DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims and Other Notes
Claims 1–13 are pending.
The paragraph numbers cited in this Office Action in reference to the instant application are referring to the paragraph numbering of the PG-Pub of the instant application. See US 2023/0246228 A1.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10 April 2023, 23 February 2024, and 07 October 2025 were filed before the mailing of a first Office Action on the merits. The submissions comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
FIG. 1 uses shading that reduces legibility or solid black shading that is not used to represent bar graphs or color. The use of shading in views is encouraged if it aids in understanding the invention and if it does not reduce legibility. Solid black shading areas are not permitted, except when used to represent bar graphs or color. See 37 CFR 1.84 (m).
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference characters not mentioned in the description: a (e.g., FIG. 1), b (FIG. 1), and c (e.g., FIG. 1). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: LITHIUM-ION SOLID STATE CONDUCTOR INCLUDING LITHIUM HAFNIUM METAL PHOSPHATE, ELECTRODE AND BATTERY INCLUDING THE CONDUCTOR, METHODS OF MANUFACTURE THEREOF.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The following reference characters are not mentioned in the description: a (e.g., FIG. 1), b (FIG. 1), and c (e.g., FIG. 1)..
Appropriate correction is required.
The use of the term Ketjen black (e.g., [0032], [0047]), which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application.
The use of the term Super P (e.g., [0047]), which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application.
The terms should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the terms should be capitalized wherever they appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 7, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the composition" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Office recommends the limitation "the electrolyte composition."
Claim 7 recites the limitation "positive active material a lithium transition metal oxide, a lithium transition metal phosphate, a sulfide, or a combination thereof." The relationship between "positive active material" and "a lithium transition metal oxide, a lithium transition metal phosphate, a sulfide, or a combination thereof" is unclear. The Office recommends the limitation "wherein the positive active material comprises a lithium transition metal oxide, a lithium transition metal phosphate, a sulfide, or a combination thereof."
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the protected positive active material of claim 7" and includes all the limitations of claim 7. Therefore, claim 9 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the electrolyte" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 4–12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pet'kov (Complex phosphates formed by metal cations in oxidation states I and IV) in view of Harada et al. (US 2018/0083314 A1, hereinafter Harada) and Pet'kov (Complex phosphates formed by metal cations in oxidation states I and IV).
Regarding claim 1, Pet'kov discloses a compound of Formula 1:
Li1-αHf2Maα(PO4-δ)3 (1) (TABLE 7, P624/C2/L7–19)
wherein M is a cationic element having a valence of a, and is Li+, Na+, K+, Cu+, Ag+, Mg2+, Zn2+, or a combination thereof (TABLE 7, P624/C2/L7–19), and
wherein 0 < α ≤ ⅔, 1 ≤ a ≤ 2, and 0 ≤ δ ≤ 0.1 (TABLE 7, P624/C2/L7–19).
Pet'kov does not explicitly disclose:
Li1+(4−a)αHf2-αMaα(PO4-δ)3
Harada discloses a compound of Li1+(4−a)αHf2-αMaα(PO4-δ)3 (see solid electrolyte, [0020]) to improve low temperature stability and ion conductivity (see solid electrolyte, [0019]). Pet'kov and Harada are analogous because they are directed to solid electrolytes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the amount of lithium as taught by Harada in the compound of Pet'kov in order to improve low temperature stability and ion conductivity.
Regarding claim 2, modified Pet'kov discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a compound:
wherein in Formula 1, a = 1 and M is Li+, Na+, K+, Cu+, Ag+, or a combination thereof (TABLE 7, P624/C2/L7–19).
Regarding claim 4, Pet'kov discloses a protected negative electrode comprising a compound of Formula 1:
Li1-αHf2Maα(PO4-δ)3 (1) (TABLE 7, P624/C2/L7–19)
wherein M is a cationic element having a valence of a, and is Li+, Na+, K+, Cu+, Ag+, Mg2+, Zn2+, or a combination thereof (TABLE 7, P624/C2/L7–19), and
wherein 0 < α ≤ ⅔, 1 ≤ a ≤ 2, and 0 ≤ δ ≤ 0.1 (TABLE 7, P624/C2/L7–19).
Pet'kov does not explicitly disclose:
Li1+(4−a)αHf2-αMaα(PO4-δ)3
a negative active material; and a compound on a surface of the negative active material.
Harada discloses a negative active material (13); and a compound (121) on a surface of the negative active material (13, [0052]), the compound of Li1+(4−a)αHf2-αMaα(PO4-δ)3 (see solid electrolyte, [0020]) to improve low temperature stability and ion conductivity (see solid electrolyte, [0019]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the amount of lithium in the compound of Pet'kov and use the compound of Pet'kov in the environment as taught by Harada in order to improve low temperature stability and ion conductivity.
