DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-14 are pending.
Claims 7-14 are withdrawn.
Claims 1, 4 and 6 are currently amended.
Claims 1-7 are currently under consideration.
Claims 1-7 are rejected.
Acknowledgement of Receipt
This Office Action is in response to the Applicants’ amendments and remarks filed 03/02/2026.
Withdrawn Objections/Rejections
The objections to claims 4 and 6 are withdrawn.
Applicants Claim
Applicants claim a composition for transdermal supplementation, comprising: an aqueous gel comprising therapeutically effective amounts of: glycerin; polyacrylic acid; a synthetic peptide; aloe vera gel; a cross-linked sodium hyaluronate polymer; carnosine; and at least one tocopherol (claim 1); the synthetic peptide comprises palmitoyl tripeptide-1 (claim 2); palmitoyl tripeptide-7 (claim 3); further comprising an additional therapeutically effective amount of pullulan (claim 4); a microalgae extract (claim 5); Nannochloropsis oculata (claim 6); an extract of the macadamia (claim 7).
New Rejections
Applicant’s amendments have necessitated the following grounds of rejection:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuchs et al. (US 2021/0275431 A1, pub. 09/09/2021) in view of Dreher (US 11,331,305 B2, pub. 05/17/2022) and Yao et al. (CN 114642623 A, pub. 06/21/2022) herein referenced Fuchs, Dreher, and Yao. Citations for Yao are taken from the machine translated document.
Fuchs discloses a cosmetic composition includes at least one gamma-polyglutamic acid (PGA) composition, at least one plant stem cell extract, at least one additional peptide composition and at least one vitamin composition (abstract). Palmitoyl tripeptide-1 and palmitoyl tripeptide-7 are taught (paragraphs 0014, 0018, 0032, 0036, claims 5 and 9) to read on instant claims 2-3. Fuchs teaches thickeners to include acrylate/C10-30 alkyl acrylate cross polymers (paragraph 0047) to read on the polyacrylic acid of claim 1.
Fuchs’ teaches and shows by exemplary composition glycerin, polyacrylic acid, synthetic peptide (tripeptide-1 and tripeptide-7), tocopherol, pullulan, and Nannocloropsis oculate extract (CAS 92128-82-0) (paragraphs 0033, 0045, 0047, 0051, claims 5-6) to read on instant claims 1, and 4-6.
Fuchs teaches that the composition is applied for the purpose of provides wrinkle prevention and/or smoothing concomitantly and protect and preserve the human skin stem cells in order to maintain and optionally increase the self-healing properties of the skin (paragraph 0006).
Regarding claim 7, Fuchs teaches that macadamia nut oil can be added to provide emollient properties (paragraph 0043). A person of ordinary skill in the art ahead of the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivation to add macadamia nut (which reads on macadamia extract) to the composition because its emollient properties would contribute to the composition’s ability to moisturize and further reduce the appearance of wrinkles and/or provide a smoothing effect.
Regarding claim 1, Fuchs does not mention aloe vera gel, carnosine, and crosslinked sodium hyaluronate polymer.
Dreher discloses compositions for stimulating the formation of one or more extracellular matrix components that contain a lipoamino acid derivative of the tripeptide carnosine such as N-octanoyl carnosine (abstract). Also provided are compositions containing N-octanoyl carnosine in combination with selected tripeptide and/or tetrapeptides as well as pharmaceutical and/or cosmetic compositions containing such compositions (abstract). Dreher’s compositions can have aloe vera in any of its variety of forms (e.g., aloe vera gel) (column 38, line 52). Palmitoyl-GHK (i.e., palmitoyl tripeptide-1) and GEKG (SEQ ID NO:1) can be combined with octanoyl carnosine (column 7, line 8; claims 1, 8). Dreher’s Composition P: Gel (e.g., hydrogel) has 0.01% of the combination of octanolyl carnosine, palmitoyl-GHK and GEKG (column 69, line 12).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, ahead of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the aloe vera gel and carnosine taught by Dreher in Fuch’s composition with expected results. Dreher presents aloe vera gel as a skin conditioner (column 38, line 48) which complements well with peptides since Fuchs teaches peptides have a skin conditioning effect (paragraph 0036). Similar to Fuchs, Dreher is focused on anti-wrinkle actives and anti-atrophy actives to include stem cells (column 37, line 45). Dreher’s clinical tests unexpectedly found that octanoyl carnosine, in combination with palmitoyl tri and tetra peptides, have great potential when it comes to cosmetics, dermatology, etc., where extracellular matrix components (including the but not limited to, collagen III) are altered (columns 23, lines 56; 76 line 55; 78, line 11). As such, a person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use the aloe vera gel and carnosine of Dreher because doing so would provide compositions that enhance skin appearance and promote skin resiliency.
As mentioned above Fuchs does not teach the cross-linked sodium hyaluronate polymer.
Yao discloses a skin anti-bacterial skin repairing function composition comprising a peptide-1, oligopeptide-1, sodium hyaluronate, and aloe vera gel (abstract). Yao teaches that composition may be combined with a fiber fabric function through biological transdermal technology (abstract). Yao teaches that aloe vera gel has an anti-fungal and moisturizing effect on skin (page 4, paragraph 5).
Yao teaches that sodium hyaluronate as it is moisturizing it can repair skin damage by promoting the proliferation and differentiation of epidermal cells, removing oxygen free radicals, delaying skin-aging, and can remove wrinkles (page 4, paragraph 4). Yao provides examples (pages 8-9, embodiments 1-3, Tables 1-3) and test results that show restoration of the skin stratum corneum (Fig. 1). Yao discloses that the sodium hyaluronate used in the compositions is divided into the macromolecule, middle molecule and small molecule, according to the different molecular weights for which the action is different (page 4, paragraph 4). Yao discloses macromolecule sodium hyaluronate, with crosslinking function, and the sodium hyaluronate of small molecule, provide anti-wrinkle and anti-aging effects to skin, and improve skin glossiness (page 4, paragraph 4).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, ahead of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the sodium hyaluronate with crosslinking function (i.e., cross-linked sodium hyaluronate polymer) taught by Yao in the composition of Fuchs in view of Dreher with expected results. One would be motivated to do so because Yao provides results that show a synergistic effect of the composition on the function of repairing skin and an anti-bacterial function (page 9, paragraph 1) that would positively contribute to the field of transdermal technology.
Response to Arguments
Applicants' arguments with respect to claims 1-7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
All claims under consideration remain rejected; no claims are allowed. Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Karen Ketcham/Examiner, Art Unit 1614
/ALI SOROUSH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1614