Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Page 7, Para. [0026], Line 3, Change “operated as a capacitor” to –operated as a source voltage—
Page 11, Para. [0037], Line 8, Change “power floes” to –power flows—
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lisi et al. U.S. PGPub 2016/0043562 A1 (hereinafter Lisi) in view of Agostinelli et al. U.S. PGPub 2015/0349538 A1 (hereinafter Agostinelli).
Regarding Claim 1, Lisi teaches a semiconductor device for wireless power transfer (Lisi, Abstract) comprising: a controller (Lisi, Figs. 2 and 6, Element 218, “CONTROL”; Para. [0041]) configured to control a rectifier (Lisi, Figs. 2 and 6, Element 214, “ADAPTIVE RECTIFIER”; Para. [0041]); and a circuit (Lisi, Fig. 6, Element 204; Paras. [0041] – [0045]. Made up of components 214, 218, 602 and 604.) configured to: detect an overvoltage condition based on an output voltage of the rectifier (Lisi, Fig. 6; Para. [0045], “overvoltage condition”); in response to detection of the overvoltage condition, send an indication of the overvoltage condition to the controller; and the controller is further configured to, in response to receipt of the indication, control a phase of a current of an alternating current (AC) power being received by the rectifier to cause the current and a voltage of the AC power to be out of phase (Lisi, Fig. 7; Paras. [0032] and [0046] – [0047]), but does not explicitly teach the details of the current and a voltage to be out of phase.
Agostinelli, however, teaches a device for wireless power transfer (Agostinelli, Fig. 1; Abstract) comprising: a controller (Agostinelli, Fig. 1, Element 110; Para. [0016]) configured to control a rectifier (Agostinelli, Fig. 1, Element 120; Para. [0016], “active rectifier”); and a circuit (Agostinelli, Fig. 2, Element 200; Para. [0024]) configured to control a phase of a current (Agostinelli, Para. [0020]) of an alternating current (AC) power being received by the rectifier (Agostinelli, Fig. 1; Para. [0018]) to cause the current and a voltage of the AC power to be out of phase (Agostinelli, Figs. 2-3; Paras. [0023] – [0028]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to understand that although Lisi is silent as to details of the phase shifting between the voltage and current by the rectifier, i.e. specific amounts for different situations/conditions/desires, Lisi would inherently incorporate some type of conventional phase shifting commonly understood in the art. The phase shifting taught by Agostinelli, for controlling the impedance and thus the output of the rectifier, teaches one of the many conventional active/adaptive rectifiers utilized in the art for controlling the power of a wireless power receiver for charging a battery. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose based on desirability, one of the many known conventional methods, such as the one taught by Agostinelli, to control the charge/discharge of the battery within the wireless charging system of Lisi.
Regarding Claim 2, The combined teaching of the Lisi and Agostinelli references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Lisi teaches wherein the controller is configured to control the phase of the current to be 90-degrees leading a phase of the voltage of the AC power (Lisi, Fig. 7, Element 712; Paras. [0046] - [0047], Lisi discloses the claimed invention except for stating the actual lead of 90-degrees. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to adjust the phase to accomplish the output desired from the adaptive rectifier, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.).
Regarding Claim 3, The combined teaching of the Lisi and Agostinelli references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Lisi teaches wherein the controller is configured to control the phase of the current to be 90-degrees lagging a phase of the voltage of the AC power (Lisi, Fig. 7, Element 710; Paras. [0046] - [0047], Lisi discloses the claimed invention except for stating the actual lag of 90-degrees. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to adjust the phase to accomplish the output desired from the adaptive rectifier, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.).
Regarding Claim 4, The combined teaching of the Lisi and Agostinelli references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Lisi teaches wherein the controller is configured to control the phase of the current to cause the current to be 180-degrees out of phase with the voltage of the AC power (Lisi, Fig. 7; Paras. [0037] - [0039]. Where bi-directional power transfer equates to 180 degree out of phase for the adaptive rectifier).
Regarding Claim 5, The combined teaching of the Lisi and Agostinelli references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Lisi teaches wherein in response to the current and the voltage of the AC power being 90-degrees out of phase, the output voltage of the rectifier remains constant (Lisi, Fig. 7; Para. [0047], “fixed amplitude”).
Regarding Claim 6, The combined teaching of the Lisi and Agostinelli references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Lisi teaches wherein in response to the current and the voltage of the AC power being 180-degrees out of phase, the output voltage of the rectifier decreases (Lisi, Fig. 7; Paras. [0037] - [0039]. Where bi-directional power transfer equates to power decreasing, i.e. changing direction.).
