DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 13, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant has argued on pages 5 and 6 of the arguments that “…The applicant respectfully submits that claim 1 does not specify the optimum individual volumes of the metal block and the cavity. Instead, the claim defines a crucial relationship between them - that their volumes are substantially equal - in a combined configuration. Even by combining Katayama and Hettler, where each reference discloses only one component (i.e., either the metal block or the cavity) and the two do not exist simultaneously, the applicant respectfully submits that there is no motivation to optimize the mutual relationship between their volumes. While routine optimization is generally considered easy for a person skilled in the art, the combination of Katayama and Hettler only motivates optimization of the metal block and the cavity independently, as the prior art does not suggest any interaction between them. Without any suggested interaction, the applicant respectfully submits that one cannot assume a skilled artisan would seek to optimize the mutual volume relationship. Therefore, even conceding the ease of general optimization, the specific feature that the volume of the metal block is substantially the same as the volume of the cavity could not have been easily derived from the disclosures of Katayama and Hettler.”
The examiner does not agree. Katayama discloses both a cavity opening (10x) to the first surface (10a) of the flat plate (Fig. 1B, [0019]) and a metal block (30) (Fig. 1B, [0030]). Katayama also discloses: a lower surface 30 b of the metal block 30 approximately coincides with, or matches, the lower surface 10 b of the eyelet 10 (Fig. 1B, [0030]). Hettler et al. disclose a metal block protruding from a surface of a flat plate, the metal block having a thickness of more than 0.1 mm, most preferably of more than 0.5 mm, and/or of less than 5 mm, most preferably of less than 2 mm (Fig. 3, col. 10, lines 14-45). One of ordinary skill in the art, given the teachings of Katayama and Hettler, would find it obvious to adjust the volume of the metal block relative to the cavity in order to improve heat transfer away from the laser device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katayama et al. (US PG Pub 2020/0227887) in view of Hettler et al. (US 11,128,101).
Regarding claim 1, Katayama et al. disclose: an eyelet (10) including a flat plate having a first surface (10a) and a second surface (10b) opposite to the first surface (Fig. 1B, [0018], [0019]), a cavity opening (10x) to the first surface (10a) of the flat plate (Fig. 1B, [0019]), and a lead (41 or 42) extending through the flat plate from the first surface to the second surface (Fig. 1B, [0018], [0019]).
Katayama et al. do not disclose: and a metal block protruding from the second surface of the flat plate; wherein a volume of the metal block is substantially the same as a volume of the cavity.
Hettler et al. disclose: a metal block (13) protruding from the second surface of the flat plate (lower surface of header 2) (Fig. 3, col. 10, lines 14-20). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Katayama by forming a metal block directly below the second surface of the flat plate under the cavity in order to improve heat transfer away from the laser diode.
Katayama as modified do not disclose: wherein a volume of the metal block is substantially the same as a volume of the cavity.
However, In accordance with MPEP 2144.05 II, Optimization of Ranges: Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In the prior art the general conditions are disclosed, a stem for a semiconductor package comprising a metal block having a volume and a cavity having a volume. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to obtain a workable range of values for the volume of the metal block and cavity by routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 2, Katayama as modified disclose: wherein in a plan view, the metal block overlaps with substantially an entirety of the cavity (the device of Katayama as modified discloses the claimed limitations, see the rejection of claim 1) .
Regarding claim 3, Katayama as modified disclose: wherein the flat plate (10) is made of metal (Katayama, [0026]), and the metal block (13) is seamless and continuous with the flat plate (Hettler, Fig. 3, col. 10, lines 14-20).
Regarding claim 4, Katayama as modified disclose: wherein an inner side surface (10c) of the cavity is substantially perpendicular to the first surface (10a) (Katayama, Fig. 1B, [0038]).
