DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office action is in response to amendment filed 9/24/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zulch, Ill et al. (US 2016/0344734 A1, hereinafter Zulch) in view of Nair et al. (US 2002/0032006 A1, hereinafter Nair).
Regarding claim 1, Zulch discloses a system (figure 2), comprising: a communications management system coupled to a vehicle (fig 2 PED 202); and an Aircraft Communications, Addressing, and Reporting System (ACARS) over Internet Protocol (AolP) gateway server coupled to the communications management system on the vehicle (fig 2 airborne server 222 [0021] Communication links 238 includes cellular communication links, broadband SATCOM links, ACARS links (such as VHF, traditional aeronautical SATCOM, and HF), WiFi, a wired link IF on the ground, and the like), wherein the AolP gateway server comprises at least one processor ([0020] airborne server 222 provides access to avionic operational data 224 and controls the transmission of information to other devices on aircraft 220), wherein the communications management system is configured to receive or generate the downlink message ([0021] PED 202 includes a processing unit 104 that processes the received avionic operational data 224 during the execution of avionic operational data communications application 114. In at least one exemplary implementation, the execution of avionic operational data communications application 114 produces data intended for transmission to a ground peer application 230 as part of a downlink), and to send the downlink message in the first message format to the AolP gateway server ([0021] PED 202 transmits the produced data to airborne server 222 over wireless connection 234), wherein the AolP gateway server is configured to send the downlink message to the at least one ground operations center ([0021] Airborne server 222 transmits data received from PED 202 that is intended for a ground peer application 230 over communication link 238 to ground network 226); (b) wherein when the ACARS message is an uplink message ([0021] airborne server 222 receives uplink data from the ground peer application 230 over communication link 238 and ground network 226), the first message format represents a format that is used by the at least one ground operations center for processing ACARS messages ([0021] airborne server 222 receives uplink data from the ground peer application 230 over communication link 238 and ground network 226), and the second message format represents a format that is used by the communications management system for processing ACARS messages ([0021] airborne server 222 transmits the uplink data to the PED 202. PED 202 receives the uplink data and processes the uplink data according to the application configuration information 112, which, in at least one implementation, controls the display of the uplink messages and the manner in which the uplink data is presented to an HMI); wherein the AolP gateway server is configured to receive the uplink message in the first message format directly from the at least one ground operations center ([0021] airborne server 222 receives uplink data from the ground peer application 230 over communication link 238 and ground network 226), wherein the AolP gateway server is configured to forward the uplink message in the second message format to the communications management system ([0021] airborne server 222 receives uplink data from the ground peer application 230 over communication link 238 and ground network 226. The airborne server 222 transmits the uplink data to the PED 202). Zulch differs from the claimed invention in not specifically teaching that the AolP gateway server is configured to convert an ACARS message from a native Aeronautical Radio Incorporated (ARINC) format to a second native ARINC format, (a) wherein when the ACARS message is a downlink message, the first native ARINC format represents a format that is used by the communications management system for processing ACARS messages, and the second native ARINC format represents a format that is used by at least one ground operations center for processing ACARS messages. However, Nair teaches new application gateway converts the message from an ARINC 618 format to a different format tailored to the end-to-end network, such a format is ARINC Specification 620 over TCP/IP in order to allow direct communication with customer premises application gateway using industry-standard network protocols (figure 2 and [0027]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zulch in having that the AolP gateway server is configured to convert an ACARS message from a native Aeronautical Radio Incorporated (ARINC) format to a second native ARINC format, (a) wherein when the ACARS message is a downlink message, the first native ARINC format represents a format that is used by the communications management system for processing ACARS messages, and the second native ARINC format represents a format that is used by at least one ground operations center for processing ACARS messages, as per teaching of Nair, in order to allow direct communication with customer premises application gateway.
