DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges the receipt of the Applicant’s amendment filed on 03/23/2026. Claims 1, 4, 15, 21, 29, and 30 have been amended. Claims 3, and 20 have been canceled. Claims 31-32 have been added. Claims 1-2, 4-19, and 21-32 are currently pending in the present application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant Arguments/Remarks, filed 03/23/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-2, 4-19, 21-32 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Pasch et al. (US 2022/0308577 A1 herein Pasch) and Pasch et al. (US 2022/0308577 A1 herein Pasch) further in view of Maschue et al. (US 2022/0322094 A1 herein Maschue).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 10, 12-19, 21, 27-30, 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Pasch et al. (US 2022/0308577 A1 herein Pasch).
Regarding claim 1, Pasch teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) device (read as V2X) (Pasch – [0031]), comprising:
a memory (read as memory) (Pasch – [0021]); and
at least one processor (read as processor) (Pasch – [0020]) coupled to the memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the memory, the at least one processor is configured to:
detect that at least one sensor of the V2X device has become non-operational, damaged, or malfunctioned (read as if the breakdown report indicates that the left sensor array of the impaired vehicle 405 is damaged; breakdown detection system for detecting that a vehicle’s automated driving system is impaired such that the vehicle is in need of assistance) (Pasch – [0037], [0047]); and
transmit, for at least one network node based on the detection, at least one message that includes information regarding the at least one sensor becoming non-operational, damaged, or malfunctioned (read as impaired vehicle 405 may determine that a part of its automated driving system has become impaired; it may create a breakdown report and may transmit on a shared broadcast channel (e.g., V2X) to a server external to the impaired vehicle 405 (e.g., a cloud-based server) a message with the breakdown report) (Pasch – [0036]), wherein the at least one message includes at least one field for the information regarding the at least one sensor, and wherein the information regarding the at least one sensor includes at least one of: a first indication as to whether the at least one sensor is non-operational, a second indication of a time at which the at least one sensor became non-operational, damaged, or malfunctioned, a third indication of kinematics of the V2X device, a fourth indication of at least one type of the at least one sensor, or a fifth indication of a probable cause of the at least one sensor becoming non- operational, damaged, or malfunctioned (read as the breakdown report may include information about the vehicle, its capabilities, its operational status such as last known position, the nature of the impairment, such as which sensors are broken, which aspects of the perception system failed, what computational units have failed, etc., and/or any other information that may be useful for helping vehicle to account for safety of the impaired vehicle 405) (Pasch – [0036]).
Regarding claim 2 as applied to claim 1, Pasch further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: detect that the at least one sensor is no longer non-operational, damaged, or malfunctioned; and cease to transmit the at least one message based on the detection that the at least one sensor is no longer non-operational, damaged, or malfunctioned (read as breakdown could be repaired) (Pasch – [0063]).
Regarding claim 4 as applied to claim 1, Pasch further teaches wherein the kinematics of the V2X device include a latitude, a longitude, an altitude, a heading, and a speed of the V2X device (read as breakdown report may include information about the vehicle operational status such as last known position) (Pasch – [0036]).
Regarding claim 10 as applied to claim 1, Pasch further teaches wherein the V2X device is at least one of a vehicle (Pasch – [0024]-[0026]), an ego vehicle, a user equipment (UE), a roadside unit (RSU) (read as roadside sensors; roadside LiDAR sensors) (Pasch – [0058] and [0060]), or a network node, and wherein the at least one network node is at least one of a second UE, a second vehicle (Pasch – [0024]-[0026]), a network entity, a second RSU (read as roadside sensors; roadside LiDAR sensors) (Pasch – [0058] and [0060]), a mobile phone, a traffic management component, or a misbehavior component (read as breakdown detection system) (Pasch – [0048]-[0049]).
