DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status and Formal Matter
The instant response has filed 1/26/2026.
All previous claims are canceled.
Claims 9-14 have been added by amendment.
Applicant’s election of wb to detect CIRBP, ACSL4, PTGS2, NOX1, GPX4 and FTH1 in the reply filed on 10/15/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 3-4, 6-8 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/15/2025.
Priority
The instant application was filed 04/10/2023 and claims foreign priority to CN202310159484.3, filed 02/23/2023. The foreign priority document is not in English.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
Claim 9 has been added by amendment and recites, “Cold Inducible RNA Binding Protein,” “Acyl-CoA Synthetase Long Chain Family Member 4,” “Prostaglandin-Endoperoxide Synthase 2”, “NADPH Oxidase 1,” “Glutathione Peroxidase 4,” “Ferritin Heavy Chain 1,” “Radioimmunoprecipitation Assay (RIPA) lysis buffer,” “Dulbecco's Modified Eagle Medium,” “protease inhibitor,” “phosphatase inhibitor,” “Sodium Dodecyl Sulfate.” Review and searching did not reveal antecedent basis for the limitations.
Response to Arguments
This is a new ground of rejection necessitated by amendment.
Claim Objections
Claims 9-14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9 is objected to as it recites “RPMI, but does not recite the full terminology for the acronym (or abbreviation). Claims are more concise when the first time an acronym (or abbreviation) is presented the full terminology is also presented. Finally an acronym (or abbreviation) may have alternative meanings to an artisan.
Claim 9 recites, “Radioimmunoprecipitation Assay,” “Sodium Dodecyl Sulfate Polyacrylamide Gel Electrophoresis, ” Cold Inducible RNA Binding Protein,” “Acyl-CoA Synthetase Long Chain Family Member 4,” “Prostaglandin-Endoperoxide Synthase 2”, “NADPH Oxidase 1,” “Glutathione Peroxidase 4,” “Ferritin Heavy Chain 1,” “Radioimmunoprecipitation Assay.” These are not proper nouns or the first word of the claims and thus do not need to be capitalized.
Response to Arguments
The response provides no arguments.
It is noted the amendment has introduced new issues.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
MPEP 2163 IB New or amended claims section II
With respect to newly added or amended claims, applicant should show support in the original disclosure for the new or amended claims. See, e.g., Hyatt v. Dudas, 492 F.3d 1365, 1370, n.4 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (citing MPEP § 2163.04 which provides that a "simple statement such as ‘applicant has not pointed out where the new (or amended) claim is supported, nor does there appear to be a written description of the claim limitation ‘___’ in the application as filed’ may be sufficient where the claim is a new or amended claim, the support for the limitation is not apparent, and applicant has not pointed out where the limitation is supported."); see also MPEP §§ 714.02 and 2163.06 ("Applicant should ... specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure."); and MPEP § 2163.04
The standard for satisfying the written description requirement is whether the disclosure “allow[s] one skilled in the art to visualize or recognize the identity of the subject matter purportedly described.” Alcon Research Ltd. v. Barr Labs., Inc., 745 F.3d 1180, 1190 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (quoting Enzo Biochem, Inc. v. Gen—Probe Inc., 323 F.3d 956, 968 (Fed. Cir. 2002). “[T]he critical inquiry is whether the patentee has provided a description that ‘in a definite way identifies the claimed invention’ in sufficient detail that a person of ordinary skill would understand that the inventor was in possession of it at the time of filing.” Alcon, 745 F.3d 1190-91 (quoting AriadPharm., Inc. v. EliLilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1352 (Fed. Cir. 2010)). However, “a description that merely renders the invention obvious does not satisfy the requirement.” Ariad, 598 F.3d at 1352.
