DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8, 17, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Akizuki et al (US PGPUB 2015/0137869).
Regarding claim 1, Figure 14 of Akizuki discloses mixer circuitry comprising:
a first mixer transistor configured to receive an oscillating signal [M3]
a transformer having a primary coil and a secondary coil, the secondary coil being coupled to the first mixer transistor [DR1]
an inductor directly coupled to a center tap of the secondary coil in the transformer [L1p]
Regarding claim 2, Figure 14 of Akizuki discloses a second mixer transistor configured to receive the oscillating signal, the secondary coil having a first terminal that is coupled to source terminals of the first and second mixer transistors [M4].
Regarding claim 3, Figure 14 of Akizuki discloses a third mixer transistor configured to receive the oscillating signal; and a fourth mixer transistor configured to receive the oscillating signal, the secondary coil having a second terminal that is coupled to source terminals of the third and fourth mixer transistors [M5 and M6].
Regarding claim 4, Figure 14 of Akizuki discloses wherein: the first mixer transistor has a drain terminal coupled to a first output terminal of the mixer circuitry; the second mixer transistor has a drain terminal coupled to a second output terminal of the mixer circuitry; the third mixer transistor has a drain terminal coupled to the second output terminal of the mixer circuitry; and the fourth mixer transistor has a drain terminal coupled to the first output terminal of the mixer circuitry [M3-6].
Regarding claim 8, Figure 14 of Akizuki discloses wherein inductor has a first terminal directly coupled to the center tap of the secondary coil and a second terminal coupled to a power supply line [L1p].
Regarding claim 17, Figure 14 of Akizuki discloses circuitry comprising:
an input port [RFIN]
an output stage configured to receive an oscillating signal [1g]
a transformer having a primary winding coupled to the input port and having a secondary winding coupled to the output stage [DR1]
a harmonic rejection circuit coupled to a center tap of the secondary winding [L1p]
Regarding claim 19, Figure 14 of Akizuki discloses wherein the output stage comprises: a first pair of mixing transistors coupled to a first terminal of the secondary winding; and a second pair of mixer transistors coupled to a second terminal of the secondary winding [M3-6].
Regarding claim 20, Figure 14 of Akizuki discloses wherein the harmonic rejection circuit comprises one or more passive components [L1p].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7, 10, 11, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 12-15 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TOMI SKIBINSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2842