DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-27, 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raghavan et al. (US 2023/0269638, “Raghavan”) in view of Guo et al. (US 2018/0227031, “Guo”).
Regarding claim 1, Raghavan teaches an apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more processors; one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors; and instructions stored in the one or more memories and executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus (FIG. 3 – UE, [0074], [0076]) to:
receive a control signal indicating a first resource set and a second resource set that are allocated to the UE for group-based channel measurement reporting for a UE mobility procedure, wherein both the first resource set and the second resource set are associated with a candidate cell for the UE mobility procedure ([0105] “The serving cell may provide configuration information to the UE (504), according to some embodiments. The configuration information may indicate a measurement configuration for non-serving cell L1 inter-frequency measurements. For example, the configuration information may indicate periodicity, index, and/or time and/or frequency resources of reference signals transmitted by one or more neighbor cells… The configuration information may describe various types of reference signals (RS), such as SSB, CSI-RS, etc.” [0139] “For example, the UE may determine first time/frequency resources for L1-RSRP measurement of a first neighbor cell, second time/frequency resources for L1-SINR measurement of the first neighbor cell, third time/frequency resources for L1-RSRP measurement of a second neighbor cell, fourth time/frequency resources for L1-SINR measurement of the second neighbor cell” [0096] “In this disclosure, methods to enhance neighbor cell L1 measurements for L1 and/or L2 centric mobility and inter-cell mTRP are discussed.” [0090] “such measurements may support continued good reception and facilitate cell handover and re-selection, among various other uses”) {wherein the first resource set is associated with a first set of transmission beams of the candidate cell for a first subset of reference signals and the second resource is associated with a second set of transmission beams of the candidate cell for a second subset of reference signals};
monitor the first and second resource sets for a plurality of reference signals associated with the candidate cell in accordance with the UE mobility procedure, the plurality of reference signals comprising the first subset of reference signals associated with the first resource set and the second subset of reference signals associated with the second resource set ([0143] “The neighbor cell(s) may transmit RS (508), according to some embodiments. The RS may be transmitted according to a configuration consistent with the configuration information (e.g., discussed in 504). For example, the RS may be transmitted with periodicity and/or on time/frequency resources consistent with the configuration information. The RS may use an index (e.g., or indices) consistent with the configuration information. The UE may receive the RS from the one or more neighbor cell(s). The RS may include CSI-RS and/or SSB, among various possibilities. The RS may be persistent, semi-persistent, and/or aperiodic.” [0144] “The UE may perform measurement(s) of the RS received from the neighbor cell(s) (510), according to some embodiments. The UE may perform the measurement(s) according to a configuration consistent with the configuration information (e.g., discussed in 504 and 506). For example, the UE may periodically perform the measurement(s) according to the measurement period(s) determined in 506, among various possibilities. The measurement(s) may be or include L1 inter-frequency measurements. For example, the UE may measure L1-RSRP and/or L1-SIN”); and
transmit a group-based measurement report for the candidate cell, the group-based measurement report indicating one or more measurements of the plurality of reference signals associated with the candidate cell based at least in part on monitoring the first and second resource sets ([0148] “The UE may report the measurement(s) or information based on the measurement(s) to the serving cell (512), according to some embodiments. For example, the UE may transmit a report of the measurement value(s) to the serving cell periodically, e.g., according to reporting period(s) and/or SMTC configuration for L1 inter-frequency measurement(s) on the non-serving cell(s) determined in 506”) {the one or more measurements of the plurality of reference signals including a measurement corresponding to a pair of reference signals, the pair of reference signals comprising a first reference signal of the first subset of reference signals and a second reference signal of the second subset of reference signals}.
Raghavan does not teach
wherein the first resource set is associated with a first set of transmission beams of the candidate cell for a first subset of reference signals and the second resource is associated with a second set of transmission beams of the candidate cell for a second subset of reference signals and
report indicating one or more measurements… the one or more measurements of the plurality of reference signals including a measurement corresponding to a pair of reference signals, the pair of reference signals comprising a first reference signal of the first subset of reference signals and a second reference signal of the second subset of reference signals
Guo teaches
wherein the first resource set is associated with a first set of transmission beams of the candidate cell for a first subset of reference signals and the second resource is associated with a second set of transmission beams of the candidate cell for a second subset of reference signals ([0195] “a UE is configured with a CSI reporting setting 1610 and a RS setting 1620 for beam measurement and reporting.” [0206] “two CSI-RS resource sets are configured in RS setting 1620. A first CSI-RS resource set has KA CSI-RS resources and a second CSI-RS resource set has KB CSI-RS resources. [0142] “a “beam” corresponds to a CSI-RS resource”. It is understood CSI-RS resource stands for channel state information reference signal resource) and
report indicating one or more measurements… the one or more measurements of the plurality of reference signals including a measurement corresponding to a pair of reference signals, the pair of reference signals comprising a first reference signal of the first subset of reference signals and a second reference signal of the second subset of reference signals ([0206] “two CSI-RS resource sets are configured in RS setting 1620. A first CSI-RS resource set has KA CSI-RS resources and a second CSI-RS resource set has KB CSI-RS resources. CSI reporting setting 1610 can configure the UE to report one pair of CSI-RS resource{CiA, CiB}, where CiA is index of a CSI-RS resource selected from a first CSI-RS resource set with KA CSI-RS resources configured in RS setting 1620 and CiB is index of a CSI-RS resource selected from a second CSI-RS resource set with KB CSI-RS resource configured RS setting 1620 and the UE can be requested to select CiA and CiB that are QCLed to a same UE Rx beam or can be received simultaneously.”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the first resource set is associated with a first set of transmission beams of the candidate cell for a first subset of reference signals and the second resource is associated with a second set of transmission beams of the candidate cell for a second subset of reference signals and
report indicating one or more measurements… the one or more measurements of the plurality of reference signals including a measurement corresponding to a pair of reference signals, the pair of reference signals comprising a first reference signal of the first subset of reference signals and a second reference signal of the second subset of reference signals, as taught by Guo in Raghavan, for efficient beam management.