Regarding claim 12 as applied to claim 1, Pasch further teaches wherein the at least one sensor includes one or more of: a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) sensor, a camera sensor (read as camera/vision system; RGB cameras, depth cameras) (Pasch – [0029] and [0058]), a radar sensor (read as radar sensor) (Pasch – [0056] and [0058]), a sound navigation and ranging sensor, or a light detection and ranging (LIDAR) sensor (read as LiDAR sensor) (Pasch – [0048], [0056], [0058], [0060]).
Regarding claim 13 as applied to claim 1, Pasch further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: ascertain the information regarding the at least one sensor based on the detection that the at least one sensor of the V2X device has become non-operational, damaged, or malfunctioned (read as the breakdown report may include information about the vehicle, its capabilities, its operational status such as last known position, the nature of the impairment, such as which sensors are broken, which aspects of the perception system failed, what computational units have failed, etc., and/or any other information that may be useful for helping vehicle to account for safety of the impaired vehicle 405) (Pasch – [0036]).
Regarding claim 14 as applied to claim 1, Pasch further teaches wherein the apparatus is a wireless communication device comprising at least one of a transceiver or an antenna coupled to the at least one processor, and wherein to transmit the at least one message, the at least one processor is configured to transmit the at least one message via at least one of the transceiver or the antenna (read as RF transceivers and antennas) (Pasch – [0022], [0068]).
Regarding claim 15, Pasch teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node (Pasch – [0036]), comprising:
a memory (read as memory) (Pasch – [0021]); and
at least one processor coupled to the memory (read as processor) (Pasch – [0020]) and, based at least in part on information stored in the memory, the at least one processor is configured to:
receive, from a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) device (read as V2X) (Pasch – [0031]), at least one message that includes information regarding at least one sensor of the V2X device becoming non-operational, damaged, or malfunctioned (read as impaired vehicle 405 may determine that a part of its automated driving system has become impaired; it may create a breakdown report and may transmit on a shared broadcast channel (e.g., V2X) to a server external to the impaired vehicle 405 (e.g., a cloud-based server) a message with the breakdown report) (Pasch – [0036]), wherein the at least one message includes at least one field for the information regarding the at least one sensor, and wherein the information regarding the at least one sensor includes at least one of: a first indication as to whether the at least one sensor is non-operational, a second indication of a time at which the at least one sensor became non-operational, damaged, or malfunctioned, a third indication of kinematics of the V2X device, a fourth indication of at least one type of the at least one sensor, or a fifth indication of a probable cause of the at least one sensor becoming non-operational, damaged, or malfunctioned (read as the breakdown report may include information about the vehicle, its capabilities, its operational status such as last known position, the nature of the impairment, such as which sensors are broken, which aspects of the perception system failed, what computational units have failed, etc., and/or any other information that may be useful for helping vehicle to account for safety of the impaired vehicle 405) (Pasch – [0036]); and
perform, based on the at least one message, at least one action pertaining to the at least one sensor of the V2X device becoming non-operational, damaged, or malfunctioned (read as countermeasure execution system may select an appropriate countermeasure based input from the breakdown detection system; include basing the countermeasure selection on crowd-sourced information about previous executions and/or using an artificial intelligence algorithm/learning model to assist selecting an optimal countermeasure based on the data from the breakdown detection system) (Pasch – [0052]).
Regarding claim 16 as applied to claim 15, Pasch further teaches wherein the network node comprises a vehicle, and wherein to perform the at least one action pertaining to the at least one sensor of the V2X device becoming non-operational, damaged, or malfunctioned, the at least one processor is configured to: modify at least one misbehavior detection algorithm based on the at least one field of the at least one message (read as countermeasure execution system may select an appropriate countermeasure based input from the breakdown detection system; include basing the countermeasure selection on crowd-sourced information about previous executions and/or using an artificial intelligence algorithm/learning model to assist selecting an optimal countermeasure based on the data from the breakdown detection system) (Pasch – [0052]).
