DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 11-19, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0150293 A1 to Unterberger.
Unterberger clearly teaches a component operating with bulk acoustic waves, and having asymmetric/symmetrical circuitry, comprising:
a first electrode (E#; see Figures 4, 5, 6a, and 7);
a piezoelectric layer (PS#; see Figures 4, 5, 6a, and 7) disposed on a first side of the first electrode;
a second electrode (E#; see Figures 4, 5, 6a, and 7) disposed on the piezoelectric layer; and
an acoustic mirror (KS; see paragraphs [0004], [0005], [0009], [0010], [0014], [0017], [0019] – [0021], [0035], [0037], and [0040] – [0042]) disposed on a second side of the first electrode opposite to the piezoelectric layer, the acoustic mirror comprising:
a first higher impedance layer (HZ; see Figures 4, 5, 6a, and 7) having a first thickness;
a second higher impedance layer (HZ; see Figures 4, 5, 6a, and 7) having a second thickness, wherein the second thickness is greater than the first thickness;
a first lower impedance layer (LZ; see Figures 4, 5, 6a, and 7) between the first higher impedance layer and the second higher impedance layer; and
a second lower impedance layer (LZ; see Figures 4, 5, 6a, and 7) between the second higher impedance layer and the first electrode.
With regards to claim 2, Unterberger discloses:
the second thickness of the second higher impedance layer being at least two times the first thickness of the first higher impedance layer (see Figures 4, 5, 6a, and 7).
With regards to claim 3, Unterberger discloses:
the second thickness of the second higher impedance layer is at least three times the first thickness of the first higher impedance layer (see Figures 4, 5, 6a, and 7).
With regards to claim 4, Unterberger discloses:
the first lower impedance layer and the second lower impedance layer each comprises a lower impedance material (see paragraphs [0004], [0009], [0014], [0017], [0018,] [0035], [0037], [0041], and [0042]); and
the first higher impedance layer and the second higher impedance layer each comprises a higher impedance material having a greater acoustic impedance than the lower impedance material (see paragraphs [0004], [0009], [0014], [0017], [0018,] [0035], [0037], [0041], and [0042]).
With regards to claim 5, Unterberger discloses:
the first lower impedance layer has a third thickness corresponding to less than half of a wavelength of a target frequency in the lower impedance material (see paragraphs [0004] and [0009]);
the second lower impedance layer has a fourth thickness corresponding to less than half of the wavelength of the target frequency in the lower impedance material (see paragraphs [0004] and [0009]);
the first thickness corresponds to less than half of a wavelength of the target frequency in the higher impedance material (see paragraphs [0004] and [0009]); and
the second thickness corresponds to greater than one half of the wavelength of the target frequency in the higher impedance material (see paragraphs [0004] and [0009]).
With regards to claim 6, Unterberger discloses:
the first lower impedance layer has a third thickness corresponding to one quarter of a wavelength of a target frequency in the lower impedance material (see paragraphs [0004] and [0009]);
the second lower impedance layer has a fourth thickness corresponding to one quarter of the wavelength of the target frequency in the lower impedance material (see paragraphs [0004] and [0009]);
the first thickness corresponds to one quarter of a wavelength of the target frequency in the higher impedance material (see paragraphs [0004] and [0009]); and
the second thickness corresponds to three quarters of the wavelength of the target frequency in the higher impedance material (see paragraphs [0004] and [0009]).
With regards to claim 7, Unterberger discloses:
the second electrode disposed on the piezoelectric layer over a first region of the first electrode (see Figures 4, 5, 6a, and 7);
a third electrode disposed on the piezoelectric layer over a second region of the first electrode (see Figures 4, 5, 6a, and 7); and
in the acoustic mirror adjacent to the second region of the first electrode:
a third higher impedance layer having a fifth thickness (see Figures 4, 5, 6a, and 7); and
a fourth higher impedance layer having a sixth thickness between the first lower impedance layer and the second lower impedance layer, wherein the sixth thickness is greater than the fifth thickness (see Figures 4, 5, 6a, and 7).
With regards to claim 8, Unterberger discloses:
a substrate (see Figures 4, 5, 6a, and 7); and
a bottom lower impedance layer between the substrate and the first higher impedance layer, and between the substrate and the third higher impedance layer (see Figures 4, 5, 6a, and 7).
With regards to claim 9, Unterberger discloses:
a first adhesion layer between the first lower impedance layer and the first higher impedance layer (see Figures 4, 5, 6a, and 7); and
a buffer layer between the first electrode and the piezoelectric layer (see Figures 4, 5, 6a, and 7).
With regards to claim 11, Unterberger discloses:
the component of paragraph 4 above integrated into a device (“mobile communication appliances”, see paragraph [0002]) selected from the group consisting of: a set-top box; an entertainment unit; a navigation device; a communications device; a fixed location data unit; a mobile location data unit; a global positioning system (GPS) device; a mobile phone; a cellular phone; a smartphone; a session initiation protocol (SIP) phone; a tablet; a phablet; a server; a computer; a portable computer; a mobile computing device; a wearable computing device; a desktop computer; a personal digital assistant (PDA); a monitor; a computer monitor; a television; a tuner; a radio; a satellite radio; a music player; a digital music player; a portable music player; a digital video player; a video player; a digital video disc (DVD) player; a portable digital video player; an automobile; a vehicle component; avionics systems; a drone; and a multicopter.
