Claim Interpretation
Claim 29 is given its broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) is invoked.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on November 25, 2025, has been entered. Claims 1-30 are presently pending with claims 1, 17, 29, and 30 being independent. Claims 2-16, and 18-28 are original claims. Claims 1, 17, 29, and 30 are currently amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 10-15, filed November 25, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 17, 29, and 30 under 35 U.S.C. §102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of 35 U.S.C. §103. Refer to updated rejection of claims 1-3, 5-10, 13, 16-19, 21-26, and 28-30 below in view of amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-10, 16-17, 21-26, and 29-30 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elkotby et al. (US 2023/0057994 A1; hereinafter Elkotby) in view of Butt et al. (US 2024/0128798 A1; hereinafter Butt ‘8798).
Regarding claim 1, Elkotby teaches an apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (read as wireless transmit/receive units (WTRUs)), comprising (Fig. 1A, elements 102 UE; ¶ [0043] The communications system may include wireless transmit/receive units (WTRUs).):
at least one processor (Fig. 1B, element 118 Processor; ¶ [0056] The WTRU may include a processor.); and
memory coupled with the at least one processor (Fig. 1B, element 130 Non-Removable Memory; ¶ [0056] WTRU may include non-removeable memory.; ¶ [0061] The processor may access information from, and store data in, any type of suitable memory, such as non-removeable memory.),
the memory storing instructions executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to (¶ [0061] The processor may access information from, and store data in, any type of suitable memory, such as non-removeable memory.; ¶ [0342] The methods described herein may be implemented in a computer program, software, or firmware incorporated in a computer readable medium of execution by a computer or processor. A processor in association with software may be used to implement a WTRU.; ¶ [0343] Operations or instructions may be performed by the various CPUs and memories. Such acts and operations or instructions may be referred to as being “executed,” “computer executed” or “CPU executed”.):
identify a conflict resolution scheme for resolving a scheduling conflict between the first occasion (read as scheduled information) and the second occasion (read as energy transfer resources) based at least in part on the first occasion at least partially overlapping with the second occasion or a time gap between the first occasion and the second occasion failing to satisfy a threshold time gap (¶ [0130] Common signaling channels should not be scheduled at the same time and must lie in the gaps between default EH transmissions.; ¶ [0262] The WTRU receives information transfer scheduling information.; ¶ [0263] Power splitting between information and energy receivers when scheduled information and energy transfer resources overlap in both time and frequency.; ¶ [0264] Frequency band (e.g., one or more resource blocks) filtering when scheduled information and energy transfer resources overlap entirely/mostly in time but not frequency.); and
communicate (read as reports), in accordance with the conflict resolution scheme (read as power splitting), one of a signal with the EH-capable device during the second occasion or a report associated with the radio resource management operation (read as report measurement of L1-RSRP) (¶ [0272] The WTRU reports L1-RSRP measurements, EH PI/FOM, and corresponding parameters (e.g., power splitting or time switching ratio or band filtering configuration) for each beam pair in the configured measurement report.; ¶ [0317] The WTRU might determine that for a specific transmit/receive beam pair, current scheduled resources for information transfer (IT) overlaps with default EH signaling resources for that beam in both time and frequency. Therefore, the WTRU determines that power splitting with a specific ratio between the information and energy receivers is optimal for energy transfer (ET) at a specific IT quality, e.g., BLER. The WTRU then utilizes a configured measurement report to feedback L1-RSRP measurements.).
Elkotby does not explicitly teach receive, from a network entity, control signaling indicating that a first occasion is scheduled for a radio resource management operation and that a second occasion (read as time period) is scheduled for communication with an energy harvesting (EH)-capable device that is separate from the UE.
