DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-12, 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Mathews et al. (US 2021/0021077), herein after Mathews.
Regarding claim 1, Mathews discloses a charge port (the assembly 10, serves a charging port of an electrically propelled vehicle, paragraph [0054]) comprising: a plug housing (16, fig. 2);
a direct current terminal electrically coupled to the plug housing (hereinafter referred to as the housing 16, that defines a cavity 18 in which the DC terminals 14 are disposed, paragraph [0055]); and
a subassembly coupled to the direct current terminal, the subassembly comprising: a cartridge filled with a phase change material (the cavity 18 (having the terminals 14) may be filled with a dielectric phase changing material (PCM), paragraph [0062]); and
an enhancer comprising a top portion and a bottom portion wherein the bottom portion is embedded within the phase change material ((cover 500 has the base (bottom portion embedded within the PCM),fig. 2 paragraph [0064]Note: The cover 500 is formed of a thermally conductive material such an aluminum or copper based material, paragraph [0061] which enhanced the thermal conductivity as required)) and the top portion extends beyond the cartridge into ambient (heat is gradually released through the cover 500 as the PCM changes from the liquid state back to the solid state, paragraph [0062] where the top portion of cover 500 is extended beyond the cavity 18 in to ambient, fig. 15).
Regarding claim 2, Mathews further discloses a thermoelectric device in contact with the enhancer (202 combined with cover 500, fig. 2, paragraph [0058]).
Regarding claim 3, Mathews further discloses a heat sink on a surface of the thermoelectric device (202 is attached with the cover 200, fig. 9 where 200 cover configuration includes active thermal management mechanisms such as one or more thermoelectric cooling plates (used as the heat sink), paragraph [0056]).
Regarding claim 4, Mathews further discloses a controller configured to adjust a thermoelectric device current of the thermoelectric device responsive to a temperature of the phase change material (cover 200 includes a thermoelectric device 202 which uses the Peltier effect to actively cool the cavity 18 (filled with phase change material). An electrical voltage is applied to the thermoelectric device 202 such that a side 204 of the thermoelectric device 202 facing inwardly toward the cavity 18 is cooled while another side 206 of the thermoelectric device 202 facing outward is heated by the thermal energy removed from the cooled side 204, paragraph [0058]by controlling the voltage/current the cavity is maintained at the optimum temperature. Note: thermoelectric device uses the Peltier effect, thus, by controlling the current the temperature of the cavity can be controlled).
Regarding claim 5, Mathews further discloses wherein the top portion of the enhancer comprises one or more fins and the bottom portion of the enhancer comprises one or more plates (fins 502 is projecting form the cover 500 and the bottom is attached with the plates 200, fig. 2; fig. 15, paragraph [0056]).
Regarding claim 8, Mathews discloses A vehicle (paragraph [0028]) comprising: an electric motor configured to drive at least one wheel of the vehicle (the assembly 10, serves a charging port of an electrically propelled vehicle. As used herein, the term “electrically propelled vehicle” may refer to an electric vehicle which is propelled solely by an electric motor or a hybrid electric vehicle which is propelled by an electric motor in some combination with a combustion engine, paragraph [0054]);
a battery pack electrically coupled to the electric motor (the battery pack 22 couple to the vehicle (motor) , paragraph [0054]-[0055]); and a charge port configured to deliver power to at least one of the battery pack and the electric motor (connector assembly 10 charge the battery 22 which give power to the vehicle motor, fig. 8, paragraph [0054], [0055]), the charge port comprising:
a plug housing(16, fig. 2);
one or more direct current terminals electrically coupled to the plug housing(hereinafter referred to as the housing 16, that defines a cavity 18 in which the DC terminals 14 are disposed, paragraph [0055]); and a subassembly coupled to the one or more direct current terminals, the subassembly comprising: one or more cartridges filled with a phase change material(the cavity 18 (having the terminals 14) may be filled with a dielectric phase changing material (PCM), paragraph [0062]); and
for each cartridge of the one or more cartridges, an enhancer comprising a top portion and a bottom portion, wherein the bottom portion is embedded within the phase change material (cover 500 has the base (bottom portion embedded within the PCM),fig. 2 paragraph [0064]Note: The cover 500 is formed of a thermally conductive material such an aluminum or copper based material, paragraph [0061] which enhanced the thermal conductivity as required) and the top portion extends beyond the respective cartridge into ambient(heat is gradually released through the cover 500 as the PCM changes from the liquid state back to the solid state, paragraph [0062] where the top portion of cover 500 is extended beyond the cavity 18 in to ambient, fig. 15).