Applicant is reminded that obviousness is not the standard for the addition new limitations to the disclosure as filed. It is noted that entitlement to a filing date does not extend to subject matter, which is not disclosed, but would be obvious over what is expressly disclosed. Lockwood v. American Airlines Inc., 41 USPQ2d 1961 (Fed. Cir. 1977). ...To fulfill the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe an invention and do so in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can clearly conclude that "the inventor invented the claimed invention." Lockwood v. American Airlines, Inc., 107 F.3d 1565, 1572, 41 USPQ2d 1961, 1966 (1997); In re Gostelli, 872 F.2d 1008, 1012, 10 USPQ2d 1614, 1618 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (" [T]his description must clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [the inventor] invented what is claimed."). Thus, an applicant complies with the written description requirement "by describing the invention, with all its claimed limitations, not that which makes it obvious," and by using "such descriptive means as words, structures, figures, diagrams, formulas, etc., that set forth the claimed invention." Lockwood, 107 F.3d at 1572, 41 USPQ2d at 1966.
Independent claim 9 has been added by amendment and recites, “A method for detecting the expression of ferroptosis-related proteins in pancreatic cancer cells, wherein the ferroptosis-related proteins comprise Cold Inducible RNA Binding Protein (CIRBP), Acyl-CoA Synthetase Long Chain Family Member 4 (ACSL4), Prostaglandin-Endoperoxide Synthase 2 (PTGS2), NADPH Oxidase 1 (NOX1), Glutathione Peroxidase 4 (GPX4), and Ferritin Heavy Chain 1 (FTH1), the method comprising: (a) culturing pancreatic cancer cells in a culture medium comprising fetal calf serum, Dulbecco's Modified Eagle Medium (DMEM), RPMI-1640 medium, and penicillin-streptomycin; (b) collecting the pancreatic cancer cells and adding a Radioimmunoprecipitation Assay (RIPA) lysis buffer containing a protease inhibitor and a phosphatase inhibitor to obtain a protein sample; (c) separating proteins in the protein sample via Sodium Dodecyl Sulfate Polyacrylamide Gel Electrophoresis (SDS-PAGE); (d) transferring the separated proteins from the SDS-PAGE gel onto a transfer membrane using a wet transfer apparatus, and applying a transfer current of 300-400 mA for a duration of 30-60 minutes; (e) blocking the transfer membrane in a blocking solution; (f) incubating the transfer membrane with primary antibodies specific for CIRBP, ACSL4, PTGS2, NOX1, GPX4, and FTH1; (g) incubating the transfer membrane with a secondary antibody labeled horseradish peroxidase (HRP); and (h) detecting protein bands using an enhanced chemiluminescence (ECL) reagent.” The response provides no indication of where support for the amendment can be found.
Review and searching of the application did not reveal antecedent basis for, “Cold Inducible RNA Binding Protein,” “Acyl-CoA Synthetase Long Chain Family Member 4,” “Prostaglandin-Endoperoxide Synthase 2”, “NADPH Oxidase 1,” “Glutathione Peroxidase 4,” “Ferritin Heavy Chain 1,” “Radioimmunoprecipitation Assay (RIPA) lysis buffer,” “Dulbecco's Modified Eagle Medium,” “protease inhibitor,” “phosphatase inhibitor,” “Sodium Dodecyl Sulfate.” Thus the presentation of these limitations appear to introduce new matter.
Further the claim has been amended to recite, “culturing pancreatic cancer cells in a culture medium comprising fetal calf serum, Dulbecco's Modified Eagle Medium (DMEM), RPMI-1640 medium, and penicillin-streptomycin.” Review and searching of the specification reveals the presentation of the list of “fetal calf serum, DMEM-high glucose medium, RPMI-1640 medium, penicillin-streptomycin, PBS potassium phosphate buffer, Trypsin-EDTA (0.25%) phenol red and experimental consumable 6 well plate cell culture plates, 12 well plate cell culture plates, 24 well plate cell culture plates, 48 well plate cell culture plates, 96 well plate cell culture plates, and Pasteur pipettes.” This does not specifically envision combining DMEM and RPMI-1640. Further the teachings of DMEM-high glucose medium does not provide basis for the genus of DMEM.