Regarding claim 2, Raghavan in view of Guo teaches claim 1, and further teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: receive first reference signal of the first subset of reference signals via one or more time resources of the first resource set based at least in part on the monitoring; and receive the second reference signal of the second subset of reference signals via one or more time resources of the second resource set that at least partially overlap in time with the one or more time resources of the first resource set based at least in part on the monitoring ([0143] “The neighbor cell(s) may transmit RS (508), according to some embodiments. The RS may be transmitted according to a configuration consistent with the configuration information (e.g., discussed in 504). For example, the RS may be transmitted with periodicity and/or on time/frequency resources consistent with the configuration information. The RS may use an index (e.g., or indices) consistent with the configuration information. The UE may receive the RS from the one or more neighbor cell(s). The RS may include CSI-RS and/or SSB, among various possibilities. The RS may be persistent, semi-persistent, and/or aperiodic.” [0144] “The UE may perform measurement(s) of the RS received from the neighbor cell(s) (510), according to some embodiments. The UE may perform the measurement(s) according to a configuration consistent with the configuration information (e.g., discussed in 504 and 506). For example, the UE may periodically perform the measurement(s) according to the measurement period(s) determined in 506, among various possibilities. The measurement(s) may be or include L1 inter-frequency measurements. For example, the UE may measure L1-RSRP and/or L1-SIN.” [0139] “the UE may determine first time/frequency resources for L1-RSRP measurement of a first neighbor cell, second time/frequency resources for L1-SINR measurement of the first neighbor cell, third time/frequency resources for L1-RSRP measurement of a second neighbor cell, fourth time/frequency resources for L1-SINR measurement of the second neighbor cell, etc. Any of the sets of time/frequency resources may overlap in the time and/or frequency domains or the sets may be disjoint.”)
Regarding claim 3, Raghavan in view of Guo teaches claim 2, and further teaches wherein the instructions to transmit the group-based measurement report are executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: transmit a first reference signal receive power value associated with the first reference signal based at least in part on the monitoring; and transmit a second reference signal receive power value associated with the second reference signal based at least in part on the monitoring ([0144] “the UE may measure L1-RSRP and/or L1-SINR of CSI-RS and/or SSB transmitted by the neighbor cell(s).” [0148] “The UE may report the measurement(s) or information based on the measurement(s) to the serving cell (512)”)
Regarding claim 6, Raghavan in view of Guo teaches claim 1, and further teaches wherein the instructions to receive the control signal are executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: receive the control signal indicating a first cell identifier associated with the candidate cell ([0107] “the configuration including the RS periodicity and/or index of the neighbor cell(s)”).
Regarding claim 7, Raghavan in view of Guo teaches claim 6, and further teaches wherein the instructions to receive the control signal are executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: receive the control signal via a field in a radio resource control message ([0102] At least according to some embodiments, the UE may establish multiple wireless links, e.g., with multiple TRPs of the cellular network, according to a multi-TRP configuration. In such a scenario, the UE may be configured (e.g., via RRC signaling) with one or more transmission control indicators (TCIs)).
Regarding claim 8, Raghavan in view of Guo teaches claim 6, and further teaches wherein the instructions to receive the control signal are executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: receive the control signal indicating a channel state information reference signal associated with the candidate cell ([0105] “The serving cell may provide configuration information to the UE (504), according to some embodiments. The configuration information may indicate a measurement configuration for non-serving cell L1 inter-frequency measurements. For example, the configuration information may indicate periodicity, index, and/or time and/or frequency resources of reference signals transmitted by one or more neighbor cells… The configuration information may describe various types of reference signals (RS), such as SSB, CSI-RS, etc.”).
Regarding claim 9, Raghavan in view of Guo teaches claim 8, and further teaches wherein a configuration corresponding to the channel state information reference signal indicates that the first resource set and the second resource set are associated with the candidate cell ([0105] “The serving cell may provide configuration information to the UE (504), according to some embodiments. The configuration information may indicate a measurement configuration for non-serving cell L1 inter-frequency measurements. For example, the configuration information may indicate periodicity, index, and/or time and/or frequency resources of reference signals transmitted by one or more neighbor cells… The configuration information may describe various types of reference signals (RS), such as SSB, CSI-RS, etc.”).
Regarding claim 10, Raghavan in view of Guo teaches claim 1, and further teaches wherein the instructions to receive the control signal are executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: receive the control signal via a serving cell (([0105] “The serving cell may provide configuration information to the UE (504), according to some embodiments.”)
