DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant’s amendment filed on 12/03/2025 was received. Claims 1-3, 5-13, 15-20 were amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The claims rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ) on claims 1, 2, 11, 12, 20 are withdrawn because Applicant amended independent claims 1, 11, 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The claims rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Zhu et al. (US 20220223972 A1) on claims 1-6, 9-16, 18-20 are withdrawn because Applicant amended independent claims 1, 11, 20.
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 9, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by You et al. (US 20210249731 A1).
Regarding to claim 1: You et al. disclose a battery pack (abstract). The battery pack (equivalent to a battery system) comprising:
a plurality of battery units (20) (par. 56, fig. 1) (The bottom-right row of the battery units is equivalent to a first group of battery cells. The bottom-left row of the battery units is equivalent to a neighboring second group of battery cells. See fig. unit below);
a box assembly (1) (equivalent to a battery system enclosure), including a box (11), a plurality of fixed beams (12), and a cover (13) (par. 59, 60, fig. 3), surrounded by an external environment and configured to house the plurality of battery units (20) (par. 59, fig. 3);
a plurality of second exhaust passages (8) (The right second exhaust passage (8) on fig. 5 is equivalent to a first vent channel. The left second exhaust passage (8) on fig. 5 is equivalent to a second vent channel.) (par. 61, See fig. vent below) mounted to the fixed beams (12) (equivalent to vent channels mounted to the battery system enclosure) and configured to discharge fluids, such as sparks and hot air (equivalent to high-temperature gases and high-temperature gases are gases emitted by battery cells during a thermal event), ejected from the battery units (20) during thermal event to a second explosion-proof valve (9) (equivalent to a valve) (par. 57, 62, 77, 80, 94, fig. 4) (equivalent to the first and second vent channels configured to expel high-temperature gases to the external environment separately from each battery cell of the respective first and second group of battery cells and divert the high-temperature gases away from other battery cells of the respective first and second group of battery cells and from the other group of battery cells);
wherein the volume of the second exhaust passage (8) is smaller than that of a first exhaust passage (7), so that the pressure within the second exhaust passage (8) is greater than the pressure within the first exhaust passage (7), which can allow the fluid released by the battery units (20) to smoothly enter the first exhaust passage (7) from the second exhaust passage (8) so as to ensure that the fluid is rapidly guided to the outside of the battery pack according to a predetermined discharge path, thereby lowering the risk of thermal runway in other battery modules (2), and further improving the operational safety of the battery pack (par. 62, fig. 4, 5) (equivalent to the first and second vent channels minimize transfer of the high-temperature gases between the battery cells of the respective first and second groups of battery cells and between the first group of battery cells and the second group of battery cells and mitigate propagation of a thermal runaway event in the battery system);
wherein the box assembly (1) includes the second explosion-proof valve (9) connected to the right and left second exhaust passages (8) (par. 90, 94, fig. 3) and configured to discharge the fluid out of the battery pack (par. 94, fig. 4) (equivalent to the battery system enclosure includes a valve connected to each of the first and second vent channels and configured to control expelling of the high-temperature gases from the first and second vent channels to the external environment).
Regarding to claim 3: You et al. disclose the box assembly (1) (equivalent to a battery system enclosure), including a box (11), a plurality of fixed beams (12), and a cover (13) (equivalent to an enclosure cover) (par. 59, 60, fig. 3). The second exhaust passages (8) are formed by a restraint assembly (3) (par. 61, fig. 1, 2). The restraint assembly (3) is fixed to the fixed beams (12), and the fixed beams (12) are fixed inside the box assembly (1) (par. 58, fig. 2) (equivalent to the second exhaust passages (8) fixed to the cover (13)).
Regarding to claim 4: You et al. disclose the second explosion-proof valve (9) provided on the cover (13) (fig. 3).