Regarding claim 17 as applied to claim 15, Pasch further teaches wherein the network node comprises a vehicle (Pasch – [0024]-[0025]), and wherein to perform the at least one action pertaining to the at least one sensor of the V2X device becoming non-operational, damaged, or malfunctioned, the at least one processor is configured to: exclude the V2X device from a misbehaving vehicle list maintained by the vehicle when the at least one message indicates that the V2X device is outside a threshold range of the vehicle or when the at least one message indicates that the V2X device has a speed that is less than a threshold value (read as configured to execute a stop maneuver if a distance between a current location of the impaired vehicle and the waypoint falls below a predetermined threshold or if the impaired vehicle fails to receive a communication confirmation from helping vehicle within a predetermined time period) (Pasch – [0070]).
Regarding claim 18 as applied to claim 15, Pasch further teaches wherein the network node comprises a road side unit (RSU), and wherein to perform the at least one action pertaining to the at least one sensor of the V2X device becoming non-operational, damaged, or malfunctioned, the at least one processor is configured to: forward the at least one message to a set of additional network nodes (read as roadside sensors that supervise traffic; roadside LiDAR sensors) (Pasch – [0058], [0060]).
Regarding claim 19 as applied to claim 15, Pasch further teaches wherein to perform the at least one action pertaining to the at least one sensor of the V2X device becoming non-operational, damaged, or malfunctioned, the at least one processor is configured to: transmit at least a portion of the at least one message to a remote server (read as transmit the breakdown report to a server) (Pasch – [0036], [0047], [0068]).
Regarding claim 21 as applied to claim 15, Pasch further teaches wherein the kinematics of the V2X device include a latitude, a longitude, an altitude, a heading, and a speed of the V2X device (read as breakdown report may include information about the vehicle operational status such as last known position) (Pasch – [0036]).
Regarding claim 27 as applied to claim 15, Pasch further teaches wherein the V2X device is at least one of a vehicle (Pasch – [0024]-[0026]), an ego vehicle, a user equipment (UE), a roadside unit (RSU) (read as roadside sensors; roadside LiDAR sensors) (Pasch – [0058] and [0060]), or a second network node, and wherein the network node is at least one of a second UE, a second vehicle (Pasch – [0024]-[0026]), a network entity, a second RSU (read as roadside sensors; roadside LiDAR sensors) (Pasch – [0058] and [0060]), a mobile phone, a traffic management component, or a misbehavior component (read as breakdown detection system) (Pasch – [0048]-[0049]).
Regarding claim 28 as applied to claim 15, Pasch further teaches wherein the apparatus is a wireless communication device comprising at least one of a transceiver or an antenna coupled to the at least one processor, and wherein to receive the at least one message, the at least one processor is configured to receive the at least one message via at least one of the transceiver or the antenna (read as RF transceivers and antennas) (Pasch – [0022], [0068]).
Regarding claim 29, Pasch teaches a method of wireless communication at a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) device (read as V2X) (Pasch – [0031]), comprising:
detecting that at least one sensor of the V2X device has become non-operational, damaged, or malfunctioned (read as if the breakdown report indicates that the left sensor array of the impaired vehicle 405 is damaged; breakdown detection system for detecting that a vehicle’s automated driving system is impaired such that the vehicle is in need of assistance) (Pasch – [0037], [0047]); and
transmitting, for at least one network node based on the detection, at least one message that includes information regarding the at least one sensor becoming non-operational, damaged, or malfunctioned (read as impaired vehicle 405 may determine that a part of its automated driving system has become impaired; it may create a breakdown report and may transmit on a shared broadcast channel (e.g., V2X) to a server external to the impaired vehicle 405 (e.g., a cloud-based server) a message with the breakdown report) (Pasch – [0036]), wherein the at least one message includes at least one field for the information regarding the at least one sensor, and wherein the information regarding the at least one sensor includes at least one of: a first indication as to whether the at least one sensor is non-operational, a second indication of a time at which the at least one sensor became non-operational, damaged, or malfunctioned, a third indication of kinematics of the V2X device, a fourth indication of at least one type of the at least one sensor, or a fifth indication of a probable cause of the at least one sensor becoming non-operational, damaged, or malfunctioned (read as the breakdown report may include information about the vehicle, its capabilities, its operational status such as last known position, the nature of the impairment, such as which sensors are broken, which aspects of the perception system failed, what computational units have failed, etc., and/or any other information that may be useful for helping vehicle to account for safety of the impaired vehicle 405) (Pasch – [0036]).
