Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-9, 13-16, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rulf et al. (“Rulf”) (US Patent No. 4,674,323) in view of Stevens (US Patent No. 4,762,617).
With respect to claim 1, Rulf teaches an apparatus for substance separation using size-exclusion chromatography (abstract), the apparatus comprising: an inlet (item 62) affixed onto a housing (item 64); a conduit (item 18) contained in the housing (figure 1A), wherein the conduit is coupled to the inlet (figure 1A) for receiving a test sample for SEC separation (abstract); and an outlet (item 66) affixed onto the housing (item 64) and coupled to the conduit (figure 1A), wherein a distance between the outlet and the inlet is less than a total length of the conduit (figure 1A, the inlet and outlet are closer than the total length of the column).
Rulf does not teach the conduit is filled with a resin composite.
Stevens teaches a size-exclusion chromatography system which utilizes a resin composite which is cross-linked agarose as it minimizes interaction between the solvent and the matrix (column 4, lines 4-8).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have filled the conduit with cross-linked agarose as the resin composite because it would minimize interactions between the solvent and the matrix (Stevens, column 4, lines 4-8).
With respect to claim 2, Rulf teaches a conduit comprising a plurality of parallel tubes (item 18), each having a coupler at each end (figure 1A) for connecting two or more of the plurality of parallel tubes in a series (column 3, lines 28-29).
With respect to claim 6, Rulf teaches a conduit where the sample is pumped through, and an absorbance value is measurable (column 5, lines 26-29).
Modified Rulf teaches the conduit is filled with a resin composite comprising a cross-linked agarose. See supra.
Regarding the test sample comprising plasma that when the plasma is pumped through the conduit an absorbance value of a lipoprotein in the plasma is measurable are limitations direct to the function of the apparatus and/or the manner of operating the apparatus, all the structural limitations of the claim has been disclosed by Rulf and Stevens and the apparatus of modified Rulf is capable of performing the claimed functions. As such, it is deemed that the claimed apparatus is not differentiated from the apparatus of modified Rulf (see MPEP §2114).
With respect to claim 7, regarding the test sample volume, these limitations are directed to the function of the apparatus and/or the manner of operating the apparatus, all the structural limitations of the claim has been disclosed by Rulf and Stevens and the apparatus of modified Rulf is capable of having a sample volume ranged between 50 and 200 micro liters. As such, it is deemed that the claimed apparatus is not differentiated from the apparatus of modified Rulf (see MPEP §2114).
Rulf and Stevens do not teach that the cross-linked agarose has a particle size between 9 and 30 microns. Steven teaches that the filtration time is dependent on the size of particles (column 1, lines 36-37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to determine, through routine experimentation, that optimum particle size in the range of 8 and 30 microns would allow the desired filtration time to be achieved based on the size of the particles (Stevens, column 1, lines 36-37) (MPEP § 2144.05 (II)).
With respect to claim 8, Rulf teaches a system for size exclusion chromatography comprising a liquid chromatography pump (item 14); a liquid chromatography UV detector (item 22; column 5, lines 17-22) and a divider (item 64) including an inlet affixed onto a housing, the housing receiving a test sample pumped from the liquid chromatography pump (column 5, lines 55-65); a conduit (item 18) contained in the housing (item 64), wherein the conduit it coupled to the inlet (figure 1A) for receiving the test sample for SEC separation (abstract); an outlet (item 20) affixed onto the housing (item 64) and coupled to the conduit (figure 1A), wherein a distance between the outlet and the inlet is less than a total length of the conduit (figure 1A, the inlet and outlet are closer than the total length of the column) and wherein the outlet provides substances separated from the test samples by the divider to the liquid chromatography UV detector (item 22; column 5, lines 17-22).
Rulf does not teach the conduit is filled with a resin composite.
Stevens teaches a size-exclusion chromatography system which utilizes a resin composite which is cross-linked agarose as it minimizes interaction between the solvent and the matrix (column 4, lines 4-8).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have filled the conduit with cross-linked agarose as the resin composite because it would minimize interactions between the solvent and the matrix (Stevens, column 4, lines 4-8).
With respect to claim 9, Rulf teaches a conduit comprising a plurality of parallel tubes (item 18), each having a coupler at each end (figure 1A) for connecting two or more of the plurality of parallel tubes in a series (column 3, lines 28-29).