In analogous art, Butt ‘8798 teaches receive, from a network entity, control signaling indicating that a first occasion (read as uplink time and/or downlink time) is scheduled for a radio resource management operation and that a second occasion (read as time period) is scheduled for communication (read as data transmission) with an energy harvesting (EH)-capable device (read as an EH UE) that is separate from the UE (read as a reader node) (Fig. 1, element 110 RAN node, elements 121, 131, 141 reader nodes, elements 122, 132, 142, 143, 144 EH UE devices; Fig. 2, element 2000 RAN node and/or IoT reader node, which may correspond to the RAN node 110 and/or reader nodes 121A, 121B, 131, 141, of Fig. 1; ¶ [0068] The reader nodes may be a mobile phone or a smartphone.; ¶ [0085] The node 2000 allocates each UE and/or other node with their own uplink time and/or downlink time.; ¶ [0087] The node 2000 may transmit scheduling information to other nodes located with the cell servicing area of the node 2000, which may configure the other nodes. The node 2000 may transmit control messages to the UE device using downlink control information (DCI) or radio resource control (RRC) signaling.; ¶ [0109] The RAN node may transmit an association response message to the associated reader nodes, which may further include the attachment timer information.; ¶ [0110] The attachment timer information may include a configured (and/or set, desired, required, etc.) timer period (and/or a set, configured, desired, and/or required time period) during which the EH UE devices may transmit data to the associated reader node(s).; ¶ [0112] The reader nodes may begin monitoring for data transmission from the EH UE devices using the desired timer period T.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the scheduling taught by Butt ‘8798 with the conflict resolution scheme taught by Elkotby. One would have been motivated to do so in order improve reliability and reduce communication delays by resolving conflicts between overlapping occasion so that the UE can select an appropriate occasion and maintain efficient operation (Butt: ¶¶ [0001]-[0004]).
Regarding claim 5, Elkotby teaches wherein the instructions to communicate are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to: communicate, in accordance with the conflict resolution scheme, the signal based at least in part on a prior radio resource management measurement satisfying a threshold (¶ [0225] The WTRU receives a poll message with backscattering configuration (e.g., collision or collision-free resource access criteria). The WTRU uses the backscattering configurations to determine when and at what frequencies it may declare its presence.; ¶ [0237] The WTRU utilizes the received beam detection configuration to determine detectable beam IDs where detectability might be determined based on beam-specific received reference signal strength greater than a threshold. The WTRU proceeds with presence declaration procedure to request optimized dynamic EH signaling.).
Regarding claim 6, Elkotby teaches wherein the instructions to communicate are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to: communicate, in accordance with the conflict resolution scheme, the report based at least in part on a prior radio resource management measurement (read as joint quality metric) failing to satisfy a threshold (¶ [0312] On the condition that the joint quality metric falls below a threshold, transmitting a measurement report including per transmit beam joint performance metrics.).
Regarding claim 7, Elkotby teaches wherein the instructions to communicate are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to: communicate, in accordance with the conflict resolution scheme, one of the report or the signal based at least in part on one or more previous (read as historical) conflict resolutions (¶ [0227] The semi-static default EH signal configuration may be optimized by the BS to provide efficient energy harvesting for the served WTRUs based on the historical traffic and scheduling statistics of transmitted information signals.).
Regarding claim 8, Elkotby teaches wherein the instructions to identify the conflict resolution scheme are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to: receive, from the network entity (read as BS), second control signaling indicating to communicate the report to the network entity or the signal with the EH-capable device during the second occasion (read as time duration), wherein one of the report or the signal is communicated in accordance with the second control signaling (¶ [0123] Common signal reception ON duration TON. Common signaling channels transmissions may be considered periodic.; ¶ [0178] The BS needs then to signal the selected configuration parameters to the EH devices. The BS’s EH signaling information may be conveyed using the following option.; ¶ [0187] The time duration or number of OFDM symbols/slots/subframes/…etc. associated with each hop in sub-band hopping approaches.; ¶ [0253] The WTRU decodes/detects the control signal and determines the configuration of the optimized EH signal, e.g., a sub-band hopping pattern and a hop duration.; Note: MPEP 2143.03: When a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art. See, e.g., Fresenius USA, Inc. v. Baxter Int’l, Inc., 582 F.3d 1288, 92 USPQ2d 1163, 1171 (Fed. Cir. 2009)).
Regarding claim 9, Elkotby teaches wherein the instructions to communicate are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to: communicate, in accordance with the conflict resolution scheme, the report based at least in part on one or more repetitions being scheduled for communicating the signal with the EH-capable device (¶ [0123] Common signaling channels’ transmissions may be considered periodic. The period between beginnings of two consecutive ON durations.; ¶ [0178] The BS signaling information might contain:; ¶ [0189] The number of times a sub-band hopping pattern is expected to be repeated for a given transmission.; The WTRU reports the L1-RSRP measurements, EH PI/FOM, and corresponding parameters in the configured measurement report.; ¶ [0317] The WTRU then utilizes a configured measurement report to feedback corresponding EH PI metrics.).
