DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Interpretation The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f): (f) Element in Claim for a Combination. – An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: (A) the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function; (B) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and (C) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. Use of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Absence of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a radiation generation apparatus , a radiographic imaging apparatus , and a control apparatus . Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. If applicant does not intend to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1 - 5, 8-11, 14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Okada (US 2015/0078528) . Regarding claim s 1 and 16 , Okada discloses a radiographic system (title) with a corresponding method comprising: a radiation generating apparatus (11) configured to control irradiation with radiation from a radiation source (10) ; and a radiographic imaging apparatus (13) configured to capture an image based on the radiation from the radiation source (10) , wherein the radiation generating apparatus (11) and the radiographic imaging apparatus (13) are configured to perform communication (via 33) of irradiation control information (par. 34; via the dose sampler) and communication of synchronization information (par. 115) between each other using a same interface (33) , wherein the irradiation control information is used to control the irradiation with the radiation from the radiation source based on a dose of the radiation from the radiation source (par. 34; via the dose sampler ) , and wherein the synchronization information is used to synchronize imaging timing between the radiation generating apparatus and the radiographic imaging apparatus (par. 115) . Regarding claim 2, Okada discloses wherein the synchronization information is synchronization start information communicated between the radiation generating apparatus and the radiographic imaging apparatus before start of the irradiation with the radiation (par. 115) . Regarding claim 3, Okada discloses wherein the synchronization information is synchronization end information communicated between the radiation generating apparatus and the radiographic imaging apparatus after start of the irradiation with the radiation ( par. 60 ) . Regarding claim 4, Okada discloses wherein the same interface is a wired communication interface or a wireless communication interface (par. 123) . Regarding claim 5, Okada discloses wherein the radiographic imaging apparatus (13) is configured to detect the radiation from the radiation source (10) and transmit a radiation irradiation stop signal (par. 60) to the radiation generating apparatus based on a dose of the detected radiation (via 53) , wherein the radiation generating apparatus is configured to, upon receiving the radiation irradiation stop signal, perform control to stop the irradiation with the radiation from the radiation source (par. 60) , and wherein the irradiation control information is the radiation irradiation stop signal (par. 60) . Regarding claim 8, Okada discloses a control apparatus (with 21) configured to control aspects of the radiographic system, wherein the radiographic imaging apparatus (13) is configured to receive imaging condition information from the radiation generating apparatus or the control apparatus (par. 108) , and wherein the radiographic imaging apparatus (13) is configured to perform the communication of the irradiation control information, the communication of the synchronization information, and the reception of the imaging condition information using the same interface (33) . Regarding claim 9, Okada discloses wherein the imaging condition information includes at least one of body part information of a subject, a tube voltage, a tube current, an irradiation time, a maximum permissible irradiation time, physical size information, a focal length, or setting information about automatic exposure control (par. 63) . Regarding claim 10, Okada discloses wherein the radiation generating apparatus (11) and the radiographic imaging apparatus (13) are configured to perform the communication of the irradiation control information and the communication of the synchronization information between each other via a control apparatus (21) using the same interface (33) . Regarding claim 11, Okada discloses wherein the radiation generating apparatus is configured to transmit actual exposure condition information (par. 60) to the control apparatus ( 21 ) , and wherein the radiation generating apparatus (11) and the control apparatus (21) are configured to perform the communication of the irradiation control information (par. 34; via the dose sampler) , the communication of the synchronization information (par. 115) , and communication of the actual exposure condition information between each other using the same interface (33) . Regarding claim 14, Okada discloses wherein the actual exposure condition information includes at least one of a tube voltage, a tube current, an irradiation time, a tube current-time product, a focal point-to-subject distance, or a focal point-to-detector distance (par. 63) . Allowable Subject Matter Claims 6-7 , 12- 13 , and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT Chih -Cheng Kao whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-2492 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-F 9-5 . Examiner interviews are available via telephone and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT David Makiya can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 272-2273 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. / Chih -Cheng Kao/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884