Regarding claim 30, Pasch teaches a method of wireless communication at a network node (Pasch – [0036]), comprising:
receiving, from a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) device (read as V2X) (Pasch – [0031]), at least one message that includes information regarding at least one sensor of the V2X device becoming non-operational, damaged, or malfunctioned (read as impaired vehicle 405 may determine that a part of its automated driving system has become impaired; it may create a breakdown report and may transmit on a shared broadcast channel (e.g., V2X) to a server external to the impaired vehicle 405 (e.g., a cloud-based server) a message with the breakdown report) (Pasch – [0036]), wherein the at least one message includes at least one field for the information regarding the at least one sensor, and wherein the information regarding the at least one sensor includes at least one of: a first indication as to whether the at least one sensor is non-operational, a second indication of a time at which the at least one sensor became non-operational, damaged, or malfunctioned, a third indication of kinematics of the V2X device, a fourth indication of at least one type of the at least one sensor, or a fifth indication of a probable cause of the at least one sensor becoming non-operational, damaged, or malfunctioned (read as the breakdown report may include information about the vehicle, its capabilities, its operational status such as last known position, the nature of the impairment, such as which sensors are broken, which aspects of the perception system failed, what computational units have failed, etc., and/or any other information that may be useful for helping vehicle to account for safety of the impaired vehicle 405) (Pasch – [0036]); and
performing, based on the at least one message, at least one action pertaining to the at least one sensor of the V2X device becoming non-operational, damaged, or malfunctioned (read as countermeasure execution system may select an appropriate countermeasure based input from the breakdown detection system; include basing the countermeasure selection on crowd-sourced information about previous executions and/or using an artificial intelligence algorithm/learning model to assist selecting an optimal countermeasure based on the data from the breakdown detection system) (Pasch – [0052]).
Regarding claim 32 as applied to claim 30, Pasch further teaches wherein the network node comprises a vehicle (Pasch – [0024]-[0025]), and wherein performing the at least one action pertaining to the at least one sensor of the V2X device becoming non-operational, damaged, or malfunctioned comprises: excluding the V2X device from a misbehaving vehicle list maintained by the vehicle when the at least one message indicates that the V2X device is outside a threshold range of the vehicle or when the at least one message indicates that the V2X device has a speed that is less than a threshold value (read as configured to execute a stop maneuver if a distance between a current location of the impaired vehicle and the waypoint falls below a predetermined threshold or if the impaired vehicle fails to receive a communication confirmation from helping vehicle within a predetermined time period) (Pasch – [0070]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-9, 11, 22-26, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pasch et al. (US 2022/0308577 A1 herein Pasch), and further in view of Maschue et al. (US 2022/0322094 A1 herein Maschue).
Regarding claim 5 as applied to claim 1, Pasch teaches the at least one message.
However, Pasche fails to teach wherein the at least one message comprises a cooperative perception message (CPM), and wherein the information regarding the at least one sensor is included in a container of the CPM.
In the related art, Maschue teaches wherein the at least one message comprises a cooperative perception message (CPM), and wherein the information regarding the at least one sensor is included in a container of the CPM (read as messages for advance application such as SDSM, CPM) (Maschue – [0027], [0057], and [0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Maschue into the teachings of Pasch for the purpose of enabling vehicles to broadcast safety messages to other vehicles using V2X communication and to ensure that the broadcast safety messages are coming from an authentic source.
