DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant has amended independent claims 1, 11, and 20. The pending claims are claims 1-20.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Benker et al., US 20230187767.
Regarding claim 1, Benker et al., teaches a battery module (0008-0009) comprising: a first battery cell (0007-0009) and a neighboring second battery cell (0008-0009); a mounting plate (housing base) (0007-0010) configured to support each of the first battery cell and the second battery cell (0007-0010); and a battery module enclosure surrounded by an ambient environment and configured to house each of the first and second battery cells (0008-0009) arranged on the mounting plate (housing base) (0007-0010); wherein: the mounting plate (housing base) (0007-0010) includes a first segment configured to support the first battery cell (0018; 0049) and a second segment configured to support the second battery cell (0018; 0049); the first segment is connected to the second segment via an interface (0008) having mechanical strength lower than mechanical strength of each of the first and second segments (0014-0016; 0022); and the interface is configured to fracture (breaking point) (0008; 0044) in response to the first battery cell undergoing a thermal event (0044) and separate the first segment from the second segment to exhaust gases from the first battery cell into an airgap between the mounting plate (0007-0010) and the battery module enclosure to thereby transfer thermal energy from the first battery cell away from the second battery cell and control propagation of a thermal runaway in the battery module (0012-0015).
Regarding claim 2, Benker et al., teaches wherein the mounting plate (housing base) (0007-0010) including each of the interface (0008; 0015-0016), the first segment, and the second segment, is defined by a continuous unitary structure (0044) constructed from a single material (0044).
Regarding claim 4, Benker et al., teaches wherein the interface (0008; 0015-0016) is defined by a pre-score in the mounting plate (housing base) (0007-0010) generating a reduced material thickness (“made less wide”) (0018) in a cross-sectional view between the first and second segments (0018).
Regarding claim 5, Benker et al., teaches wherein at least one of the first and second segments includes multiple individual tiles defined by corresponding pre-scores therebetween (0021; 0023; 0046), thereby forming a grid tile pattern (0023; “line patterns or hole patterns” wherein the patterns could be in the form of grids).
Regarding claim 6, Benker et al., teaches wherein each of the first and second segments has an interlinking shape (“joint connection” 48) (0018).
Regarding claim 7, Benker et al., teaches wherein the first battery cell and the second battery cell are attached to the respective first and second segments via an adhesive (0018; 0049).
Regarding claim 8, Benker et al., teaches further comprising a coolant header (0013; 0043) arranged in the battery module enclosure and configured to remove thermal energy from the first and second battery cells (0012; 0014-0015).
Regarding claim 9, Benker et al., teaches wherein the coolant header includes ribbon-shape coolant channels (channel 34) (Fig. 6) configured to seat and retain the first and second battery cells (0043) (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 10, Benker et al., teaches wherein each of the first and second battery cells (battery cells 16) (Fig. 6) has one of a prismatic cell construction (0042).
Thus, the claims are anticipated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11, 12, 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benker et al., US 20230187767.
Regarding claim 11, Benker et al., teaches motor vehicle (0008) comprising: a battery module configured to supply electrical energy to the power-source (0013; 0040; 0045), the battery module including: a first battery cell (0007-0009) and a neighboring second battery cell (0007-0009); a mounting plate (housing base) (0007-0010) configured to support each of the first battery cell and the second battery cell (0018; 0049); and a battery module enclosure (housing) (0007-0009) surrounded by an ambient environment (0008-0009) and configured to house each of the first and second battery cells (0008-0009) arranged on the mounting plate (housing base) (0006-0008); wherein: the mounting plate (housing base) (0007-0010) includes a first segment configured to support the first battery cell (0018; 0049) and a second segment configured to support the second battery cell (0018; 0049); the first segment is connected to the second segment via an interface (0008; 0014-0015) having mechanical strength lower than mechanical strength of each of the first and second segments (0014-0016; 0022); and the interface is configured to fracture (breaking point) in response to the first battery cell undergoing a thermal event and separate the first segment from the second segment (0008; 0044) to exhaust gases from the first battery cell into an airgap between the mounting plate and the battery module enclosure (0006-0008) to thereby transfer thermal energy from the first battery cell away from the second battery cell and control propagation of a thermal runaway in the battery module (0012-0016).
Although Benker does not teach a power-source configured to generate power-source torque, Benker teaches a motor vehicle (0008; 0012), which would operate via the power source (0027-0028). Thus, it would have been obvious to employ a power source in a motor vehicle with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 12, Benker et al., teaches wherein the mounting plate, including each of the interface (0008; 0015-0016), the first segment, and the second segment, is defined by a continuous unitary structure (0044) constructed from a single material (0044).
Regarding claim 14, Benker et al., teaches wherein the interface (0008; 0015-0016) is defined by a pre-score in the mounting plate (housing base) generating a reduced material thickness (“made less wide”) (0018) in a cross-sectional view between the first and second segments (0018).
Regarding claim 15, Benker et al., teaches wherein at least one of the first and second segments includes multiple individual tiles defined by corresponding pre-scores therebetween (0021; 0023; 0046) ), thereby forming a grid tile pattern (0023; “line patterns or hole patterns” wherein the patterns could be in the form of grids).