Regarding claim 10, Elkotby teaches wherein the instructions to communicate are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to: communicate, in accordance with the conflict resolution scheme, the report based at least in part on a radio link failure (read as FOM of its serving beam is above/below a certain threshold) for the UE or a cell change for the UE (¶ [0254] A WTRU initiates a (sub-)beam (re-)selection procedure periodically or detects that the FOM of its serving beam is above/below a certain threshold. The WTRU according to the criteria will select a new (sub-)beam or choose to retain the current serving one.).
Regarding claim 16, Elkotby teaches wherein the report comprises a radio resource management measurement performed during the first occasion or is communicated during the first occasion and comprises a radio resource management measurement performed during a third occasion (read last N>1 measurement taken before the first occasion) before the first occasion (¶ [0317] The WTRU utilizes a configured measurement report to feedback L1-RSRP measurements for each beam pair or a subset of beam pairs depending on report configuration.; ¶ [0325[ The WTRU may be configured to report the last N wideband and/or sub-band beam pair measurements.; ¶ [0328] The WTRU may be configured to report:, ¶ [0329] The last N measurements per beam pair L1-RSRP measurements.).
Regarding claim 17, Elkotby teaches a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (read as wireless transmit/receive units (WTRUs)), comprising (Fig. 1A, elements 102 UE; ¶ [0043] The communications system may include wireless transmit/receive units (WTRUs).):
identifying a conflict resolution scheme for resolving a scheduling conflict between the first occasion (read as scheduled information) and the second occasion (read as energy transfer resources) based at least in part on the first occasion at least partially overlapping with the second occasion or a time gap between the first occasion and the second occasion failing to satisfy a threshold time gap (¶ [0130] Common signaling channels should not be scheduled at the same time and must lie in the gaps between default EH transmissions.; ¶ [0262] The WTRU receives information transfer scheduling information.; ¶ [0263] Power splitting between information and energy receivers when scheduled information and energy transfer resources overlap in both time and frequency.; ¶ [0264] Frequency band (e.g., one or more resource blocks) filtering when scheduled information and energy transfer resources overlap entirely/mostly in time but not frequency.); and
communicating (read as reports), in accordance with the conflict resolution scheme (read as power splitting), one of a signal with the EH-capable device during the second occasion or a report associated with the radio resource management operation (read as report measurement of L1-RSRP) (¶ [0272] The WTRU reports L1-RSRP measurements, EH PI/FOM, and corresponding parameters (e.g., power splitting or time switching ratio or band filtering configuration) for each beam pair in the configured measurement report.; ¶ [0317] The WTRU might determine that for a specific transmit/receive beam pair, current scheduled resources for information transfer (IT) overlaps with default EH signaling resources for that beam in both time and frequency. Therefore, the WTRU determines that power splitting with a specific ratio between the information and energy receivers is optimal for energy transfer (ET) at a specific IT quality, e.g., BLER. The WTRU then utilizes a configured measurement report to feedback L1-RSRP measurements.).
Elkotby does not explicitly teach receiving, from a network entity, control signaling indicating that a first occasion is scheduled for a radio resource management operation and that a second occasion (read as time period) is scheduled for communication with an energy harvesting (EH)-capable device that is separate from the UE.