Regarding claim 6 as applied to claim 1, Pasch teaches the at least one message.
However, Pasche fails to teach wherein the at least one message is different from a cooperative perception message (CPM) or a sensor data sharing message (SDSM), and wherein the at least one message is different from a cooperative awareness message (CAM) or a basic safety message (BSM).
In the related art, Maschue teaches wherein the at least one message is different from a cooperative perception message (CPM) or a sensor data sharing message (SDSM) (read as messages for advance application such as SDSM, CPM) (Maschue – [0027], [0057], and [0064]), and wherein the at least one message is different from a cooperative awareness message (CAM) or a basic safety message (BSM) (read as C-V2X communication may enable vehicles to broadcast safety messages such as a basic safety message (BSM), intersection mapping (MAP), cooperative aware message (CAM), to other C-V2X enabled vehicles) (Maschue – [0027], and [0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Maschue into the teachings of Pasch for the purpose of enabling vehicles to broadcast safety messages to other vehicles using V2X communication and to ensure that the broadcast safety messages are coming from an authentic source.
Regarding claim 7 as applied to claim 6, Pasch as modified by Maschue further teaches wherein to transmit the at least one message, the at least one processor is configured to: transmit the at least one message at a first periodicity which is lower than a second periodicity associated with transmission of the CPM or the SDSM (read as messages for advance application such as SDSM, CPM) (Maschue – [0027], [0057], and [0064]); or transmit the at least one message at the first periodicity which is lower than a third periodicity associated with transmission of the CAM or the BSM (read as C-V2X communication may enable vehicles to broadcast safety messages such as a basic safety message (BSM), intersection mapping (MAP), cooperative aware message (CAM), to other C-V2X enabled vehicles) (Maschue – [0027], and [0057]).
Regarding claim 8 as applied to claim 6, Pasch as modified by Maschue further teaches wherein the at least one message includes a source identifier (ID) and a cryptographic certificate that is used by the BSM (read as each transmitted V2X application layer messages may be signed with a unique pseudonym certificate; a vehicle may use the same certificate for a finite duration to sign all of its BSM/CAM or other messages) (Maschue – [0027], and [0029]).
Regarding claim 9 as applied to claim 6, Pasch as modified by Maschue further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit, in addition to the at least one processor being configured to transmit the at least one message, at least one of: the CPM or the SDSM (read as messages for advance application such as SDSM, CPM) (Maschue – [0027], [0057], and [0064]), or the CAM or the BSM (read as C-V2X communication may enable vehicles to broadcast safety messages such as a basic safety message (BSM), intersection mapping (MAP), cooperative aware message (CAM), to other C-V2X enabled vehicles) (Maschue – [0027], and [0057]).
Regarding claim 11 as applied to claim 10, Pasch teaches the at least one of the V2X device.
However, Pasch fails to teach wherein at least one of the V2X device or the at least one network node is a member of a vehicular platoon.
In the related art, Maschue teaches wherein at least one of the V2X device or the at least one network node is a member of a vehicular platoon (read as platooning message) (Maschue – [0071], [0077], [0099]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Maschue into the teachings of Pasch for the purpose of enabling vehicles to broadcast safety messages to other vehicles using V2X communication and to ensure that the broadcast safety messages are coming from an authentic source.
Regarding claim 22 as applied to claim 15, Pasch teaches the at least one message.
However, Pasch fails to teach wherein the at least one message comprises a cooperative perception message (CPM), and wherein the information regarding the at least one sensor is included in a container of the CPM.
In the related art, Maschue teaches wherein the at least one message comprises a cooperative perception message (CPM), and wherein the information regarding the at least one sensor is included in a container of the CPM (read as messages for advance application such as SDSM, CPM) (Maschue – [0027], [0057], and [0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Maschue into the teachings of Pasch for the purpose of enabling vehicles to broadcast safety messages to other vehicles using V2X communication and to ensure that the broadcast safety messages are coming from an authentic source.