Regarding claim 11, Raghavan in view of Guo teaches claim 1, and further teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: receive the control signal indicating a third resource set and a fourth resource set that are allocated to the UE for group-based channel measurement reporting for the UE mobility procedure, wherein both the third resource set and the fourth resource set are associated with a second cell for the UE mobility procedure ([0105] “The serving cell may provide configuration information to the UE (504), according to some embodiments. The configuration information may indicate a measurement configuration for non-serving cell L1 inter-frequency measurements. For example, the configuration information may indicate periodicity, index, and/or time and/or frequency resources of reference signals transmitted by one or more neighbor cells… The configuration information may describe various types of reference signals (RS), such as SSB, CSI-RS, etc.” [0139] “For example, the UE may determine first time/frequency resources for L1-RSRP measurement of a first neighbor cell, second time/frequency resources for L1-SINR measurement of the first neighbor cell, third time/frequency resources for L1-RSRP measurement of a second neighbor cell, fourth time/frequency resources for L1-SINR measurement of the second neighbor cell” [0096] “In this disclosure, methods to enhance neighbor cell L1 measurements for L1 and/or L2 centric mobility and inter-cell mTRP are discussed.” [0090] “such measurements may support continued good reception and facilitate cell handover and re-selection, among various other uses.”); monitor the third and fourth resource sets for a second plurality of reference signals associated with the second cell in accordance with the UE mobility procedure, the second plurality of reference signals comprising a third subset of reference signals associated with the third resource set and a fourth subset of reference signals associated with the fourth resource set ([0143] “The neighbor cell(s) may transmit RS (508), according to some embodiments. The RS may be transmitted according to a configuration consistent with the configuration information (e.g., discussed in 504). For example, the RS may be transmitted with periodicity and/or on time/frequency resources consistent with the configuration information. The RS may use an index (e.g., or indices) consistent with the configuration information. The UE may receive the RS from the one or more neighbor cell(s). The RS may include CSI-RS and/or SSB, among various possibilities. The RS may be persistent, semi-persistent, and/or aperiodic.” [0144] “The UE may perform measurement(s) of the RS received from the neighbor cell(s) (510), according to some embodiments. The UE may perform the measurement(s) according to a configuration consistent with the configuration information (e.g., discussed in 504 and 506). For example, the UE may periodically perform the measurement(s) according to the measurement period(s) determined in 506, among various possibilities. The measurement(s) may be or include L1 inter-frequency measurements. For example, the UE may measure L1-RSRP and/or L1-SIN.” [0139] “For example, the UE may determine first time/frequency resources for L1-RSRP measurement of a first neighbor cell, second time/frequency resources for L1-SINR measurement of the first neighbor cell, third time/frequency resources for L1-RSRP measurement of a second neighbor cell, fourth time/frequency resources for L1-SINR measurement of the second neighbor cell”); and transmit the group-based measurement report for the second cell, the group-based measurement report indicating one or more measurements of the second plurality of reference signals associated with the second cell based at least in part on monitoring the third and fourth resource sets ([0148] “The UE may report the measurement(s) or information based on the measurement(s) to the serving cell (512), according to some embodiments. For example, the UE may transmit a report of the measurement value(s) to the serving cell periodically, e.g., according to reporting period(s) and/or SMTC configuration for L1 inter-frequency measurement(s) on the non-serving cell(s) determined in 506.”)
Regarding claim 12, Raghavan in view of Guo teaches claim 11, and further teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: receive a first reference signal pair associated with the plurality of reference signals via one or more time resources of the first and second resource sets based at least in part on the monitoring; and receive a second reference signal pair associated with the second plurality of reference signals via one or more time resources of the third and fourth resource sets that at least partially overlap in time with the one or more time resources of the first and second resource sets, wherein the UE is capable of receiving each reference signal of the first reference signal pair and each reference signal of the second reference signal pair over the one or more overlapping time resources based at least in part on the monitoring ([0143] “The neighbor cell(s) may transmit RS (508), according to some embodiments. The RS may be transmitted according to a configuration consistent with the configuration information (e.g., discussed in 504). For example, the RS may be transmitted with periodicity and/or on time/frequency resources consistent with the configuration information. The RS may use an index (e.g., or indices) consistent with the configuration information. The UE may receive the RS from the one or more neighbor cell(s). The RS may include CSI-RS and/or SSB, among various possibilities. The RS may be persistent, semi-persistent, and/or aperiodic.” [0144] “The UE may perform measurement(s) of the RS received from the neighbor cell(s) (510), according to some embodiments. The UE may perform the measurement(s) according to a configuration consistent with the configuration information (e.g., discussed in 504 and 506). For example, the UE may periodically perform the measurement(s) according to the measurement period(s) determined in 506, among various possibilities. The measurement(s) may be or include L1 inter-frequency measurements. For example, the UE may measure L1-RSRP and/or L1-SIN.” [0139] “the UE may determine first time/frequency resources for L1-RSRP measurement of a first neighbor cell, second time/frequency resources for L1-SINR measurement of the first neighbor cell, third time/frequency resources for L1-RSRP measurement of a second neighbor cell, fourth time/frequency resources for L1-SINR measurement of the second neighbor cell, etc. Any of the sets of time/frequency resources may overlap in the time and/or frequency domains or the sets may be disjoint.”).
Regarding claim 13, Raghavan in view of Guo teaches claim 11, and further teaches wherein the second cell is associated with a second candidate cell or a serving cell ([0105] “The serving cell may provide configuration information to the UE (504), according to some embodiments. The configuration information may indicate a measurement configuration for non-serving cell L1 inter-frequency measurements. For example, the configuration information may indicate periodicity, index, and/or time and/or frequency resources of reference signals transmitted by one or more neighbor cells.”)
Regarding claim 14, Raghavan in view of Guo teaches claim 11, and further teaches wherein the candidate cell and the second cell are associated with a same frequency or a same intra-frequency measurement as a serving cell ([0104] “the capability information could indicate whether the UE supports concurrent CSI-RS based neighbor cell measurement and serving cell PDCCH or PDSCH reception, e.g., with different subcarrier spacing (also called numerology). Such capability information may relate to one or more of 3GPP layer 1 (L1) or layer 3 (L3) neighbor cell measurement for one or more of intra-frequency measurement or inter-frequency measurement.” [0139] “Any of the sets of time/frequency resources may overlap in the time and/or frequency domains or the sets may be disjoint.”)
