DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges the receipt of the Applicant’s amendment filed on 07/17/2026. Claims 1, 4, 7-8, 10, 13-19, 21, 24-25, and 27-30 have been amended. Claims 3, 5-6, 9, 20, 22-23, and 26 have been canceled. Claims 1-2, 4, 7-8, 10-19, 21, 24-25 and 27-32 are currently pending in the present application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2, 4, 7-8, 10-19, 21, 24-25 and 27-32 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 7-8, 10-19, 21, 24-25, and 27-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 2022/0250654 A1), and further in view of Herbert et al. (US 2024/0212502 A1 herein Herbert).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) device (read as the AV 102 can use V2V or V2X communication) (Zhang – [0022]), comprising:
a memory (read as memory) (Zhang – [0026]); and
at least one processor (read as one or more processors 110) (Zhang – [0021]) coupled to the memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the memory (read as storage of instructions and data) (Zhang – [0026]), the at least one processor is configured to:
detect that at least one sensor of the V2X device (read as AV 102 also includes one or more sensors 106 to provide data to one or more processors 110) (Zhang – Figure 1, [0021]) has become non-operational, damaged, or malfunctioned (read as due to system error or sensor failure) (Zhang – [0049]); and
transmit, for at least one network node based on the detection, at least one message that includes information regarding the at least one sensor becoming non-operational, damaged, or malfunctioned, wherein the at least one message includes at least one field for the information regarding the at least one sensor, wherein the at least one message comprises a first cooperative perception message (CPM) comprising the at least one field (read as CPM 318 can include a list of entity’s sensors, the sensors’ fields of view, and object detection lists which include state estimates for objects detected by the sender entity, such as other vehicle or pedestrians, and can include information about the parameter data, state parameters, and confidence values such as estimate error information; AV performs the perception tasks 316 and sends the cooperative perception message 318, it may receive new information from its sensors or another source and use the new information to update the estimates, predictions, and/or object detection lists) (Zhang – [0037], [0049]), wherein the information regarding the at least one sensor includes at least one of:
a first indication as to whether the at least one sensor is non-operational, a second indication of a time at which the at least one sensor became non-operational, damaged, or malfunctioned, a third indication of kinematics of the V2X device, a fourth indication of at least one type of the at least one sensor, or a fifth indication of a probable cause of the at least one sensor becoming non-operational, damaged, or malfunctioned (read as CPM 318 can include a list of entity’s sensors, the sensors’ fields of view, and object detection lists which include state estimates for objects detected by the sender entity, such as other vehicle or pedestrians, and can include information about the parameter data, object detection list, state parameters, and confidence values such as estimate error information; different sensor can have different track structures; based on the sensors, data for a given object detection list may include timestamp, sensor meta-data, an identification, a state estimate such as position and velocity, and an estimation error covariance matrix) (Zhang – [0037]).
However, Zhang fails to teach comprises a sensor data sharing message (SDSM) comprising the at least one field and a second CPM associated with the SDSM.
In the related art, Herbert teaches comprises a sensor data sharing message (SDSM) comprising the at least one field and a second CPM associated with the SDSM (read as the information may be transmitted using one or more vehicle-based messages, such as C-V2X messages, which can include Sensor Data Sharing Messages (SDSMs), Basic Safety Messages (BSMs), Cooperative Awareness Messages (CAMs), Collective Perception Messages (CPMs), and/or other types of vehicle-based messages) (Herbert – [0035], [0115], [0119]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Herbert into the teachings of Zhang for the purpose of allowing information to be transmitted from vehicle sensors through wireless links to allow the information to be communicated to other vehicles, pedestrians, VRUs, and/or traffic infrastructure and by sharing this information with other vehicles, the V2X technology improves vehicle (and driver) awareness of potential dangers to help reduce collisions with other vehicles and entities and enhances traffic efficiency by providing traffic warnings to vehicles of potential upcoming road dangers and obstacles such that vehicles may choose alternative traffic routes.
Regarding claim 2 as applied to claim 1, Zhang as modified by Herbert further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: detect that the at least one sensor is no longer non-operational, damaged, or malfunctioned; and cease to transmit the at least one message based on the detection that the at least one sensor is no longer non-operational, damaged, or malfunctioned (read as when estimate error information such as an estimation error covariance matrix does not indicate any errors then the sensor is operational and functioning as intended) (Zhang – [0037]).
