DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is a response to the Application/Control Number: 18/297,471 filed on
04/07/2023.
Claims Status
2. This office action is based upon claims received on 12/08/2025, which replace all prior or other submitted versions of the claims.
-Claims 3, 5-7, 12, 14-16 are canceled.
-Claims 1, 2, 4, 8, 10, 11, 13, 17, 19, 20 are amended.
-Claims 1, 2, 4, 8-11, 13, 17-20 are pending.
-Claims 1, 2, 4, 8-11, 13, 17-20 are rejected.
Priority
4. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Response to Amendments/Remarks
5. Applicant's remarks/arguments, see page 7-10, filed on 12/08/2025, with respect to REMARKS/ARGUMENTS, Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new grounds of rejection being used in the current rejection.
Furthermore, remarks with respect to any applicable Dependent Claims have been considered and are moot and not persuasive at least via dependency to the independent claims and via individual rejections addressing the specific claims.
The rejection has been revised and set forth below according to the amended claims (see Office Action).
Claim Objections
6. Claim 2, 8, 10, 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
A. Claim 2 recites terms “a base station” recited a second time after a preceding recitation of “a base station” in Claim 1. The office action presents that questions of ambiguity may be raised as to where recitation of the terms “a base station” in Claim 2 finds antecedent basis, i.e. whether the recitation of “a base station” in claim 1 serves as the antecedent basis for “a base station” in Claim 2, or whether the recitation “a base station” in Claim 2 refers to a separate instance of “a base station” different from “a base station” in claim 1.
To avoid ambiguity the office action interprets “a base station” in claim 2 as possibly intended to be recited as “the” “base station”, as is recited for parallel and similar features in claim 11.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. For verification purposes applicant is requested to appropriately address as applicable to reflect applicant’s intent and objective for the claim language noted.
B. Claim 2 recites terms “determining the transmission power of the PUCCH” recited a second time after a preceding recitation of “the determining of the transmission power of the PUCCH” in Claim 2, and subsequent to a prior first recitation of “determining transmission poweof the PUCCH” in claim 1. The office action respectfully presents that questions of clarity may be raised as to where recitation of the terms “determining” in “determining the transmission power of the PUCCH” recited the second time in Claim 2 finds antecedent basis, i.e. whether the first recitation of “determining transmission poweof the PUCCH” in claim 1 serves as the antecedent basis for “determining” in “determining the transmission power of the PUCCH” recited the second time in Claim 2, or whether the recitation “determining” in “determining the transmission power of the PUCCH” recited the second time in Claim 2, refers to a separate instance of “determining”, different from “determining” in the first recitation “determining transmission poweof the PUCCH” in claim 1.
To avoid question raised the office action interprets terms “determining” in “determining the transmission power of the PUCCH” recited the second time in Claim 2 as possibly finding antecedent basis in “determining transmission poweof the PUCCH” in claim 1.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. For verification purposes applicant is requested to appropriately address as applicable to reflect applicant’s intent and objective for the claim language noted.
C. Regarding Claim 8 and Claim 17:
Utilizing Claim 8 (i.e. depending from claim 4) as an example reciting similar features presented in the alternative, Claim 8 recites: “comprises- in case that a second number of the one or more PDSCHs based on a third number of NACKs to HARQ-ACK information for the received downlink channels, and wherein the third number is ,
where pertaining to Claim 4 limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” and separated by “and” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight, and therefore in Claim 4:
(i) downlink allocation indication (DAI) transmitted by the base station;
(ii) a number of semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs);
(iii) and a first number of one or more PDSCHs
are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight.
The office action notes that significant questions about antecedence may be raised pertaining to recitation “the first number” as recited in claim 8, in a case when either limitations in item (i) or item (ii) referenced above in claim 4 are applied in the alternative, and limitations in item (iii) introducing “a first number” as referenced above, is not applied and not required.
As such, in the case when the limitations in item (iii) introducing “a first number” in claim 4 as referenced above, is not applied and not required, questions may be raised as to where the limitations “the first number” as recited in claim 8 finds antecedence.
Claim 17 which recites similar and parallel features is also subject to the same questions raised regarding antecedence pertaining to “the first number”.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. Applicant is requested to appropriately address and verify as applicable, applicant’s intent and objective for the claim language noted.
D. Claim 10 recites terms “the method comprising: transmitting, a user equipment (UE)”, where to avoid any questions raised the limitation is interpreted as possibly intended to recite “transmitting,” to “a user equipment (UE)” , as is recited in parallel features “transmit, to a user equipment (UE)” in claim 20 .