Regarding claim 16, Benker et al., teaches wherein each of the first and second segments has an interlinking shape (“joint connection” 48) (0018).
Regarding claim 17, Benker et al., teaches, wherein the first battery cell and the second battery cell are attached to the respective first and second segments via an adhesive (0018; 0049).
Regarding claim 18, Benker et al., teaches wherein the battery module additionally includes a coolant header (0013; 0043) arranged in the battery module enclosure and configured to remove thermal energy from the first and second battery cells (0012; 0014-0015).
Regarding claim 19, Benker et al., teaches wherein the coolant header includes ribbon-shape coolant channels (channel 34) (Fig. 6) configured to seat and retain the first and second battery cells (0043) (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 20, Benker et al., teaches battery module (0008-0009) comprising: a first battery cell (0007-0009) and a neighboring second battery cell (0007-0009); a mounting plate (housing base) (0007-0010) configured to support each of the first battery cell (0018; 0049) and the second battery cell (0018; 0049); and a battery module enclosure (0008-0009) surrounded by an ambient environment and configured to house each of the first and second battery cells arranged on the mounting plate (0008-0009); wherein: the mounting plate includes a first segment configured to support the first battery cell and a second segment configured to support the second battery cell (housing base) (0007-0010); the first battery cell and the second battery cell are attached to the respective first and second segments via an adhesive (0018; 0049); the first segment is connected to the second segment via an interface having mechanical strength lower than mechanical strength of each of the first and second segments (0014-0016; 0022); the interface is defined by a pre-score in the mounting plate (0021; 0023; 0046) generating a reduced material thickness in a cross-sectional view between the first and second segments (“made less wide”) (0018); and the interface is configured to fracture (breaking point) (0008; 0044) in response to the first battery cell undergoing a thermal event (0044) and separate the first segment from the second segment to exhaust gases from the first battery cell into an airgap between the mounting plate and the battery module enclosure (0013-0015).to thereby transfer thermal energy from the first battery cell away from the second battery cell and control propagation of a thermal runaway in the battery module (0012-0015).
Claim(s) 3 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benker et al., US 20230187767, in view of Hong et al., US 20230178824.
Regarding claim 3, Benker et al., does not teach wherein the material of the mounting plate is a nylon-based polymer.
Hong et al., teaches a battery module having an outer layer material of nylon or polyethylene terephthalate (0039).
“The outer layer is provided on the other surface of the metal layer. The outer layer may be made of a heat-resistant polymer that exhibits excellent tensile strength, resistance to moisture permeation, and resistance to air permeation such that the outer layer exhibits high heat resistance and chemical resistance while protecting the electrode assembly. As an example, the outer layer may be made of nylon or polyethylene terephthalate.” (Hong, 0039)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to insert the teachings of Hong into the teachings of Benker because Hong teaches the advantages of nylon in the material of the battery module.
Regarding claim 13, Benker et al., does not teach wherein the material of the mounting plate is a nylon-based polymer.
Hong et al., teaches a battery module having an outer layer material of nylon or polyethylene terephthalate (0039).
“The outer layer is provided on the other surface of the metal layer. The outer layer may be made of a heat-resistant polymer that exhibits excellent tensile strength, resistance to moisture permeation, and resistance to air permeation such that the outer layer exhibits high heat resistance and chemical resistance while protecting the electrode assembly. As an example, the outer layer may be made of nylon or polyethylene terephthalate.” (0039)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to insert the teachings of Hong into the teachings of Benker because Hong teaches the advantages of nylon in the material of the battery module.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that “the subject amendment replacing the term "space" with "airgap" does not constitute a material change to claim scope since Applicant's specification as filed uses the two terms interchangeably.”
However, “airgap” in the dictionary (Merriam-Webster.com) is defined as “an air-filled gap in a magnetic or electric circuit; the vertical distance between the point where water enters a plumbing fixture and the level at which it would overflow.”
Whereas, “space” is defined in the dictionary as “a period of time; a limited extent in one, two, or three dimensions; a boundless three-dimensional extent in which objects and events occur and have relative position and direction.”
The Applicant argues that “while Benker teaches an opening 32 which penetrates the housing base arrangement 12, the subject opening is not a space or an airgap between the housing base arrangement 12 and the battery module enclosure (housing 22).”
However, Benker teaches a housing base (12) and an airgap or a space (hole 31) (0020-0021) between the housing and battery enclosure (Fig. 1 and 6).
Applicant argues that “Benker fails to disclose or suggest a battery module comprising, inter alia, "the interface is configured to fracture in response to the first battery cell undergoing a thermal event and separate the first segment from the second segment to exhaust gases from the first battery cell into an airgap between the mounting plate and the battery module enclosure".”
However, Benker teaches the interface is configured to fracture (breaking point) (0008; 0044) in response to the first battery cell undergoing a thermal event (0044) and separate the first segment from the second segment to exhaust gases from the first battery cell into a space between the mounting plate and the battery module enclosure (0013-0015) to thereby transfer thermal energy from the first battery cell away from the second battery cell and control propagation of a thermal runaway in the battery module (0012-0015).
Conclusion
ANGELA J. MARTIN
Examiner
Art Unit 1727
/ANGELA J MARTIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1727