With respect to claim 13, Rulf teaches a conduit where the sample is pumped through, and an absorbance value is measured by the liquid chromatography UV detector (column 5, lines 17-22 and 26-29).
Modified Rulf teaches the conduit is filled with a resin composite comprising a cross-linked agarose. See supra.
Regarding the test sample comprising plasma that when the plasma is pumped through the conduit an absorbance value of a lipoprotein in the plasma is measurable are limitations direct to the function of the apparatus and/or the manner of operating the apparatus, all the structural limitations of the claim has been disclosed by Rulf and Stevens and the apparatus of modified Rulf is capable of performing the claimed functions. As such, it is deemed that the claimed apparatus is not differentiated from the apparatus of modified Rulf (see MPEP §2114).
With respect to claim 14, regarding the test sample volume, these limitations are directed to the function of the apparatus and/or the manner of operating the apparatus, all the structural limitations of the claim has been disclosed by Rulf and Stevens and the apparatus of modified Rulf is capable of having a sample volume ranged between 50 and 200 micro liters. As such, it is deemed that the claimed apparatus is not differentiated from the apparatus of modified Rulf (see MPEP §2114).
Rulf and Stevens do not teach that the cross-linked agarose has a particle size between 9 and 30 microns. Steven teaches that the filtration time is dependent on the size of particles (column 1, lines 36-37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to determine, through routine experimentation, that optimum particle size in the range of 8 and 30 microns would allow the desired filtration time to be achieved based on the size of the particles (Stevens, column 1, lines 36-37) (MPEP § 2144.05 (II)).
With respect to claim 15, Rulf teaches a method for substance separation using size-exclusion chromatography (SEC), the method comprising: providing a test sample using a liquid chromatography pump (figure 8B) to an inlet of a divider (figure 1A); separating a substance from the test sample in a conduit contained in a housing of the divider (column 18, lines 9-18), wherein the conduit is coupled to the inlet for receiving the test sample for SEC separation using a conduit (figure 1A); and providing the substance separated from the test samples by the resin composite to a liquid chromatography ultra-violet (UV) detector via an outlet of the divider (column 18, lines 9-23), the outlet affixed onto the housing and coupled to the conduit, wherein a distance between the outlet and the inlet is less than a total length of the conduit (figure 1A, the inlet and outlet are closer than the total length of the column).
Rulf does not teach the conduit is filled with a resin composite.
Stevens teaches a size-exclusion chromatography system and method (column 2, lines 27-29) which utilizes a resin composite which is cross-linked agarose as it minimizes interaction between the solvent and the matrix (column 4, lines 4-8).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have filled the conduit with cross-linked agarose as the resin composite because it would minimize interactions between the solvent and the matrix (Stevens, column 4, lines 4-8).
With respect to claim 16, Rulf teaches the method of claim 15, wherein separating the test sample in the conduit contained in the housing comprises: separating the test sample in a plurality of parallel tubes (column 18, lines 16-18), each of the plurality of parallel tubes having a coupler at each end (figure 1A) for connecting two or more of the plurality of parallel tubes in series (column 3, lines 28-29).
Claims 3-5, 10-12, 17-19, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rulf et al. (“Rulf”) (US Patent No. 4,674,323) in view of Stevens (US Patent No. 4,762,617) in view of Benevides et al. (“Benevides”) (Pub. No. US 2013/0134083 A1).
With respect to claim 3, Rulf teaches coupling (figure 1A) the plurality of parallel tubes (item 18).
Rulf and Stevens do not teach that the coupler comprises a fitting and a flexible tubing.
Benevides further teaches a coupler/connector (figure 5) comprising a fitting 510, flexible tubing 500a, a cap/ferrule 520, a thread, a seal, and a handle/fitting nut 530 where the fitting sealingly connects an open end of the tubing so that it provides a seal against leaks (paragraphs 0088 - 0089).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized a fitting which has a thread, seal, handle, a cap and flexible tubing as the coupler because Benevides teaches that the fittings provide a seal against leaks (paragraph 0088).
With respect to claim 4, modified Rulf teaches a cap to enclose the coupler and protect the flexible tubing. See supra.
With respect to claim 5, modified Rulf teaches the fitting comprising a thread, a seal and a handle for installation and removal. See supra.
