DETAILED ACTION
The office acknowledges the receipt of applicants’ response to the restriction requirement dated 07/23/2026.
Elected Species
A search of the prior art did not show the elected species. As no claims where specifically drawn to applicants’ elected species in independent form, no claims have been indicated as allowable. Claims written in independent form which require all the limitations of the elected species along with any dependent claims which require all the limitations of the elected species would be allowable. Under MPEP 803.02, the search was expanded to find an examinable species.
Examinable Species
The examinable species is represented by:
The examinable species reads on claims 1-9, 11-13, 17-20. Claim 10, 14-16 are withdrawn from further consideration as not reading on the examinable species.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-13, 17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (KR 20160082871 A).
Regarding Claims 1-9,11-13, Lee teaches an iridium complex represented by PD-95 (page 6):
PD-95 reads on applicants’ first Ligand LA wherein Z1 = N; Z2 -Z4 = C; K1 and K2 = direct bond; RA = methyl; RB = fluorine; L = cyclohexyl; Ring A = pyridine; Ring B = phenyl (per claims 1-7)
LA =
,
X6 = RAA= methyl; X3 =RBB= F; remaining X(s)= CH (per claims 8-9)
PD-95 reads M(LA)2LB)q(LC)r; p =1, q-2, r=0 (per claim11)
PD-95 reads Ir(LA)(LB)2 (per claim 12).
PD-95 reads on
Y3 = methyl; remaining Y(s) = CH; K1 = direct bond (per claim 13).
Regarding Claims 17-18 and 20, Lee teaches light emitting device comprising a first electrode, a second electrode facing the first electrode, and an organic light emitting layer positioned between the first and second electrodes and including the aforementioned phosphorescent compound, PD-95 (machine trans page 39 of 52) (per claim 17).
CPB (carbazole based material) is used as the host (machine trans49 of 52) (per claim 18).
Lee teaches the light emitting diode may be used in various electronic devices such as an image display device or an illumination device (machine trans page 51 of 52) (per claim 20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 20160082871 A) in view of BOUDREAULT (US 20200227659 A1).
Regarding Claim, Lee teaches a host material based on a carbazole but fails to teach applicants’ host.
BOUDREAULT teaches an OLED comprises: an anode; a cathode; and an organic layer disposed between the anode and the cathode, wherein the organic layer comprises a compound comprising a ligand (paragraph 110).
The organic layer may also have a host comprising at least one chemical group selected from the group consisting of triphenylene, carbazole, dibenzothiophene, dibenzofuran, dibenzoselenophene, azatriphenylene, azacarbazole, aza-dibenzothiophene, aza-dibenzofuran, and aza-dibenzoselenophene. A specific example can be represented by (paragraph 120):
.
Both Lee and BOUDREAULT teach host materials that are carbazole based and BOUDREAULT give an example of a specific carbazole based material.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of invention to have selected from known carbazole based host which would have included the above carbazole dibenzothiophene material which reads on the instant limitations, absent unexpected results (per claim 19).
Conclusion
/GREGORY D CLARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786