Regarding claim 4 as applied to claim 1, Zhang as modified by Herbert further teaches wherein the information regarding the at least one sensor includes the third indication of kinematics of the V2X device, wherein the kinematics of the V2X device include a latitude, a longitude, an altitude, a heading, and a speed of the V2X device (read as for a moving object, this describes how the object moves, which involves the position and the kinematic states that describe the motion such as velocity, acceleration, turn-rate; object detection lists may include predictions or estimates for a position state, a kinematic state, and/or an extent state; kinematic state can be used to make predictions of the position and/or the extent states) (Zhang – [0042], [0044], [0046]).
Regarding claim 7 as applied to claim 1, Zhang as modified by Herbert further teaches wherein, to transmit the SDSM and the second CPM associated with the SDSM, the at least one processor is configured to: transmit the SDSM at a first periodicity which is lower than a second periodicity associated with transmission of the CPM (read as information can be continuously or periodically (e.g., every 1 millisecond (ms), every 10 ms, or the like) provided to the ITS 455; SDSM 734 may be a broadcast message such that any receiving device within the vicinity of the HV may receive the message) (Herbert – [0095], [0111]).
Regarding claim 8 as applied to claim 1, Zhang as modified by Herbert further teaches wherein the at least one message includes a source identifier (ID) and a cryptographic certificate (read as IMSI and key can be used to identify and authenticate the subscriber on a particular UE which support critical services, such as eCall for making emergency calls in the event of an accident or other emergency) (Herbert – [0088]) that is used by a basic safety message (BSM), wherein the at least one processor is configured to: transmit the BSM (read as Basic Safety Messages (BSMs)) (Herbert – [0035], [0115], [0118]).
Regarding claim 10 as applied to claim 1, Zhang as modified by Herbert further teaches wherein the V2X device comprises at least one of: a vehicle; an ego vehicle; a user equipment (UE); a roadside unit (RSU); or a second network node, wherein the at least one network node comprises at least one of: a second UE; a second vehicle; a network entity; a second RSU: a mobile phone; a traffic management component; or a misbehavior component (read as roadside unit (RSU) is a device that can transmit and receive messages over a communication link or interface to and from one or more UEs, other RSUs, and/or base stations) (Herbert – [0049], [0126], [0139], [0141], [0149]).
Regarding claim 11 as applied to claim 10, Zhang as modified by Herbert further teaches wherein at least one of the V2X device or the at least one network node is a member of a vehicular platoon (read as one or more vehicles in a fleet of connected autonomous or semi-autonomous vehicles (also referred to as a fleet or a connected fleet) to provide perception data to the entire fleet; AV is part of a fleet of connected AVs; AV is a member of the connected fleet) (Zhang – [0003], [0015]-[0016]).
Regarding claim 12 as applied to claim 1, Zhang as modified by Herbert further teaches wherein the at least one sensor includes one or more of: a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) sensor (Herbert – [0092]), a camera sensor (read as one or more camera sensor systems) (Herbert – [0101]), a radar sensor (read as radio detection and ranging (RADAR) sensor systems) (Herbert – [0101]), a sound navigation and ranging sensor, or a light detection and ranging (LIDAR) sensor (read as LIDAR sensor systems) (Herbert – [0101]).
Regarding claim 13 as applied to claim 1, Zhang as modified by Herbert further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: ascertain at least a portion of the information regarding the at least one sensor based on the detection that the at least one sensor of the V2X device has become non-operational, damaged, or malfunctioned (read as CPM 318 can include a list of entity’s sensors, the sensors’ fields of view, and object detection lists which include state estimates for objects detected by the sender entity, such as other vehicle or pedestrians, and can include information about the parameter data, state parameters, and confidence values such as estimate error information; AV performs the perception tasks 316 and sends the cooperative perception message 318, it may receive new information from its sensors or another source and use the new information to update the estimates, predictions, and/or object detection lists) (Zhang – [0037], [0049]).