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. For verification purposes applicant is requested to appropriately address as applicable to reflect applicant’s intent and objective for the claim language noted.
E. Claim 13 recites terms “a first number of downlink channels”, where claim 13 recites features similar and parallel to claim 4, and where furthermore claim 4 has been amended to recite “a first number of one or more PDSCHs and where for consistency Claim 13 is interpreted as possibly intended to recite and reflect similar amendments as parallel features “a first number of one or more PDSCHs in claim 4.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. For verification purposes applicant is requested to appropriately address as applicable to reflect applicant’s intent and objective for the claim language noted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
8. Claims 4, 8, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
A. Regarding Claim 4 and Claim 8 - Claim 4 recites terms “one or more PDSCHs” in recitation “a first number of one or more PDSCHs” after a preceding recitation of “one or more physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs)” in Claim 1. The office action presents a lack of clarity as to where recitation of the terms “one or more PDSCHs” in Claim 4 finds antecedent basis, i.e. whether the recitation of “one or more physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs)” in claim 1 serves as the antecedent basis for “one or more PDSCHs” recited in Claim 4, or whether the recitation “one or more PDSCHs” in Claim 4 refers to a separate instance of “one or more PDSCHs” different from “one or more physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs)” in claim 1.
Claim 8 also recites “the one or more PDSCHs” where claim 8 depends via claim 4 to claim 1. The office action similarly contends a lack of clarity as to where recitation of the terms “the one or more PDSCHs” in Claim 8 finds antecedent basis, whether “one or more PDSCHs” in Claim 4 provides antecedent basis or whether “one or more physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs)” in claim 1 serves as the antecedent basis.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. Applicant is requested and required to appropriately address and clarify as applicable to reflect applicant’s intent and objective for the claim language noted.
B. Regarding Claim 8 and Claim 17 - Claims 8 recites terms “the received downlink channels” for a first time with a preceding article “the” (i.e. “the received downlink channels” ) without prior introduction or provision of a reference antecedence for “received downlink channels”. There appears to be no preceding recitation of “received downlink channels” introduced for provision of antecedent basis including in claim 4 or claim 1 from which claim 8 depends, and as such, this office action respectfully contends there is a lack of clarity as to where recitation of the terms “the received downlink channels” in Claim 8 finds antecedent basis.
Claim 17 depending via claim 13 to claim 10 recites similar and parallel features to claim 8 and is subject to similar issues as described for claim 8.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. Applicant is requested and required to appropriately address and verify as applicable, applicant’s intent and objective for the claim language noted.
C. Regarding Claim 8 which depends from respective claims 4, this claim (i.e. 8) is further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph at least via dependency to the respective claims 4.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. Applicant is requested and required to appropriately address and clarify as applicable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory
basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and
the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the
effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised
of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that
was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner
to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art
against the later invention.
10. Claims 1, 2, 10, 11, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al. (US 20210368453 A1) i.e. “LEE”, in view of Jung et al. (US 20200145167 A1) i.e. “Jung”.
Regarding Claim 1. (Currently amended) LEE teaches: A method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (LEE FIG. 18 & ¶0322 […] a flow chart illustrating an operation method of a UE; ¶0323 […] a UE first receives a physical uplink shared channel (PDSCH) from a base station in S1801;
NOTE DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0322 i.e. a flow chart illustrating an operation method reads on: A method. Furthermore per ¶323 i.e. a UE first receives reads on: performed by a user equipment (UE) , where i.e. […] a UE first receives a physical uplink shared channel (PDSCH) from a base station reads on: in a wireless communication system )),
the method comprising: receiving, from a base station one or more physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) (LEE FIG. 18 & ¶322 See above; ¶0323 See above; ¶0327 […] the PDSCH may include a first PDSCH and a second PDSCH;