Further the claim has been amended to recite, “culturing pancreatic cancer cells in a culture medium comprising fetal calf serum, Dulbecco's Modified Eagle Medium (DMEM), RPMI-1640 medium, and penicillin-streptomycin.” Review and searching of the specification suggests culturing cells, but does not specifically envision limiting the cells to pancreatic cancer cells.
Further the claim has been amended to recite, “wet transfer apparatus.” The teachings of the specification are limited to a BioRad wet transfer apparatus. Thus the amendment appears to broaden the scope of the claimed invention as it is now encompassing a genus.
Further the independent claim recites, “(f) incubating the transfer membrane with primary antibodies specific for CIRBP, ACSL4, PTGS2, NOX1, GPX4, and FTH1.” However the specification in paragraph 0013 and 0040 teaches, “immediately adding the diluted primary antibody.” Thus the amendment appears to change the scope as it appears to encompass adding all of the antibodies in a non-diluted form, while the specification is limited to the addition of single diluted antibody.
The claim continues by reciting, “incubating the transfer membrane with a secondary antibody labeled horseradish peroxidase (HRP).” However the teachings in the specification are limited to, “dilution of secondary antibody labeled with horseradish peroxidase (HRP).” (0013 and 0040). Thus the amendment appears to introduce new matter as the claims encompass non-diluted secondary antibodies, while the teachings of the specification appear to be limited to diluted secondary antibodies.
Further claim 14 has been added by amendment and recites, “wherein step (a) further comprises analyzing a sedimentation rate of the pancreatic cancer cells to determine a time for changing the culture medium.” The response provides no indication where support can be found. However, the specification teaches in 0006 and 0033 states, “wherein the time of changing the solution depends on a cell sedimentation rate.” Thus the amendment has changed the scope of the invention as it is limited to pancreatic cancer cells and change of culture medium which is of different scope than analyzing sedimentation rate of the pancreatic cancer cells to determine time for changing cell culture medium.
Response to Arguments
This is a new ground of rejection necessitated by amendment,
It is noted the specification provides guidance on how to perform sample handling and some steps of analysis. However the teachings of the specification are inconsistent with how for examples are handled. For example 0013 states:
adding an appropriate amount of concentrated SDS-PAGE protein loading buffer solution to the collected protein sample, performing loading and electrophoresis, and after cooling to room temperature, directly loading the protein sample into an SDS-PAGE gel loading hole, and heating same at 100°C or a boiling water bath for 3-5 minutes to fully denature the protein;
However, the examiner is unaware of when or how a sample would be heated to “100°C or a boiling water bath for 3-5 minutes to fully denature the protein” after it is placed in the “PAGE gel loading hole.” Such treatment would melt the gel.
Claims 9-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 is indefinite because it lacks a positive active step relating back to the preamble. The preamble recites a detecting the expression of ferroptosis-related proteins in pancreatic cancer cells, wherein the ferroptosis-related proteins comprise Cold Inducible RNA Binding Protein (CIRBP), Acyl-CoA Synthetase Long Chain Family Member 4 (ACSL4), Prostaglandin-Endoperoxide Synthase 2 (PTGS2), NADPH Oxidase 1 (NOX1), Glutathione Peroxidase 4 (GPX4), and Ferritin Heavy Chain 1 (FTH1); however, the last positive active step is drawn detecting protein bands using an enhanced chemiluminescence (ECL) reagent. Therefore it is unclear as to whether the method is drawn to method detecting the expression of ferroptosis-related proteins in pancreatic cancer cells, wherein the ferroptosis-related proteins comprise Cold Inducible RNA Binding Protein (CIRBP), Acyl-CoA Synthetase Long Chain Family Member 4 (ACSL4), Prostaglandin-Endoperoxide Synthase 2 (PTGS2), NADPH Oxidase 1 (NOX1), Glutathione Peroxidase 4 (GPX4), and Ferritin Heavy Chain 1 (FTH1), as a molecular marker for diagnosis and treatment of pancreatic cancer or detecting protein bands using an enhanced chemiluminescence (ECL) reagent.