Regarding claim 14 as applied to claim 1, Zhang as modified by Herbert further teaches wherein the apparatus comprises a wireless communication device comprising at least one of a transceiver or an antenna coupled to the at least one processor, wherein, to transmit the at least one message, the at least one processor is configured to: transmit the at least one message via at least one of the transceiver or the antenna (read as AV 102 includes communication devices 108, one or more processors 110, and one or more CRM 112; communication devices 108 can be radio frequency transceivers to transmit and receive RF signals) (Zhang – [0022]).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node (Zhang – Figure 1, [0019]), comprising:
a memory (read as memory) (Zhang – [0026]); and
at least one processor coupled to the memory (read as one or more processors 110) (Zhang – [0021]) and, based at least in part on information stored in the memory (read as storage of instructions and data) (Zhang – [0026]), the at least one processor is configured to:
receive, from a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) device (read as the AV 102 can use V2V or V2X communication) (Zhang – [0022]), at least one message that includes information regarding at least one sensor of the V2X device (read as AV 102 also includes one or more sensors 106 to provide data to one or more processors 110) (Zhang – Figure 1, [0021]) becoming non-operational, damaged, or malfunctioned, wherein the at least one message includes at least one field for the information regarding the at least one sensor, wherein the at least one message comprises a first cooperative perception message (CPM) comprising the at least one field (read as CPM 318 can include a list of entity’s sensors, the sensors’ fields of view, and object detection lists which include state estimates for objects detected by the sender entity, such as other vehicle or pedestrians, and can include information about the parameter data, state parameters, and confidence values such as estimate error information; AV performs the perception tasks 316 and sends the cooperative perception message 318, it may receive new information from its sensors or another source and use the new information to update the estimates, predictions, and/or object detection lists) (Zhang – [0037], [0049]), wherein the information regarding the at least one sensor includes at least one of:
a first indication as to whether the at least one sensor is non-operational, a second indication of a time at which the at least one sensor became non- operational, damaged, or malfunctioned, a third indication of kinematics of the V2X device, a fourth indication of at least one type of the at least one sensor, or a fifth indication of a probable cause of the at least one sensor becoming non-operational, damaged, or malfunctioned; and perform, based on the at least one message, at least one action pertaining to the at least one sensor of the V2X device becoming non-operational, damaged, or malfunctioned (read as CPM 318 can include a list of entity’s sensors, the sensors’ fields of view, and object detection lists which include state estimates for objects detected by the sender entity, such as other vehicle or pedestrians, and can include information about the parameter data, object detection list, state parameters, and confidence values such as estimate error information; different sensor can have different track structures; based on the sensors, data for a given object detection list may include timestamp, sensor meta-data, an identification, a state estimate such as position and velocity, and an estimation error covariance matrix) (Zhang – [0037]).
However, Zhang fails to teach comprises a sensor data sharing message (SDSM) comprising the at least one field and a second CPM associated with the SDSM.
In the related art, Herbert teaches comprises a sensor data sharing message (SDSM) comprising the at least one field and a second CPM associated with the SDSM (read as the information may be transmitted using one or more vehicle-based messages, such as C-V2X messages, which can include Sensor Data Sharing Messages (SDSMs), Basic Safety Messages (BSMs), Cooperative Awareness Messages (CAMs), Collective Perception Messages (CPMs), and/or other types of vehicle-based messages) (Herbert – [0035], [0115], [0119]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Herbert into the teachings of Zhang for the purpose of allowing information to be transmitted from vehicle sensors through wireless links to allow the information to be communicated to other vehicles, pedestrians, VRUs, and/or traffic infrastructure and by sharing this information with other vehicles, the V2X technology improves vehicle (and driver) awareness of potential dangers to help reduce collisions with other vehicles and entities and enhances traffic efficiency by providing traffic warnings to vehicles of potential upcoming road dangers and obstacles such that vehicles may choose alternative traffic routes.
Regarding claim 16 as applied to claim 15, Zhang as modified by Herbert further teaches wherein the network node comprises a vehicle, wherein, to perform the at least one action pertaining to the at least one sensor of the V2X device becoming non-operational, damaged, or malfunctioned, the at least one processor is configured to: modify at least one misbehavior detection algorithm based on the at least one field of the at least one message (read as when the subject AV receives a cooperative perception message (CPM), the perception system of the subject AV is updated with the data from the other AV, and the autonomous driving system of the subject AV can take proper action to account for the other vehicle) (Zhang – [0017]).