Regarding claim 2, Zulch differs from the claimed invention in not specifically teaching wherein when the ACARS message is the downlink message, the first native ARINC format is an Aeronautical Radio Incorporated (ARINC)-618 (A618) message format, wherein the second native ARINC format is an ARINC-620 (A620) message format, wherein when the ACARS message is the uplink message, the first native ARINC format is an A620 message format, wherein the second native ARINC format is an A618 message format. However, Nair teaches new application gateway converts the message from an ARINC 618 format to a different format tailored to the end-to-end network, such a format is ARINC Specification 620 over TCP/IP in order to allow direct communication with customer premises application gateway using industry-standard network protocols (figure 2 and [0027]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zulch in having that when the ACARS message is the downlink message, the first native ARINC format is an Aeronautical Radio Incorporated (ARINC)-618 (A618) message format, wherein the second native ARINC format is an ARINC-620 (A620) message format, wherein when the ACARS message is the uplink message, the first native ARINC format is an A620 message format, wherein the second native ARINC format is an A618 message format, as per teaching of Nair, in order to allow direct communication with customer premises application gateway.
Regarding claim 3, Zulch as modified discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the AolP gateway server is configured to send the downlink message directly addressed to the at least one ground operations center without forwarding the downlink message to a datalink service provider (Zulch [0021] Airborne server 222 transmits data received from PED 202 that is intended for a ground peer application 230 over communication link 238 to ground network 226).
Regarding claim 4, Nair teaches wherein the AolP gateway server is configured to convert the downlink message to the second native ARINC format based on a label or label/sublabel content of the downlink message in the first native ARINC format ([0011]-[0012], detailed formatting of the message may depend on aircraft ID and ground station location, and application gateway reformats the message to comply with a separate ground/ground networking protocol) in order to allow direct communication with customer premises application gateway.
Regarding claim 6, Zulch discloses that the communications management system is configured to receive the downlink message in a third message format from an avionics device associated with the vehicle ([0016] processing unit 104 accesses when executing avionic operational data communications application 114. For example, in one implementation, application configuration information 112 defines the format and content of uplink and downlink messages, how uplink messages are displayed, and how downlink messages are created and sent), wherein the third message format represents a format that is used by the avionics device in generating ACARS messages ([0016] processing unit 104 accesses when executing avionic operational data communications application 114. For example, in one implementation, application configuration information 112 defines the format and content of uplink and downlink messages, how uplink messages are displayed, and how downlink messages are created and sent), wherein the communications management system is configured to convert the downlink message from the third message format to the first message format ([0016] processing unit 104 accesses when executing avionic operational data communications application 114. For example, in one implementation, application configuration information 112 defines the format and content of uplink and downlink messages, how uplink messages are displayed, and how downlink messages are created and sent). Zulch differs from the claimed invention in not specifically teaching the downlink message in a third native ARINC format and the communication management is configured to convert the downlink message from the third native ARINC format to the first native ARINC format. However, Nair teaches new application gateway converts the message from one ARINC format to a different format tailored to the end-to-end network, such a format is another ARINC Specification over TCP/IP in order to allow direct communication with customer premises application gateway using industry-standard network protocols (figure 2 and [0027]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zulch in having the downlink message in a third native ARINC format and the communication management is configured to convert the downlink message from the third native ARINC format to the first native ARINC format, as per teaching of Nair, in order to allow direct communication with customer premises application gateway.
Regarding claim 7, Zilch discloses that the communications management system is configured to convert the
uplink message from the second message format to a third message format ([0016] processing unit 104 accesses when executing avionic operational data communications application 114. For example, in one implementation, application configuration information 112 defines the format and content of uplink and downlink messages, how uplink messages are displayed, and how downlink messages are created and sent), wherein the third message format represents a format that is used by an avionics device associated with the vehicle in processing ACARS messages ([0016] processing unit 104 accesses when executing avionic operational data communications application 114. For example, in one implementation, application configuration information 112 defines the format and content of uplink and downlink messages, how uplink messages are displayed, and how downlink messages are created and sent), wherein the communications management system is configured to forward the uplink message in the third message format to the avionics device ([0020] PED 202 is able to transmit uplink message's operational data to airborne server 222 for distribution to other avionic devices). Zulch differs from the claimed invention in not specifically teaching that the communication management system is configured to convert the uplink message from the second native ARINC format to a third native ARINC format. However, Nair teaches new application gateway converts the message from one ARINC format to a different format tailored to the end-to-end network, such a format is another ARINC Specification over TCP/IP in order to allow direct communication with customer premises application gateway using industry-standard network protocols (figure 2 and [0027]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zulch in having that the communication management system is configured to convert the uplink message from the second native ARINC format to a third native ARINC format, as per teaching of Nair, in order to allow direct communication with customer premises application gateway.
