DETAILED ACTION
The office acknowledges the receipt of applicant response to the restriction dated 07/30/2026.
Elected Species
A search of the prior art did not show the elected species. As no claims where specifically drawn to applicants’ elected species in independent form, no claims have been indicated as allowable. Claims written in independent form which require all the limitations of the elected species along with any dependent claims which require all the limitations of the elected species would be allowable. Under MPEP 803.02, the search was expanded to find an examinable species.
Examinable Species
The examinable species is represented by I-1 (page 6):
wherein two Rq1are fused resulting in La357 (page 18):
The examinable species reads on claims 1-7, 9, 11-14, 17-20. Claims 8, 10, 15-16 are being withdrawn from further consideration as not reading on the examinable species.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9, 11-14, 17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tran ( KR 10-2022-0014866).
Regarding Claims 1-7, 9, 11-14, 17-18, Tran teaches a generic iridium complex I-1 (page 6):
a specific example of LA is represented by La357 (page 18) formed when two Rq1 are fused:
La357 reads on applicants’ LA wherein X1-X8 = C; X7 = CN; 1st R1 = Rx1 = CN-phenyl;2nd R1 = phenyl; R2 = H; Z2 = C;R3 = CN; Z1 = N; Ring A = pyridine.
As Tran teach generic I-1 and a finite set of specific ligands, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of invention to have selected from the exemplified ligands which would have included La 357 which reads on the instant limitations, absent unexpected results (per claims 1-7 ).
LA =
1st RAA = Rx1 = CN-phenyl;2nd RAA = phenyl (per claim 9).
LA = M(LA)p(LB)q(LC)r, p = 2, q=1, r=0 (per claim 11).
LA= Ir(LA)2(LB) (per claim 12)
LB =
Y1-Y8 = C; Ra and Rb = H; K1’ = dirt bond (per claim 13).
The Ir complex reads on Ir (LA)2(Lb1) (per claim 14).
Regarding Claims 17-18 and 20, Tran teaches a device (100) comprises a substrate (101), an anode (110), a hole injection layer (120), and a hole transport layer.(130), electron blocking layer (140), light-emitting layer (150), hole blocking layer (160), electron transport layer (170), electron injection layer (180) and cathode (190) (machine trans. paragraph 37). The iridium complex (I-1 which incorporated La 357) is doped into the host of the light emitting layer (machine trans. 185) (per claim 17).
At least one of the host materials is a phenyl group, a pyridine group, a pyrimidine group, a triazine group, a carbazole group, or an aza group. Carbazole group, indolocarbazole group, dibenzothiophen group, azadibenzothiophen group, dibenzofuran group, azadibenzofuran group, dibenzoselenophene group, triphenylene group, azatriphenenylene group, fluorene group, silaflorene group, naphthalene group, quinoline group, isoquinoline group, quinazoline group (machine trans. pages 83-84) (per claim 18).
The OLED can be used in a display device or a lighting device (machine trans paragraph 158) (per claim 20).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tran ( KR 10-2022-0014866) in view of BOUDREAULT (US 20200227659 A1).
Regarding Claim 19, Tran teaches a host material based on a carbazole but fails to teach applicants’ host.
BOUDREAULT teaches an OLED comprising a first organic layer that contains a compound as disclosed in the above compounds section of the present disclosure. In some embodiments, the OLED comprises: an anode; a cathode; and an organic layer disposed between the anode and the cathode, wherein the organic layer comprises a compound comprising a ligand (paragraph 110).
The organic layer may also have a host comprising at least one chemical group selected from the group consisting of triphenylene, carbazole, dibenzothiophene, dibenzofuran, dibenzoselenophene, azatriphenylene, azacarbazole, aza-dibenzothiophene, aza-dibenzofuran, and aza-dibenzoselenophene. A specific example can be represented by (paragraph 120). A specific example can be represented by (paragraph 120):
.
Both Tran and BOUDREAULT teach host materials that are carbazole based and BOUDREAULT give an example of a specific carbazole based material.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of invention to have selected from known carbazole based host which would have included the above carbazole dibenzothiophene material which reads on the instant limitations, absent unexpected results (per claims 19).
Conclusion
/GREGORY D CLARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786