With regards to claim 12, Unterberger discloses the steps of:
forming an acoustic mirror, comprising the steps of:
forming a first higher impedance layer comprising a first thickness;
forming a first lower impedance layer on the first higher impedance layer;
forming a second higher impedance layer comprising a second thickness on the first lower impedance layer; and
forming a second lower impedance layer on the second higher impedance layer;
forming a first electrode on the acoustic mirror;
forming a piezoelectric layer on the first electrode; and
forming a second electrode on the piezoelectric layer, wherein the second thickness is greater than the first thickness.
With regards to claim 13, Unterberger discloses:
forming the first lower impedance layer comprises forming the first lower impedance layer of a lower impedance material; and
forming the second lower impedance layer comprises forming the second lower impedance layer of the lower impedance material, wherein the first higher impedance layer and the second higher impedance layer each comprises a higher impedance material having a greater acoustic impedance than the lower impedance material.
With regards to claim 14, Unterberger discloses:
the first thickness corresponds to less than half of a wavelength of a target frequency in the higher impedance material (see paragraphs [0004] and [0009]); and
the second thickness corresponds to greater than half of the wavelength of the target frequency in the higher impedance material (see paragraphs [0004] and [0009]).
With regards to claim 15, Unterberger discloses:
the first thickness corresponds to one quarter of a wavelength of a target frequency in the higher impedance material (see paragraphs [0004] and [0009]); and
the second thickness corresponds to three quarters of the wavelength of the target frequency in the higher impedance material (see paragraphs [0004] and [0009]).
With regards to claim 16, Unterberger discloses:
a first electrode (see Figures 4, 5, 6a, and 7);
a piezoelectric layer disposed on a first side of the first electrode (see Figures 4, 5, 6a, and 7);
a second electrode disposed on the piezoelectric layer (see Figures 4, 5, 6a, and 7); and
an acoustic mirror disposed on a second side of the first electrode opposite to the piezoelectric layer (see Figures 4, 5, 6a, and 7), the acoustic mirror comprising:
a first higher impedance layer comprising a higher impedance material having a first thickness corresponding to greater than half of a wavelength at a target frequency in the higher impedance material (see paragraphs [0004] and [0009]); and
a first lower impedance layer comprising a lower impedance material having a second thickness corresponding to less than half of a wavelength of the target frequency in the lower impedance material, the first lower impedance layer disposed between the first higher impedance layer and the first electrode (see paragraphs [0004] and [0009]).
With regards to claim 17, Unterberger discloses:
a substrate (see Figures 4, 5, 6a, and 7); and
a second lower impedance layer comprising the lower impedance material having a third thickness located between the first higher impedance layer and the substrate (see Figures 4, 5, 6a, and 7).
With regards to claim 18, Unterberger discloses:
a second higher impedance layer between the second lower impedance layer and the substrate and comprising the higher impedance material having a fourth thickness of less than half of the wavelength of the target frequency in the higher impedance material (see paragraphs [0004] and [0009]); and
a third lower impedance layer comprising the lower impedance material having a fifth thickness, the third lower impedance layer between the second higher impedance layer and the substrate (see Figures 4, 5, 6a, and 7).
With regards to claim 19, Unterberger discloses:
the first thickness corresponds to three quarters of the wavelength of the target frequency in the higher acoustic impedance material (see paragraphs [0004] and [0009]);
the second thickness corresponds to one quarter of the wavelength of the target frequency in the lower impedance material (see paragraphs [0004] and [0009]).
With regards to claim 21, Unterberger discloses:
the first thickness of the first higher impedance layer is at least two times the fourth thickness of the second higher impedance layer (see Figures 4, 5, 6a, and 7).
With regards to claim 22, Unterberger discloses:
the first thickness of the first higher impedance layer is at least three times the fourth thickness of the second higher impedance layer (see Figures 4, 5, 6a, and 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0150293 A1 to Unterberger in view of U.S. Patent No. 7,425,787 B2 to Larson, III.
Unterberger clearly teaches a component operating with bulk acoustic waves, and having asymmetric/symmetrical circuitry as described in paragraph 4 above, further comprising:
the first higher impedance layer and the second higher impedance layer each comprise tungsten (see paragraph [0018]);
the second electrode and the first electrode comprise molybdenum (see paragraph [0018]); and
the piezoelectric layer comprises aluminum nitride (see paragraph [0018]).
However, it fails to disclose the first lower impedance layer, the second lower impedance layer, and the bottom lower impedance layer each comprise silicon dioxide (SiO2).
Larson, III clearly teaches an acoustic galvanic isolator incorporating single insulated decoupled stacked bulk acoustic resonator with acoustically-resonant electrical insulator, comprising:
the first lower impedance layer, the second lower impedance layer, and the bottom lower impedance layer each comprise silicon dioxide (see paragraph 14, line 51).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to use the silicon dioxide disclosed by Larson, III on the layer disclosed by Unterberger, for the purpose of providing a Bragg element with the desired acoustic impedance.
With regards to claim 20, Larson, III discloses:
the first lower impedance layer and the second lower impedance layer comprise silicon dioxide (see paragraph 14, line 51).
Conclusion
/PEDRO J CUEVAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896 March 13, 2026