Regarding to claim 6: You et al. disclose the box assembly (1) (equivalent to a battery system enclosure), including a box (11) (equivalent to an enclosure tray), a plurality of fixed beams (12), and a cover (13) (par. 59, 60, fig. 3); wherein the box (11) connects with the cover (13) via a first flanging (111) and a second flanging (131) (par. 91, fig. 3). The second exhaust passages (8) are formed by a restraint assembly (3) (par. 61, fig. 1, 2). The restraint assembly (3) is mounted to the fixed beams (12), and the fixed beams (12) are fixed to the box (11) (par. 60, fig. 2) (equivalent to the second exhaust passages (8) mounted to the box (11)).
Regarding to claim 9: You et al. disclose the second exhaust passages (8) are formed by a restraint assembly (3) (par. 61, fig. 1, 2). The restraint assembly (3) is provided with a plurality of communication holes (33) (equivalent to vent holes) (par. 55, fig. 1, 4). Each of the communication holes (33) aligns to one battery unit (20) of the corresponding group of battery units (20) (fig. 4).
Regarding to claim 10: You et al. disclose the second exhaust passages (8) extend across each of the battery units (20) of the corresponding first or second group of battery units (20) (fig. 2), and wherein, in a cross-sectional view, the second exhaust passages (8) has a rectangular shape (fig. 5).
Claims 1, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chu et al. (US 20210328281 A1).
Regarding to claim 1: Chu et al. disclose a battery pack (abstract). The battery pack (equivalent to a battery system) comprising:
a plurality of battery cells (3) (par. 61, fig. 1, 2) (The front row of the battery units on fig. 1 is equivalent to a first group of battery cells. The back row of the battery units on fig. 1 is equivalent to a neighboring second group of battery cells. See fig. unit2 below.);
a box (1) (equivalent to a battery system enclosure), including an upper box (12) and a lower box (13) (par. 61, fig. 1), surrounded by an external environment and configured to house the plurality of battery cells (3) (fig. 1);
a plurality of gas channels (21) (The front gas channel (21) on fig. 3 is equivalent to a first vent channel. The back gas channel (21) on fig. 3 is equivalent to a second vent channel. See fig. vent2 below.) (par. 64, fig. 1-3) mounted to the box (1) (par. 62) and configured to discharge a high-temperature gas generated by thermal runaway of the battery cell (3) to the external environment separately (par. 62, 64, 65, 71), wherein the gas discharged cannot flow back into the gas channel (21) due to first one-way valves (4) (par. 73, fig. 3) (equivalent to the first and second vent channels configured to expel high-temperature gases to the external environment separately from each battery cell of the respective first and second group of battery cells and divert the high-temperature gases away from other battery cells of the respective first and second group of battery cells and from the other group of battery cells);
wherein the gas in the gas channel (21) can be smoothly discharged along the first one-way valve (4), because an opening value of the first one-way valve (4) is smaller than a pressure value generated in the gas channel (21) when thermal runaway occurs in the battery cell (3) (par. 74). The above-mentioned opening condition can also be applied to the battery pack (par. 74) (equivalent to the first and second vent channels minimize transfer of the high-temperature gases between the battery cells of the respective first and second groups of battery cells and between the first group of battery cells and the second group of battery cells and mitigate propagation of a thermal runaway event in the battery system); and
wherein the box (1) includes a sealing member (6) (equivalent to a valve) (par. 71, fig. 1), which may be a one-way valve (par. 72), connected to each of the gas channels (21) (fig. 3) and configured to control expelling of the high-temperature gases from the gas channels (21) to the external environment (par. 71).
Regarding to claim 7: Chu et al. disclose flow guides (7) (the front and back flow guides (7) on fig. 1 are equivalent to a first and second gaskets, respectively) arranged between the respective gas channels (21) and the first and second groups of battery cells (3) (fig. 1), wherein the gas ejected from the battery cells can all flow into the corresponding gas channel (21) under the guiding action of the flow guide (7) (par. 65).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The claims rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (US 20220223972 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 20250183472 A1) and Sekine (US 20150333304 A1) on claims 7-8 are withdrawn because Applicant amended independent claim 1. The claim rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (US 20220223972 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 20250183472 A1) and Sekine (US 20150333304 A1) on claim 17 is withdrawn because Applicant amended independent claim 11.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You et al. (US 20210249731 A1) as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhu et al. (US 20220223972 A1).