Regarding Claim 7, The combined teaching of the Lisi and Agostinelli references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Lisi teaches wherein the rectifier, the controller and the circuit are parts of a wireless power receiver (Lisi, Fig. 7; Para. [0009]).
Regarding Claim 8, Lisi teaches an apparatus for wireless power transfer (Lisi, Abstract) comprising: a coil configured to receive alternating current (AC) power (Lisi, Figs. 2 and 6, Element 208; Para. [0025]); a rectifier configured to convert the AC power into direct current (DC) power (Lisi, Figs. 2 and 6, Element 214, “ADAPTIVE RECTIFIER”; Para. [0041]); a controller (Lisi, Figs. 2 and 6, Element 218, “CONTROL”; Para. [0041]) configured to: detect an overvoltage condition based on a voltage of the DC power (Lisi, Fig. 6; Para. [0045], “overvoltage condition”); and in response to detection of the overvoltage condition, control a phase of a current of the AC power to cause the current and a voltage of the AC power to be out of phase (Lisi, Fig. 7; Paras. [0032] and [0046] – [0047]), but does not explicitly teach the details of the current and a voltage to be out of phase.
Agostinelli, however, teaches an apparatus for wireless power transfer (Agostinelli, Fig. 1; Abstract) comprising: a coil configured to receive alternating current (AC) power (Agostinelli, Fig. 1, Element 142; Para. [0016]); a rectifier configured to convert the AC power into direct current (DC) power (Agostinelli, Fig. 1, Element 120; Para. [0016], “active rectifier”); a controller (Agostinelli, Fig. 1, Element 110; Para. [0016]) configured to: control a phase of a current (Agostinelli, Para. [0020]) of the AC power to cause the current and a voltage of the AC power to be out of phase (Agostinelli, Figs. 2-3; Paras. [0023] – [0028]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to understand that although Lisi is silent as to details of the phase shifting between the voltage and current by the rectifier, i.e. specific amounts for different situations/conditions/desires, Lisi would inherently incorporate some type of conventional phase shifting commonly understood in the art. The phase shifting taught by Agostinelli, for controlling the impedance and thus the output of the rectifier, teaches one of the many conventional active/adaptive rectifiers utilized in the art for controlling the power of a wireless power receiver for charging a battery. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose based on desirability, one of the many known conventional methods, such as the one taught by Agostinelli, to control the charge/discharge of the battery within the wireless charging system of Lisi.
Regarding Claim 9, The combined teaching of the Lisi and Agostinelli references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 8. Furthermore, Lisi teaches wherein the controller is configured to control the phase of the current to be 90-degrees leading a phase of the voltage of the AC power (Lisi, Fig. 7, Element 712; Paras. [0046] - [0047], Lisi discloses the claimed invention except for stating the actual lead of 90-degrees. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to adjust the phase to accomplish the output desired from the adaptive rectifier, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.).
Regarding Claim 10, The combined teaching of the Lisi and Agostinelli references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 8. Furthermore, Lisi teaches wherein the controller is configured to control the phase of the current to be 90-degrees lagging a phase of the voltage of the AC power (Lisi, Fig. 7, Element 710; Paras. [0046] - [0047], Lisi discloses the claimed invention except for stating the actual lag of 90-degrees. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to adjust the phase to accomplish the output desired from the adaptive rectifier, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.).
Regarding Claim 11, The combined teaching of the Lisi and Agostinelli references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 8. Furthermore, Lisi teaches wherein the controller is configured to control the phase of the current to cause the current to be 180-degrees out of phase with the voltage of the AC power (Lisi, Fig. 7; Paras. [0037] - [0039]. Where bi-directional power transfer equates to 180 degree out of phase for the adaptive rectifier).
Regarding Claim 12, The combined teaching of the Lisi and Agostinelli references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 8. Furthermore, Lisi teaches wherein in response to the current and the voltage of the AC power being 90-degrees out of phase, the voltage of the DC power remains constant (Lisi, Fig. 7; Para. [0047], “fixed amplitude”).
Regarding Claim 13, The combined teaching of the Lisi and Agostinelli references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 8. Furthermore, Lisi teaches wherein in response to the current and the voltage of the AC power being 180-degrees out of phase, the voltage of the DC power decreases (Lisi, Fig. 7; Paras. [0037] - [0039]. Where bi-directional power transfer equates to power decreasing, i.e. changing direction.).