Regarding claim 5, Katayama as modified disclose: wherein a vertical distance from the first surface to a bottom surface of the cavity is half or more of a vertical distance from the first surface to the second surface (it can be seen from Fig. 1B that the distance from the first surface 10a to bottom surface 10B is more than half of the distance from the first surface 10a to second surface 10b) (Katayama, Fig. 1B, [0018], [0019]).
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katayama et al. (US PG Pub 2020/0227887) in view of Hettler et al. (US 11,128,101) and Noguchi et al. (US PG Pub 2022/0201863).
Regarding claim 6, Katayama as modified do not disclose: a relay substrate disposed on the first surface; and a relay interconnect formed on the relay substrate, wherein the relay interconnect is electrically connected to the lead.
Noguchi et al. disclose: a relay substrate (44) disposed on the first surface; and a relay interconnect (46) formed on the relay substrate, wherein the relay interconnect is electrically connected to the lead (L3) (Figs 2 and 3, [0037]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Katayama as modified by adding a relay substrate and relay interconnect between the laser and the first surface of the eyelet in order to connect multiple elements to the laser device.
Regarding claim 7, Katayama as modified disclose: a cooling element (30) at least a part of which is accommodated in the cavity (Katayama, Fig. 1B, [0018]); a light emitting element mounted on the eyelet (Katayama, Fig. 1B, [0032]).
Katayama as modified do not disclose: a substrate disposed on the cooling element; a light emitting element mounted on the substrate; an interconnect electrically connected to the light emitting element and formed on the substrate; and a line member electrically connecting the interconnect and the lead.
Noguchi et al. disclose: a substrate (36); a light emitting element (24) mounted on the substrate; an interconnect (46) electrically connected to the light emitting element and formed on the substrate; and a line member (48 or one of the wires, eg. W1) electrically connecting the interconnect and the lead (Figs 2 and 3, [0035]-[0037]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Katayama as modified by adding a substrate and interconnect between the laser and the cooling element in order to connect multiple elements to the laser device.
Regarding claim 8, Katayama as modified disclose: a cooling element (30) disposed on a bottom surface of the cavity (20) (Katayama, Fig. 1B, [0018], [0027])); a light emitting element mounted on the eyelet (Katayama, Fig. 1B, [0032]).
Katayama as modified do not disclose: a main substrate disposed on the cooling element; a light emitting element mounted on the main substrate; a main interconnect electrically connected to the light emitting element and formed on the main substrate; and a line member electrically connecting the main interconnect and the relay interconnect.
Noguchi et al. disclose: a substrate (36); a light emitting element (24) mounted on the substrate; an interconnect (40) electrically connected to the light emitting element and formed on the substrate; and a line member (one of the wires, eg. W1-W7) electrically connecting the interconnect and the lead (Figs 2 and 3, [0035]-[0037]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Katayama as modified by adding a substrate and interconnect between the laser and the cooling element in order to connect multiple elements to the laser device.
Regarding claim 9, Katayama as modified do not disclose: wherein an upper surface of the main substrate and an upper surface of the relay substrate are coplanar.
However, In accordance with MPEP 2144.05 II, Optimization of Ranges: Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In the prior art the general conditions are disclosed, a stem for a semiconductor package comprising a main substrate and a relay substrate each having a height and upper surface. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to obtain a workable range of values for the height of the main substrate and the relay substrate by routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 10, Katayama as modified do not disclose: wherein a length of protrusion of the cooling element from the first surface is greater than or equal to 0.1 mm and less than or equal to 0.3 mm.
However, In accordance with MPEP 2144.05 II, Optimization of Ranges: Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In the prior art the general conditions are disclosed, a stem for a semiconductor package comprising a cooling element protruding from the first surface by a length. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to obtain a workable range of values for the length of protrusion by routine experimentation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 11 is allowable as the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “…wherein the cavity has a bottom surface without penetrating the flat plate, and a vertical distance from the first surface to the bottom surface of the cavity is at least half of a vertical distance from the first surface to the second surface.”
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XINNING(Tom) NIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828