Regarding claim 5, Pet'kov discloses an electrolyte composition, the composition comprising a compound of Formula 1:
Li1-αHf2Maα(PO4-δ)3 (1) (TABLE 7, P624/C2/L7–19)
wherein M is a cationic element having a valence of a, and is Li+, Na+, K+, Cu+, Ag+, Mg2+, Zn2+, or a combination thereof (TABLE 7, P624/C2/L7–19), and
wherein 0 < α ≤ ⅔, 1 ≤ a ≤ 2, and 0 ≤ δ ≤ 0.1 (TABLE 7, P624/C2/L7–19).
Pet'kov does not explicitly disclose:
Li1+(4−a)αHf2-αMaα(PO4-δ)3
Harada discloses a compound of Li1+(4−a)αHf2-αMaα(PO4-δ)3 (see solid electrolyte, [0020]) to improve low temperature stability and ion conductivity (see solid electrolyte, [0019]). Pet'kov and Harada are analogous because they are directed to solid electrolytes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the amount of lithium in the compound of Pet'kov and use the compound of Pet'kov in the environment as taught by Harada in order to improve low temperature stability and ion conductivity.
Regarding claim 6, Pet'kov discloses a separator, comprising a compound of Formula 1:
Li1-αHf2Maα(PO4-δ)3 (1) (TABLE 7, P624/C2/L7–19)
wherein M is a cationic element having a valence of a, and is Li+, Na+, K+, Cu+, Ag+, Mg2+, Zn2+, or a combination thereof (TABLE 7, P624/C2/L7–19), and
wherein 0 < α ≤ ⅔, 1 ≤ a ≤ 2, and 0 ≤ δ ≤ 0.1 (TABLE 7, P624/C2/L7–19).
Pet'kov does not explicitly disclose:
Li1+(4−a)αHf2-αMaα(PO4-δ)3
a separator, comprising a microporous film, and a compound on the microporous film.
Harada discloses a separator, comprising a microporous film, and a compound on the microporous film (FIG. 3, [0038]), wherein the compound comprises a compound of Li1+(4−a)αHf2-αMaα(PO4-δ)3 (see solid electrolyte, [0020]) to improve low temperature stability and ion conductivity (see solid electrolyte, [0019]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the amount of lithium in the compound of Pet'kov and use the compound of Pet'kov in the environment as taught by Harada in order to improve low temperature stability and ion conductivity.
Regarding claim 7, Pet'kov discloses a protected positive active material comprising a compound of Formula 1:
Li1-αHf2Maα(PO4-δ)3 (1) (TABLE 7, P624/C2/L7–19)
wherein M is a cationic element having a valence of a, and is Li+, Na+, K+, Cu+, Ag+, Mg2+, Zn2+, or a combination thereof (TABLE 7, P624/C2/L7–19), and
wherein 0 < α ≤ ⅔, 1 ≤ a ≤ 2, and 0 ≤ δ ≤ 0.1 (TABLE 7, P624/C2/L7–19).
Pet'kov does not explicitly disclose:
Li1+(4−a)αHf2-αMaα(PO4-δ)3
a positive active material including a lithium transition metal oxide, a lithium transition metal phosphate, a sulfide, or a combination thereof, and the compound on a surface of the positive active material.
Harada discloses a protected positive active material (11) comprising a positive active material (11) including a lithium transition metal oxide, a lithium transition metal phosphate, a sulfide, or a combination thereof, and a compound (121) on a surface of the positive active material (11, [0052]), wherein the compound, wherein the compound of Li1+(4−a)αHf2-αMaα(PO4-δ)3 (see solid electrolyte, [0020]) to improve low temperature stability and ion conductivity (see solid electrolyte, [0019]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the amount of lithium in the compound of Pet'kov and use the compound of Pet'kov in the environment as taught by Harada in order to improve low temperature stability and ion conductivity.
Regarding claim 8, Pet'kov discloses a lithium battery, comprising a compound of Formula 1:
Li1-αHf2Maα(PO4-δ)3 (1) (TABLE 7, P624/C2/L7–19)
wherein M is a cationic element having a valence of a, and is Li+, Na+, K+, Cu+, Ag+, Mg2+, Zn2+, or a combination thereof (TABLE 7, P624/C2/L7–19), and
wherein 0 < α ≤ ⅔, 1 ≤ a ≤ 2, and 0 ≤ δ ≤ 0.1 (TABLE 7, P624/C2/L7–19).
Pet'kov does not explicitly disclose:
Li1+(4−a)αHf2-αMaα(PO4-δ)3
a negative electrode; an electrolyte; and a positive electrode, wherein the electrolyte is between the negative electrode and the positive electrode, and wherein the negative electrode comprises a protected negative electrode, wherein the protected negative electrode comprises a negative active material; and the compound on a surface of the negative active material.