Regarding to claim 2: You et al. disclose a battery pack (abstract) as described in paragraph 4 above. You et al. fail to explicitly disclose the valve is configured as a one-way fluid exhaust device. However, Zhu et al. disclose a battery assembly of an electrified vehicle (abstract). The battery assembly (24) comprises outlets (92, 94) which may be provided by one-way valves (par. 53, fig. 6). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use one-way valve of Zhu et al. as the second explosion-proof valve (9) of You et al. because Zhu et al. teach that one-way valve permitting egress but not ingress of fluids (par. 53).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You et al. (US 20210249731 A1) as applied in claim 3 above, and further in view of Zhu et al. (US 20220223972 A1).
Regarding to claim 5: You et al. disclose the second exhaust passages (8) are formed by a restraint assembly (3) (par. 61, fig. 1, 2). The restraint assembly (3) is fixed to the fixed beams (12), and the fixed beams (12) are fixed inside the box assembly (1) (par. 58, fig. 2) (equivalent to each of the first and second vent channels second is fixed to the enclosure cover as the box assembly (1) of You includes the cover (13)). You et al. fail to explicitly disclose each of the first and second vent channels is welded to the enclosure cover. However, Zhu et al. disclose a battery assembly of an electrified vehicle, and in particular to a battery pack with a vent gas passageway (abstract). The battery assembly (24) (equivalent to a battery system) comprises a vent gas passageway (82) (equivalent to a vent channel) (par. 47, fig. 5). The vent gas passageway (82) is defined by projections (96A-96G) extending between the first and second plates (84, 86) (par. 54, fig. 4, 6). The projections (96A-96G) can be attached to the first plates (84) by welding or brazing (par. 54). As the first plate (84) is attached to a top wall (72) of an enclosure assembly (60) (par. 37, 38, 47, fig. 1), it is equivalent to that the vent gas passageway (82) is welded to the top wall (72). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the welding method of Zhu et al. as the method to fix the second exhaust passages (8) inside the box assembly (1) of You et al. because Zhu et al. teach that the welding method can be used to attach the structure of the vent gas passageway (82) to the plate (84) (par. 54).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al. (US 20210328281 A1) in view of Sekine (US 20150333304 A1).
Regarding to claim 8: Chu et al. disclose the flow guides (7) is made of flame-retardant material (par. 65) and configured to maintain contact with the corresponding the gas channel (21) and the respective group of battery cells (3) (par. 65, fig. 1). Chu et al. fail to explicitly disclose the gasket is constructed from silicon. However, Sekine discloses that an assembled battery including a battery holder capable of holding single battery cells while automatically aligning the cells during assembly (abstract). The assembled battery comprises gaskets (170) which are held in a state of being compressed by a predetermined amount between battery lids (102B) (equivalent to the respective group of battery cells) and a gas rail (175) (equivalent to the vent channel) (par. 44, fig. 2). The gaskets (170) are affixed along groove portions (144c) of the battery holders (143 and 144) (par. 43, fig. 3-4). The material of the gaskets (170) can be silicon rubber (par. 43). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the silicon rubber of Sekine as the material for the flow guides (7) of Chu et al. because Sekine teaches silicon rubber have electrical insulating property and also adequate flexibility and adhesion (par. 43).
Claims 11, 13-16, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You et al. (US 20210249731 A1) in view of Zhu et al. (US 20220223972 A1).