NOTE DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0323 i.e. UE first receives reads on: the method comprising: receiving, and per ¶0323 i.e. receives a physical uplink shared channel (PDSCH) from a base station in S1801 reads on: from a base station, where per ¶0327 i.e. the PDSCH may include a first PDSCH and a second PDSCH reads on: one or more physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs));
identifying hybrid automatic retransmission request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information including ACKs or NACKs for each of the one or more PDSCHs (LEE FIG. 18 & ¶0324 […] the UE transmits, to the base station, a PUCCH including hybrid automatic retransmit request (HARQ)-acknowledgment (ACK) information for the PDSCH in S1802; ¶0325 […] the HARQ-ACK information may include NACK bit representing a non-acknowledgment (NACK) state, […], and/or ACK bit representing an acknowledgment (ACK) state;
NOTE DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0324 the UE transmits, to the base station, a PUCCH including hybrid automatic retransmit request (HARQ)-acknowledgment (ACK) information reads on: identifying hybrid automatic retransmission request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information , and per ¶0325 i.e. the HARQ-ACK information may include NACK bit representing a non-acknowledgment (NACK) state, i.e. and/or ACK bit representing an acknowledgment (ACK) state reads on: including ACKs or NACKs , where per ¶0324 i.e. PUCCH including hybrid automatic retransmit request (HARQ)-acknowledgment (ACK) information for the PDSCH in S1802 reads on: for each of the one or more PDSCHs );
identifying a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) corresponding to the HARQ-ACK information for the one or more PDSCHs(LEE FIG. 18 & ¶0324 […] the UE transmits, to the base station, a PUCCH including hybrid automatic retransmit request (HARQ)-acknowledgment (ACK) information for the PDSCH in S1802; ¶0325 […] the HARQ-ACK information may include NACK bit representing a non-acknowledgment (NACK) state, […], and/or ACK bit representing an acknowledgment (ACK) state;
NOTE DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0324 the UE transmits, to the base station, a PUCCH reads on: identifying a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), and per ¶0324 i.e. , a PUCCH including hybrid automatic retransmit request (HARQ)-acknowledgment (ACK) information reads on: corresponding to the HARQ-ACK information, and per ¶0324 i.e. PUCCH including hybrid automatic retransmit request (HARQ)-acknowledgment (ACK) information for the PDSCH in S1802 reads on: for the one or more PDSCHs );
determining transmission poweof the PUCCH based on a number of NACKs in the HARQ- ACK information; (LEE FIG. 18 & ¶0331[…] a transmission power of the PUCCH may be determined based on a priority between the first PDSCH and the second PDSCH and/or a bit configuration of the HARQ-ACK information; ¶0333 […] when the number of NACK bits of the HARQ-ACK information is equal to or greater than a pre-configured ratio, the transmission power of the PUCCH may be configured to be greater than a transmission power when the number of NACK bits is less than the pre-configured ratio; ¶0334 […] the ratio may mean a ratio of NACK bits to HARQ-ACK bits;
NOTE DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0331 i.e. a transmission power of the PUCCH may be determined based on i.e. a bit configuration of the HARQ-ACK information and per ¶0333 when the number of NACK bits of the HARQ-ACK information is equal to or greater than a pre-configured ratio, the transmission power of the PUCCH may be configured to be greater than i.e. a transmission power reads on: determining transmission power of the PUCCH , where a transmission power being based upon per ¶0333 i.e. when the number of NACK bits of the HARQ-ACK information is equal to or greater than a pre-configured ratio reads on: based on a number of NACKs in the HARQ- ACK information where per ¶0334 i.e. the ratio may mean a ratio of NACK bits to HARQ-ACK bits which also reads on: based on a number of NACKs in the HARQ- ACK information )
and transmitting the PUCCH according to the transmission power (LEE FIG. 18 & ¶0340 […] the UE may have to transmit, to the base station, the PUCCH including HARQ-ACK bits for the first PDSCH and the second PDSCH; ¶0341 […] if the UE requires power exceeding a maximum transmission power (y) to transmit the PUCCH, the UE may first drop sequentially the HARQ-ACK bits for the first PDSCH to reduce the transmission power and may transmit the PUCCH;
NOTE DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0340 i.e. the UE may have to transmit, to the base station, the PUCCH reads on: and transmitting the uplink channel PUCCH , and ¶0341 i.e. if the UE requires power exceeding a maximum transmission power (y) to transmit the PUCCH i.e. the UE may first drop sequentially the HARQ-ACK bits for the first PDSCH to reduce the transmission power and may transmit the PUCCH reads on: according to the transmission power configured per ¶0331 according to i.e. a transmission power of the PUCCH i.e. determined based on i.e. a bit configuration of the HARQ-ACK information).