Harada discloses a negative electrode (13); an electrolyte (12); and a positive electrode (11), wherein the electrolyte (12) is between the negative electrode (13) and the positive electrode (11), and wherein the negative electrode (13) comprises a protected negative electrode, wherein the protected negative electrode comprises a negative active material; and a compound on a surface of the negative active material, wherein the compound comprises a compound of Li1+(4−a)αHf2-αMaα(PO4-δ)3 (see solid electrolyte, [0020]) to improve low temperature stability and ion conductivity (see solid electrolyte, [0019]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the amount of lithium in the compound of Pet'kov and use the compound of Pet'kov in the environment as taught by Harada in order to improve low temperature stability and ion conductivity.
Regarding claim 9, Pet'kov discloses a lithium battery, comprising a compound of Formula 1:
Li1-αHf2Maα(PO4-δ)3 (1) (TABLE 7, P624/C2/L7–19)
wherein M is a cationic element having a valence of a, and is Li+, Na+, K+, Cu+, Ag+, Mg2+, Zn2+, or a combination thereof (TABLE 7, P624/C2/L7–19), and
wherein 0 < α ≤ ⅔, 1 ≤ a ≤ 2, and 0 ≤ δ ≤ 0.1 (TABLE 7, P624/C2/L7–19).
Pet'kov does not explicitly disclose:
Li1+(4−a)αHf2-αMaα(PO4-δ)3
a negative electrode; an electrolyte; and a positive electrode, wherein the electrolyte is between the negative electrode and the positive electrode, and wherein the positive electrode comprises a protected positive active material, wherein the protected positive active material comprises a compound.
Harada discloses a negative electrode (13); an electrolyte (12); and a positive electrode (11), wherein the electrolyte (12) is between the negative electrode (13) and the positive electrode (11), and wherein the positive electrode (11) comprises a protected positive active material, wherein the protected positive active material comprises a compound (121, [0052]) of Li1+(4−a)αHf2-αMaα(PO4-δ)3 (see solid electrolyte, [0020]) to improve low temperature stability and ion conductivity (see solid electrolyte, [0019]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the amount of lithium in the compound of Pet'kov and use the compound of Pet'kov in the environment as taught by Harada in order to improve low temperature stability and ion conductivity.
Regarding claim 10, Pet'kov discloses a lithium battery, comprising a compound of Formula 1:
Li1-αHf2Maα(PO4-δ)3 (1) (TABLE 7, P624/C2/L7–19)
wherein M is a cationic element having a valence of a, and is Li+, Na+, K+, Cu+, Ag+, Mg2+, Zn2+, or a combination thereof (TABLE 7, P624/C2/L7–19), and
wherein 0 < α ≤ ⅔, 1 ≤ a ≤ 2, and 0 ≤ δ ≤ 0.1 (TABLE 7, P624/C2/L7–19).
Pet'kov does not explicitly disclose:
Li1+(4−a)αHf2-αMaα(PO4-δ)3
a negative electrode; an electrolyte; and a positive electrode, wherein the electrolyte is between the negative electrode and the positive electrode, and wherein the electrolyte comprises the compound.
Harada discloses a negative electrode (13); an electrolyte (12); and a positive electrode (11), wherein the electrolyte (12) is between the negative electrode (13) and the positive electrode (11, [0052]), and wherein the electrolyte (12) comprises a compound (121) of Li1+(4−a)αHf2-αMaα(PO4-δ)3 (see solid electrolyte, [0020]) to improve low temperature stability and ion conductivity (see solid electrolyte, [0019]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the amount of lithium in the compound of Pet'kov and use the compound of Pet'kov in the environment as taught by Harada in order to improve low temperature stability and ion conductivity.
Regarding claim 11, Pet'kov discloses a lithium battery, comprising a compound of Formula 1:
Li1-αHf2Maα(PO4-δ)3 (1) (TABLE 7, P624/C2/L7–19)
wherein M is a cationic element having a valence of a, and is Li+, Na+, K+, Cu+, Ag+, Mg2+, Zn2+, or a combination thereof (TABLE 7, P624/C2/L7–19), and
wherein 0 < α ≤ ⅔, 1 ≤ a ≤ 2, and 0 ≤ δ ≤ 0.1 (TABLE 7, P624/C2/L7–19).
Pet'kov does not explicitly disclose:
Li1+(4−a)αHf2-αMaα(PO4-δ)3
a negative electrode; a separator comprising a microporous film; and a positive electrode, wherein the electrolyte is between the negative electrode and the positive electrode, and wherein the separator the compound.
Harada discloses a negative electrode (13); a separator (12) comprising a microporous film (FIG. 3, [0038]); and a positive electrode (11), wherein the electrolyte (12) is between the negative electrode (13) and the positive electrode (11, [0052]), and wherein the separator comprises a compound of Li1+(4−a)αHf2-αMaα(PO4-δ)3 (see solid electrolyte, [0020]) to improve low temperature stability and ion conductivity (see solid electrolyte, [0019]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the amount of lithium in the compound of Pet'kov and use the compound of Pet'kov in the environment as taught by Harada in order to improve low temperature stability and ion conductivity.