Regarding claim 15, Raghavan in view of Guo teaches claim 11, and further teaches wherein the candidate cell and the second cell are associated with a different frequency or a different intra-frequency measurement as a serving cell ([0104] “the capability information could indicate whether the UE supports concurrent CSI-RS based neighbor cell measurement and serving cell PDCCH or PDSCH reception, e.g., with different subcarrier spacing (also called numerology). Such capability information may relate to one or more of 3GPP layer 1 (L1) or layer 3 (L3) neighbor cell measurement for one or more of intra-frequency measurement or inter-frequency measurement.” [0139] “Any of the sets of time/frequency resources may overlap in the time and/or frequency domains or the sets may be disjoint.”)
Regarding claim 16, Raghavan in view of Guo teaches claim 11, and further teaches wherein the third resource set is associated with a first set of transmission beams for the third subset of reference signals and the fourth resource set is associated with a second set of transmission beams for the fourth subset of reference signals ([0082] “initial access and beam measurement by a wireless device may be performed based at least in part on synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) provided by one or more cells provided by one or more cellular base stations… Various types of CSI-RS may be provided for tracking (e.g., for time and frequency offset tracking), beam management (e.g., with repetition configured, to assist with determining one or more beams to use for uplink and/or downlink communication).”)
Regarding claim 17, Raghavan in view of Guo teaches claim 11, and further teaches wherein the third resource set is associated with a first channel measurement resource set and the fourth resource set is associated with a second channel measurement resource set ([0082] “initial access and beam measurement by a wireless device may be performed based at least in part on synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) provided by one or more cells provided by one or more cellular base stations… Various types of CSI-RS may be provided for tracking (e.g., for time and frequency offset tracking), beam management (e.g., with repetition configured, to assist with determining one or more beams to use for uplink and/or downlink communication).”)
Regarding claim 18, Raghavan in view of Guo teaches claim 11, and further teaches wherein the first resource set is associated with a first set of transmission beams for the first subset of reference signals and the second resource set is associated with a second set of transmission beams for the second subset of reference signals ([0082] “initial access and beam measurement by a wireless device may be performed based at least in part on synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) provided by one or more cells provided by one or more cellular base stations… Various types of CSI-RS may be provided for tracking (e.g., for time and frequency offset tracking), beam management (e.g., with repetition configured, to assist with determining one or more beams to use for uplink and/or downlink communication).”)
Regarding claim 18, Raghavan in view of Guo teaches claim 11, and further teaches wherein the first resource set comprises a first channel measurement resource set or a first interference measurement resource set and the second resource set comprises a second channel measurement resource set or a second interference measurement resource set ([0105] “The serving cell may provide configuration information to the UE (504), according to some embodiments. The configuration information may indicate a measurement configuration for non-serving cell L1 inter-frequency measurements. For example, the configuration information may indicate periodicity, index, and/or time and/or frequency resources of reference signals transmitted by one or more neighbor cells… The configuration information may describe various types of reference signals (RS), such as SSB, CSI-RS, etc.” [0139] “For example, the UE may determine first time/frequency resources for L1-RSRP measurement of a first neighbor cell, second time/frequency resources for L1-SINR measurement of the first neighbor cell, third time/frequency resources for L1-RSRP measurement of a second neighbor cell, fourth time/frequency resources for L1-SINR measurement of the second neighbor cell”).
Regarding claim 20, Raghavan in view of Guo teaches claim 11, and further teaches wherein the instructions to receive the control signal are executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: receive the control signal via a layer 1 (L1) message or a layer 2 (L2) message ([0102] “it may be the case that one or more configured transmission control indication (TCI) states may be activated by media access control (MAC) control element (CE) for the UE at a particular time.” Note: media access control (MAC) control element (CE) corresponds to claimed layer 2 (L2) message), wherein the UE mobility procedure comprises an L1/L2 triggered mobility (LTM) procedure ([0096] “In this disclosure, methods to enhance neighbor cell L1 measurements for L1 and/or L2 centric mobility and inter-cell mTRP are discussed.”)
Regarding claim 21, Raghavan in view of Guo teaches claim 11, and further teaches wherein the instructions to receive the control signal are executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: receive the control signal via the layer 1 message, the layer 1 message comprising a downlink control information: or receive the control signal via the layer 2 message, the layer 2 message comprising a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) (([0102] “it may be the case that one or more configured transmission control indication (TCI) states may be activated by media access control (MAC) control element (CE) for the UE at a particular time.”)
Regarding claim 22, Raghavan in view of Guo teaches claim 11, and further teaches wherein the candidate cell is associated with a deactivated serving cell or a non-serving cell ([0105] “The serving cell may provide configuration information to the UE (504), according to some embodiments. The configuration information may indicate a measurement configuration for non-serving cell L1 inter-frequency measurements.”)