Regarding to claim 11: You et al. disclose a battery pack and a transportation vehicle (abstract). The transportation vehicle comprising:
a battery pack configured to supply electrical energy (par. 54) for operation of a device; and the battery pack including:
a plurality of battery units (20) (par. 56, fig. 1) (The bottom-right row of the battery units is equivalent to a first group of battery cells. The bottom-left row of the battery units is equivalent to a neighboring second group of battery cells. See fig. unit above);
a box assembly (1) (equivalent to a battery system enclosure), including a box (11), a plurality of fixed beams (12), and a cover (13) (par. 59, 60, fig. 3), surrounded by an external environment and configured to house the plurality of battery units (20) (par. 59, fig. 3);
a plurality of second exhaust passages (8) (The right second exhaust passage (8) on fig. 5 is equivalent to a first vent channel. The left second exhaust passage (8) on fig. 5 is equivalent to a second vent channel.) (par. 61, See fig. vent above) mounted to the fixed beams (12) (equivalent to vent channels mounted to the battery system enclosure) and configured to discharge fluids, such as sparks and hot air (equivalent to high-temperature gases and high-temperature gases are gases emitted by battery cells during a thermal event), ejected from the battery units (20) during thermal event to a second explosion-proof valve (9) (equivalent to a valve) (par. 57, 62, 77, 80, 94, fig. 4) (equivalent to the first and second vent channels configured to expel high-temperature gases to the external environment separately from each battery cell of the respective first and second group of battery cells and divert the high-temperature gases away from other battery cells of the respective first and second group of battery cells and from the other group of battery cells);
wherein the volume of the second exhaust passage (8) is smaller than that of a first exhaust passage (7), so that the pressure within the second exhaust passage (8) is greater than the pressure within the first exhaust passage (7), which can allow the fluid released by the battery units (20) to smoothly enter the first exhaust passage (7) from the second exhaust passage (8) so as to ensure that the fluid is rapidly guided to the outside of the battery pack according to a predetermined discharge path, thereby lowering the risk of thermal runway in other battery modules (2), and further improving the operational safety of the battery pack (par. 62, fig. 4, 5) (equivalent to the first and second vent channels minimize transfer of the high-temperature gases between the battery cells of the respective first and second groups of battery cells and between the first group of battery cells and the second group of battery cells and mitigate propagation of a thermal runaway event in the battery pack);
wherein the box assembly (1) includes second explosion-proof valve (9) (equivalent to a valve) (par. 90, fig. 3) connected to the right and left second exhaust passages (8) (par. 94, fig. 3) and configured to discharge the fluid out of the battery pack (par. 94, fig. 4) (equivalent to the valve configured to control expelling of the high-temperature gases from the first and second vent channels to the external environment).
You et al. fail to explicitly disclose a power-source configured to generate power-source torque. However, Zhu et al. disclose a battery assembly of an electrified vehicle, and in particular to a battery pack with a vent gas passageway (abstract). The electrified vehicle (12) comprising:
a motor (22) (equivalent to a power-source) can output torque (equivalent to power-source torque) to a shaft (52) which is connected to the second power transfer unit (44) (par. 36, fig. 1); and
a battery assembly (24) (equivalent to a battery pack) is capable of outputting electrical power to operate the motor (22) (par. 37, fig. 1).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the motor (22) of Zhu et al. in the transportation vehicle of You et al. because Zhu et al. teach that the motor (22) can drive the vehicle drive wheels (28) (par. 36).
Regarding to claim 12: You et al. a battery pack and a transportation vehicle (abstract) as described above. You et al. fail to explicitly disclose the valve is configured as a one-way fluid exhaust device. However, Zhu et al. disclose a battery assembly of an electrified vehicle (abstract). The battery assembly (24) comprises outlets (92, 94) which may be provided by one-way valves (par. 53, fig. 6). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use one-way valve of Zhu et al. as the second explosion-proof valve (9) of You et al. because Zhu et al. teach that one-way valve permitting egress but not ingress of fluids (par. 53).
Regarding to claim 13: You et al. disclose the box assembly (1) (equivalent to a battery system enclosure), including a box (11), a plurality of fixed beams (12), and a cover (13) (equivalent to an enclosure cover) (par. 59, 60, fig. 3). The second exhaust passages (8) are formed by a restraint assembly (3) (par. 61, fig. 1, 2). The restraint assembly (3) is fixed to the fixed beams (12), and the fixed beams (12) are fixed inside the box assembly (1) (par. 58, fig. 2) (equivalent to the second exhaust passages (8) fixed to the cover (13)).