In analogous art, Butt ‘8798 teaches receiving, from a network entity, control signaling indicating that a first occasion (read as uplink time and/or downlink time) is scheduled for a radio resource management operation and that a second occasion (read as time period) is scheduled for communication (read as data transmission) with an energy harvesting (EH)-capable device (read as an EH UE) that is separate from the UE (read as a reader node) (Fig. 1, element 110 RAN node, elements 121, 131, 141 reader nodes, elements 122, 132, 142, 143, 144 EH UE devices; Fig. 2, element 2000 RAN node and/or IoT reader node, which may correspond to the RAN node 110 and/or reader nodes 121A, 121B, 131, 141, of Fig. 1; ¶ [0068] The reader nodes may be a mobile phone or a smartphone.; ¶ [0085] The node 2000 allocates each UE and/or other node with their own uplink time and/or downlink time.; ¶ [0087] The node 2000 may transmit scheduling information to other nodes located with the cell servicing area of the node 2000, which may configure the other nodes. The node 2000 may transmit control messages to the UE device using downlink control information (DCI) or radio resource control (RRC) signaling.; ¶ [0109] The RAN node may transmit an association response message to the associated reader nodes, which may further include the attachment timer information.; ¶ [0110] The attachment timer information may include a configured (and/or set, desired, required, etc.) timer period (and/or a set, configured, desired, and/or required time period) during which the EH UE devices may transmit data to the associated reader node(s).; ¶ [0112] The reader nodes may begin monitoring for data transmission from the EH UE devices using the desired timer period T.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the scheduling taught by Butt ‘8798 with the conflict resolution scheme taught by Elkotby. One would have been motivated to do so in order improve reliability and reduce communication delays by resolving conflicts between overlapping occasion so that the UE can select an appropriate occasion and maintain efficient operation (Butt: ¶¶ [0001]-[0004]).
Regarding claim 21, Elkotby teaches wherein the communicating further comprises: communicating, in accordance with the conflict resolution scheme, the signal based at least in part on a prior radio resource management measurement satisfying a threshold (¶ [0225] The WTRU receives a poll message with backscattering configuration (e.g., collision or collision-free resource access criteria). The WTRU uses the backscattering configurations to determine when and at what frequencies it may declare its presence.; ¶ [0237] The WTRU utilizes the received beam detection configuration to determine detectable beam IDs where detectability might be determined based on beam-specific received reference signal strength greater than a threshold. The WTRU proceeds with presence declaration procedure to request optimized dynamic EH signaling.).
Regarding claim 22, Elkotby teaches wherein the communicating further comprises: communicating, in accordance with the conflict resolution scheme, the report based at least in part on a prior radio resource management measurement (read as joint quality metric) failing to satisfy a threshold (¶ [0312] On the condition that the joint quality metric falls below a threshold, transmitting a measurement report including per transmit beam joint performance metrics.).
Regarding claim 23, Elkotby teaches wherein the communicating further comprises: communicating, in accordance with the conflict resolution scheme, one of the report or the signal based at least in part on one or more previous (read as historical) conflict resolutions (¶ [0227] The semi-static default EH signal configuration may be optimized by the BS to provide efficient energy harvesting for the served WTRUs based on the historical traffic and scheduling statistics of transmitted information signals.).
Regarding claim 24, Elkotby teaches wherein identifying the conflict resolution scheme further comprises: receiving, from the network entity, second control signaling indicating to communicate the report to the network entity or the signal with the EH-capable device during the second occasion, wherein one of the report or the signal is communicated in accordance with the second control signaling (¶ [0123] Common signal reception ON duration TON. Common signaling channels transmissions may be considered periodic.; ¶ [0178] The BS needs then to signal the selected configuration parameters to the EH devices. The BS’s EH signaling information may be conveyed using the following option.; ¶ [0187] The time duration or number of OFDM symbols/slots/subframes/…etc. associated with each hop in sub-band hopping approaches.; ¶ [0253] The WTRU decodes/detects the control signal and determines the configuration of the optimized EH signal, e.g., a sub-band hopping pattern and a hop duration.; Note: MPEP 2143.03: When a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art. See, e.g., Fresenius USA, Inc. v. Baxter Int’l, Inc., 582 F.3d 1288, 92 USPQ2d 1163, 1171 (Fed. Cir. 2009)).
Regarding claim 25, Elkotby teaches wherein the communicating further comprises: communicating, in accordance with the conflict resolution scheme, the report based at least in part on one or more repetitions being scheduled for communicating the signal with the EH-capable device (¶ [0123] Common signaling channels’ transmissions may be considered periodic. The period between beginnings of two consecutive ON durations.; ¶ [0178] The BS signaling information might contain:; ¶ [0189] The number of times a sub-band hopping pattern is expected to be repeated for a given transmission.; The WTRU reports the L1-RSRP measurements, EH PI/FOM, and corresponding parameters in the configured measurement report.; ¶ [0317] The WTRU then utilizes a configured measurement report to feedback corresponding EH PI metrics.).