LEE does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (i.e. see italicized portions of claim limitations): one or more physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) in a slot; physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) from a group of PUCCHs;
Jung which also teaches: A method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (Jung – FIG. 1 & ¶0015 If multiple PDCCHs carrying DL DCI, such as PDSCH assignments, indicate the same slot for HARQ-ACK feedback, the UE can first determine HARQ-ACK information to be multiplexed in a PUCCH resource in the slot according to the timing condition described above, can determine a PUCCH resource set based on the number of HARQ-ACK information bits to be multiplexed, and can determine the PUCCH resource for HARQ-ACK feedback from the PUCCH resource set based on a PUCCH resource indicator field in a last DL DCI format, such as DCI format 1_0 or DCI format 1_1, among the detected DL DCI formats that have a value of a PDSCH-to-HARQ feedback timing indicator field indicating the same slot for the PUCCH transmission […] ;
NOTE DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0015 i.e. UE can first determine HARQ-ACK information to be multiplexed in a PUCCH resource reads on: A method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system),
the method comprising: receiving, from a base station one or more physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) in a slot (Jung – FIG. 1 & ¶0012 […] UE 110 can communicate with the network 130 via at least one network entity 120. […] the UE 110 can send and receive control signals on a control channel and user data signals on a data channel; ¶0015 See above;
NOTE DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0012 i.e. ¶0012 UE 110 can communicate with the network 130 via at least one network entity 120 i.e. the UE 110 can i.e. receive control signals on a control channel and user data signals on a data channel where correspondingly per ¶0015 i.e. PDCCHs carrying DL DCI, such as PDSCH assignments reads on: the method comprising: receiving, from a base station one or more physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) , where per ¶0015 i.e. PDCCHs carrying DL DCI, such as PDSCH assignments, indicate the same slot reads on: in a slot);
identifying hybrid automatic retransmission request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information including ACKs or NACKs (Jung FIG. 1 & ¶0015 see above; FIG. 2 & ¶0031 […] ACK/NACK of PUCCH resource 5 should be transmitted in PUCCH resource 5.;
NOTE DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0015 i.e. the UE can first determine HARQ-ACK information to be multiplexed reads on: identifying hybrid automatic retransmission request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information in a PUCCH resource in the slot. Furthermore per ¶0033 i.e. ACK/NACK of PUCCH resource 5 should be transmitted in PUCCH resource 5 reads on: including ACKs or NACKs );
identifying a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) from a group of PUCCHs corresponding to the HARQ-ACK information(Jung FIG. 1 & ¶0015 see above; FIG. 2 & ¶0031 See above;
NOTE DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0015 i.e. UE can first determine HARQ-ACK information to be multiplexed in a PUCCH resource in the slot according to the timing condition described above, can determine a PUCCH resource set based on the number of HARQ-ACK information bits to be multiplexed, i.e. and can determine the PUCCH resource for HARQ-ACK feedback from the PUCCH resource set reads on: identifying a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) from a group of PUCCHs based on a PUCCH resource indicator field in a last DL DCI format. Furthermore per ¶0015 i.e. UE can first determine HARQ-ACK information to be multiplexed in a PUCCH resource reads on: corresponding to the HARQ-ACK information );
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of LEE with teachings of Jung, since Jung enables a network entity to be allowed to re-assign a different PUCCH resource for additional multiplexing and/or collision avoidance (Jung - ¶0018).
Regarding Claim 2. (Currently amended) LEE in view of Jung teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore LEE teaches: wherein the determining of the transmission power of the PUCCH further comprisesPUCCH for a UE-specific PDSCH configured by a base station(note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight),
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
the second power control parameter is obtained based on the first power control parameter (LEE FIG. 18 & ¶0331[…] a transmission power of the PUCCH may be determined based on a priority between the first PDSCH and the second PDSCH and/or a bit configuration of the HARQ-ACK information; ¶0333 […] when the number of NACK bits of the HARQ-ACK information is equal to or greater than a pre-configured ratio, the transmission power of the PUCCH may be configured to be greater than a transmission power when the number of NACK bits is less than the pre-configured ratio; ¶0334 […] the ratio may mean a ratio of NACK bits to HARQ-ACK bits;
NOTE DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0331 i.e. a transmission power of the PUCCH may be determined based on i.e. a bit configuration of the HARQ-ACK information reads on: wherein the determining of the transmission power of the PUCCH and per ¶0333 when the number of NACK bits of the HARQ-ACK information is equal to or greater than i.e. a pre-configured ratio reads on: further comprises determining the transmission power of the PUCCH based on a second power control parameter , where per ¶0334 i.e. the ratio may mean reads on: the second power control parameter is obtained based on i.e. a ratio of NACK bits to i.e. HARQ-ACK bits reads on: the first power control parameter ).
