DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 2-6 and 13-27 are currently pending.
Claims 2-6, 13-19, 21-22, 24, and 26-27 are amended.
Claims 1, 7-12, and 28-50 are cancelled.
Claims 2-6 and 13-27 have been considered on the merits.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: an “and” needs to be inserted between “a base,” and “a loading agent”. In line 5. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-3, 6, 13-21, and 24-27 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 18, 53, 56, and 73 of U.S. Patent No. US11965178B2 (‘178). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the invention of the independent claim 2 is wholistically encompassed by the method of claim 1 of ‘178.
The instant claim 2 requires the two steps of (a) providing platelets, and (b) treating the platelets with a drug and with a loading buffer comprising a salt, a base, and a loading agent to form the drug-loaded platelets. Claim 1 of ‘178 recites the steps of (a) providing platelets and (b) treating the platelets with a small molecule cancer chemotherapy drug in the presence of a loading buffer comprising a salt, a base, and a loading agent. Therefore, the method of the instant claim 2 is encompassed fully by claim 1 of ‘178. Additionally, instant claim 13 limits wherein the loading agent is a mono- or disaccharide and instant claim 14 limits wherein the loading agent is chosen from a group containing trehalose; which are both fully encompassed by the loading agent being limited to trehalose in claim 1 of ‘178. Instant claim 16 limits wherein the platelets are loaded with the drug in a period of time of 5 min to 48 hours which is encompassed by claim 73 of ‘178. Instant claim 17 limits wherein the concentration of the drug in the platelets is 1nM to 100mM, which is fully encompassed by claim 1 of ‘178. Instant claim 18 limits wherein the organic solvent is chosen from the listed organic solvents, which is fully encompassed by claim 18 of ‘178. Instant claim 19 contains the limitation of further cold storing, cryopreserving, freeze-drying, thawing, rehydrating, or combinations and instant claim 20 limits to specifically freeze-drying and instant claim 21 limits wherein the platelets are rehydrated; which is fully encompassed by claims 1, 53, and 56. Instant claim 27 limits wherein the method does not comprise an organic solvent which is fully encompassed by claim 1 of ‘178.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Written Description
Claims 2-6 and 13-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 4, and 5 recite the limitation of treating platelets with a drug. The claims do not limit the drug to any specific drug genus or species at any point. The specification describes a drug as “the term "drug" refers to any agent suitable for the treatment of cancer other than a messenger RNA” ([0182]). The specification describes the use of Doxorubixin, Olaparib, and Paclitaxel as the drug in the method of loading the platelets with a drug in the Examples.
Although the specification describes various methods of loading drugs into platelets, including passive diffusion, endocytosis, electroporation, and liposome-mediated delivery, and provides examples across select drug types, the claims remain broadly directed to any drug. While the disclosure may enable the skilled artisan to perform these method with reasonable predictability, it does not demonstrate possession of the entire genus of any drug, or any drug suitable for the treatment of cancer. Therefore, the entire genus of any drug which is suitable for the treatment of any cancer cannot be readily envisioned. The disclosure is limited to Doxorubixin, Olaparib, and Paclitaxel and lacks a sufficient description of structural features or other characteristics that would allow a person of ordinary skill in the art to visualize or recognize the claimed genus of drugs beyond those examples.
Therefore, the concept of any drug and/or the concept of any suitable drug for the treatment of any cancer, lacks written description other than the drugs taught in the examples: Doxorubixin, Olaparib, and Paclitaxel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the drying step" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the drying step" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-6 and 13-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al (Scientific Reports, “Doxorubicin-loaded platelets as a smart drug delivery system: An improved therapy for lymphoma”, 2017) in view of Ho et al (US20070243178A1).
With regards to claim 2, Xu teaches a method of preparing drug-loaded platelets through the steps of providing platelets (pg. 11, para 5); and treating the platelets with a drug and loading buffer, PBS, which contains a salt and a base (pg. 11, para 6). Xu teaches that the platelets are treated with PBS prior to treating the platelets with a drug; additionally, the platelets are treated with PBS and the drug; finally that the platelets with the drug are treated in PBS, therefore Xu teaches that the platelets are both treated with the drug in either sequential order and/or concurrently as required by claims 3-5, and 6 (pg. 11, para 5-6). Xu teaches that the platelets are isolated prior to the treating step as required by claim 15 (pg. 11, para 5). The platelets are loaded with the drug for 1 hour which falls within the claimed range of between 5 min and 48 hours as required by claim 16 (pg. 11, para 6). The concentration of the drug tested ranged from 0.025 to 0.4 mM which falls withing the claimed range of 1 nM to 100 mM as required by claim 17 (Fig.2 D; see concentration range). Xu teaches that the drug is modified with an imaging agent prior to treating the platelets with the drug and that the platelets are treated and loaded with the drug-imaging agent conjugate as required by claims 24-26 (pg. 2, para 3; and Fig. 2A(b)). Additionally, Xu teaches that the method does not comprise treating with an organic solvent as the materials and methods section of Xu makes no mention of treatment with an organic solvent as required by claim 27 (pg. 11, para 5-6; methods section in entirety). Finally, Xu teaches drug-loaded platelets as required by claim 22 (pg. 11, para 5-6).
Xu does not teach that the loading buffer contains a loading agent as required by claims 2 and 4-5. Xu does not teach that the loading agent is a mono- or disaccharide as required by claim 13. Xu does not teach that the loading agent is selected from sucrose, maltose, trehalose, glucose, mannose, or xylose as required by claim 14. Xu does not teach the inclusion of one or more organic solvents listed in claim 18 as required by claim 18. Xu does not teach the cold storing, cryopreserving, freeze-drying, thawing, rehydrating, and combinations thereof as required by claim 19. Xu does not teach that the “drying” comprises freeze-drying as required by claim 20. Xu does not teach rehydrating as required by claim 21. Xu does not teach dried and rehydrated drug loaded platelets as required by claim 23.
However, Ho discloses a method of producing freeze-dried and/or rehydrated platelets for therapeutic purposes. Ho discloses that the platelets of the invention can be incubated with drugs prior to use in treatment of individuals ([0114]). Ho discloses the loading of trehalose into platelets prior to freeze-drying to provide freeze-dried trehalose stabilized platelets as required by claims 2, 3-4, 13-14, and 19-20 ([0043]/[0047]). Ho also discloses that the saccharide stabilizer can also be maltose, sucrose, glucose, mannose, or xylose as required by claims 13 and 14 ([0147]). Ho discloses that the platelets are able to be cold stored or cryopreserved ([0038]), freeze-drying ([0046]/[0170]), thawing ([0151]), and rehydrated ([0046]/[0170]/[0154]) as required by claims 19, 21, and 23. Finally, Ho teaches that the composition that it suitable for loading trehalose into platelets can additionally comprise ethanol as required by claim 18 and as optionally required by claims 4-5 ([0132]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious at the effective filling date of the instant invention to combine the drug loaded platelets taught by Xu with the platelet loading agent and platelet freeze-drying process taught by Ho to arrive at the instant invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because Ho teaches both the development of freeze-dried platelets for therapeutic purposes and Ho discloses that the platelets of the invention can be incubated with drugs prior to use in treatment of individuals ([0114]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when combining Xu with Ho because Ho teaches that the method provides “freeze-dried platelets that, upon reconstitution, function well in the process of blood clotting, and thus can be used successfully in therapeutic applications” ([0046]).
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective time of filing of the invention, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
CONSTANTINA E. STAVROU
Examiner
Art Unit 1632
/KARA D JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1632