Regarding claim 17 as applied to claim 15, Zhang as modified by Herbert further teaches wherein the network node comprises a vehicle, wherein, to perform the at least one action pertaining to the at least one sensor of the V2X device becoming non-operational, damaged, or malfunctioned, the at least one processor is configured to: exclude the V2X device from a misbehaving vehicle list maintained by the vehicle when the at least one message indicates that the V2X device is outside a threshold range of the vehicle or when the at least one message indicates that the V2X device has a speed that is less than a threshold value (read as when the subject AV receives a cooperative perception message (CPM), the perception system of the subject AV is updated with the data from the other AV, and the autonomous driving system of the subject AV can take proper action to account for the other vehicle (e.g., reduce speed or change lanes) (Zhang – [0017]).
Regarding claim 18 as applied to claim 15, Zhang as modified by Herbert further teaches wherein the network node comprises a road side unit (RSU), wherein, to perform the at least one action pertaining to the at least one sensor of the V2X device becoming non-operational, damaged, or malfunctioned, the at least one processor is configured to: forward the at least one message to a set of additional network nodes (read as roadside unit (RSU) is a device that can transmit and receive messages over a communication link or interface to and from one or more UEs, other RSUs, and/or base stations) (Herbert – [0049], [0126], [0139], [0141], [0149]).
Regarding claim 19 as applied to claim 15, Zhang as modified by Herbert further teaches wherein, to perform the at least one action pertaining to the at least one sensor of the V2X device becoming non-operational, damaged, or malfunctioned, the at least one processor is configured to: transmit at least a portion of the at least one message to a remote server (read as communication devices 108 can be used to communicate with remote computing devices (e.g., a server or computing system providing navigation information or perception data), nearby structures (e.g., traffic signs or signals, pedestrian-operated devices, such as a mobile phone), or other vehicles, including other members of the connected fleet) (Zhang – [0022]).
Regarding claim 21 as applied to claim 15, Zhang as modified by Herbert further teaches wherein the information regarding the at least one sensor includes the third indication of kinematics of the V2X device, wherein the kinematics of the V2X device include a latitude, a longitude, an altitude, a heading, and a speed of the V2X device (read as for a moving object, this describes how the object moves, which involves the position and the kinematic states that describe the motion such as velocity, acceleration, turn-rate; object detection lists may include predictions or estimates for a position state, a kinematic state, and/or an extent state; kinematic state can be used to make predictions of the position and/or the extent states) (Zhang – [0042], [0044], [0046]).
Regarding claim 24 as applied to claim 15, Zhang as modified by Herbert further teaches wherein, to receive the at least one message, the at least one processor is configured to: receive the SDSM at a first periodicity which is lower than a second periodicity associated with reception of the CPM (read as information can be continuously or periodically (e.g., every 1 millisecond (ms), every 10 ms, or the like) provided to the ITS 455; SDSM 734 may be a broadcast message such that any receiving device within the vicinity of the HV may receive the message) (Herbert – [0095], [0111]).
Regarding claim 25 as applied to claim 15, Zhang as modified by Herbert further teaches wherein the at least one message includes a source identifier (ID) and a cryptographic certificate (read as IMSI and key can be used to identify and authenticate the subscriber on a particular UE which support critical services, such as eCall for making emergency calls in the event of an accident or other emergency) (Herbert – [0088]) that is used by a basic safety message (BSM) (read as Basic Safety Messages (BSMs)) (Herbert – [0035], [0115], [0118]), wherein, to perform the at least one action pertaining to the at least one sensor of the V2X device becoming non-operational, damaged, or malfunctioned, the at least one processor is further configured to: perform the at least one action based on the source ID and the cryptographic (read as IMSI and key can be used to identify and authenticate the subscriber on a particular UE which support critical services, such as eCall for making emergency calls in the event of an accident or other emergency) (Herbert – [0088]).
Regarding claim 27 as applied to claim 15, Zhang as modified by Herbert further teaches wherein the V2X device comprises at least one of: a vehicle; an ego vehicle; a user equipment (UE); a roadside unit (RSU); or a second network node, wherein the network node comprises at least one of: a second UE: a second vehicle; a network entity; a second RSU: a mobile phone; a traffic management component; or a misbehavior component (read as roadside unit (RSU) is a device that can transmit and receive messages over a communication link or interface to and from one or more UEs, other RSUs, and/or base stations) (Herbert – [0049], [0126], [0139], [0141], [0149]).
