DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2 and 5-15 the phrase "as defined in claim 1" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear which limitation(s) defined in claim 1 correspond to the claimed invention [see MPEP § 2173.05(f)]. The phrase “as defined in” will be interpreted as “according to”.
Claim 3 the phrase "as defined in claim 2" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear which limitation(s) defined in claim 2 correspond to the claimed invention [see MPEP § 2173.05(f)]. The phrase “as defined in” will be interpreted as “according to”.
Claim 4 the phrase "as defined in claim 3" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear which limitation(s) defined in claim 3 correspond to the claimed invention [see MPEP § 2173.05(f)]. The phrase “as defined in” will be interpreted as “according to”.
Claims 16-21 the phrase "as defined in claim 15" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear which limitation(s) defined in claim 15 correspond to the claimed invention [see MPEP § 2173.05(f)]. The phrase “as defined in” will be interpreted as “according to”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, 9, and 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yuan, J.; Shang, P. P.; Wu, S. H. Pharm. Technol. 2001, 25, 62, when taken with Polyethylene glycol 3,350 Certificate of Analysis, Sigma-Aldrich, 2025.
Regarding claims 1, 6, 9 and 15: Yuan et al. (Pharm. Technol. 2001, 25, 62) discloses cellulose acetate (CA) films containing polyethylene glycol (PEG) as a plasticizer [abstract], wherein Sample 13 [Table I, Sample 13] prepares a film containing 25 wt% PEG 3350 and 75 wt% CA (CA-PEG ratio 8:2) by casting a polymer solution onto glass plate and allowing the solvent to evaporate [§Materials and Methods, Preparation of free films; Table I, Sample 13]. Yuan et al. (Pharm. Technol. 2001, 25, 62) discloses the PEG 3350 has a Mn (number average molecular weight) of 3367 [§Materials and Methods, Materials].
Polyethylene glycol 3,350 Certificate of Analysis provides evidence for a Mn of 3367 [§Certificate of Analysis].
Regarding claims 11-14: Yuan et al. (Pharm. Technol. 2001, 25, 62) discloses the basic claimed composition [as set forth above with respect to claim 1].
The claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. the polymer composition exhibits a generally unimodal distribution from a wavenumber of 1000 cm-1 to a wavenumber of 1150 cm-1 as determined by ATR-FTIR [instant claim 11]; the polymer composition exhibits one or less absorbance peaks greater than 0.3 from a wavenumber of 1000 cm-1 to a wavenumber of 1150 cm-1 as determined by ATR-FTIR [instant claim 12]; the polymer composition exhibits no absorbance peaks greater than 0.08 from a wavenumber of 2500 cm-1 to a wavenumber of 4000 cm-1 as determined by ATR-FTIR [instant claim 13]; the polymer composition exhibits two or less absorbance peaks greater than 0.36 as determined by ATR-FTIR [instant claim 14], would inherently be achieved, as “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [see MPEP 2112.01].
Claim(s) 1, 5, 9, and 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yuan, J.; Shang, P. P.; Wu, S. H. Pharm. Technol. 2001, 25, 62, when taken with Polyethylene glycol 1000 Certificate of Analysis, Sigma-Aldrich, 2023.
Regarding claims 1, 5, 9 and 15: Yuan et al. (Pharm. Technol. 2001, 25, 62) discloses cellulose acetate (CA) films containing polyethylene glycol (PEG) as a plasticizer [abstract], wherein Sample 10 [Table I, Sample 10] prepares a film containing 25 wt% PEG 1000 and 75 wt% CA (CA-PEG ratio 8:2) by casting a polymer solution onto glass plate and allowing the solvent to evaporate [§Materials and Methods, Preparation of free films; Table I, Sample 10]. Yuan et al. (Pharm. Technol. 2001, 25, 62) discloses the PEG 1000 has a Mn (number average molecular weight) of 950-1050 [§Materials and Methods, Materials].