Regarding claim 23, Raghavan teaches an apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more processors; one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus (FIG. 3 – UE, [0074], [0076]) to:
receive a control signal indicating a first resource set and a second resource set that are allocated to the UE for group-based channel measurement reporting for a UE mobility procedure, wherein the first resource set is associated with a candidate cell for the UE mobility procedure and the second resource set is associated with a second cell for the UE mobility procedure ([0105] “The serving cell may provide configuration information to the UE (504), according to some embodiments. The configuration information may indicate a measurement configuration for non-serving cell L1 inter-frequency measurements. For example, the configuration information may indicate periodicity, index, and/or time and/or frequency resources of reference signals transmitted by one or more neighbor cells… The configuration information may describe various types of reference signals (RS), such as SSB, CSI-RS, etc.” [0139] “For example, the UE may determine first time/frequency resources for L1-RSRP measurement of a first neighbor cell, second time/frequency resources for L1-SINR measurement of the first neighbor cell, third time/frequency resources for L1-RSRP measurement of a second neighbor cell, fourth time/frequency resources for L1-SINR measurement of the second neighbor cell” [0096] “In this disclosure, methods to enhance neighbor cell L1 measurements for L1 and/or L2 centric mobility and inter-cell mTRP are discussed.” [0090] “such measurements may support continued good reception and facilitate cell handover and re-selection, among various other uses”);
monitor the first resource set for a first plurality of reference signals from the candidate cell in accordance with the UE mobility procedure and the second resource set for a second plurality of reference signals from the second cell in accordance with the UE mobility procedure ([0143] “The neighbor cell(s) may transmit RS (508), according to some embodiments. The RS may be transmitted according to a configuration consistent with the configuration information (e.g., discussed in 504). For example, the RS may be transmitted with periodicity and/or on time/frequency resources consistent with the configuration information. The RS may use an index (e.g., or indices) consistent with the configuration information. The UE may receive the RS from the one or more neighbor cell(s). The RS may include CSI-RS and/or SSB, among various possibilities. The RS may be persistent, semi-persistent, and/or aperiodic.” [0144] “The UE may perform measurement(s) of the RS received from the neighbor cell(s) (510), according to some embodiments. The UE may perform the measurement(s) according to a configuration consistent with the configuration information (e.g., discussed in 504 and 506). For example, the UE may periodically perform the measurement(s) according to the measurement period(s) determined in 506, among various possibilities. The measurement(s) may be or include L1 inter-frequency measurements. For example, the UE may measure L1-RSRP and/or L1-SIN”); and
transmit a group-based measurement report indicating one or more measurements of the first plurality of reference signals from the candidate cell and the second plurality of reference signals from the second cell based at least in part on monitoring the first and second resource sets ([0148] “The UE may report the measurement(s) or information based on the measurement(s) to the serving cell (512), according to some embodiments. For example, the UE may transmit a report of the measurement value(s) to the serving cell periodically, e.g., according to reporting period(s) and/or SMTC configuration for L1 inter-frequency measurement(s) on the non-serving cell(s) determined in 506.”) {the one or more measurements including a measurement corresponding to a pair of reference signals, the pair of reference signals comprising a first reference signal of the first subset of reference signals from the candidate cell and a second reference signal of the second subset of reference signals from the second cell}.
Raghavan does not teach report indicating one or more measurements…the one or more measurements including a measurement corresponding to a pair of reference signals, the pair of reference signals comprising a first reference signal of the first subset of reference signals from the candidate cell and a second reference signal of the second subset of reference signals from the second cell.
Guo teaches report indicating one or more measurements…the one or more measurements including a measurement corresponding to a pair of reference signals, the pair of reference signals comprising a first reference signal of the first subset of reference signals from the candidate cell and a second reference signal of the second subset of reference signals from the second cell ([0206] “two CSI-RS resource sets are configured in RS setting 1620. A first CSI-RS resource set has KA CSI-RS resources and a second CSI-RS resource set has KB CSI-RS resources. CSI reporting setting 1610 can configure the UE to report one pair of CSI-RS resource{CiA, CiB}, where CiA is index of a CSI-RS resource selected from a first CSI-RS resource set with KA CSI-RS resources configured in RS setting 1620 and CiB is index of a CSI-RS resource selected from a second CSI-RS resource set with KB CSI-RS resource configured RS setting 1620 and the UE can be requested to select CiA and CiB that are QCLed to a same UE Rx beam or can be received simultaneously.” Note: Raghavan teaches first resources of a first neighbor cell and third resources of a second cell – see [0139] )
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature report indicating one or more measurements…the one or more measurements including a measurement corresponding to a pair of reference signals, the pair of reference signals comprising a first reference signal of the first subset of reference signals from the candidate cell and a second reference signal of the second subset of reference signals from the second cell, as taught by Guo in Raghavan, for efficient beam management.
Regarding claim 24, Raghavan in view of Guo teaches claim 23 and further teaches wherein the first and second resource sets are each associated with multiple cells ([0139] “For example, the UE may determine first time/frequency resources for L1-RSRP measurement of a first neighbor cell, second time/frequency resources for L1-SINR measurement of the first neighbor cell, third time/frequency resources for L1-RSRP measurement of a second neighbor cell, fourth time/frequency resources for L1-SINR measurement of the second neighbor cell” [0096] “In this disclosure, methods to enhance neighbor cell L1 measurements for L1 and/or L2 centric mobility and inter-cell mTRP are discussed”).
Regarding claim 25, Raghavan in view of Guo teaches claim 23 and further teaches wherein the instructions to transmit the group-based measurement report are executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: transmit one or more reference signal identifiers associated with the first plurality of reference signals and one or more reference signal identifiers associated with the second plurality of reference signals ([0105] “The serving cell may provide configuration information to the UE (504), according to some embodiments. The configuration information may indicate a measurement configuration for non-serving cell L1 inter-frequency measurements. For example, the configuration information may indicate periodicity, index, and/or time and/or frequency resources of reference signals transmitted by one or more neighbor cells… The configuration information may describe various types of reference signals (RS), such as SSB, CSI-RS, etc.”); and transmit one or more reference signal receive power values associated with the first plurality of reference signals and one or more reference signal receive power values associated with the second plurality of reference signals ([0144] “the UE may measure L1-RSRP and/or L1-SINR of CSI-RS and/or SSB transmitted by the neighbor cell(s).” [0148] “The UE may report the measurement(s) or information based on the measurement(s) to the serving cell (512)”)
Regarding claim 26, Raghavan in view of Guo teaches claim 23 and further teaches wherein the first plurality of reference signals is associated with a first set of transmission beams and the second plurality of reference signals is associated with a second set of transmission beams ([0082] “initial access and beam measurement by a wireless device may be performed based at least in part on synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) provided by one or more cells provided by one or more cellular base stations… Various types of CSI-RS may be provided for tracking (e.g., for time and frequency offset tracking), beam management (e.g., with repetition configured, to assist with determining one or more beams to use for uplink and/or downlink communication).”)