Regarding Claim 10. (Currently amended) LEE teaches: A method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system (LEE FIG. 18 & ¶0322 See claim 1; ¶0323 See claim1;
NOTE DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0323 i.e. receives a physical uplink shared channel (PDSCH) from a base station in S1801 reads on: A method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system ),
(See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 10 recites similar and parallel features associated with a base station and reciprocally performed in association with the UE of Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 10. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) the method comprising: transmitting, a user equipment (UE),downlink shared channels (PDSCHs)(LEE FIG. 18 & ¶322 See Claim 1; ¶0323 See Claim 1; ¶0327 See Claim 1;
NOTE DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0323 i.e. UE first receives reads on: the method comprising: transmitting, and per ¶0323 i.e. a UE first receives a physical uplink shared channel (PDSCH) from a base station in S1801 reads on: a user equipment (UE), where per ¶0327 i.e. the PDSCH may include a first PDSCH and a second PDSCH reads on: one or more physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs));
and receiving a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) including hybrid automatic retransmission request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information (LEE FIG. 18 & ¶0324 See claim 1; ¶0340 See claim 1; ¶0341 See claim 1;
NOTE DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0324 the UE transmits, to the base station, a PUCCH reads on: and receiving a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) i.e. including hybrid automatic retransmit request (HARQ)-acknowledgment (ACK) information reads on: including hybrid automatic retransmission request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information. Furthermore per ¶0340 i.e. the UE may have to transmit, to the base station, the PUCCH also reads on: and receiving an a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), and ¶0341 i.e. if the UE requires power exceeding a maximum transmission power (y) to transmit the PUCCH i.e. the UE may first drop sequentially the HARQ-ACK bits for the first PDSCH to reduce the transmission power and may transmit the PUCCH configured per ¶0331 according to i.e. a transmission power of the PUCCH i.e. determined based on i.e. a bit configuration of the HARQ-ACK information also reads on: including hybrid automatic retransmission request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information)
including ACKs or NACKs for each of the one or more PDSCHs(LEE FIG. 18 & ¶0324 See claim 1; ¶0325 See claim 1;
NOTE DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0324 the UE transmits, to the base station, a PUCCH including hybrid automatic retransmit request (HARQ)-acknowledgment (ACK) information, and per ¶0325 i.e. the HARQ-ACK information may include NACK bit representing a non-acknowledgment (NACK) state, i.e. and/or ACK bit representing an acknowledgment (ACK) state reads on: including ACKs or NACKs, where per ¶0324 i.e. PUCCH including hybrid automatic retransmit request (HARQ)-acknowledgment (ACK) information for the PDSCH in S1802 reads on: for each of the one or more PDSCHs), wherein the PUCCH (LEE FIG. 18 & ¶0324 See claim 1; ¶0340 See claim 1; ¶0341 See claim 1;
NOTE DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0324 the UE transmits, to the base station, a PUCCH reads on: wherein the PUCCH uplink channel is transmitted)
according to transmission power determined based on a number of NACKs in the HARQ-ACK information (See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 10 recites similar and parallel features associated with a base station and reciprocally performed in association with the UE of Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 10. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
LEE does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (i.e. see italicized portions of claim limitations): one or more physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) in a slot;
Jung teaches: transmitting, a user equipment (UE),downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) in a slot (Jung – FIG. 1 & ¶0012 See claim 1; ¶0015 See claim 1;
NOTE DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0012 i.e. ¶0012 UE 110 can communicate with the network 130 via at least one network entity 120 i.e. the UE 110 can i.e. receive control signals on a control channel and user data signals on a data channel where correspondingly per ¶0015 i.e. PDCCHs carrying DL DCI, such as PDSCH assignments reads on: transmitting, a user equipment (UE),a-one or more physical downlink channel shared channels (PDSCHs), where per ¶0015 i.e. PDCCHs carrying DL DCI, such as PDSCH assignments, indicate the same slot reads on: in a slot);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of LEE with teachings of Jung, since Jung enables a network entity to be allowed to re-assign a different PUCCH resource for additional multiplexing and/or collision avoidance (Jung - ¶0018).
