with an application or service through which a user interacts with the application or service. Each user could be interacting using their own device); and based on the position information, rendering, by the teleconference computing system, the stereo audio output signal from the mono audio output signal (Fig 5, noise cancellation performed on output of the adaptive beamforming circuit 512).
Regarding claim 13, LaBosco teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 12, wherein, prior to generating the stereo audio output signal, the method comprises obtaining, by the teleconference computing system, the position information indicative of the position of the participant relative to the plurality of audio output devices (Fig 5 & ¶ [0246], adaptive beamforming circuit receives room image data signal 510 this includes user location data).
Regarding claim 14, LaBosco teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 13, wherein obtaining the position information indicative of the position of the participant relative to the plurality of audio output devices further comprises obtaining, by the computing system, second position information indicative of a position of the second participant within a second teleconferencing space different than the teleconferencing space (¶ [0246], user location data of one or more people).
Regarding claim 15, LaBosco teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein obtaining the stereo audio output signal comprises generating, by the teleconference computing system, the stereo audio output signal based on (a) the position information indicative of the position of the participant relative to the plurality of audio output devices (Fig 5 & ¶ [0246], adaptive beamforming circuit receives room image data signal 510 this includes user location data), and (b) a teleconferencing role currently assigned to the participant and/or one or more additional participants of the teleconference (¶ [0266], control can be limited to a specific person (role) allowing them to control various aspects of the AV system including volume adjustment).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LaBosco (US Pub No. 20200275204) as applied to claims above, and further in view of Malik et al (U.S. Patent No. 10540984, hereinafter Malik).
Regarding claim 3, LaBosco teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, processing, by the teleconference computing system based on the position information (¶ [0270], room image data).
LaBosco does not explicitly teach the AEC processing an audio input signal with a linear portion of an AEC module of the teleconference computing system; and with a non-linear portion of the AEC module.
Malik teaches an AEC processing an audio input signal with a linear portion of an AEC module of the teleconference computing system (See Malik Fig 4 & column 6 lines 57-64, linear echo cancellation 195); and with a non-linear portion of the AEC module (See Malik Fig 5 & column 8 lines 20-28, non-linear echo cancellation 510).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the linear and non-linear AEC portions taught by Malik with the method taught by LaBosco. As stated by Malik (column 1 lines 24-41), echo between near-end and far-end devices can render a user’s speech unintelligible therefore there is a need for echo control within these devices. Linear and non-linear AEC processes are well known in the art and implementing the linear and non-linear echo cancellation taught by Malik allows for improved communication clarity, enhanced audio quality, and optimized speech recognition.
Regarding claim 17, LaBosco teaches a teleconference computing system (Fig 2, audio processing system 200), comprising: one or more processors (Fig 2, processor 222); and one or more non-transitory computer-readable media that store instructions (Fig 2, memory 224) that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computing system to perform operations, the operations comprising: obtaining position information (Fig 5 & ¶ [0246], adaptive beamforming circuit receives room image data signal 510 this includes user location data), wherein the position information is indicative of a position of a first participant associated within a teleconferencing space (Fig 5 & ¶ [0246], adaptive beamforming circuit receives room image data signal 510 this includes user location data), and a position of a second participant within a second teleconferencing space (¶ [0246], user location data of one or more people), wherein the first participant is associated with the teleconference computing system and the second participant is associated with a second teleconference computing system (Fig 7 & ¶ [0168, 0255], user experience can be embodied as a visual display associated with an application or service through which a user interacts with the application or service. This can include mobile devices such as laptops); assigning the position information to a first position cluster (¶ [0246], user location data) of a plurality of position clusters (¶ [0246], user location data of one or more people); rendering, from a mono audio output signal from the second teleconference computing system, a stereo audio output signal based on the position information (Fig 5, noise cancellation performed on output of the adaptive beamforming circuit 512); causing playback of the stereo audio output signal at a plurality of audio output devices located within the teleconferencing space (Fig 5 & ¶ [0269], acoustic audio signals output by speakers); receiving an audio input signal captured at an audio capture device located within the teleconferencing space (Fig 5, acoustic audio signals received by a plurality of microphones 502), wherein at least a portion of the audio input signal comprises audio caused by playback of the stereo audio output signal by the plurality of audio output devices (Fig 5 & ¶ [0269], acoustic audio signals output by speakers and received by mics).
LaBosco does not explicitly teach the AEC processing an audio input signal with a linear portion of an AEC module of the teleconference computing system; and with a non-linear portion of the AEC module based on an estimated performance.