Claim 14 has been added by amendment and recites, “wherein step (a) further comprises analyzing a sedimentation rate of the pancreatic cancer cells to determine a time for changing the culture medium.” The response provides no indication where support can be found. Searching and review of the specification revealed support for, “wherein the time of changing the solution depends on a cell sedimentation rate.” However the claim is vague, unclear and incomplete on how sedimentation rate is determined. Searching of the art revealed sedimentation rates as part of centrifugation, however the claims do not require centrifuging. Thus it is unclear what is required. Further it is unclear if an increase or decrease of sedimentation rate determines the time to change the solution or medium.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Gao (Hindawi Journal of Immunology Research Volume 2022, Article ID 2527210, 12 pages), Hu ( Front. Cardiovasc. Med. 8:710963.), Helgason (Basic Cell Culture Protocols (Methods in Molecular Biology, 290) Paperback – November 27, 2014), Pettigrew (Journal of Biomolecular Techniques 20:93–95 © 2009)
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
This rejection is set forth in part due to the numerous 112 issues and to promote compact prosecution.
Gao suggest detection of CIRBP , p53, GPX4, Nox1, PTGS2, FTH1 (figure 2) in examination of ferroptosis in pancreatic cancer cells. Gao teaches cell culture including pancreatic cancer cell lines with DMEM and RPMI-1640 with fetal calf serum (2.3).
Gao teaches western blot analysis for the detection of proteins including lysis of cells with RIPA buffer with protease and phosphatase inhibitors (2.6). Gao teaches transfer of proteins from gels to PVDF membrane (2.6) Gao teaches blocking with skim milk and incubating with primary and secondary antibodies prior to detection of ECL.
Gao does not specifically teach the tissue culture with pencillin-streptomycin, washing, wet transfer of the claims or ACSL4.
However, Hu provides a review of ferroptosis and cardiovascular disease. Hu teaches in Table 2, ACSL2 is a positive regulator of ferroptosis. Hu teaches, “Acyl-CoA synthetase long-chain family member 4 (ACSL4) is an enzyme involved in phospholipid metabolism, which plays a key role in the synthesis of long-chain PUFA-CoA. Compared with wild-type cells, ACSL4-deficient cells are accompanied by a significant decrease in AA- and AdA-containing phosphatidylethanolamine (PE), while supplementation with exogenous AA/AdA protects the sensitivity to ferroptosis in ACSL4 knockout cells, indicating that ACSL4 is required for the generation of ferroptosis by accumulating oxidized membrane phospholipids (23). In addition to PE, phosphatidylserine (PS) and phosphatidylinositol (PI) are also involved in ferroptosois (59). Lysophosphatidyl choline acyltransferase 3 (LPCAT3) is closed related to phospholipid remodeling. Downregulation of LPCTA3 also contributes to suppression of ferroptosis, but the function of LPCTA3 in ferroptosis might be less efficient than ACSL4 (23, 24). Lipoxygenases (LOXs) are a family of iron containing enzymes that catalyze the dioxygenation of PUFAs. However, the role of LOXs in lipid peroxidation and ferroptosis is controversial. The specific inhibitor of 12/15-LOX, but not the inhibitors of 5-LOX or COX, protects GPX4-deficient cells against ferroptosis, suggesting that 12/15-LOX is responsible for ferroptosis (25). Moreover, overexpression of 15-LOX promotes lipid peroxidation, while 15-LOX suppressors, but not COX or CYP450 inhibitors, prevent ferroptosis (26). However, in tertbutyl hydroperoxide (TBH)-induced ferroptosis, p53 upregulates 15-LOX, but not 5-LOX or 12-LOX (60), while in another study, depletion of 12-LOX blocks TBH-induced ferroptosis (27). Therefore, the role of LOXs in ferroptosis needs to be further investigated. In addition to LOXs, other oxygenases, such as NOXs and cytochrome P450 oxidoreductase (POR), are also suggested to be involved in ferroptosis (61–63). Additionally, the HMG-CoA reductase pathway might also participate in the process of ferroptosis. Inhibition of HMG-CoA reductase could induce ferroptosis by inactivating GPX4 (64). Most recently, Chen et al. found that the calcium-independent phospholipase iPLA2β suppresses p53-induced ferroptosis via detoxification of peroxidized lipids. Taken together, the modulation of lipid peroxidation might provide novel therapeutic target for ferroptosis-associated disease.” (page 3, 2nd column-page 4).