Polyethylene glycol 1000 Certificate of Analysis provides evidence for a Mn of 950-1050 [§Certificate of Analysis].
Regarding claims 11-14: Yuan et al. (Pharm. Technol. 2001, 25, 62) discloses the basic claimed composition [as set forth above with respect to claim 1].
The claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. the polymer composition exhibits a generally unimodal distribution from a wavenumber of 1000 cm-1 to a wavenumber of 1150 cm-1 as determined by ATR-FTIR [instant claim 11]; the polymer composition exhibits one or less absorbance peaks greater than 0.3 from a wavenumber of 1000 cm-1 to a wavenumber of 1150 cm-1 as determined by ATR-FTIR [instant claim 12]; the polymer composition exhibits no absorbance peaks greater than 0.08 from a wavenumber of 2500 cm-1 to a wavenumber of 4000 cm-1 as determined by ATR-FTIR [instant claim 13]; the polymer composition exhibits two or less absorbance peaks greater than 0.36 as determined by ATR-FTIR [instant claim 14], would inherently be achieved, as “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [see MPEP 2112.01].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Budhavaram et al. (US 2016/0068665).
Regarding claims 1-3, 5-7 and 9: Budhavaram et al. (US ‘665) discloses plasticized cellulose ester compositions [abstract], wherein Sample 41 [Sample 41; 0126; Table 2, Sample 41] contains 68 wt% CA (cellulose acetate [0120]), 25 wt% GTB (glyceryl tribenzoate [0120]) and 7 wt% PEG-300 (polyethylene glycol, molecular weight 300) [Sample 41; 0126; Table 2, Sample 41]. Budhavaram et al. (US ‘665) discloses polyethylene glycols having a molecular weight (number average (Mn) [0027; 0051]) of less than about 10,000 [0037].
Budhavaram et al. (US ‘665) does not disclose the polyethylene glycol of Sample 41 having a Mn of about 1000 g/mol to about 15,000 g/mol [instant claim 1]; a Mn of about 1000 g/mol to about 2,000 g/mol [instant claim 5]; a Mn of about 2000 g/mol to about 5,000 g/mol [instant claim 6]; a Mn of about 5000 g/mol to about 10,000 g/mol [instant claim 7]. However, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [See MPEP 2144.05].
Additionally, while the polyethylene glycol of Sample 41 having a Mn of about 1000 g/mol to about 15,000 g/mol [instant claim 1]; a Mn of about 1000 g/mol to about 2,000 g/mol [instant claim 5]; a Mn of about 2000 g/mol to about 5,000 g/mol [instant claim 6]; a Mn of about 5000 g/mol to about 10,000 g/mol [instant claim 7], one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to have employed a polyethylene glycol having a Mn of about 1000 g/mol to about 15,000 g/mol; a Mn of about 1000 g/mol to about 2,000 g/mol; a Mn of about 2000 g/mol to about 5,000 g/mol; a Mn of about 5000 g/mol to about 10,000 g/mol, as Budhavaram et al. (US ‘665) discloses polyethylene glycols having a number average molecular weight less than about 10,000 [0037]. See also In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) [MPEP 2144.05].
Regarding claim 4: Budhavaram et al. (US ‘665) discloses triacetin and glyceryl tribenzoate as plasticizers [0040].
An express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982) [see MPEP 2144.06].
Regarding claim 8: Budhavaram et al. (US ‘665) discloses about 10 to about 40 wt% of plasticizers (ex. GTB) [0037] and about 0.1% to about 20 wt% polyethylene glycols having a molecular weight (number average (Mn) [0027; 0051]) of less than about 10,000 [0037].
Budhavaram et al. (US ‘665) does not specifically disclose about 50 to about 80 wt% of polyethylene glycol in relation to all plasticizers. However, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [See MPEP 2144.05].