Malik teaches an AEC processing an audio input signal with a linear portion of an AEC module (See Malik Fig 4 & column 6 lines 57-64, linear echo cancellation 195); and with a non-linear portion of the AEC module (See Malik Fig 5 & column 8 lines 20-28, non-linear echo cancellation 510) based on an estimated performance (See Malik column 8 lines 20-28, echo estimate).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the linear and non-linear AEC portions taught by Malik with the teleconference computing system taught by LaBosco. As stated by Malik (column 1 lines 24-41), echo between near-end and far-end devices can render a user’s speech unintelligible therefore there is a need for echo control within these devices. Linear and non-linear AEC processes are well known in the art and implementing the linear and non-linear echo cancellation taught by Malik allows for improved communication clarity, enhanced audio quality, and optimized speech recognition.
Regarding claim 20, LaBosco teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable media that store instructions that (Fig 2, memory 224), when executed by one or more processors of a teleconference computing system (Fig 2, processor 222), cause the one or more processors to perform operations, the operations comprising: obtaining a stereo audio output signal (¶ [0046], receive far end audio signal for output from one or more speakers); receiving an audio input signal captured at an audio capture device located within a teleconferencing space (Fig 5, acoustic audio signals received by a plurality of microphones 502), wherein at least a portion of the audio input signal comprises audio caused by playback of the stereo audio output signal by a plurality of audio output devices (Fig 5 & ¶ [0269], acoustic audio signals output by speakers and received by mics), wherein both the plurality of audio output devices and a participant of a teleconference are located within the teleconferencing space (Fig 1, combined mics/speakers 108 and people 104); receiving position information that is indicative of a position of the participant of the teleconference relative to the plurality of audio output devices Fig 5 & ¶ [0246], adaptive beamforming circuit receives room image data signal 510 this includes user location data; assigning the position information to a first position cluster (¶ [0246], user location data) of a plurality of position clusters (¶ [0246], user location data of one or more people).
LaBosco does not explicitly teach the AEC processing an audio input signal with a linear portion of an AEC module of the teleconference computing system; and with a non-linear portion of the AEC module based on an estimated performance.
Malik teaches an AEC processing an audio input signal with a linear portion of an AEC module (See Malik Fig 4 & column 6 lines 57-64, linear echo cancellation 195); and with a non-linear portion of the AEC module (See Malik Fig 5 & column 8 lines 20-28, non-linear echo cancellation 510) based on an estimated performance (See Malik column 8 lines 20-28, echo estimate).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the linear and non-linear AEC portions taught by Malik with the non-transitory computer readable medium taught by LaBosco. As stated by Malik (column 1 lines 24-41), echo between near-end and far-end devices can render a user’s speech unintelligible therefore there is a need for echo control within these devices. Linear and non-linear AEC processes are well known in the art and implementing the linear and non-linear echo cancellation taught by Malik allows for improved communication clarity, enhanced audio quality, and optimized speech recognition.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LaBosco (US Pub No. 20200275204) as applied to claims above, and further in view of Sudo et al (U.S. Pub No. 20120249785, hereinafter Sudo).
Regarding claim 10, LaBosco teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1.
LaBosco does not explicitly teach a machine-learned AEC model trained to perform the AEC process.
Sudo teaches a machine-learned AEC model trained to perform the AEC process (See Sudo Fig 3, echo canceller 27 adaptive filter learning module 2733).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a machine-learned AEC model as taught by Sudo with the method taught by LaBosco. Machine-learned AEC models are well known in the art and provide several advantages such as improved echo removal and adaptable suppression techniques.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LaBosco (US Pub No. 20200275204) as applied to claims above, and further in view of Laitinen et al (U.S. Pub No. 20230084225, hereinafter Laitinen).
Regarding claim 16, LaBosco teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein obtaining the stereo audio output signal comprises generating, by the teleconference computing system, the stereo audio output signal based on position information comprising physical position information (¶ [0246], user location data), wherein: the physical position information is indicative of a physical position of the participant relative to the plurality of audio output devices (Fig 5 & ¶ [0246], adaptive beamforming circuit receives room image data signal 510 this includes user location data), wherein both the participant and the plurality of audio output devices are physically located within the teleconferencing space (Fig 1, combined mics/speakers 108 and people 104).
LaBosco does not explicitly teach the use of virtual position information.
Laitinen teaches virtual position information (See Laitinen ¶ [0049], repositioned spatial audio allows for playback of captured audio from new virtual positions), and the virtual position information is indicative of a virtual position of a representation of the participant relative to virtual positions of representations of other participants within a virtual teleconferencing environment (See Laitinen Fig 3 & ¶ [0079], participants and sound objects can be repositioned allowing for directional differentiation at different locations).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the virtual position information taught by Laitinen with the method taught by LaBosco. Virtual position information provides several benefits in teleconferencing systems including an enhanced immersive experience and increased interactivity allowing for a more engaging feel for the user.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-9 and 18-19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.M.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2694 /FAN S TSANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2694