DETAILED ACTION
This application is in response to restriction filed on 11/12/2025.
Claims 1-20 are presently pending in this application. Applicant has elected Group I, claims 1-5 without traverse and claims 6-20 have been withdrawn as non-elected groups II-III. Claims 1-5 are under examination.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-5 in the reply filed on 11/12/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 6-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Groups II-III, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 11/12/2025.
Specification
Currently, the abstract is less than 50 words in length. It is suggested to have the abstract within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase "and analogs thereof" renders the claim indefinite because the claim includes elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "and analogs thereof"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Clarification is requested.
Regarding dependent claims 2-5, this claim does not remedy the deficiencies of parent claim 3 as noted above and are rejected for the same rationale.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim 3 recites “biosurfactant is sophorolipid” does not further limit from claim 2 as claim 2 recites biosurfactant is a glycolipid, lipopeptide or phospholipid.
Regarding dependent claim 4, this claim does not remedy the deficiencies of parent claim 3 as noted above and are rejected for the same rationale.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In order to ensure proper antecedent basis and to provide clarity in the claim, it is suggested to amend "the composition" to "the decadmiation composition" in claim 5 lines 1-2.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
12. Claims 1-5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 13-15 of co-pending Application No. 17/521,290.
Co-pending application (‘290) teaches decadmiation composition substantially similar to applicant’s presently claimed invention which includes a decadmiation composition comprising a sophorolipid biosurfactant (i.e., example of glycolipid biosurfactant, reads on claim 2 limitation), an acid, a pH adjuster (reads on claim 1 limitation) wherein the sophorolipd is a linear sophorolipid or a derivative of a liner sophorolipid (reads on claims 3-4 limitation), wherein the acid is selected from acetic acid, citric acid, lactic acid, butyric acid, sorbic acid, benzoic acid, formic acid, fumaric acid, propionic acid, ascorbic acid, glyoxylic acid, malonic acid, pyruvic acid, oxalic acid, uric acid, malic acid, tartaric acid, sulfuric acid, nitric acid, phosphoric acid, hydrochloric acid, boric acid and analogs thereof (reads on claim 1) and wherein the pH adjuster is present in the composition at a concentration that stabilizes the pH between 2-5 (reads on claim 5 limitation).
This is a provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
14. Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Benredjem et al. (NPL: “Coupling of electrodialysis and leaching process for removing of cadmium from phosphate ore, Sep. Sci. Tech. 2016, 51(4), 718-726) in view of Qi et al (NPL: “Removal of Cadmium and Lead from Contaminated Soils Using Sophorolipids from Fermentation Culture of Starmerella bombicola CGMCC 1576 Fermentation”, Internation Journal of Environment Research and Public Health, pages 1-12, 2018).
Regarding clams 1-3, Benredjem teaches extracting an impurity from phosphate ore (removing cadmium from phosphate ore, see title- reads on claimed limitation of a decadmiation) comprising a composition comprising an acetic acid solution (reads on acid, p. 719, column 1, paragraph 6) and adjustment of the pH of the solution was carried out with NaOH; p. 719, column 1-Reagents, reads on pH adjuster).
Benredjem also teaches the addition of different organic extracting agents to the mixtures (p. 720, column 2) to aid in the extraction efficiency of cadmium from the phosphate ore. Benredjem does not explicitly disclose or suggest the composition comprising a biosurfactant.
However, Qi discloses removing cadmium from contaminated soil using sophorolipids wherein sophorolipid (SL) is type of extracellular glycolipid biosurfactant (pages 1-2 and abstract, reads on claims 1-3 limitation of biosurfactant is glycolipid, sophorolipid).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a sophorolipid as extracting agent of Qi in the composition of Benredjem which is more efficient and environment friendly and further provide good surface activity, biodegradability, biocompatibility, low toxicity, high productivity as taught by Qi (see page 2- lines 5-15).
Regarding claim 4, Qi discloses sophorolipd (SL) is linear sophorolipid or a derivative of a liner sophorolipid (i.e., lactonic SLs, acidic SLs, see section 2.3 on page 3).
Regarding claim 5, Benredjem discloses pH adjuster is present in the composition at a concentration that stabilizes the pH of the composition at pH 4 (fig. 9 and page 723-col.2, paragraph 1, encompassed claimed range of pH between 2-5). As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Conclusion
/SMITA S PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732 02/04/2026