Regarding claim 9, Mathews further discloses a thermoelectric device in contact with the enhancer(202 combined with cover 500, fig. 2, paragraph [0058]).
Regarding claim 10, Mathews further discloses a heat sink on a surface of the thermoelectric device(202 is attached with the cover 200, fig. 9 where 200 cover configuration includes active thermal management mechanisms such as one or more thermoelectric cooling plates (used as the heat sink), paragraph [0056]).
Regarding claim 11, Mathews further discloses a controller configured to adjust a thermoelectric device current of the thermoelectric device responsive to a temperature of the phase change material (cover 200 includes a thermoelectric device 202 which uses the Peltier effect to actively cool the cavity 18 (filled with phase change material). An electrical voltage is applied to the thermoelectric device 202 such that a side 204 of the thermoelectric device 202 facing inwardly toward the cavity 18 is cooled while another side 206 of the thermoelectric device 202 facing outward is heated by the thermal energy removed from the cooled side 204, paragraph [0058]by controlling the voltage/current the cavity is maintained at the optimum temperature. Note: thermoelectric device uses the Peltier effect, thus, by controlling the current the temperature of the cavity can be controlled).
Regarding claim 12, Mathews further discloses wherein the top portion of the enhancer comprises one or more fins and the bottom portion of the enhancer comprises one or more plates(fins 502 is projecting form the cover 500 and the bottom is attached with the plates 200, fig. 2; fig. 15, paragraph [0056]).
Regarding claim 15, Mathews discloses a method for phase change material resolidification in a charge port (paragraph [0062]), the method comprising:
providing a plug housing(16, fig. 2);
providing a direct current terminal electrically coupled to the plug housing(hereinafter referred to as the housing 16, that defines a cavity 18 in which the DC terminals 14 are disposed, paragraph [0055]); and
providing a subassembly coupled to the direct current terminal, the subassembly comprising: a cartridge filled with a phase change material(the cavity 18 may be filled with a dielectric phase changing material (PCM), paragraph [0062]); and
an enhancer comprising a top portion and a bottom portion, wherein the bottom portion is embedded within the phase change material (cover 500 has the base (bottom portion embedded within the PCM),fig. 2 paragraph [0064]Note: The cover 500 is formed of a thermally conductive material such an aluminum or copper based material, paragraph [0061] which enhanced the thermal conductivity as required) and the top portion extends beyond the cartridge into ambient(heat is gradually released through the cover 500 as the PCM changes from the liquid state back to the solid state, paragraph [0062] where the top portion of cover 500 is extended beyond the cavity 18 in to ambient, fig. 15).
Regarding claim 16, Mathews further discloses a thermoelectric device in contact with the enhancer(202 combined with cover 500, fig. 2, paragraph [0058]).
Regarding claim 17, Mathews further discloses a heat sink on a surface of the thermoelectric device(202 is attached with the cover 200, fig. 9 where 200 cover configuration includes active thermal management mechanisms such as one or more thermoelectric cooling plates (used as the heat sink), paragraph [0056]).
Regarding claim 18, Mathews further discloses a controller configured to adjust a thermoelectric device current of the thermoelectric device responsive to a temperature of the phase change material (cover 200 includes a thermoelectric device 202 which uses the Peltier effect to actively cool the cavity 18 (filled with phase change material). An electrical voltage is applied to the thermoelectric device 202 such that a side 204 of the thermoelectric device 202 facing inwardly toward the cavity 18 is cooled while another side 206 of the thermoelectric device 202 facing outward is heated by the thermal energy removed from the cooled side 204, paragraph [0058]by controlling the voltage/current the cavity is maintained at the optimum temperature. Note: thermoelectric device uses the Peltier effect, thus, by controlling the current the temperature of the cavity can be controlled).
