DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: information acquisition device and identification unit in claims 1 and 30.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 29, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
As per claims 1 and 30, there has been no previous disclosure within the specification for a preset area as claimed. Therefore, the preset area is considered new matter
Dependent claims 18-29 are rejected under the same rationale by virtue of dependency.
As per claim 29, there has been no previous disclosure within the specification for a non-working area. Therefore, the non-working area is considered new matter.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As per claim 20, the claims refers to an alarm module which was removed from claim 1 in the filed amendment. Therefore the claim is rendered indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Willgert (US 2015/0220086).
As per claim 30, Willgert discloses an autonomous mower capable of automatically traveling and performing work in a working area, the autonomous mower comprising:
a housing (inner housing 52; outer housing 54);
a mowing module received in the housing and configured to perform predetermined mowing work (see at least para. 24 for cutting blade);
a traveling module configured to support the housing and drive the autonomous mower to travel within the working area (see at least para. 22 for front wheels 56 and rear wheels 58 controlled by control circuitry 12);
an information acquisition device disposed on the housing and configured to acquire external environment information (sensors 60);
an energy module configured to provide energy for the autonomous mower (see at least para. 19 for batteries); and
a control module connected to and configured to control the mowing module, the traveling module, the information acquisition device, and the energy module, so as to enable automatic traveling and automatic working of the autonomous mower (control circuitry 12),
wherein:
the control module comprises an identification unit configured to receive the external environment information (processing circuity 210);
the identification unit analyzes and determines, based on the external environment information, whether an abnormal object exists within a preset area (see at least para. 37-38 for determination of an unknown object on parcel 20; see at least para. 18 for parcel being a land lot with defined boundaries); and
the control module is configured to, at least in response to determining that the abnormal object exists, control the autonomous mower to rotate (see at least para. 38 for avoiding unknown object when detected; see also Fig. 4 for turning and driving around unknown object instead of driving into it; the claim does not require rotating in place and therefore turning would require at least partial rotation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 18, 20-21, 25 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Willgert (US 2015/0220086) in view of Einecke (US 2015/0128547).
As per claim 1, Willgert teaches an autonomous mower capable of automatically travelling and working in a working area, the autonomous mower comprising:
a housing (inner housing 52; outer housing 54);
a mowing module received in the housing and configured to perform predetermined mowing work (see at least para. 24 for cutting blade);
a traveling module configured to support the housing and drive the autonomous mower to travel within in the working area (see at least para. 22 for front wheels 56 and rear wheels 58 controlled by control circuitry 12);
an information acquisition device disposed on the housing and configured to acquire external environment information (sensors 60);
an energy module configured to provide energy for the autonomous mower (see at least para. 19 for batteries); and
a control module connected to and configured to control the mowing module, the traveling module, the information acquisition device, and the energy module, to enable automatic traveling and automatic working of the autonomous mower (control circuitry 12);
wherein:
the control module comprises an identification unit configured to receive the external environment information (processing circuity 210);
the identification unit analyses and determines, based on the external environment information, whether an abnormal object exists within a preset area (see at least para. 37-38 for determination of an unknown object on parcel 20; see at least para. 18 for parcel being a land lot with defined boundaries); and
the control module is configured to:
in response to determining that an abnormal object exists, send an alarm signal to an external device (see at least para. 38 and 51 for sending a message to a remote operator that an unknown object is detected);
Willgert teaches the mower may be remote controlled (see at least para. 16) but is not explicit regarding:
receive a control instruction transmitted from the external device; and
control the autonomous mower to rotate according to the control instruction, facilitating a user to see a region desired to be observed by the user.
However, Einecke teaches that the mower transmits images to a remote start device and receives remote control instruction from the remote smart device operated by a user to control movement of the mower and the camera (see at least para. 68-69; therefore the user may control the robot and thus the camera view to be directed towards a desired region if he/she wishes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the mower of Willgert with the features of Einecke because it provides a means to remotely operate the mower and view the environment without having to be within the vicinity of the mower.
As per claim 18, Willgert further teaches wherein the control module transmits the alarm signal to the external device through the wireless communication module (see at least para. 20 for control circuitry communicates wirelessly with electronic device of a remote operator; see at least para. 42 for wireless communication module provided by device interface of control circuity).
As per claim 20, Willgert further teaches an alarm module, wherein: the control module is configured to, in response to determining that the abnormal object exists, control the alarm module to transmit the alarm signal; and the alarm signal comprises at least one of a sound reminder message and a light reminder signal (see at least para. 38 and 51 for sounding a warning or alarm when an unknown object is detected; while Willgert is not explicit regarding a particular alarm module it is implied that some audio device is provided to produce the sound).