Regarding claim 27, Raghavan teaches an apparatus for wireless communications at a first wireless device, comprising: one or more processors; one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus (FIG. 4 - BS 202, [00079], [0081]) to:
transmit, to a UE, a control signal indicating a first resource set and a second resource set that are allocated to the UE for group-based channel measurement reporting for a UE mobility procedure, wherein both the first resource set and the second resource set are associated with a candidate cell for the UE mobility procedure ([0105] “The serving cell may provide configuration information to the UE (504), according to some embodiments. The configuration information may indicate a measurement configuration for non-serving cell L1 inter-frequency measurements. For example, the configuration information may indicate periodicity, index, and/or time and/or frequency resources of reference signals transmitted by one or more neighbor cells… The configuration information may describe various types of reference signals (RS), such as SSB, CSI-RS, etc.” [0139] “For example, the UE may determine first time/frequency resources for L1-RSRP measurement of a first neighbor cell, second time/frequency resources for L1-SINR measurement of the first neighbor cell, third time/frequency resources for L1-RSRP measurement of a second neighbor cell, fourth time/frequency resources for L1-SINR measurement of the second neighbor cell” [0096] “In this disclosure, methods to enhance neighbor cell L1 measurements for L1 and/or L2 centric mobility and inter-cell mTRP are discussed.” [0090] “such measurements may support continued good reception and facilitate cell handover and re-selection, among various other uses”) {wherein the first resource set is associated with a first set of transmission beams of the candidate cell for a first subset of reference signals and the second resource is associated with a second set of transmission beams of the candidate cell for a second subset of reference signals}; and
receive, from the UE, a group-based measurement report for the candidate cell, the group-based measurement report indicating one or more measurements of a plurality of reference signals associated with the candidate cell based at least in part on monitoring the first and second resource sets {the one or more measurements of the plurality of reference signals including a measurement corresponding to a pair of reference signals}, wherein the first and second resource sets comprise the plurality of reference signals, wherein the plurality of reference signals comprises a first subset of reference signals associated with the first resource set and a second subset of reference signals associated with the second resource set ([0148] “The UE may report the measurement(s) or information based on the measurement(s) to the serving cell (512), according to some embodiments. For example, the UE may transmit a report of the measurement value(s) to the serving cell periodically, e.g., according to reporting period(s) and/or SMTC configuration for L1 inter-frequency measurement(s) on the non-serving cell(s) determined in 506”) {and wherein the pair of reference signals comprises a first reference signal of the first subset of reference signals and a second reference signal of the second subset of reference signals}
Raghavan does not teach
wherein the first resource set is associated with a first set of transmission beams of the candidate cell for a first subset of reference signals and the second resource is associated with a second set of transmission beams of the candidate cell for a second subset of reference signals and
report indicating one or more measurements… the one or more measurements of the plurality of reference signals including a measurement corresponding to a pair of reference signals… and wherein the pair of reference signals comprises a first reference signal of the first subset of reference signals and a second reference signal of the second subset of reference signals.
Guo teaches
wherein the first resource set is associated with a first set of transmission beams of the candidate cell for a first subset of reference signals and the second resource is associated with a second set of transmission beams of the candidate cell for a second subset of reference signals ([0195] “a UE is configured with a CSI reporting setting 1610 and a RS setting 1620 for beam measurement and reporting.” [0206] “two CSI-RS resource sets are configured in RS setting 1620. A first CSI-RS resource set has KA CSI-RS resources and a second CSI-RS resource set has KB CSI-RS resources. [0142] “a “beam” corresponds to a CSI-RS resource”. It is understood CSI-RS resource stands for channel state information reference signal resource) and
report indicating one or more measurements… the one or more measurements of the plurality of reference signals including a measurement corresponding to a pair of reference signals… and wherein the pair of reference signals comprises a first reference signal of the first subset of reference signals and a second reference signal of the second subset of reference signals ([0206] “two CSI-RS resource sets are configured in RS setting 1620. A first CSI-RS resource set has KA CSI-RS resources and a second CSI-RS resource set has KB CSI-RS resources. CSI reporting setting 1610 can configure the UE to report one pair of CSI-RS resource{CiA, CiB}, where CiA is index of a CSI-RS resource selected from a first CSI-RS resource set with KA CSI-RS resources configured in RS setting 1620 and CiB is index of a CSI-RS resource selected from a second CSI-RS resource set with KB CSI-RS resource configured RS setting 1620 and the UE can be requested to select CiA and CiB that are QCLed to a same UE Rx beam or can be received simultaneously.”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the first resource set is associated with a first set of transmission beams of the candidate cell for a first subset of reference signals and the second resource is associated with a second set of transmission beams of the candidate cell for a second subset of reference signals and
report indicating one or more measurements… the one or more measurements of the plurality of reference signals including a measurement corresponding to a pair of reference signals… and wherein the pair of reference signals comprises a first reference signal of the first subset of reference signals and a second reference signal of the second subset of reference signals, as taught by Guo in Raghavan, for efficient beam management.