Regarding claim 19, Mathews further discloses wherein the top portion of the enhancer comprises one or more fins and the bottom portion of the enhancer comprises one or more plates(fins 502 is projecting form the cover 500 and the bottom is attached with the plates 200, fig. 2; fig. 15, paragraph [0056]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s)6-7, 13-14, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mathews (US 2021/0021077), as applied to claims 1, 8, 15 above, and further in view of Cole at al. (US 2021/0347270), herein after Cole.
Regarding claim 6, Mathews further discloses wherein an interface between the top portion of the enhancer and the bottom portion of the enhancer comprises a threaded cap (sealing members 638 and 640 to seal the cover to the cavity, fig. 20, paragraph [00467]).
However, Mathews is silent about the sealing is a threaded cap.
Cole discloses the threaded cap to for coupling (220 rear portion include the threaded cap for coupling, paragraph [0024], fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mathews charging port to use threaded caps for sealing as taught by Cole, in order to ensure a tight, often airtight, seal that prevents damage, corrosion, and contamination from moisture or debris during transit and storage.
Regarding claim 7, Mathews discloses the charge port of claim 1. However, Mathews is silent about wherein the enhancer comprises a fill nipple having a first opening in ambient and a second opening in the cartridge.
Cole discloses a charge port where a fill nipple having a first opening in ambient and a second opening in the cartridge (with the cover 310 removed and the connector 430 released, the PCM 300 is injected into the connector assembly 100 in a liquid state, so as to substantially fill the flexible tubes 200 and surround at least a portion of the electrical wires 210, paragraph [0032], fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mathews charging port to fill the cavity with the phase change material through nipple as taught by Cole, in order to allow precise injection of molten phase change material, minimize spillage and reduce air entrapment.
Regarding claim 13, Mathews further discloses wherein an interface between the top portion of the enhancer and the bottom portion of the enhancer comprises a threaded cap (sealing members 638 and 640 to seal the cover to the cavity, fig. 20, paragraph [00467]).
However, Mathews is silent about the sealing is a threaded cap.
Cole discloses the threaded cap to for coupling (220 rear portion include the threaded cap for coupling, paragraph [0024], fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mathews charging port to use threaded caps for sealing as taught by Cole, in order to ensure a tight, often airtight, seal that prevents damage, corrosion, and contamination from moisture or debris during transit and storage.
Regarding claim 14, Mathews discloses the vehicle of claim 8. However, Mathews is silent about wherein the enhancer comprises a fill nipple having a first opening in ambient and a second opening in the cartridge.
Cole discloses a charge port where a fill nipple having a first opening in ambient and a second opening in the cartridge (with the cover 310 removed and the connector 430 released, the PCM 300 is injected into the connector assembly 100 in a liquid state, so as to substantially fill the flexible tubes 200 and surround at least a portion of the electrical wires 210, paragraph [0032], fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mathews charging port to fill the cavity with the phase change material through nipple as taught by Cole, in order to allow precise injection of molten phase change material, minimize spillage and reduce air entrapment.
Regarding claim 20, Mathews further discloses wherein an interface between the top portion of the enhancer and the bottom portion of the enhancer comprises a threaded cap (sealing members 638 and 640 to seal the cover to the cavity, fig. 20, paragraph [00467]).
However, Mathews is silent about the sealing is a threaded cap.
Cole discloses the threaded cap to for coupling (220 rear portion include the threaded cap for coupling, paragraph [0024], fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mathews charging port to use threaded caps for sealing as taught by Cole, in order to ensure a tight, often airtight, seal that prevents damage, corrosion, and contamination from moisture or debris during transit and storage.
Conclusion
SADIA . KOUSAR
Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859