Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the trauma weakened portion, the diseased weakened portion, the anastomosis, and the veinous endothelial cells, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 6, 9-11, 14, 17-19, 22, and 25-27 are objected to because of the following informalities
Claim 6, 10-11, 14, 18-19, 22, and 26-27 recites “the endothelial cells” but should recite “the human endothelial cells”
Claim 9, 17, and 25 recites “the immune system” but should recite “an immune system”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3 and 4 recite “the weakened portioned vessel” without proper antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 10, 12-13, 18, 20-21, and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thomas (WO 2020047380 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 12, and 21, Thomas teaches a method of treating a blood vessel defect in a subject in need thereof ([00078]) comprising implanting a vascular graft in a subject, wherein the vascular graft comprises (a) a polymeric substrate at least partially coated by an endothelial cell attachment agent ([0009]) and (b) human endothelial cells adhered to said coated polymeric substrate ([0009]).
Thomas teaches a method of implanting a vascular graft in a subject in need thereof ([00080]) comprising implanting a vascular graft in a subject, wherein the vascular graft comprises (a) a polymeric substrate at least partially coated by an endothelial cell attachment agent ([0009]) and (b) human endothelial cells adhered to said coated polymeric substrate ([0009]).
Thomas teaches a vascular graft comprising (a) a polymeric substrate at least partially coated by an endothelial cell attachment agent ([0009]) and (b) human endothelial cells adhered to said coated polymeric substrate ([0009]).
Regarding claim 2, Thomas teaches wherein the vascular graft is implanted to replace a portion of a diseased or damaged blood vessel ([00078]).
Regarding claim 3, Thomas teaches wherein the weakened portioned vessel is a result of trauma ([00078]).
Regarding claim 4, Thomas teaches wherein the weakened portioned vessel is a result of vascular disease ([00078]).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Thomas teaches wherein the vascular graft is implanted by anastomosis ([00080]).
Regarding claims 10, 18, and 26, Thomas teaches wherein the endothelial cells are arterial endothelial cells ([0008]).
Regarding claim 20, Thomas teaches wherein the vascular graft is implanted during congenital heart surgery, coronary artery bypass surgery, or peripheral vascular surgery ([00078]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7, 14-15, and 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas (WO 2020047380 A1) in view of Champlin (“Selection of Autologous or Allogeneic Transplantation”).
Regarding claims 6, 14, and 22, Thomas does not teach not autologous cells. However, Champlin teaches the cons of autologous cells when implanting matter into the body (paragraph 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of the negative side effects of autologous cells, as taught by Champlin, to modify the graft of Thomas to include allogenic cells, in order to cater the implant to a patient’s specific needs and avoid cell contamination (paragraph 3).
Regarding claims 7, 15, and 23, Thomas does not teach teaches allogeneic cells. However, Champlin teaches the pros of allogenic cells when implanting matter into the body (paragraph 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of the benefits of allogenic cells, as taught by Champlin, to modify the graft of Thomas to include allogenic cells, in order to cater the implant to a patient’s specific needs and reduce vascular disease reoccurrence (paragraph 4).
Claim(s) 8, 16, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas (WO 2020047380 A1) in view of Champlin (“Selection of Autologous or Allogeneic Transplantation”).
Regarding claims 8, 16, and 24 Thomas teaches wherein the human endothelial cells are not major histocompatibility complex (MHC) matched to the subject (for example [00047], cross-matching is not required).
Claim(s) 9 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas (WO 2020047380 A1) in view of Champlin (“Selection of Autologous or Allogeneic Transplantation and in further view of Hu (CA 3098924 A1).
Regarding claims 9 and 17, Thomas teaches wherein the human endothelial cells cannot be genetically modified to reduce rejection by the immune system (for example [00045], the prior arts states that the cells can or may be modified but it does not require it). However, Thomas does not exactly teach the lack of genetic modification. Hu teaches wherein the genetic modification of cells can cause undesired side effects (pg. 2, lines 17-25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of the negative side effects of genetic modification, as taught by Hu, to the make the graft of Thomas modification free, in order to avoid tumorigenesis (pg. 2, lines 17-25).
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas (WO 2020047380 A1) in view of Hu (CA 3098924 A1).
Regarding claim 25, Thomas teaches wherein the human endothelial cells cannot be genetically modified to reduce rejection by the immune system (for example [00045], the prior arts states that the cells can or may be modified but it does not require it). However, Thomas does not exactly teach the lack of genetic modification. Hu teaches wherein the genetic modification of cells can cause undesired side effects (pg. 2, lines 17-25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of the negative side effects of genetic modification, as taught by Hu, to the make the graft of Thomas modification free, in order to avoid tumorigenesis (pg. 2, lines 17-25).
Claim(s) 11, 19, and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas (WO 2020047380 A1) in view of Li (AU 2001283108 A1).
Regarding claims 11, 19, and 27, Thomas does not exactly teach the use of venous endothelial cells. However, it is well known in the art venous endothelial cells, have an advantage or easier harvesting. For example, Thomas teaches, wherein harvesting arteries is invasive and challenging ([00044]). Further Li teaches a graft being ideal by utilizing the easy harvesting of veins ([0008]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of veinous cells harvesting taught by Li to the graft endothelial cells, as taught by Thomas, in order to allow for easier harvesting (Thomas: [00044], Li: [0008]).
Conclusion
/H.L.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/THOMAS C BARRETT/SPE, Art Unit 3799