DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant has amended dependent claims 5 and 15. The pending claims are claims 1-20.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Benker et al., US 20230187767.
Regarding claim 1, Benker et al., teaches a battery module (0008-0009) comprising: a first battery cell (0007-0009) and a neighboring second battery cell (0008-0009); a mounting plate (housing base) (0007-0010) configured to support each of the first battery cell and the second battery cell (0007-0010); and a battery module enclosure surrounded by an ambient environment and configured to house each of the first and second battery cells (0008-0009) arranged on the mounting plate (housing base) (0007-0010); wherein: the mounting plate (housing base) (0007-0010) includes a first segment configured to support the first battery cell (0018; 0049) and a second segment configured to support the second battery cell (0018; 0049); the first segment is connected to the second segment via an interface (0008) having mechanical strength lower than mechanical strength of each of the first and second segments (0014-0016; 0022); and the interface is configured to fracture (breaking point) (0008; 0044) in response to the first battery cell undergoing a thermal event (0044) and separate the first segment from the second segment to exhaust gases from the first battery cell into a space between the mounting plate (0007-0010) and the battery module enclosure to thereby transfer thermal energy from the first battery cell away from the second battery cell and control propagation of a thermal runaway in the battery module (0012-0015).
Regarding claim 2, Benker et al., teaches wherein the mounting plate (housing base) (0007-0010) including each of the interface (0008; 0015-0016), the first segment, and the second segment, is defined by a continuous unitary structure (0044) constructed from a single material (0044).
Regarding claim 4, Benker et al., teaches wherein the interface (0008; 0015-0016) is defined by a pre-score in the mounting plate (housing base) (0007-0010) generating a reduced material thickness (“made less wide”) (0018) in a cross-sectional view between the first and second segments (0018).
Regarding claim 5, Benker et al., teaches wherein at least one of the first and second segments includes multiple individual tiles defined by corresponding pre-scores therebetween (0021; 0023; 0046), thereby forming a grid tile pattern (0023; “line patterns or hole patterns” wherein the patterns could be in the form of grids).
Regarding claim 6, Benker et al., teaches wherein each of the first and second segments has an interlinking shape (“joint connection” 48) (0018).
Regarding claim 7, Benker et al., teaches wherein the first battery cell and the second battery cell are attached to the respective first and second segments via an adhesive (0018; 0049).
Regarding claim 8, Benker et al., teaches further comprising a coolant header (0013; 0043) arranged in the battery module enclosure and configured to remove thermal energy from the first and second battery cells (0012; 0014-0015).
Regarding claim 9, Benker et al., teaches wherein the coolant header includes ribbon-shape coolant channels (channel 34) (Fig. 6) configured to seat and retain the first and second battery cells (0043) (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 10, Benker et al., teaches wherein each of the first and second battery cells (battery cells 16) (Fig. 6) has one of a prismatic cell construction (0042).
Thus, the claims are anticipated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11, 12, 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benker et al., US 20230187767.
Regarding claim 11, Benker et al., teaches motor vehicle (0008) comprising: a battery module configured to supply electrical energy to the power-source (0013; 0040; 0045), the battery module including: a first battery cell (0007-0009) and a neighboring second battery cell (0007-0009); a mounting plate (housing base) (0007-0010) configured to support each of the first battery cell and the second battery cell (0018; 0049); and a battery module enclosure (housing) (0007-0009) surrounded by an ambient environment (0008-0009) and configured to house each of the first and second battery cells (0008-0009) arranged on the mounting plate (housing base) (0006-0008); wherein: the mounting plate (housing base) (0007-0010) includes a first segment configured to support the first battery cell (0018; 0049) and a second segment configured to support the second battery cell (0018; 0049); the first segment is connected to the second segment via an interface (0008; 0014-0015) having mechanical strength lower than mechanical strength of each of the first and second segments (0014-0016; 0022); and the interface is configured to fracture (breaking point) in response to the first battery cell undergoing a thermal event and separate the first segment from the second segment (0008; 0044) to exhaust gases from the first battery cell into a space between the mounting plate and the battery module enclosure (0006-0008) to thereby transfer thermal energy from the first battery cell away from the second battery cell and control propagation of a thermal runaway in the battery module (0012-0016).
Although Benker does not teach a power-source configured to generate power-source torque, Benker teaches a motor vehicle (0008; 0012), which would operate via the power source (0027-0028). Thus, it would have been obvious to employ a power source in a motor vehicle with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 12, Benker et al., teaches wherein the mounting plate, including each of the interface (0008; 0015-0016), the first segment, and the second segment, is defined by a continuous unitary structure (0044) constructed from a single material (0044).
Regarding claim 14, Benker et al., teaches wherein the interface (0008; 0015-0016) is defined by a pre-score in the mounting plate (housing base) generating a reduced material thickness (“made less wide”) (0018) in a cross-sectional view between the first and second segments (0018).
Regarding claim 15, Benker et al., teaches wherein at least one of the first and second segments includes multiple individual tiles defined by corresponding pre-scores therebetween (0021; 0023; 0046) ), thereby forming a grid tile pattern (0023; “line patterns or hole patterns” wherein the patterns could be in the form of grids).
Regarding claim 16, Benker et al., teaches wherein each of the first and second segments has an interlinking shape (“joint connection” 48) (0018).
Regarding claim 17, Benker et al., teaches, wherein the first battery cell and the second battery cell are attached to the respective first and second segments via an adhesive (0018; 0049).