(See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 10 recites similar and parallel features associated with a base station and reciprocally performed in association with the UE of Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 10. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 11. (Currently amended) LEE in view of Jung teaches: The method of Claim 10,
(See the rejection of Claim 2, Claim 11 recites similar and parallel features associated with a base station and reciprocally performed in association with the UE of Claim 2, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 2 applies similarly to Claim 11. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) wherein the transmission power is determined based on for a UE-specific PDSCH configured by the base station, or the second power control parameter is obtained based on the first power control parameter (See the rejection of Claim 2, Claim 11 recites similar and parallel features associated with a base station and reciprocally performed in association with the UE of Claim 2, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 2 applies similarly to Claim 11. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 19. (Currently amended) LEE teaches: A user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system(LEE FIG. 18 & ¶0322 See claim 1; ¶0323 See claim 1;
NOTE DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶323 i.e. a UE first receives reads on: A user equipment (UE) , where i.e. […] a UE first receives a physical uplink shared channel (PDSCH) from a base station reads on: in a wireless communication system ),
the UE comprising: a transceiver; and a controller coupled with the transceiver and configured (LEE FIG. 20 & ¶ 0349 With regard to this, the UE's operation described above can be implemented in detail by a user equipment (UE) 2020 illustrated in FIG. 20 of the present disclosure. For example, the UE's operation described above may be performed by a processor 2021 and/or a RF unit 2023; ¶0350 Referring to FIG. 20, the processor 2021 first receives a physical uplink shared channel (PDSCH) from a base station 2010 through the RF unit 2023 in S1801. ¶0351 Next, the processor 2021 transmits, to the base station, a PUCCH including hybrid automatic retransmit request (HARQ)-acknowledgment (ACK) information for the PDSCH through the RF unit 2023 in 1802.;
NOTE DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0349 i.e. a user equipment (UE) 2020 illustrated in FIG. 20 reads on: the UE , per ¶0349 i.e. a processor 2021 and/or a RF unit 2023 reads on: comprising: a transceiver; and a controller coupled with the transceiver , per ¶0350 i.e. the processor 2021 first receives a physical uplink shared channel (PDSCH) from a base station 2010 through the RF unit 2023 reads on: and configured )
(See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 19 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 19. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) to: receive, from a base station one or more physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) in a slot, identify hybrid automatic retransmission request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information including ACKs or NACKs for each of the one or more PDSCHs, identify a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) from a group of PUCCHs corresponding to the HARQ-ACK information for the one or more PDSCHs, determine transmission power of the PUCCH based on a number of NACKs in the HARQ-ACK informationPUCCH (See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 19 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 19. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 20. (Currently amended) LEE teaches: A base station in a wireless communication system(LEE FIG. 18 & ¶0322 See claim 1; ¶0323 See claim1;
NOTE DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0323 i.e. receives a physical uplink shared channel (PDSCH) from a base station in S1801 reads on: A base station in a wireless communication system ), the base station comprising: a transceiver; and a controller coupled with the transceiver and configured (LEE – FIG. 20 ¶0402 With regard to this, the operation of the base station described above can be implemented in detail by the base station 2010 illustrated in FIG. 20 of the present disclosure. For example, the operation of the base station described above may be performed by a processor 2011 and/or a RF unit 2013; ¶0403 Referring to FIG. 20, the processor 2011 first transmits a physical uplink shared channel (PDSCH) to the UE 2020 through the RF unit 2013 in S1901.; ¶0404 Next, the processor 2011 receives, from the UE 2020, a PUCCH including hybrid automatic retransmit request (HARQ)-acknowledgment (ACK) information for the PDSCH through the RF unit 2013 in 1902.;
NOTE DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0402 i.e. the base station 2010 illustrated in FIG. 20 reads on: the base station , and i.e. performed by a processor 2011 and/or a RF unit 2013 reads on: comprising: a transceiver; and a controller coupled with the transceiver , and per ¶0404 i.e. the processor 2011 receives, from the UE 2020, a PUCCH including hybrid automatic retransmit request (HARQ)-acknowledgment (ACK) information for the PDSCH through the RF unit 2013 reads on: and configured )
(See the rejection of Claim 10, Claim 20 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 10, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 10 applies similarly to Claim 20. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) to: transmit, to a user equipment (UE), one or more physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) in a sloa physical uplink control channel (PUCCH)including hybrid automatic retransmission request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) informationincluding ACKs or NACKs for each of the one or more PDSCHs, wherein the PUCCH is transmitted according to a transmission power determinedbased on a number of NACKs in the HARQ-ACK information (See the rejection of Claim 10, Claim 20 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 10, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 10 applies similarly to Claim 20. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
11. Claims 4, 8, 13, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE in view of Jung, further in view of Takahashi et al. (US 20240048289 A1) i.e. “Takahashi”.