Helgason teaches basic cell culture techniques including penicillin-streptomycin in tissue culture solution. .
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claims to detect CIRBP , p53, GPX4, Nox1, PTGS2, FTH1 and ACSL4 by western blotting in the method of the Gao. The artisan would be motivated to examine ACSL4 expression as the art demonstrates it is a regulator of ferroptosis which is implicated in pancreatic cancer. The artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success as the artisan is merely using known methods.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claims to culture with media containing penicillin-streptomycin. The artisan would be motivated to use penicillin-streptomycin in the cell culture to minimize bacterial growth/contamination in the cell culture. Thea artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success as the artisan is merely using art accepted conditions for culturing of cells.
Pettigrew teaches, “ After completion of the running, the gel was gently shaken in the transfer buffer (fresh or used) for 30 min, then assembled into gel transfer cassette. PVDF membrane cut to the gel size was soaked in methanol, then rinsed with distilled water and transfer buffer. After assembly, gel sandwich was placed in transfer apparatus along with ice pack and transferred at 100 V for 1 h using wet electrotransfer procedures according to the manufacturer’s (Bio-Rad) instruction.” (page 94, 1st column bottom).
Response to Arguments
The response begins traversing the rejection by asserting the cited prior art does not teach simultaneous detection of the recited proteins. This argument has been thoroughly reviewed but is not considered persuasive as the claim does not explicitly require simultaneous detection of the recited proteins. It is noted that teachings Gao appears to 5 of the six proteins at the same time. The specification does not provide any indication of an unexpected result of detecting the proteins simultaneously. Thus the response is arguing a limitation not explicitly required of the claim.
The response continues by asserting, “he Examiner treats the addition of ACSL4 to Gao's method as a trivial "add-on." However, Western Blotting is not a "one-size-fits-all" technique. The transfer efficiency in Western Blotting is strictly dependent on the molecular weight of the target proteins. CIRBP (the primary target in Gao) is a relatively small protein (~18 kDa). ACSL4 (the element from Hu) is a significantly larger protein (~75-80 kDa). In standard practice, transfer conditions optimized for small proteins (like CIRBP) often result in the incomplete transfer of large proteins (like ACSL4). Conversely, conditions capable of transferring large proteins often cause small proteins to pass through the membrane entirely ("blow-through"), leading to signal loss. Independent Claim 9 (and dependent claims) recites specific transfer conditions: applying a transfer current of 300-400 mA for a duration of 30-60 minutes" (based on original Claim 5). This specific parameter window is not arbitrary; it represents a balanced protocol effectively validated to capture both the low-molecular-weight CIRBP and the high-molecular-weight ACSL4 simultaneously in pancreatic cancer cell lysates.” This argument has been thoroughly reviewed but is not considered persuasive as the specification and claims provide any specific limitations which provide for anything more than routine optimization of SDS-PAGE, transferring to membrane and ECL. Thus the argument with respect to specific conditions for detection of specific proteins is inconsistent with the teachings of the specification and claims.
The response continues by providing argument with respect to impermissible hindsight. In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
The response concludes by asserting, “The claimed invention is not merely a list of markers; it is a specific method comprising defined lysis, electrophoresis, and transfer parameters that enable the reliable, simultaneous detection of a specific panel of proteins with divergent physical properties (e.g., MW) in pancreatic cancer cells. Since the cited art neither teaches this specific methodological integration nor provides a motivation to construct this specific panel for pancreatic cancer.” This argument has been thoroughly reviewed but is not considered persuasive as the specification does not provide the composition of any lysis buffer, any concentration or composition of the polyacrylamide gel, gel running buffer composition, gel size, transfer buffer composition, any specific antibodies for detection of the proteins or any specific secondary antibodies. Thus the arguments are inconsistent with the specification as filed.