Regarding claim 12, Pet'kov discloses a method of manufacturing a compound, the method comprising contacting a compound comprising lithium, a compound comprising hafnium, and a compound comprising element M to form a mixture; and heat-treating the mixture (FIG. 8, TABLE 7, P624/C2/L7–19) to manufacture a compound of Formula 1,
Li1-αHf2Maα(PO4-δ)3 (1) (TABLE 7, P624/C2/L7–19)
wherein M is a cationic element having a valence of a, and is Li+, Na+, K+, Cu+, Ag+, Mg2+, Zn2+, or a combination thereof (TABLE 7, P624/C2/L7–19), and
wherein 0 < α ≤ ⅔, 1 ≤ a ≤ 2, and 0 ≤ δ ≤ 0.1 (TABLE 7, P624/C2/L7–19).
Pet'kov does not explicitly disclose:
Li1+(4−a)αHf2-αMaα(PO4-δ)3
Harada discloses a compound of Li1+(4−a)αHf2-αMaα(PO4-δ)3 (see solid electrolyte, [0020]) to improve low temperature stability and ion conductivity (see solid electrolyte, [0019]). Pet'kov and Harada are analogous because they are directed to solid electrolytes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the amount of lithium in the compound of Pet'kov and use the compound of Pet'kov in the environment as taught by Harada in order to improve low temperature stability and ion conductivity.
Regarding claim 13, Pet'kov discloses a method of manufacturing a lithium battery, the method comprising a compound of Formula 1:
Li1-αHf2Maα(PO4-δ)3 (1) (TABLE 7, P624/C2/L7–19)
wherein M is a cationic element having a valence of a, and is Li+, Na+, K+, Cu+, Ag+, Mg2+, Zn2+, or a combination thereof (TABLE 7, P624/C2/L7–19), and
wherein 0 < α ≤ ⅔, 1 ≤ a ≤ 2, and 0 ≤ δ ≤ 0.1 (TABLE 7, P624/C2/L7–19).
Pet'kov does not explicitly disclose:
Li1+(4−a)αHf2-αMaα(PO4-δ)3
providing a negative electrode; providing a positive electrode; and disposing a solid electrolyte between the positive electrode and the negative electrode, wherein at least one of the negative electrode, the positive electrode, and the solid electrolyte comprises the compound.
Harada discloses providing a negative electrode (13); providing a positive electrode (11); and disposing a solid electrolyte (12) between the positive electrode (11) and the negative electrode (13), wherein at least one of the negative electrode (13), the positive electrode (11), and the solid electrolyte (12) comprises a compound (121, [0052]) of Li1+(4−a)αHf2-αMaα(PO4-δ)3 (see solid electrolyte, [0020]) to improve low temperature stability and ion conductivity (see solid electrolyte, [0019]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the amount of lithium in the compound of Pet'kov and use the compound of Pet'kov in the environment as taught by Harada in order to improve low temperature stability and ion conductivity.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pet'kov (Complex phosphates formed by metal cations in oxidation states I and IV) in view of Harada (US 2018/0083314 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Song et al. (US 2015/0228970 A1, hereinafter Song).
Regarding claim 3, modified Pet'kov discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose a compound:
wherein in Formula 1, a = 2 and M is Mg2+, Zn2+, or a combination thereof.
Song discloses a compound of Li1+(4−a)αHf2-αMaα(PO4-δ)3 wherein a = 2 and M is Mg2+, Zn2+, or a combination thereof (see Formula 2, [0049]) to improve high-temperature stability and lifespan characteristics of a lithium battery (see solid ion conductor, [0026]). Pet'kov and Song are analogous because they are directed to solid electrolytes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to include zinc as taught by Song in the compound of modified Pet'kov in order to improve high-temperature stability and lifespan characteristics of a lithium battery.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Asabina et al. (The study of the crystalline phosphates of kosnarite type structure containing different alkali metals, hereinafter Asabina) discloses a compound of Formula 1, Li1-αHf2Maα(PO4-δ)3 (1) (TABLE 1, P1980/C2/L26–P1981/C1/L27) wherein M is a cationic element having a valence of a, and is Li+, Na+, K+, Cu+, Ag+, Mg2+, Zn2+, or a combination thereof (TABLE 1, P1980/C2/L26–P1981/C1/L27), and wherein 0 < α ≤ ⅔, 1 ≤ a ≤ 2, and 0 ≤ δ ≤ 0.1 (TABLE 1, P1980/C2/L26–P1981/C1/L27).
/Sean P Cullen, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725