Regarding Claim 4. (Currently amended) LEE in view of Jung teaches: The method of claim
furthermore Jung teaches: wherein the HARQ-ACK information is determined based on at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” and separated by “and” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight):
downlink allocation indication (DAI) transmitted by the base station (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” and separated by “and” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight);
a number of semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) (Jung - ¶0019 […] If the UE detects a DCI format 1_1 that does not include a PDSCH-to-HARQ-timing-indicator field and schedules a PDSCH reception or activates a SPS PDSCH reception ending in slot n, the UE can provide corresponding HARQ-ACK information in a PUCCH transmission within slot n+k where k can be provided by higher layer parameter dl-DataToUL-AC;
NOTE DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0019 i.e. the UE can provide corresponding HARQ-ACK information in a PUCCH transmission reads on: wherein the HARQ-ACK information is determined based on , and per ¶0019 i.e. If the UE detects a DCI format 1_1 that does not include a PDSCH-to-HARQ-timing-indicator field and schedules a PDSCH reception or i.e. activates a SPS PDSCH reception ending in slot n reads on: a number of semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs));
and a first number of one or more PDSCHs (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” and separated by “and” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of LEE in view of Jung, further with the teachings of Jung, since Jung enables a network entity be allowed to re-assign a different PUCCH resource for additional multiplexing and/or collision avoidance (Jung - ¶0018).
While LEE in view of Jung teaches: The method of claim wherein the HARQ-ACK information is determined based on at least one of: downlink allocation indication (DAI) transmitted by the base station; a number of semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs); and a first number of one or more PDSCHs as referenced herein,
Assuming arguendo Jung’s teaching i.e. activates a SPS PDSCH reception ending in slot n implies a number of semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) and therefore i.e.
LEE in view of Jung does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (i.e. see italicized portions of claim limitations): a number of semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs);
Takahashi teaches: wherein the HARQ-ACK information is determined based on at least one of: a number of semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) (Takahashi FIG. 6 & ¶0137 […] Multiple SPS configurations (SPS configurations 1 to 4) configured for one serving cell (CC #1) are configured for the UE.; ¶0138 […] The SPS PDSCHs #1 to #3 respectively correspond to these activated SPS configurations; ¶0139 […] The HARQ-ACK bits for the SPS PDSCHs transmitted in the same UL slot (slot n+9) constitute one codebook. The codebook size may be determined by the number of configured SPS configurations (=4)×the number of configured CCs (=1) […] ;.
NOTE DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: and Per ¶0139 i.e. The HARQ-ACK bits for the SPS PDSCHs transmitted in the same UL slot (slot n+9) constitute one codebook and per ¶0139 The HARQ-ACK bits for the SPS PDSCHs transmitted reads on: wherein the HARQ-ACK information is determined , and furthermore per ¶0139 i.e. The codebook size may be determined by the number of configured SPS configurations reads on: based on at least one of: which i.e. configured SPS configurations corresponds per ¶0138 The SPS PDSCHs #1 to #3 respectively correspond to these activated SPS configurations where FIG. 6 depicts a number of SPS PDSCHs #1 to #3 mapped to the PUCCH reads on: a number of semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) physical downlink shared channels ;
NOTE: while not specifically utilized herein, CHIEN (US 20210021382 A1) see ¶0072 also teaches the same subject matter i.e. the user equipment 1 may calculate a total number of HARQ-ACK bits corresponding to the SPS PDSCH resources, and select the PUCCH resource from a plurality of candidate PUCCH resources in the target slot according to the total number of HARQ-ACK bits.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of LEE in view of Jung, with the teachings of Takahashi, since Takahashi enables advantageous effects comprising the HARQ-ACK can be appropriately feed back even in a case where multiple SPSs are used (Takahashi - ¶0011).
Regarding Claim 8. (Currently amended) LEE in view of Jung and Takahashi teaches: The method of Claim 4, (NOTE: Claim 8 depends from claim 4, and the claim 8 limitations associate with and recite “a second number of the one or more PDSCHs”“received by the UE is less than the first number” , where a limitation reciting “first number of one or more PDSCHs” or limitation reciting i.e. “first number” is presented in the alternative in claim 4, and therefore the limitations in claim 8 are also deemed and interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required) wherein the identifying further comprises- in case that a second number of the one or more PDSCHs based on a third number of NACKs to HARQ-ACK information for the received downlink channels, and wherein the third number is (NOTE: Claim 8 depends from claim 4, and the claim 8 limitations associate with and recite “a second number of the one or more PDSCHs”“received by the UE is less than the first number” , where a limitation reciting “first number of one or more PDSCHs” or limitation reciting i.e. “first number” is presented in the alternative in claim 4, and therefore the limitations in claim 8 are also deemed and interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required).