Regarding to claim 14: You et al. disclose the second explosion-proof valve (9) provided on the cover (13) (fig. 3).
Regarding to claim 15: You et al. disclose the second exhaust passages (8) are formed by a restraint assembly (3) (par. 61, fig. 1, 2). The restraint assembly (3) is fixed to the fixed beams (12), and the fixed beams (12) are fixed inside the box assembly (1) (par. 58, fig. 2) (equivalent to each of the first and second vent channels second is fixed to the enclosure cover as the box assembly (1) of You includes the cover (13)). You et al. fail to explicitly disclose each of the first and second vent channels is welded to the enclosure cover. However, Zhu et al. disclose a battery assembly of an electrified vehicle, and in particular to a battery pack with a vent gas passageway (abstract). The battery assembly (24) (equivalent to a battery system) comprises a vent gas passageway (82) (equivalent to a vent channel) (par. 47, fig. 5). The vent gas passageway (82) is defined by projections (96A-96G) extending between the first and second plates (84, 86) (par. 54, fig. 4, 6). The projections (96A-96G) can be attached to the first plates (84) by welding or brazing (par. 54). As the first plate (84) is attached to a top wall (72) of an enclosure assembly (60) (par. 37, 38, 47, fig. 1), it is equivalent to that the vent gas passageway (82) is welded to the top wall (72). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the welding method of Zhu et al. as the method to fix the second exhaust passages (8) inside the box assembly (1) of You et al. because Zhu et al. teach that the welding method can be used to attach the structure of the vent gas passageway (82) to the plate (84) (par. 54).
Regarding to claim 16: You et al. disclose the box assembly (1) (equivalent to a battery system enclosure), including a box (11) (equivalent to an enclosure tray), a plurality of fixed beams (12), and a cover (13) (par. 59, 60, fig. 3); wherein the box (11) connects with the cover (13) via a first flanging (111) and a second flanging (131) (par. 91, fig. 3). The second exhaust passages (8) are formed by a restraint assembly (3) (par. 61, fig. 1, 2). The restraint assembly (3) is mounted to the fixed beams (12), and the fixed beams (12) are fixed to the box (11) (par. 60, fig. 2) (equivalent to the second exhaust passages (8) mounted to the box (11)).
Regarding to claim 19: You et al. disclose the second exhaust passages (8) extend across each of the battery units (20) of the corresponding first or second group of battery units (20) (fig. 2), and wherein, in a cross-sectional view, the second exhaust passages (8) has a rectangular shape (fig. 5).
Regarding to claim 20: You et al. disclose a battery pack and a transportation vehicle (abstract). The transportation vehicle comprising:
a battery pack configured to supply electrical energy (par. 54) for operation of a device; and the battery pack including:
a plurality of battery units (20) (par. 56, fig. 1) (The bottom-right row of the battery units is equivalent to a first group of battery cells. The bottom-left row of the battery units is equivalent to a neighboring second group of battery cells. See fig. unit above);
a box assembly (1) (equivalent to a battery system enclosure), including a box (11), a plurality of fixed beams (12), and a cover (13) (par. 59, 60, fig. 3), surrounded by an external environment and configured to house the plurality of battery units (20) (par. 59, fig. 3);
a plurality of second exhaust passages (8) (The right second exhaust passage (8) on fig. 5 is equivalent to a first vent channel. The left second exhaust passage (8) on fig. 5 is equivalent to a second vent channel.) (par. 61, See fig. vent above) mounted to the fixed beams (12) (equivalent to vent channels mounted to the battery system enclosure) and configured to discharge fluids, such as sparks and hot air (equivalent to high-temperature gases and high-temperature gases are gases emitted by battery cells during a thermal event), ejected from the battery units (20) during thermal event to a second explosion-proof valve (9) (equivalent to a fluid exhaust device) (par. 57, 62, 77, 80, 94, fig. 4) (equivalent to the first and second vent channels configured to expel high-temperature gases to the external environment separately from each battery cell of the respective first and second group of battery cells and divert the high-temperature gases away from other battery cells of the respective first and second group of battery cells and from the other group of battery cells);