Regarding claim 26, Elkotby teaches wherein the communicating further comprises: communicating, in accordance with the conflict resolution scheme, the report based at least in part on a radio link failure (read as FOM of its serving beam is above/below a certain threshold) for the UE or a cell change for the UE (¶ [0254] A WTRU initiates a (sub-)beam (re-)selection procedure periodically or detects that the FOM of its serving beam is above/below a certain threshold. The WTRU according to the criteria will select a new (sub-)beam or choose to retain the current serving one.).
Regarding claim 29, Elkotby teaches an apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (read as wireless transmit/receive units (WTRUs)), comprising (Fig. 1A, elements 102 UE; ¶ [0043] The communications system may include wireless transmit/receive units (WTRUs).):
means for identifying a conflict resolution scheme for resolving a scheduling conflict between the first occasion (read as scheduled information) and the second occasion (read as energy transfer resources) based at least in part on the first occasion at least partially overlapping with the second occasion or a time gap between the first occasion and the second occasion failing to satisfy a threshold time gap (¶ [0130] Common signaling channels should not be scheduled at the same time and must lie in the gaps between default EH transmissions.; ¶ [0262] The WTRU receives information transfer scheduling information.; ¶ [0263] Power splitting between information and energy receivers when scheduled information and energy transfer resources overlap in both time and frequency.; ¶ [0264] Frequency band (e.g., one or more resource blocks) filtering when scheduled information and energy transfer resources overlap entirely/mostly in time but not frequency.); and
means for communicating (read as reports), in accordance with the conflict resolution scheme (read as power splitting), one of a signal with the EH-capable device during the second occasion or a report associated with the radio resource management operation (read as report measurement of L1-RSRP) (¶ [0272] The WTRU reports L1-RSRP measurements, EH PI/FOM, and corresponding parameters (e.g., power splitting or time switching ratio or band filtering configuration) for each beam pair in the configured measurement report.; ¶ [0317] The WTRU might determine that for a specific transmit/receive beam pair, current scheduled resources for information transfer (IT) overlaps with default EH signaling resources for that beam in both time and frequency. Therefore, the WTRU determines that power splitting with a specific ratio between the information and energy receivers is optimal for energy transfer (ET) at a specific IT quality, e.g., BLER. The WTRU then utilizes a configured measurement report to feedback L1-RSRP measurements.).
Elkotby does not explicitly teach means for receiving, from a network entity, control signaling indicating that a first occasion is scheduled for a radio resource management operation and that a second occasion (read as time period) is scheduled for communication with an energy harvesting (EH)-capable device that is separate from the UE.
In analogous art, Butt ‘8798 teaches means for receiving, from a network entity, control signaling indicating that a first occasion (read as uplink time and/or downlink time) is scheduled for a radio resource management operation and that a second occasion (read as time period) is scheduled for communication (read as data transmission) with an energy harvesting (EH)-capable device (read as an EH UE) that is separate from the UE (read as a reader node) (Fig. 1, element 110 RAN node, elements 121, 131, 141 reader nodes, elements 122, 132, 142, 143, 144 EH UE devices; Fig. 2, element 2000 RAN node and/or IoT reader node, which may correspond to the RAN node 110 and/or reader nodes 121A, 121B, 131, 141, of Fig. 1; ¶ [0068] The reader nodes may be a mobile phone or a smartphone.; ¶ [0085] The node 2000 allocates each UE and/or other node with their own uplink time and/or downlink time.; ¶ [0087] The node 2000 may transmit scheduling information to other nodes located with the cell servicing area of the node 2000, which may configure the other nodes. The node 2000 may transmit control messages to the UE device using downlink control information (DCI) or radio resource control (RRC) signaling.; ¶ [0109] The RAN node may transmit an association response message to the associated reader nodes, which may further include the attachment timer information.; ¶ [0110] The attachment timer information may include a configured (and/or set, desired, required, etc.) timer period (and/or a set, configured, desired, and/or required time period) during which the EH UE devices may transmit data to the associated reader node(s).; ¶ [0112] The reader nodes may begin monitoring for data transmission from the EH UE devices using the desired timer period T.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the scheduling taught by Butt ‘8798 with the conflict resolution scheme taught by Elkotby. One would have been motivated to do so in order improve reliability and reduce communication delays by resolving conflicts between overlapping occasion so that the UE can select an appropriate occasion and maintain efficient operation (Butt: ¶¶ [0001]-[0004]).