Regarding claim 28 as applied to claim 15, Zhang as modified by Herbert further teaches wherein the apparatus comprises a wireless communication device comprising at least one of a transceiver or an antenna coupled to the at least one processor, wherein, to receive the at least one message, the at least one processor is configured to: receive the at least one message via at least one of the transceiver or the antenna (read as AV 102 includes communication devices 108, one or more processors 110, and one or more CRM 112; communication devices 108 can be radio frequency transceivers to transmit and receive RF signals) (Zhang – [0022]).
Regarding claim 29, Zhang teaches a method of wireless communication at a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) device (read as the AV 102 can use V2V or V2X communication) (Zhang – [0022]), comprising:
detecting that at least one sensor of the V2X device (read as AV 102 also includes one or more sensors 106 to provide data to one or more processors 110) (Zhang – Figure 1, [0021]) has become non-operational, damaged, or malfunctioned (read as system error or sensor failure) (Zhang – [0049]); and
transmitting, for at least one network node based on the detection, at least one message that includes information regarding the at least one sensor becoming non-operational, damaged, or malfunctioned, wherein the at least one message includes at least one field for the information regarding the at least one sensor, wherein the at least one message comprises a first cooperative perception message (CPM) comprising the at least one field (read as CPM 318 can include a list of entity’s sensors, the sensors’ fields of view, and object detection lists which include state estimates for objects detected by the sender entity, such as other vehicle or pedestrians, and can include information about the parameter data, state parameters, and confidence values such as estimate error information; AV performs the perception tasks 316 and sends the cooperative perception message 318, it may receive new information from its sensors or another source and use the new information to update the estimates, predictions, and/or object detection lists) (Zhang – [0037], [0049]), wherein the information regarding the at least one sensor includes at least one of:
a first indication as to whether the at least one sensor is non-operational, a second indication of a time at which the at least one sensor became non- operational, damaged, or malfunctioned, a third indication of kinematics of the V2X device, a fourth indication of at least one type of the at least one sensor, or a fifth indication of a probable cause of the at least one sensor becoming non- operational, damaged, or malfunctioned (read as CPM 318 can include a list of entity’s sensors, the sensors’ fields of view, and object detection lists which include state estimates for objects detected by the sender entity, such as other vehicle or pedestrians, and can include information about the parameter data, object detection list, state parameters, and confidence values such as estimate error information; different sensor can have different track structures; based on the sensors, data for a given object detection list may include timestamp, sensor meta-data, an identification, a state estimate such as position and velocity, and an estimation error covariance matrix) (Zhang – [0037]).
However, Zhang fails to teach comprises a sensor data sharing message (SDSM) comprising the at least one field and a second CPM associated with the SDSM.
In the related art, Herbert teaches comprises a sensor data sharing message (SDSM) comprising the at least one field and a second CPM associated with the SDSM (read as the information may be transmitted using one or more vehicle-based messages, such as C-V2X messages, which can include Sensor Data Sharing Messages (SDSMs), Basic Safety Messages (BSMs), Cooperative Awareness Messages (CAMs), Collective Perception Messages (CPMs), and/or other types of vehicle-based messages) (Herbert – [0035], [0115], [0119]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Herbert into the teachings of Zhang for the purpose of allowing information to be transmitted from vehicle sensors through wireless links to allow the information to be communicated to other vehicles, pedestrians, VRUs, and/or traffic infrastructure and by sharing this information with other vehicles, the V2X technology improves vehicle (and driver) awareness of potential dangers to help reduce collisions with other vehicles and entities and enhances traffic efficiency by providing traffic warnings to vehicles of potential upcoming road dangers and obstacles such that vehicles may choose alternative traffic routes.