Regarding Claim 14, The combined teaching of the Lisi and Agostinelli references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 8. Furthermore, Lisi teaches wherein the coil, the rectifier and the controller are parts of a wireless power receiver (Lisi, Fig. 7; Para. [0009]).
Regarding Claim 15, Lisi teaches a method for wireless power transfer (Lisi, Fig. 9; Claim 14), the method comprising: detecting an overvoltage condition associated with direct current (DC) power being outputted by a rectifier (Lisi, Fig. 6; Para. [0045], “overvoltage condition”); and in response to detecting the overvoltage condition, controlling a phase of a current of alternating current (AC) power being received by the rectifier to cause the current and a voltage of the AC power to be out of phase (Lisi, Fig. 7; Paras. [0032] and [0046] – [0047]), but does not explicitly teach the details of the current and a voltage to be out of phase.
Agostinelli, however, teaches a method for wireless power transfer (Agostinelli, Fig. 1; Abstract), the method comprising: controlling a phase of a current (Agostinelli, Para. [0020]) of alternating current (AC) power being received by the rectifier (Agostinelli, Fig. 1, Element 142; Para. [0016]) to cause the current and a voltage of the AC power to be out of phase (Agostinelli, Figs. 2-3; Paras. [0023] – [0028]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to understand that although Lisi is silent as to details of the phase shifting between the voltage and current by the rectifier, i.e. specific amounts for different situations/conditions/desires, Lisi would inherently incorporate some type of conventional phase shifting commonly understood in the art. The phase shifting taught by Agostinelli, for controlling the impedance and thus the output of the rectifier, teaches one of the many conventional active/adaptive rectifiers utilized in the art for controlling the power of a wireless power receiver for charging a battery. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose based on desirability, one of the many known conventional methods, such as the one taught by Agostinelli, to control the charge/discharge of the battery within the wireless charging system of Lisi.
Regarding Claim 16, The combined teaching of the Lisi and Agostinelli references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 15. Furthermore, Lisi teaches further comprising controlling the phase of the current to be 90-degrees leading a phase of the voltage of the AC power (Lisi, Fig. 7, Element 712; Paras. [0046] - [0047], Lisi discloses the claimed invention except for stating the actual lead of 90-degrees. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to adjust the phase to accomplish the output desired from the adaptive rectifier, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.).
Regarding Claim 17, The combined teaching of the Lisi and Agostinelli references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 15. Furthermore, Lisi teaches further comprising controlling the phase of the current to be 90-degrees lagging a phase of the voltage of the AC power (Lisi, Fig. 7, Element 710; Paras. [0046] - [0047], Lisi discloses the claimed invention except for stating the actual lag of 90-degrees. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to adjust the phase to accomplish the output desired from the adaptive rectifier, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.).
Regarding Claim 18, The combined teaching of the Lisi and Agostinelli references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 15. Furthermore, Lisi teaches further comprising controlling the phase of the current such that the current is 180-degrees out of phase with the voltage of the AC power (Lisi, Fig. 7; Paras. [0037] - [0039]. Where bi-directional power transfer equates to 180 degree out of phase for the adaptive rectifier).
Regarding Claim 19, The combined teaching of the Lisi and Agostinelli references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 15. Furthermore, Lisi teaches wherein in response to the current and the voltage of the AC power being 90-degrees out of phase, the voltage of the DC power remains constant (Lisi, Fig. 7; Para. [0047], “fixed amplitude”).
Regarding Claim 20, The combined teaching of the Lisi and Agostinelli references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 15. Furthermore, Lisi teaches wherein in response to the current and the voltage of the AC power being 180-degrees out of phase, the voltage of the DC power decreases (Lisi, Fig. 7; Paras. [0037] - [0039]. Where bi-directional power transfer equates to power decreasing, i.e. changing direction.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Liu et al. U.S. PGPub 2016/0254679 teaches a wireless power receiver with rectifier receiving feedback from the output of the rectifier to adjust the output.
Bakker et al. U.S. Patent 9,998,180 teaches modulating power of a wireless power receiver.
Danilovic et al. U.S. PGPub 2020/0373768 teaches protection circuits for wireless power receivers.
MAO CN-109742863 teaches a wireless power receiver with active rectifier used to introduce 90 degree lag and advanced (lead).
/JERRY D ROBBINS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859