Regarding claim 30, Elkotby teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code (read as program instructions) for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (read as wireless transmit/receive units (WTRUs)) (Fig. 1A, elements 102 UE; ¶ [0043] The communications system may include wireless transmit/receive units (WTRUs).; ¶ [0341] A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing program instructions.),
the code comprising instructions executable by at least one processor to (¶ [0342] Execution by a computer or processor.):
identify a conflict resolution scheme for resolving a scheduling conflict between the first occasion (read as scheduled information) and the second occasion (read as energy transfer resources) based at least in part on the first occasion at least partially overlapping with the second occasion or a time gap between the first occasion and the second occasion failing to satisfy a threshold time gap (¶ [0130] Common signaling channels should not be scheduled at the same time and must lie in the gaps between default EH transmissions.; ¶ [0262] The WTRU receives information transfer scheduling information.; ¶ [0263] Power splitting between information and energy receivers when scheduled information and energy transfer resources overlap in both time and frequency.; ¶ [0264] Frequency band (e.g., one or more resource blocks) filtering when scheduled information and energy transfer resources overlap entirely/mostly in time but not frequency.); and
communicate (read as reports), in accordance with the conflict resolution scheme (read as power splitting), one of a signal with the EH-capable device during the second occasion or a report associated with the radio resource management operation (read as report measurement of L1-RSRP) (¶ [0272] The WTRU reports L1-RSRP measurements, EH PI/FOM, and corresponding parameters (e.g., power splitting or time switching ratio or band filtering configuration) for each beam pair in the configured measurement report.; ¶ [0317] The WTRU might determine that for a specific transmit/receive beam pair, current scheduled resources for information transfer (IT) overlaps with default EH signaling resources for that beam in both time and frequency. Therefore, the WTRU determines that power splitting with a specific ratio between the information and energy receivers is optimal for energy transfer (ET) at a specific IT quality, e.g., BLER. The WTRU then utilizes a configured measurement report to feedback L1-RSRP measurements.).
Elkotby does not explicitly teach receive, from a network entity, control signaling indicating that a first occasion is scheduled for a radio resource management operation and that a second occasion (read as time period) is scheduled for communication with an energy harvesting (EH)-capable device that is separate from the UE.
In analogous art, Butt ‘8798 teaches receive, from a network entity, control signaling indicating that a first occasion (read as uplink time and/or downlink time) is scheduled for a radio resource management operation and that a second occasion (read as time period) is scheduled for communication (read as data transmission) with an energy harvesting (EH)-capable device (read as an EH UE) that is separate from the UE (read as a reader node) (Fig. 1, element 110 RAN node, elements 121, 131, 141 reader nodes, elements 122, 132, 142, 143, 144 EH UE devices; Fig. 2, element 2000 RAN node and/or IoT reader node, which may correspond to the RAN node 110 and/or reader nodes 121A, 121B, 131, 141, of Fig. 1; ¶ [0068] The reader nodes may be a mobile phone or a smartphone.; ¶ [0085] The node 2000 allocates each UE and/or other node with their own uplink time and/or downlink time.; ¶ [0087] The node 2000 may transmit scheduling information to other nodes located with the cell servicing area of the node 2000, which may configure the other nodes. The node 2000 may transmit control messages to the UE device using downlink control information (DCI) or radio resource control (RRC) signaling.; ¶ [0109] The RAN node may transmit an association response message to the associated reader nodes, which may further include the attachment timer information.; ¶ [0110] The attachment timer information may include a configured (and/or set, desired, required, etc.) timer period (and/or a set, configured, desired, and/or required time period) during which the EH UE devices may transmit data to the associated reader node(s).; ¶ [0112] The reader nodes may begin monitoring for data transmission from the EH UE devices using the desired timer period T.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the scheduling taught by Butt ‘8798 with the conflict resolution scheme taught by Elkotby. One would have been motivated to do so in order improve reliability and reduce communication delays by resolving conflicts between overlapping occasion so that the UE can select an appropriate occasion and maintain efficient operation (Butt: ¶¶ [0001]-[0004]).