Regarding claim 30, Zhang teaches a method of wireless communication at a network node (read as the AV 102 can use V2V or V2X communication) (Zhang – [0022]), comprising:
receiving, from a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) device (read as the AV 102 can use V2V or V2X communication) (Zhang – [0022]), at least one message that includes information regarding at least one sensor of the V2X device (read as AV 102 also includes one or more sensors 106 to provide data to one or more processors 110) (Zhang – Figure 1, [0021]) becoming non-operational, damaged, or malfunctioned, wherein the at least one message includes at least one field for the information regarding the at least one sensor, wherein the at least one message comprises a first cooperative perception message (CPM) comprising the at least one field (read as CPM 318 can include a list of entity’s sensors, the sensors’ fields of view, and object detection lists which include state estimates for objects detected by the sender entity, such as other vehicle or pedestrians, and can include information about the parameter data, state parameters, and confidence values such as estimate error information; AV performs the perception tasks 316 and sends the cooperative perception message 318, it may receive new information from its sensors or another source and use the new information to update the estimates, predictions, and/or object detection lists) (Zhang – [0037], [0049]), wherein the information regarding the at least one sensor includes at least one of:
a first indication as to whether the at least one sensor is non-operational, a second indication of a time at which the at least one sensor became non- operational, damaged, or malfunctioned, a third indication of kinematics of the V2X device, a fourth indication of at least one type of the at least one sensor, or a fifth indication of a probable cause of the at least one sensor becoming non- operational, damaged, or malfunctioned (read as CPM 318 can include a list of entity’s sensors, the sensors’ fields of view, and object detection lists which include state estimates for objects detected by the sender entity, such as other vehicle or pedestrians, and can include information about the parameter data, object detection list, state parameters, and confidence values such as estimate error information; different sensor can have different track structures; based on the sensors, data for a given object detection list may include timestamp, sensor meta-data, an identification, a state estimate such as position and velocity, and an estimation error covariance matrix) (Zhang – [0037]); and
performing, based on the at least one message, at least one action pertaining to the at least one sensor of the V2X device becoming non-operational, damaged, or malfunctioned (read as when the subject AV receives a cooperative perception message (CPM), the perception system of the subject AV is updated with the data from the other AV, and the autonomous driving system of the subject AV can take proper action to account for the other vehicle; if AV cannot perform its duties due to system error or sensor failure, process can restart with a new announcement; or can use the updated command to terminate the AV 302 from operating) (Zhang – [0017], [0049], [0055]).
However, Zhang fails to teach comprises a sensor data sharing message (SDSM) comprising the at least one field and a second CPM associated with the SDSM.
In the related art, Herbert teaches comprises a sensor data sharing message (SDSM) comprising the at least one field and a second CPM associated with the SDSM (read as the information may be transmitted using one or more vehicle-based messages, such as C-V2X messages, which can include Sensor Data Sharing Messages (SDSMs), Basic Safety Messages (BSMs), Cooperative Awareness Messages (CAMs), Collective Perception Messages (CPMs), and/or other types of vehicle-based messages) (Herbert – [0035], [0115], [0119]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Herbert into the teachings of Zhang for the purpose of allowing information to be transmitted from vehicle sensors through wireless links to allow the information to be communicated to other vehicles, pedestrians, VRUs, and/or traffic infrastructure and by sharing this information with other vehicles, the V2X technology improves vehicle (and driver) awareness of potential dangers to help reduce collisions with other vehicles and entities and enhances traffic efficiency by providing traffic warnings to vehicles of potential upcoming road dangers and obstacles such that vehicles may choose alternative traffic routes.
Regarding claim 31 as applied to claim 29, Zhang as modified by Herbert further teaches wherein the at least one message comprises a cooperative perception message (CPM), and wherein the information regarding the at least one sensor is included in a container of the CPM (read as CPM 318 can also include a list of entity’s sensors, the sensors’ fields of view, and object detection lists) (Zhang – [0037]).
Regarding claim 32 as applied to claim 30, Zhang as modified by Herbert further teaches wherein the network node comprises a vehicle, and wherein performing the at least one action pertaining to the at least one sensor of the V2X device becoming non-operational, damaged, or malfunctioned comprises: excluding the V2X device from a misbehaving vehicle list maintained by the vehicle when the at least one message indicates that the V2X device is outside a threshold range of the vehicle or when the at least one message indicates that the V2X device has a speed that is less than a threshold value (read as when the subject AV receives a cooperative perception message (CPM), the perception system of the subject AV is updated with the data from the other AV, and the autonomous driving system of the subject AV can take proper action to account for the other vehicle (e.g., reduce speed or change lanes) (Zhang – [0017]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/APRIL G GONZALES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648