With respect to claim 10, Rulf teaches coupling (figure 1A) the plurality of parallel tubes (item 18).
Rulf and Stevens do not teach that the coupler comprises a fitting and a flexible tubing.
Benevides further teaches a coupler/connector (figure 5) comprising a fitting 510, flexible tubing 500a, a cap/ferrule 520, a thread, a seal, and a handle/fitting nut 530 where the fitting sealingly connects an open end of the tubing so that it provides a seal against leaks (paragraphs 0088 - 0089).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized a fitting which has a thread, seal, handle, a cap and flexible tubing as the coupler because Benevides teaches that the fittings provide a seal against leaks (paragraph 0088).
With respect to claim 11, modified Rulf teaches a cap to enclose the coupler and protect the flexible tubing. See supra.
With respect to claim 12, modified Rulf teaches the fitting comprising a thread, a seal and a handle for installation and removal. See supra.
With respect to claim 17, Rulf teaches coupling (figure 1A) the plurality of parallel tubes (item 18).
Rulf and Stevens do not teach sealingly connecting an open end of the flexible tubing to a corresponding one of the plurality of parallel tubes using a fitting of the coupler.
Benevides further teaches a coupler/connector (figure 5) comprising a fitting 510, flexible tubing 500a, a cap/ferrule 520, a thread, a seal, and a handle/fitting nut 530 where the fitting sealingly connects an open end of the tubing so that it provides a seal against leaks (paragraphs 0088 - 0089).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have connected the plurality of parallel tubes using a fitting which has a thread, seal, handle, a cap and flexible tubing as the coupler because Benevides teaches that the fittings provide a seal against leaks (paragraph 0088).
With respect to claim 18, modified Rulf teaches enclosing the coupler and the flexible tubing using a rigid cap tight-fitting onto the housing. See supra.
With respect to claim 19, modified Rulf teaches rotating the fitting of the coupler onto the plurality of parallel tubes via an intermediate connector providing female threads for receiving male threads on the fitting of the coupler and male threads on the plurality of parallel tubes. See supra.
Claim 20, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rulf et al. (“Rulf”) (US Patent No. 4,674,323) in view of Stevens (US Patent No. 4,762,617) in view of Gho et al. (“Gho”) (Pub. No. US 2020/0284770 A1).
With respect to claim 20, Modified Rulf teaches filling the conduit with resin composite having a cross-linked agarose (see supra) and pumping the test sample through the conduit (column 5, lines 55-65) for measuring an absorbance value using the liquid chromatography UV detector (column 5, lines 17-22 and 26-29).
Rulf and Stevens do not teach the test sample is plasma.
Gho teaches a method using size exclusion chromatography on blood plasma which looks for extracellular vesicles (Gho, paragraph 0029) so that the extracellular vesicles can be separated to monitor cancer progression metastasis or angiogenesis (Gho, paragraph 0003).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to analyze blood plasma using the apparatus of modified Rulf because the extracellular vesicles can be separated to monitor cancer progression metastasis or angiogenesis (Gho, paragraph 0003).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed Feb 2, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the rejection should be withdrawn because Rulf does not disclose an inlet affixed onto a housing. Remarks 6. The basis of the argument is that the columns 18, valve 20 and detector 22 are all contained within oven 64 depicted by the dashed lines in Fig. 1A. Remarks 6-7.
The argument is not persuasive because the claims do not require for the inlet and outlet to correspond to the inlet and outlet of the conduit (item 18). Examiner interprets that the claimed inlet/out can by any inlet/outlet that is coupled to the conduit. The inlet and outlet correspond to items 62 and 66 as opposed to the ends of conduit (item 18). Figure 1A shows that items 62 and 66 extend in and out of the housing, and hence they must be “affixed onto” the housing (item 64).
Applicant also argues that the distance between the inlet and outlet are the same length of the column. Remarks 7. The basis of the argument is that according to Rulf, each column has its own housing for corresponding inlets and outlets. Remarks 7-8.
The argument is not persuasive because Rulf’s Figure 1A shows the conduit (item 18) is in a square wave pattern inside of the housing and examiner interprets the inlet and outlet as mentioned in response to the previous argument. Since the conduit (item 18) is 1 conduit in a square wave pattern, the total length of the conduit is longer than the distance between the inlet (item 62) and the outlet (item 66).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.K.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1796
/LUAN V VAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1795