Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s asserts on page 6 that both Johnson and Yokota fail to disclose, teach or suggest recognizing or monitoring the behavior of individuals in the vehicle environment.
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees in that claim 1 sets forth “recognize or identify one or more people other than the first vehicle driver in an environment of the first vehicle, or monitor the behavior of one or more people other than the first vehicle driver in said environment.” Due to the disjunctive nature of “or,” the second half of the above limitation referring to monitoring of behavior need not be present.
Applicant further asserts on page 7 with respect to claim 2, the references, including KR’669 fail to correlate a license plate with the identity of the operator to determine authorization.
The examiner respectfully disagrees in that it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., correlate a license plate with the identity of the operator to determine authorization) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Johnson (US Pat 11279348).
As per claim 1, Johnson discloses a monitoring tool in Fig 1 (100), implemented by a processor 110, col. 3, line 54, and memory configured to use one or more machine learning models (col. 3, line 55): infer a first vehicle driver behavior through a capture of information by one or more sensors of the vehicle (sensors S1, S2, col. 3, lines 37-41); determine whether the inferred behavior complies with one or more health, safety, and environment (HSE) policies (as broadly claimed, health and safety includes driver attentiveness and driver alertness (e.g. drowsy), see col. 4, line 51 - col. 5, line 14); recognize or identify one or more people other than the first vehicle driver in an environment of the first vehicle (see column 3, lines 47-51, an IR camera detects the presence of a child in the vehicle in case the child is accidentally left in the vehicle), or monitor the behavior of one or more people other than the first vehicle driver in said environment (considering the alternative language (disjunctive) of “or monitor…” this particular limitation is not needed in order to anticipate the claim); and generate a report that includes at least one of the inferred behavior, an indication of whether the inferred behavior complies with the one or more HSE policies, an HSE policy of the one or more HSE policies with which the inferred behavior violates, or a combination thereof, see col. 8, lines 6-24 and the sending of emergency messages (i.e. reports) to other vehicles nearby.
Claim 14 is rejected for reasoning, mutatis mutandis, as set forth in claim 1 above. Furthermore, the computer-readable medium is disclosed by Johnson at col. 3, line 55 (memory stores algorithms).
As per claim 15, the processor is further operable to control one or more components of the vehicle (See Johnson, control of speed, brakes, transmission, see col. 6, lines 4-21) in response to a determination that the behavior captured by the one or more images violates the HSE policy of the one or more HSE policies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson in view KR100725669B1, hereinafter referred to as KR’669. Note that the English translation of KR’669 is being referenced in the rejection, infra.
As per claim 2, Johnson further sets forth a first vehicle (Johnson, the vehicle the current driver being monitored by the sensors and machine learning algorithm is driving) and a second vehicle (vehicle to vehicle (V2V) communication, see col. 8, line 8 of Johnson). Johnson further discloses that unauthorized usage of the vehicle is detected by facial recognition of the driver and compared to a register of authorized users, see col. 8, lines 27-47.
Johnson fails to disclose wherein the monitoring tool is further configured to: identify a license plate of the second vehicle and compare the license plate of the second vehicle to data of a security database to verify whether the license plate of the second vehicle indicates an authorized second vehicle.
However, in the same field of endeavor (vehicle safety using cameras and image recognition), KR’669 discloses in the “Background of the Invention” portion that a license plate of a second vehicle (target vehicle) is photographed by a first vehicle (intercepting vehicle). Image recognition then identifies the license plate by comparing to a database storing illegal license plates.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the vehicular safety system of Johnson with the ability to identify the license plate of surrounding vehicles. The motivation being that one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it beneficial to use the pre-existing cameras of Johnson to further identify the license plates of surrounding cars so as to alert the driver to the potential of a stolen vehicle. The driver can then safely distance themselves from the stolen vehicle while alerting law enforcement.
As per claim 3, Johnson further identifies at least one of a behavior of the driver of the first vehicle or a behavior of the second vehicle (identifies behaviors of the driver, i.e. alertness and attentiveness, see col. 4, lines 52 and 66).
As per claim 4, Johnson further discloses the monitoring tool is further configured to disable the first vehicle in response to a determination that the identity of the driver is not associated with the first vehicle (see Johnson, col. 8, lines 45-47).
As per claim 5, Johnson fails to disclose wherein the monitoring tool is further configured to adjust a field of view of one or more image sensors.
However, KR’669 disclose under the Brief Description of the Drawings that camera control units 11 and 21 control the camera lens to obtain an optimal image of a license plate. The camera is able to be zoomed on the plate, which inherently changes the field of view of the camera.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the cameras of Johnson with the enhanced ability to zoom onto a target image (driver face or license plate) as taught by KR’669. The rationale being that one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious as doing so would provide optimum images of the subject being photographed, thus permitting enhanced accuracy of the image recognition system.
Claim 6 is rejected for reasoning, mutatis mutandis, as to claim 2 above.
Claim 7, is rejected for reasoning, mutatis mutandis, as to claim 4 above.
Claims 8-13, are rejected for reasoning, mutatis mutandis, as to claims 2 and 5 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. CN110290945A and EP3961483A1 both disclose the general state of the art concerning the detection of occupants inside the interior of a vehicle.
DAVID OMETZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2672
/DAVID OMETZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2672