wherein the volume of the second exhaust passage (8) is smaller than that of a first exhaust passage (7), so that the pressure within the second exhaust passage (8) is greater than the pressure within the first exhaust passage (7), which can allow the fluid released by the battery units (20) to smoothly enter the first exhaust passage (7) from the second exhaust passage (8) so as to ensure that the fluid is rapidly guided to the outside of the battery pack according to a predetermined discharge path, thereby lowering the risk of thermal runway in other battery modules (2), and further improving the operational safety of the battery pack (par. 62, fig. 4, 5) (equivalent to the first and second vent channels minimize transfer of the high-temperature gases between the battery cells of the respective first and second groups of battery cells and between the first group of battery cells and the second group of battery cells and mitigate propagation of a thermal runaway event in the battery pack);
wherein the box assembly (1) includes second explosion-proof valve (9) (equivalent to a fluid exhaust device) (par. 90, fig. 3) connected to the right and left second exhaust passages (8) (par. 94, fig. 3) and configured to discharge the fluid out of the battery pack (par. 94, fig. 4) (equivalent to the fluid exhaust device configured to control expelling of the high-temperature gases from the first and second vent channels to the external environment).
You et al. fail to explicitly disclose a power-source configured to generate power-source torque. However, Zhu et al. disclose a battery assembly of an electrified vehicle, and in particular to a battery pack with a vent gas passageway (abstract). The electrified vehicle (12) comprising:
a motor (22) (equivalent to a power-source) can output torque (equivalent to power-source torque) to a shaft (52) which is connected to the second power transfer unit (44) (par. 36, fig. 1); and
a battery assembly (24) (equivalent to a battery pack) is capable of outputting electrical power to operate the motor (22) (par. 37, fig. 1).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the motor (22) of Zhu et al. in the transportation vehicle of You et al. because Zhu et al. teach that the motor (22) can drive the vehicle drive wheels (28) (par. 36).
You et al. fail to explicitly disclose a one-way fluid exhaust device. However, Zhu et al. disclose a battery assembly of an electrified vehicle (abstract). The battery assembly (24) comprises outlets (92, 94) which may be provided by one-way valves (equivalent to a one-way fluid exhaust device) (par. 53, fig. 6). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the one-way valve of Zhu et al. as the second explosion-proof valve (9) of You et al. because Zhu et al. teach that one-way valve permitting egress but not ingress of fluids (par. 53).
Claims 11, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al. (US 20210328281 A1) in view of Zhu et al. (US 20220223972 A1).
Regarding to claim 11: Chu et al. disclose a battery pack (abstract). The battery pack, being a power source of a vehicle (par. 3), comprising:
a plurality of battery cells (3) (par. 61, fig. 1, 2) (The front row of the battery units on fig. 1 is equivalent to a first group of battery cells. The back row of the battery units on fig. 1 is equivalent to a neighboring second group of battery cells. See fig. unit2 above.);
a box (1) (equivalent to a battery system enclosure) (par. 61, fig. 1) surrounded by an external environment and configured to house the plurality of battery cells (3) (fig. 1);
a plurality of gas channels (21) (The front gas channel (21) on fig. 3 is equivalent to a first vent channel. The back gas channel (21) on fig. 3 is equivalent to a second vent channel. See fig. vent2 above.) (par. 64, fig. 1-3) mounted to the box (1) (par. 62) and configured to discharge a high-temperature gas generated by thermal runaway of the battery cell (3) to the external environment separately (par. 62, 64, 65, 71), wherein the gas discharged cannot flow back into the gas channel (21) due to first one-way valves (4) (par. 73, fig. 3) (equivalent to the first and second vent channels configured to expel high-temperature gases to the external environment separately from each battery cell of the respective first and second group of battery cells and divert the high-temperature gases away from other battery cells of the respective first and second group of battery cells and from the other group of battery cells);
wherein the gas in the gas channel (21) can be smoothly discharged along the first one-way valve (4), because an opening value of the first one-way valve (4) is smaller than a pressure value generated in the gas channel (21) when thermal runaway occurs in the battery cell (3) (par. 74). The above-mentioned opening condition can also be applied to the battery pack (par. 74) (equivalent to the first and second vent channels minimize transfer of the high-temperature gases between the battery cells of the respective first and second groups of battery cells and between the first group of battery cells and the second group of battery cells and mitigate propagation of a thermal runaway event in the battery pack); and
wherein the box (1) includes a sealing member (6) (equivalent to a valve) (par. 71, fig. 1), which may be a one-way valve (par. 72), connected to each of the gas channels (21) (fig. 3) and configured to control expelling of the high-temperature gases from the gas channels (21) to the external environment (par. 71).