Regarding claim 29, Raghavan teaches a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (abstract), comprising:
receiving a control signal indicating a first resource set and a second resource set that are allocated to the UE for group-based channel measurement reporting for a UE mobility procedure, wherein both the first resource set and the second resource set are associated with a candidate cell for the UE mobility procedure ([0105] “The serving cell may provide configuration information to the UE (504), according to some embodiments. The configuration information may indicate a measurement configuration for non-serving cell L1 inter-frequency measurements. For example, the configuration information may indicate periodicity, index, and/or time and/or frequency resources of reference signals transmitted by one or more neighbor cells… The configuration information may describe various types of reference signals (RS), such as SSB, CSI-RS, etc.” [0139] “For example, the UE may determine first time/frequency resources for L1-RSRP measurement of a first neighbor cell, second time/frequency resources for L1-SINR measurement of the first neighbor cell, third time/frequency resources for L1-RSRP measurement of a second neighbor cell, fourth time/frequency resources for L1-SINR measurement of the second neighbor cell” [0096] “In this disclosure, methods to enhance neighbor cell L1 measurements for L1 and/or L2 centric mobility and inter-cell mTRP are discussed.” [0090] “such measurements may support continued good reception and facilitate cell handover and re-selection, among various other uses”) {wherein the first resource set is associated with a first set of transmission beams of the candidate cell for a first subset of reference signals and the second resource is associated with a second set of transmission beams of the candidate cell for a second subset of reference signals};
monitoring the first and second resource sets for a plurality of reference signals associated with the candidate cell in accordance with the UE mobility procedure, the plurality of reference signals comprising a first subset of reference signals associated with the first resource set and a second subset of reference signals associated with the second resource set ([0143] “The neighbor cell(s) may transmit RS (508), according to some embodiments. The RS may be transmitted according to a configuration consistent with the configuration information (e.g., discussed in 504). For example, the RS may be transmitted with periodicity and/or on time/frequency resources consistent with the configuration information. The RS may use an index (e.g., or indices) consistent with the configuration information. The UE may receive the RS from the one or more neighbor cell(s). The RS may include CSI-RS and/or SSB, among various possibilities. The RS may be persistent, semi-persistent, and/or aperiodic.” [0144] “The UE may perform measurement(s) of the RS received from the neighbor cell(s) (510), according to some embodiments. The UE may perform the measurement(s) according to a configuration consistent with the configuration information (e.g., discussed in 504 and 506). For example, the UE may periodically perform the measurement(s) according to the measurement period(s) determined in 506, among various possibilities. The measurement(s) may be or include L1 inter-frequency measurements. For example, the UE may measure L1-RSRP and/or L1-SIN”); and
transmitting a group-based measurement report for the candidate cell, the group-based measurement report indicating one or more measurements of the plurality of reference signals associated with the candidate cell based at least in part on monitoring the first and second resource sets ([0148] “The UE may report the measurement(s) or information based on the measurement(s) to the serving cell (512), according to some embodiments. For example, the UE may transmit a report of the measurement value(s) to the serving cell periodically, e.g., according to reporting period(s) and/or SMTC configuration for L1 inter-frequency measurement(s) on the non-serving cell(s) determined in 506.”)
{the one or more measurements of the plurality of reference signals including a measurement corresponding to a pair of reference signals, the pair of reference signals comprising a first reference signal of the first subset of reference signals and a second reference signal of the second subset of reference signals}.
Raghavan does not teach
wherein the first resource set is associated with a first set of transmission beams of the candidate cell for a first subset of reference signals and the second resource is associated with a second set of transmission beams of the candidate cell for a second subset of reference signals and
report indicating one or more measurements… the one or more measurements of the plurality of reference signals including a measurement corresponding to a pair of reference signals, the pair of reference signals comprising a first reference signal of the first subset of reference signals and a second reference signal of the second subset of reference signals
Guo teaches
wherein the first resource set is associated with a first set of transmission beams of the candidate cell for a first subset of reference signals and the second resource is associated with a second set of transmission beams of the candidate cell for a second subset of reference signals ([0195] “a UE is configured with a CSI reporting setting 1610 and a RS setting 1620 for beam measurement and reporting.” [0206] “two CSI-RS resource sets are configured in RS setting 1620. A first CSI-RS resource set has KA CSI-RS resources and a second CSI-RS resource set has KB CSI-RS resources. [0142] “a “beam” corresponds to a CSI-RS resource”. It is understood CSI-RS resource stands for channel state information reference signal resource) and
report indicating one or more measurements… the one or more measurements of the plurality of reference signals including a measurement corresponding to a pair of reference signals, the pair of reference signals comprising a first reference signal of the first subset of reference signals and a second reference signal of the second subset of reference signals ([0206] “two CSI-RS resource sets are configured in RS setting 1620. A first CSI-RS resource set has KA CSI-RS resources and a second CSI-RS resource set has KB CSI-RS resources. CSI reporting setting 1610 can configure the UE to report one pair of CSI-RS resource{CiA, CiB}, where CiA is index of a CSI-RS resource selected from a first CSI-RS resource set with KA CSI-RS resources configured in RS setting 1620 and CiB is index of a CSI-RS resource selected from a second CSI-RS resource set with KB CSI-RS resource configured RS setting 1620 and the UE can be requested to select CiA and CiB that are QCLed to a same UE Rx beam or can be received simultaneously.”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the first resource set is associated with a first set of transmission beams of the candidate cell for a first subset of reference signals and the second resource is associated with a second set of transmission beams of the candidate cell for a second subset of reference signals and
report indicating one or more measurements… the one or more measurements of the plurality of reference signals including a measurement corresponding to a pair of reference signals, the pair of reference signals comprising a first reference signal of the first subset of reference signals and a second reference signal of the second subset of reference signals, as taught by Guo in Raghavan, for efficient beam management.