Regarding claim 23 as applied to claim 15, Pasch teaches the at least one message.
However, Pasch fails to teach wherein the at least one message is different from a cooperative perception message (CPM) or a sensor data sharing message (SDSM), and wherein the at least one message is different from a cooperative awareness message (CAM) or a basic safety message (BSM).
In the related art, Maschue teaches wherein the at least one message is different from a cooperative perception message (CPM) or a sensor data sharing message (SDSM) (read as messages for advance application such as SDSM, CPM) (Maschue – [0027], [0057], and [0064]), and wherein the at least one message is different from a cooperative awareness message (CAM) or a basic safety message (BSM) (read as C-V2X communication may enable vehicles to broadcast safety messages such as a basic safety message (BSM), intersection mapping (MAP), cooperative aware message (CAM), to other C-V2X enabled vehicles) (Maschue – [0027], and [0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Maschue into the teachings of Pasch for the purpose of enabling vehicles to broadcast safety messages to other vehicles using V2X communication and to ensure that the broadcast safety messages are coming from an authentic source.
Regarding claim 24 as applied to claim 23, Pasch as modified by Maschue further teaches wherein to receive the at least one message, the at least one processor is configured to: receive the at least one message at a first periodicity which is lower than a second periodicity associated with reception of the CPM or the SDSM (read as messages for advance application such as SDSM, CPM) (Maschue – [0027], [0057], and [0064]); or receive the at least one message at the first periodicity which is lower than a third periodicity associated with reception of the CAM or the BSM (read as C-V2X communication may enable vehicles to broadcast safety messages such as a basic safety message (BSM), intersection mapping (MAP), cooperative aware message (CAM), to other C-V2X enabled vehicles) (Maschue – [0027], and [0057]).
Regarding claim 25 as applied to claim 23, Pasch as modified by Maschue further teaches wherein the at least one message includes a source identifier (ID) and a cryptographic certificate that is used by the BSM, and wherein to perform the at least one action pertaining to the at least one sensor of the V2X device becoming non-operational, damaged, or malfunctioned, the at least one processor is further configured to perform the at least one action based on the source ID and the cryptographic certificate (read as each transmitted V2X application layer messages may be signed with a unique pseudonym certificate; a vehicle may use the same certificate for a finite duration to sign all of its BSM/CAM or other messages) (Maschue – [0027], and [0029]).
Regarding claim 26 as applied to claim 23, Pasch as modified by Maschue further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive, in addition to receiving the at least one message, at least one of: the CPM or the SDSM, or the CAM or the BSM, wherein to perform the at least one action pertaining to the at least one sensor of the V2X device becoming non-operational, damaged, or malfunctioned, the at least one processor is further configured to perform the at least one action based on at least one of: the CPM or the SDSM (read as messages for advance application such as SDSM, CPM) (Maschue – [0027], [0057], and [0064]), or the CAM or the BSM (read as C-V2X communication may enable vehicles to broadcast safety messages such as a basic safety message (BSM), intersection mapping (MAP), cooperative aware message (CAM), to other C-V2X enabled vehicles) (Maschue – [0027], and [0057]).
Regarding claim 31 as applied to claim 29, Pasch teaches the at least one message.
However, Pasch fails to teach wherein the at least one message comprises a cooperative perception message (CPM), and wherein the information regarding the at least one sensor is included in a container of the CPM.
However, Maschue teaches wherein the at least one message comprises a cooperative perception message (CPM), and wherein the information regarding the at least one sensor is included in a container of the CPM (read as messages for advance application such as SDSM, CPM) (Maschue – [0027], [0057], and [0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Maschue into the teachings of Pasch for the purpose of enabling vehicles to broadcast safety messages to other vehicles using V2X communication and to ensure that the broadcast safety messages are coming from an authentic source.
Conclusion
/APRIL G GONZALES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648