Regarding Claim 13. (Currently amended) LEE in view of Jung teaches: The method of clai
(See the rejection of Claim 4, Claim 13 recites similar and parallel features associated with a base station and reciprocally performed in association with the UE of Claim 4, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 4 applies similarly to Claim 13. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) wherein the HARQ- ACK information is determined based on at least one of: downlink allocation indication (DAI) transmitted by the base station; a number of semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs); or a first number of downlink channels for which feedback of HARQ-ACK is required, which is configured by higher layer signaling(See the rejection of Claim 4, Claim 13 recites similar and parallel features associated with a base station and reciprocally performed in association with the UE of Claim 4, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 4 applies similarly to Claim 13. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 17. (Currently amended) LEE in view of Jung and Takahashi teaches: The method of Claim 13 (See the rejection of Claim 8, Claim 17 recites similar and parallel features associated with a base station and reciprocally performed in association with the UE of Claim 8, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 8 applies similarly to Claim 17. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) wherein in case that a second number of the one or more PDSCHs identified based on (See the rejection of Claim 8, Claim 17 recites similar and parallel features associated with a base station and reciprocally performed in association with the UE of Claim 8, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 8 applies similarly to Claim 17. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
12. Claims 9, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE in view of Jung, further in view of Matsumura et al. (US 20240057088 A1) i.e. “Matsumura”.
Regarding Claim 9. (Original) LEE in view of Jung teaches: The method of Claim 2,
LEE in view of Jung does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (i.e. see italicized portions of claim limitations): wherein the transmission power is determined by taking the first power control parameter as the second power control parameter and setting the first power control parameter to a predetermined value, and wherein the predetermined value is 0.
Matsumura teaches: wherein the transmission power is determined by taking the first power control parameter as the second power control parameter and setting the first power control parameter to a predetermined value, and wherein the predetermined value is 0 (Matsumura – FIG. 12 & ¶0174 […] an existing DCI format includes an existing field and a new field. When the value of the new field is 0, this indicates that this DCI schedules a unicast PDSCH. When the value of the new field is 1, this indicates that this DCI schedules a multicast PDSCH; ¶0176 When some special values of some special fields in an existing DCI format are decoded, the UE may regard (judge, confirm, validate) that the DCI schedules a multicast PDSCH; ¶0177 Otherwise, the UE may regard that the DCI schedules a unicast PDSCH. The existing DCI format may be at least one of DCI formats 0_1, 0_2, 1_1, 1_2, and 2_3. Combinations of the special fields and special values may be at least one of the following […] ; ¶0184 The values of an HARQ process number field are all set to 0 or all set to 1; ¶0185 The values of a downlink allocation indicator (DAI) field are all set to 0 or all set to 1; ¶0186 The values of a PUCCH transmission power control (TPC) command field are all set to 0;
NOTE DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0174 i.e. DCI schedules a multicast PDSCH or unicast PDSCH and per ¶0177 i.e. The existing DCI format may be at least one of DCI formats 0_1, 0_2, 1_1, 1_2, and 2_3. Combinations of the special fields and special values may be at least one of the following, per ¶0186 i.e. The values of a PUCCH transmission power control (TPC) command field reads on: wherein the transmission power is determined per ¶0186 i.e. are all set reads on: by taking the first power control parameter as the second power control parameter , and per ¶0186 i.e. values of a PUCCH transmission power control (TPC) command field are all set to 0 reads on: and setting the first power control parameter to a predetermined value, and wherein the predetermined value is 0).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of LEE in view of Jung, with teachings of Matsumura, since Matsumura enables a UE to judge a data scrambling RNTI by blind decoding of a PDSCH, judge whether the PDSCH is multicast or unicast by higher layer signaling included in the TB, and check whether the judged data scrambling RNTI is correct and accordingly, reliability can be improved (Matsumura - ¶0222).
Regarding Claim 18. (Original) LEE in view of Jung teaches: The method of Claim 11,
(See the rejection of Claim 9, Claim 18 recites similar and parallel features associated with a base station and reciprocally performed in association with the UE of Claim 9, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 9 applies similarly to Claim 18. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) wherein the transmission power is determined by taking the first power control parameter as the second power control parameter and setting the first power control parameter to a predetermined value, and wherein the predetermined value is 0 (See the rejection of Claim 9, Claim 18 recites similar and parallel features associated with a base station and reciprocally performed in association with the UE of Claim 9, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 9 applies similarly to Claim 18. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MALICK A SOHRAB whose telephone number is (571)272-4347. The examiner can normally be reached on Mo-Fri 9:00 am - 5:00 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/M.A.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414