Claims 2 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elkotby in view of Butt ‘8798 further in view of Butt et al. (US 2024/0072572 A1; hereinafter Butt).
Regarding claim 2, Elkotby and Butt ‘8798 do not explicitly teach wherein the instructions to communicate are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to: communicate, in accordance with the conflict resolution scheme, the signal based at least in part on a first priority associated with a communication session with the EH-capable device being higher than a second priority of the radio resource management operation.
In analogous art, Butt teaches wherein the instructions to communicate are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to: communicate (read as perform transmission), in accordance with the conflict resolution scheme (read as based on SP metric), the signal (read as transmission) based at least in part on a first priority associated with a communication session with the EH-capable device being higher (read as priority 1) than a second priority of the radio resource management operation (¶ [0085] Based on the reported energy harvesting capability, the gNB may determine the scheduling priority.; ¶ [0086] The gNB may determine the one or more scheduling grants for the UE based on the scheduling priority (SP) metric.; ¶ [0087] The scheduling priority (SP) metric.; ¶ [0088] The SP may be determined based on the amount of energy harvested instantaneously as compared to average energy. The energy harvesting UE must be used (may be considered as priority 1) because there is no guarantee about amount of energy in the future.; ¶ [0092] The energy harvesting UE may perform the data transmission using the at least one uplink scheduling grant.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine communicating based on priority taught by Butt with the scheduling taught by Butt ‘8798 and the conflict resolution scheme taught by Elkotby. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve system efficiency and reliability by ensuring that energy-harvesting UEs are scheduled when sufficient energy is available and using Butt’s prioritization to decide which communication takes precedence when overlap of occasions occurs (Butt: ¶¶ [0003-0010]).
Regarding claim 18, Elkotby and Butt ‘8798 do not explicitly teach wherein the communicating further comprises: communicating, in accordance with the conflict resolution scheme, the signal based at least in part on a first priority associated with a communication session with the EH-capable device being higher than a second priority of the radio resource management operation.
In analogous art, Butt teaches wherein the communicating further comprises: communicating (read as perform transmission), in accordance with the conflict resolution scheme (read as based on SP metric), the signal (read as transmission) based at least in part on a first priority associated with a communication session with the EH-capable device being higher (read as priority 1) than a second priority of the radio resource management operation (¶ [0085] Based on the reported energy harvesting capability, the gNB may determine the scheduling priority.; ¶ [0086] The gNB may determine the one or more scheduling grants for the UE based on the scheduling priority (SP) metric.; ¶ [0087] The scheduling priority (SP) metric.; ¶ [0088] The SP may be determined based on the amount of energy harvested instantaneously as compared to average energy. The energy harvesting UE must be used (may be considered as priority 1) because there is no guarantee about amount of energy in the future.; ¶ [0092] The energy harvesting UE may perform the data transmission using the at least one uplink scheduling grant.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine communicating based on priority taught by Butt with the scheduling taught by Butt ‘8798 and the conflict resolution scheme taught by Elkotby. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve system efficiency and reliability by ensuring that energy-harvesting UEs are scheduled when sufficient energy is available and using Butt’s prioritization to decide which communication takes precedence when overlap of occasions occurs (Butt: ¶¶ [0003-0010]).
Claims 3 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elkotby in view of Butt ‘8798 further in view of Hoglund et al. (WO 2024/091151 A1; hereinafter Hoglund).
Regarding claim 3, Elkotby and Butt ‘8798 do not explicitly teach wherein the instructions to communicate are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to: communicate, in accordance with the conflict resolution scheme, the signal based at least in part on a quality of service associated with a communication session with the EH-capable device.
In analogous art, Hoglund teaches wherein the instructions to communicate are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to: communicate, in accordance with the conflict resolution scheme, the signal based at least in part on a quality of service associated with a communication session with the EH-capable device (page 12, lines 14-18, The UE can be a mobile device, Internet of Things (IOT) device, Zero Energy (ZE) device or low energy device that can employ energy harvesting.; page 18, lines 3-5, Data transmissions to the UE, based on the current estimated energy/power available to the UE, setting QoS or other parameters associated with the UE based on energy harvesting information.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine communicating a signal based on quality of service (QoS) taught by Hoglund with the scheduling taught by Butt ‘8798 and the conflict resolution scheme taught by Elkotby. One would have been motivated to do so in order to deliver higher-priority traffic on time and reduce interference caused when occasions overlap by utilizing QoS priority to allow lower QoS to be skipped or rescheduled when two occasions overlap (Hoglund: pages 2, lines 28-33; and page 3, lines 1-20).