Regarding claim 10: Budhavaram et al. (US ‘665) discloses cellulose esters, such as cellulose acetate (CA) [0020-0023; 0054-0058; 0120; 0126].
Budhavaram et al. (US ‘665) does not specifically disclose cellulose diacetate. However, a prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. “An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties.” In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979) [See MPEP 2144.09]. Compounds which are homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977) [See MPEP 2144.09].
Regarding claims 11-14: Budhavaram et al. (US ‘665) discloses the basic claimed composition [as set forth above with respect to claim 1].
The claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. the polymer composition exhibits a generally unimodal distribution from a wavenumber of 1000 cm-1 to a wavenumber of 1150 cm-1 as determined by ATR-FTIR [instant claim 11]; the polymer composition exhibits one or less absorbance peaks greater than 0.3 from a wavenumber of 1000 cm-1 to a wavenumber of 1150 cm-1 as determined by ATR-FTIR [instant claim 12]; the polymer composition exhibits no absorbance peaks greater than 0.08 from a wavenumber of 2500 cm-1 to a wavenumber of 4000 cm-1 as determined by ATR-FTIR [instant claim 13]; the polymer composition exhibits two or less absorbance peaks greater than 0.36 as determined by ATR-FTIR [instant claim 14], would implicitly be achieved, as “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [see MPEP 2112.01].
Regarding claims 15-16 and 19: Budhavaram et al. (US ‘665) discloses a molded article, such as a vehicle interior part (ex. cup holder) [0107; 0126].
Regarding claims 17-18: Budhavaram et al. (US ‘665) discloses a molded article, such as food and beverage containers [0107].
A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim [see MPEP 2111.02].
Regarding claim 20: Budhavaram et al. (US ‘665) discloses a molded article, such as appliance components [0107].
Regarding claim 21: Budhavaram et al. (US ‘665) discloses a molded article, such as medical devices [0107; 0109].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of copending Application No. 18/297340 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the polymer composition containing a cellulose ester polymer and plasticizer overlaps in scope with the instant claimed polymer composition. While Application No. 18/297340 does not specifically disclose claim 1 containing 3-30 wt% of second plasticizer comprising a polyethylene glycol having a number average molecular weight of 1,000 g/mol to 15,000 g/mol, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included 3-30 wt% of second plasticizer comprising a polyethylene glycol having a number average molecular weight of 1,000 g/mol to 15,000 g/mol, and would have been motivated to do so since Application No. 18/297340 claims 3-30 wt% of second plasticizer [claim 6] comprising a polyethylene glycol having a number average molecular weight of 1,000 g/mol to 15,000 g/mol [claim 5]. “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) [see MPEP 2144.06].
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to have employed a polyethylene glycol having a Mn of about 1000 g/mol to about 2,000 g/mol; a Mn of about 2000 g/mol to about 5,000 g/mol; a Mn of about 5000 g/mol to about 10,000 g/mol, as Application No. 18/297340 claims a polyethylene glycol having a number average molecular weight of 1,000 g/mol to 15,000 g/mol [claim 5]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [See MPEP 2144.05].
The claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. the polymer composition exhibits a generally unimodal distribution from a wavenumber of 1000 cm-1 to a wavenumber of 1150 cm-1 as determined by ATR-FTIR [instant claim 11]; the polymer composition exhibits one or less absorbance peaks greater than 0.3 from a wavenumber of 1000 cm-1 to a wavenumber of 1150 cm-1 as determined by ATR-FTIR [instant claim 12]; the polymer composition exhibits no absorbance peaks greater than 0.08 from a wavenumber of 2500 cm-1 to a wavenumber of 4000 cm-1 as determined by ATR-FTIR [instant claim 13]; the polymer composition exhibits two or less absorbance peaks greater than 0.36 as determined by ATR-FTIR [instant claim 14], would implicitly be achieved, as “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [see MPEP 2112.01].
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
See attached form PTO-892.
Correspondence
/MICHAEL F PEPITONE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767