As per claim 21, Willgert further teaches wherein: the autonomous mower comprises a security patrol working mode; and the control module is configured to, in response to determining that the autonomous mower is in the security patrol working mode and the abnormal object existing, send the alarm signal to the external device (see at least para. 38 and 51 for sending a message to a remote operator that an unknown object is detected; the claim does not define what the security patrol working mode is other than the functions that are executed within the mode, therefore under broadest reasonable interpretation security patrol working mode is interpreted as the mower traveling along a route before encountering an object as described in para. 45).
As per claim 25, Willgert further teaches wherein the information acquisition device comprises an image acquisition device, and the identification unit determines whether an abnormal object exists in the working area based on image information acquired by the image acquisition device (see at least para. 23 for sensor 60 may be a camera; see also claim 11).
As per claim 29, Willgert further teaches wherein the preset area comprises a working area and a non-working area (see at least Fig. 4 wherein the non-working area are where objects 320 and 330 are located and the working area is everywhere else on the plat without objects).
Claim(s) 19 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Willgert (US 20150220086) in view of Einecke (US 2015/0128547) and further in view of Papaefstathiou (US 2012/0313779).
As per claim 19, Willgert is silent regarding, but Papaefstathiou teaches wherein the control module is configured to obtain another control instruction from the external device and control the autonomous mower to travel toward the abnormal object according to another control instruction, another control instruction being transmitted by the external device based on the alarm signal (see at least para. 49 for user directly navigates robot to investigate the origin of the unexpected condition when robot detects and alerts users of an unexpected obstacle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the mower of modified Willgert with the features of Papaefstathiou because it allows the operator to decide whether or not to further investigate the unknown object and if investigating the object then how to approach the object.
As per claim 26, Willgert is silent regarding, but Papaefstathiou teaches wherein the identification unit identifies whether an object is an abnormal object according to a size or contour of the object presented in the image information (see at least para. 59 for using detected size and shape of an object and comparing to objects with known size and shape to determine whether or not the object is known).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the mower of modified Willgert with the features of Papaefstathiou because it allows the robot to determine whether the object is known and no further action is required or the object is unknown and further response is required.
Claim(s) 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Willgert (US 20150220086) in view of Einecke (US 2015/0128547) and further in view of Choe (US 2011/0264305).
As per claim 22, modified Willgert is silent regarding a working mode selection button through which the user starts the security patrol working mode.
However, Choe teaches a working robot with a distinct working mode (cleaning mode) and security mode that is selectable on the user interface of a wireless terminal device by switching tabs (see at least Fig. 8 and 9 and para. 69).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the mower of modified Willgert with the features of Choe because it allows for the user to separate the working mode and the security mode of a robot to prioritize one over the other and allow the user to activate the modes remotely without having to be within vicinity of the robot.
As per claim 23, Willgert is silent wherein the security patrol working mode is started through the external device.
However, Choe teaches a working robot with a distinct working mode (cleaning mode) and security mode that is selectable on the user interface of a wireless terminal device by switching tabs (see at least Fig. 8 and 9 and para. 69).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the mower of modified Willgert with the features of Choe because it allows for the user to separate the working mode and the security mode of a robot to prioritize one over the other and allow the user to activate the modes remotely without having to be within vicinity of the robot.
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Willgert (US 20150220086) in view of Einecke (US 2015/0128547) and further in view of Farlow (US 2011/0288684).
As per claim 27, modified Willgert is silent regarding, however Farlow teaches wherein the identification unit comprises a face identification program configured to identify a face, determine that the identified face is a strange face, and determine that an abnormal object exists in the working area (see at least para. 113 for facial recognition used to validate users; therefore a user that is not validated due to an unrecognizable face would be considered an “abnormal object”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the mower of modified Willgert with the features of Farlow because it allows users to validate without requiring physical user input.
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Willgert (US 20150220086) in view of Einecke (US 2015/0128547) in view of Papaefstathiou (US 2012/0313779) and further in view of Li (US 5,684,531).
As per claim 28, modified Willgert is silent regarding wherein: the image acquisition device further comprises an illuminating lamp; and the control module is configured to, after receiving the control instruction, control the illuminating lamp to be turned on.
However, Li teaches a directional light source, activated by a remote user, positioned relative to the video camera of a system with a robotic device (see at least claim 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the mower of modified Willgert with the features of Li because it allows the operator to illuminate a target before capturing an image of said target.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 24 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ROBERT T NGUYEN/PRIMARY EXAMINER, Art Unit 3619