Regarding claim 30, Raghavan in view of Guo teaches claim 29 and further teaches further comprising: receiving the first reference signal of the first subset of reference signals via one or more time resources of the first resource set based at least in part on the monitoring; and receiving the second reference signal of the second subset of reference signals via one or more time resources of the second resource set that at least partially overlap in time with the one or more time resources of the first resource set based at least in part on the monitoring ([0143] “The neighbor cell(s) may transmit RS (508), according to some embodiments. The RS may be transmitted according to a configuration consistent with the configuration information (e.g., discussed in 504). For example, the RS may be transmitted with periodicity and/or on time/frequency resources consistent with the configuration information. The RS may use an index (e.g., or indices) consistent with the configuration information. The UE may receive the RS from the one or more neighbor cell(s). The RS may include CSI-RS and/or SSB, among various possibilities. The RS may be persistent, semi-persistent, and/or aperiodic.” [0144] “The UE may perform measurement(s) of the RS received from the neighbor cell(s) (510), according to some embodiments. The UE may perform the measurement(s) according to a configuration consistent with the configuration information (e.g., discussed in 504 and 506). For example, the UE may periodically perform the measurement(s) according to the measurement period(s) determined in 506, among various possibilities. The measurement(s) may be or include L1 inter-frequency measurements. For example, the UE may measure L1-RSRP and/or L1-SIN.” [0139] “the UE may determine first time/frequency resources for L1-RSRP measurement of a first neighbor cell, second time/frequency resources for L1-SINR measurement of the first neighbor cell, third time/frequency resources for L1-RSRP measurement of a second neighbor cell, fourth time/frequency resources for L1-SINR measurement of the second neighbor cell, etc. Any of the sets of time/frequency resources may overlap in the time and/or frequency domains or the sets may be disjoint.”)
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raghavan in view of Guo and further in view of He et al. (US 2021/0051649, “He”).
Regarding claim 4, Raghavan in view of Guo teaches claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the instructions to transmit the group-based measurement report are executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: transmit the group-based measurement report based at least in part on a priority rule for group-based channel measurement reporting.
He teaches wherein the instructions to transmit the group-based measurement report are executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: transmit the group-based measurement report based at least in part on a priority rule for group-based channel measurement reporting ([0157] – “As a second example, CSI with smaller report identifier (ID) may have a higher priority than larger report ID”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the instructions to transmit the group-based measurement report are executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: transmit the group-based measurement report based at least in part on a priority rule for group-based channel measurement reporting as taught by He in Raghavan to efficiently use resources and to meet reliability targets of various service types.
Regarding claim 5, Raghavan in view of Guo and He teaches claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the wherein the group-based measurement report for the candidate cell is associated with a first cell identifier and a second report is associated with a second cell identifier, the second report scheduled for transmission via time resources that at least partially overlap the group-based measurement report, wherein the instructions to transmit the group-based measurement report are executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: transmit the group-based measurement report via the time resources based at least in part on the first cell identifier being smaller than the second cell identifier in accordance with the priority rule.
He teaches
wherein the group-based measurement report for the candidate cell is associated with a first cell identifier and a second report is associated with a second cell identifier, the second report scheduled for transmission via time resources that at least partially overlap the group-based measurement report ([0129] FIG. 10 illustrates an exemplary slot (e.g., with 14 symbols in the time domain, e.g., arranged along the horizontal axis; the vertical axis may represent the frequency domain resources) with overlapping transmissions of two priority levels: a higher priority 1 (P1) and a lower priority 2 (P2)), wherein the instructions to transmit the group-based measurement report are executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: transmit the group-based measurement report via the time resources based at least in part on the first cell identifier being smaller than the second cell identifier in accordance with the priority rule ([0157] As a second example, CSI with smaller report identifier (ID) may have a higher priority than larger report ID).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the group-based measurement report for the candidate cell is associated with a first cell identifier and a second report is associated with a second cell identifier, the second report scheduled for transmission via time resources that at least partially overlap the group-based measurement report, wherein the instructions to transmit the group-based measurement report are executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: transmit the group-based measurement report via the time resources based at least in part on the first cell identifier being smaller than the second cell identifier in accordance with the priority rule as taught by He in Raghavan to efficiently use resources and to meet reliability targets of various service types.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raghavan in view of Guo and further in view of Cui et al. (US 2023/0180077, “Cui”).
Regarding claim 28, Raghavan in view of Guo teaches claim 27 but fails to teach wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: transmit, to the UE, a control message indicating the UE to switch to the candidate cell.
Cui teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: transmit, to the UE, a control message indicating the UE to switch to the candidate cell ([0038] “In block 310, the method 300 includes switching, based on downlink control information (DCI) or a media access control (MAC) control element (CE) command or a radio resource control (RRC) command from the wireless network in response to the measurement results in the PUSCH or PUCCH, from a current transmission configuration indication (TCI) to a target TCI”. [0039] In one embodiment, the method 300 further includes, based on switching from the current TCI to the target TCI, changing from the current serving cell to one of the one or more target neighbor cell as a new serving cell).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: transmit, to the UE, a control message indicating the UE to switch to the candidate cell as taught by Cui in Raghavan to ensure the best target cell to serve the UE.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-30 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
/QUOC THAI N VU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642