Claim(s) 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao (Hindawi Journal of Immunology Research Volume 2022, Article ID 2527210, 12 pages), Hu ( Front. Cardiovasc. Med. 8:710963.), Helgason (Basic Cell Culture Protocols (Methods in Molecular Biology, 290) Paperback – November 27, 2014), Pettigrew (Journal of Biomolecular Techniques 20:93–95 © 2009) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Mahmood (North American Journal of Medical Sciences (2012) volume 4, pages 429-434) Penna (JOVE (2007) and Bass (Scand J Med Sci Sports 2017: 27: 4–25)
The teachings of Gao, Hu, Helgason, Pettigrew are set forth above.
While of Gao, Hu, Helgason, Pettigrew teach the culturing and analysis of pancreatic cancer cells for ferroptosis related gene by western blotting, they do not teach specific time and temperature of blocking, time and temperature of primary antibody incubation, washing conditions, time and temperature for secondary antibody incubation.
However, Mahmood provides a technical article on Western blotting, technique, theory and trouble shooting.
Mahood teaches blocking in 5% skim milk for 1 hour, incubating the primary antibody overnight at 4oC on a shaker, washing 3 times for 5 minutes with TBST, incubating secondary antibody for 1 hour (blocking and antibody incubation, 430, 2nd column)
Bass teaches, “he applications of Western/immunoblotting (WB)techniques have reached multiple layers of the scientific community and are now considered routine procedures in the field of physiology. This is none more so than in relation to skeletal muscle physiology (i.e., resolving the mechanisms underpinning adaptations to exercise). Indeed, the inclusion of WB data is now considered an essential aspect of many such physiological publications to provide mechanistic insight into regulatory processes. Despite this popularity, and due to the ubiquitous and relatively inexpensive availability of WB equipment, the quality of WB in publications and subsequent analysis and interpretation of the data can be variable, perhaps resulting in spurious conclusions. This may be due to poor laboratory technique and/or lack of comprehension of the critical steps involved in WB and what quality control procedures should be in place to ensure robust data generation. The present review aims to provide a detailed description and critique of WB procedures and technicalities, from sample collection through preparation, blotting and detection, to analysis of the data collected. We aim to provide the reader with improved expertise to critically conduct, evaluate, and troubleshoot the WB process, to produce reproducible and reliable blots.
Bass teaches, “It is not only the choice of blocking agent that can affect WB outcomes; volume of blocking agent and indeed the incubation period for blocking (which may vary from an hour to overnight; Gershoni &Palade, 1983) are also important factors. Too little blocking agent (low concentration) or too short an incubation period will increase the potential for non-specific binding of the 1°Ab to the membrane-bound proteins which could result in excessive background and/or reduced signal-to-noise ratio. “ (page 13, 1st column, 1st full paragraph). Bass teaches, “secondary incubations are generally undertaken at room temperature for a shorter amount of time, typically 1 h”(page 12, 1st column).
Penna teaches incubation of primary antibodies 1-2 hours. (page 2, immunodetection).
MPEP 2144.05 II A States:
II. ROUTINE OPTIMIZATION
A. Optimization Within Prior Art Conditions or Through Routine Experimentation
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claims to optimize the blocking time and temperature, optimize primary antibody time and temperature, optimize the washing time and optimizing the secondary antibody time and temperature. The artisan would be motivated Mahmood, Penna and Bass suggest time, temperatures, and conditions for blocking, primary antibody incubation, washing and secondary antibody incubation are conditions which can be optimized or varied for western blotting. The artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success as the artisan is merely optimizing known steps and conditions for western blotting of proteins.(claims 10-13)
Response to Arguments
This is a new ground of rejection necessitated by amendment.
Summary
No claims are allowed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Steven Pohnert/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1683