Regarding claim 18, Benker et al., teaches wherein the battery module additionally includes a coolant header (0013; 0043) arranged in the battery module enclosure and configured to remove thermal energy from the first and second battery cells (0012; 0014-0015).
Regarding claim 19, Benker et al., teaches wherein the coolant header includes ribbon-shape coolant channels (channel 34) (Fig. 6) configured to seat and retain the first and second battery cells (0043) (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 20, Benker et al., teaches battery module (0008-0009) comprising: a first battery cell (0007-0009) and a neighboring second battery cell (0007-0009); a mounting plate (housing base) (0007-0010) configured to support each of the first battery cell (0018; 0049) and the second battery cell (0018; 0049); and a battery module enclosure (0008-0009) surrounded by an ambient environment and configured to house each of the first and second battery cells arranged on the mounting plate (0008-0009); wherein: the mounting plate includes a first segment configured to support the first battery cell and a second segment configured to support the second battery cell (housing base) (0007-0010); the first battery cell and the second battery cell are attached to the respective first and second segments via an adhesive (0018; 0049); the first segment is connected to the second segment via an interface having mechanical strength lower than mechanical strength of each of the first and second segments (0014-0016; 0022); the interface is defined by a pre-score in the mounting plate (0021; 0023; 0046) generating a reduced material thickness in a cross-sectional view between the first and second segments (“made less wide”) (0018); and the interface is configured to fracture (breaking point) (0008; 0044) in response to the first battery cell undergoing a thermal event (0044) and separate the first segment from the second segment to exhaust gases from the first battery cell into a space between the mounting plate and the battery module enclosure (0013-0015).to thereby transfer thermal energy from the first battery cell away from the second battery cell and control propagation of a thermal runaway in the battery module (0012-0015).
Claim(s) 3 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benker et al., US 20230187767, in view of Hong et al., US 20230178824.
Regarding claim 3, Benker et al., does not teach wherein the material of the mounting plate is a nylon-based polymer.
Hong et al., teaches a battery module having an outer layer material of nylon or polyethylene terephthalate (0039).
“The outer layer is provided on the other surface of the metal layer. The outer layer may be made of a heat-resistant polymer that exhibits excellent tensile strength, resistance to moisture permeation, and resistance to air permeation such that the outer layer exhibits high heat resistance and chemical resistance while protecting the electrode assembly. As an example, the outer layer may be made of nylon or polyethylene terephthalate.” (Hong, 0039)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to insert the teachings of Hong into the teachings of Benker because Hong teaches the advantages of nylon in the material of the battery module.
Regarding claim 13, Benker et al., does not teach wherein the material of the mounting plate is a nylon-based polymer.
Hong et al., teaches a battery module having an outer layer material of nylon or polyethylene terephthalate (0039).
“The outer layer is provided on the other surface of the metal layer. The outer layer may be made of a heat-resistant polymer that exhibits excellent tensile strength, resistance to moisture permeation, and resistance to air permeation such that the outer layer exhibits high heat resistance and chemical resistance while protecting the electrode assembly. As an example, the outer layer may be made of nylon or polyethylene terephthalate.” (0039)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to insert the teachings of Hong into the teachings of Benker because Hong teaches the advantages of nylon in the material of the battery module.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that “Benker has no space between the mounting plate and the battery module enclosure into which gases from battery cells would exhaust.” However, as seen in Fig. 1, there is a degassing opening (ref 18) in the battery cell (ref 16) from the housing base (ref 24). Therefore the gas (ref 20) escaping from the cell (ref 16) can be discharged from opening (ref 32).
Applicant argues that “Benker fails to so much as consider a battery module comprising, inter alia, "the interface is configured to fracture in response to the first battery cell undergoing a thermal event and separate the first segment from the second segment to exhaust gases from the first battery cell into a space between the mounting plate and the battery module enclosure."
However, Benker teaches a “breaking point” or fracture (0008), which prevents “breaking point is provided, which releases an opening, in dependence on a gas escape from the degassing opening of the at least one battery cell, through which the gas escaping from the degassing opening of the at least one battery cell can be discharged.” (0008). Additionally, Benker teaches “particularly advantageous if the housing base arrangement has a thermal interface layer, which is then provided between the housing base and the battery unit for better thermal coupling of the housing base and the battery unit. Such a thermal interface layer can be provided, for example, by a gap filler,” (0015). In addition, “In case of a thermal event, the gas produced in the cell 16 can be deliberately discharged from this releasable degassing opening 18. The gas escaping from the cell 16 is illustrated by the arrow 20 in FIG. 1 as an example. The battery cell 16 is also arranged in a battery housing 22, of which only the housing base 24 is shown as an example in FIG. 1. In the present example, the battery cell 16 or the battery unit 14 is generally not arranged directly on the housing base 24, but an electrical insulation layer in the form of a plastic film 26 is initially also arranged on the housing base 24 and between this plastic film 26 and the battery cell 16 or the battery unit 14, a thermal interface layer 28 is also arranged, which can be designed, for example, as a gap filler or gap pad. These two layers, namely the plastic film 26 and the thermal interface layer 28, are also part of the housing base arrangement 12.” (0042).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. He et al., US 20150194712; Chu et al., US 12476293
ANGELA J. MARTIN
Examiner
Art Unit 1727
/ANGELA J MARTIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727