Regarding claim 19, Elkotby and Butt ‘8798 do not explicitly teach wherein the communicating further comprises: communicating, in accordance with the conflict resolution scheme, the signal based at least in part on a quality of service associated with a communication session with the EH-capable device.
In analogous art, Hoglund teaches wherein the communicating further comprises: communicating, in accordance with the conflict resolution scheme, the signal based at least in part on a quality of service associated with a communication session with the EH-capable device (page 12, lines 14-18, The UE can be a mobile device, Internet of Things (IOT) device, Zero Energy (ZE) device or low energy device that can employ energy harvesting.; page 18, lines 3-5, Data transmissions to the UE, based on the current estimated energy/power available to the UE, setting QoS or other parameters associated with the UE based on energy harvesting information.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine communicating a signal based on quality of service (QoS) taught by Hoglund with the scheduling taught by Butt ‘8798 and the conflict resolution scheme taught by Elkotby. One would have been motivated to do so in order to deliver higher-priority traffic on time and reduce interference caused when occasions overlap by utilizing QoS priority to allow lower QoS to be skipped or rescheduled when two occasions overlap (Hoglund: pages 2, lines 28-33; and page 3, lines 1-20).
Claims 13 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elkotby in view of Butt ‘8798 further in view of Yi et al. (US 2021/0105126 A1; hereinafter Yi).
Regarding claim 13, Elkotby and Butt ‘8798 do not explicitly teach wherein the instructions to communicate are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to: communicate, in accordance with the conflict resolution scheme, the signal based at least in part on one or more repetitions being scheduled for the radio resource management operation.
In analogous art, Yi teaches wherein the instructions to communicate are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to: communicate, in accordance with the conflict resolution scheme, the signal based at least in part on one or more repetitions being scheduled for the radio resource management operation (read as CSI measurement report) (¶ [0137] The CSI-RS resource may be associated with a periodicity. The base station may selectively activate and/or deactivate a CSI-RS resource.; ¶ [0138] The base station may configure the wireless device to provide CSI reports periodically. The wireless device may be configured with timing and/or periodicity of a plurality of CSI reports.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the repetitions scheduled for RRM operation taught by Yi with the scheduling taught by Butt ‘8798 and the conflict resolution scheme taught by Elkotby. One would have been motivated to do so in order to increase reliability and reduce signaling overhead by utilizing multiple measurements for a more accurate assessment and scheduling the repetition so it doesn’t conflict with other occasions (Yi: ¶ [0004]).
Regarding claim 28, Elkotby and Butt ‘8798 do not explicitly teach wherein the communicating further comprises: communicating, in accordance with the conflict resolution scheme, the signal based at least in part on one or more repetitions being scheduled for the radio resource management operation.
In analogous art, Yi teaches wherein the instructions to communicate are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to: communicate, in accordance with the conflict resolution scheme, the signal based at least in part on one or more repetitions being scheduled for the radio resource management operation (read as CSI measurement report) (¶ [0137] The CSI-RS resource may be associated with a periodicity. The base station may selectively activate and/or deactivate a CSI-RS resource.; ¶ [0138] The base station may configure the wireless device to provide CSI reports periodically. The wireless device may be configured with timing and/or periodicity of a plurality of CSI reports.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the repetitions scheduled for RRM operation taught by Yi with the scheduling taught by Butt ‘8798 and the conflict resolution scheme taught by Elkotby. One would have been motivated to do so in order to increase reliability and reduce signaling overhead by utilizing multiple measurements for a more accurate assessment and scheduling the repetition so it doesn’t conflict with other occasions (Yi: ¶ [0004]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 11-12, 14-15, 20, and 27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chowdhury et al. (US 2020/0403459 A1) discloses “Distributed Wireless Charging System and Method”
Mahalingam et al. (US 2024/0106532 A1) discloses “Backscatter Communications”
Xu et al. (US 2024/0414800 A1) discloses “Communication Method, Terminal Device, Network Device, Chip, and Storage Medium”
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.M.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464