Chu et al. fail to explicitly disclose a power-source configured to generate power-source torque. However, Zhu et al. disclose a battery assembly of an electrified vehicle, and in particular to a battery pack with a vent gas passageway (abstract). The electrified vehicle (12) comprising:
a motor (22) (equivalent to a power-source) can output torque (equivalent to power-source torque) to a shaft (52) which is connected to the second power transfer unit (44) (par. 36, fig. 1); and
a battery assembly (24) (equivalent to a battery pack) is capable of outputting electrical power to operate the motor (22) (par. 37, fig. 1). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the motor (22) of Zhu et al. in the vehicle of Chu et al. because Zhu et al. teach that the motor (22) can drive the vehicle drive wheels (28) (par. 36).
Regarding to claim 17: Chu et al. disclose flow guides (7) (the front and back flow guides (7) on fig. 1 are equivalent to a first and second gaskets, respectively) arranged between the respective gas channels (21) and the first and second groups of battery cells (3) (fig. 1), wherein the gas ejected from the battery cells can all flow into the corresponding gas channel (21) under the guiding action of the flow guide (7) (par. 65).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al. (US 20210328281 A1) in view of Zhu et al. (US 20220223972 A1) as applied in claim 11 above, and further in view of Sekine (US 20150333304 A1).
Regarding to claim 18: Chu et al. disclose the flow guides (7) is made of flame-retardant material (par. 65) and configured to maintain contact with the corresponding the gas channel (21) and the respective group of battery cells (3) (par. 65, fig. 1). Chu et al. fail to explicitly disclose the gasket is constructed from silicon. However, Sekine discloses that an assembled battery including a battery holder capable of holding single battery cells while automatically aligning the cells during assembly (abstract). The assembled battery comprises gaskets (170) which are held in a state of being compressed by a predetermined amount between battery lids (102B) (equivalent to the group of battery cells) and a gas rail (175) (equivalent to the vent channel) (par. 44, fig. 2). The gaskets (170) are affixed along groove portions (144c) of the battery holders (143 and 144) (par. 43, fig. 3-4). The material of the gaskets (170) can be silicon rubber (par. 43). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the silicon rubber of Sekine as the material for the flow guides (7) of Chu et al. because Sekine teaches silicon rubber have electrical insulating property and also adequate flexibility and adhesion (par. 43).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 12/03/2025 have been fully considered but not persuasive. Applicant primarily argues:
Zhu is silent relative to distinct first and second passageways or such distinct passageways being connected to a common one-way valve.
Zhu does not suggest an enclosure tray.
In response:
Applicant’s arguments are moot because the newly cited You and Chu references teach two distinct channels and such two channels being connected to a common valve. Chu teaches the common valve can be one-way valve. Zhu teaches one-way valve which can be incorporated into the second explosion-proof valve (9) of You.
A tray is defined as “an open receptacle with a flat bottom and a low rim for holding, carrying, or exhibiting articles” in Merriam-Webster dictionary. The newly cited You reference teaches the box (11) which meets the definition of tray. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are moot.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PIN JAN WANG/Examiner, Art Unit 1717
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729