Regarding claim 8, Zulch discloses a system (figure 2), comprising: a communications management system coupled to a vehicle (fig 2 PED 202); and an Aircraft Communications, Addressing, and Reporting System (ACARS) over Internet Protocol (AolP) gateway server coupled to the communications management system on the vehicle (fig 2 airborne server 222 [0021] Communication links 238 includes cellular communication links, broadband SATCOM links, ACARS links (such as VHF, traditional aeronautical SATCOM, and HF), WiFi, a wired link IF on the ground, and the like), wherein the AolP gateway server comprises at least one processor ([0020] airborne server 222 provides access to avionic operational data 224 and controls the transmission of information to other devices on aircraft 220), wherein the communications management system is configured to convert an ACARS message from a first message format to a second message format ([0016] the processing unit 104 uses the application configuration information 112 to define the format and content of uplink and downlink messages, how uplink messages are displayed on PED 102, and how downlink messages are created and sent by PED 102), (a) wherein when the ACARS message is a downlink message, the first message format represents a format that is used by the communications management system for processing ACARS messages ([0016] the processing unit 104 uses the application configuration information 112 to define the format and content of uplink and downlink messages, how uplink messages are displayed on PED 102, and how downlink messages are created and sent by PED 102), and the second message format represents a format ([0021] PED 202 transmits the data produced for ground peer application 230 through a network that connects to ground peer application 230) that is used by at least one ground operations center for processing ACARS messages ([0019] FIG. 2 is a block diagram illustrating a system 200 for communicating avionic operational data to a PED 202 and to a ground server 228); wherein at least one of the communications management system or the AolP gateway server is configured to send the downlink message in the second message format to the at least one ground operations center ([0021] PED 202 transmits the data produced for ground peer application 230 through a network that connects to ground peer application 230), (b) wherein when the ACARS message is an uplink message ([0021] airborne server 222 receives uplink data from the ground peer application 230 over communication link 238 and ground network 226), the first message format represents a format that is used by the at least one ground operations center for processing ACARS messages ([0021] The term “ground peer application,” as used herein, refers to an application that executes on a ground computer that is configured to process data that results from the execution of avionic operational data communications application 114 on PED 202 and also transmits uplink data to the PED 202 through an uplink message compatible with the defined message definition in the application configuration information stored in the storage medium and processed on the peer PED 202), and the second message format represents a format that is used by the communications management system for processing ACARS messages ([0021] airborne server 222transmits the uplink data to the PED 202. PED 202 receives the uplink data and processes the uplink data according to the application configuration information 112, which, in at least one implementation, controls the display of the uplink messages and the manner in which the uplink data is presented to an HMI); wherein at least one of the AolP gateway server or the communications management system is configured to receive the uplink message directly from the at least one ground operations center ([0021] airborne server 222 receives uplink data from the ground peer application 230 over communication link 238 and ground network 226), wherein the uplink message designates at least one intended recipient of the uplink message ([0020] PED 202 is able to transmit uplink message's operational data to airborne server 222 for distribution to other avionic devices). Zulch differs from the claimed invention in not specifically teaching wherein the communications management system is configured to convert an ACARS message from a first native ARINC format to a second native ARINC format. However, Nair teaches new application gateway converts the message from an ARINC 618 format to a different format tailored to the end-to-end network, such a format is ARINC Specification 620 over TCP/IP in order to allow direct communication with customer premises application gateway using industry-standard network protocols (figure 2 and [0027]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zulch in having that the communications management system is configured to convert an ACARS message from a first native ARINC format to a second native ARINC format, as per teaching of Nair, in order to allow direct communication with customer premises application gateway.
Regarding claim 9, the limitations of the claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 10, the limitations of the claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 11, Zulch discloses that the communications management system is configured to forward the downlink message in the second message format to the AolP gateway server ([0021] PED 202 transmits the produced data to airborne server 222 over wireless connection 234), wherein the AolP gateway server is configured to send the downlink message to the at least one ground operations center via an AolP communication link ([0021] Airborne server 222 transmits data received from PED 202 that is intended for a ground peer application 230 over communication link 238 to ground network 226). Zulch differs from the claimed invention in not specifically teaching the downlink message in the second native ARINC format to the AoIP gateway server. However, it is known in the art of that ACARS ground/ground environment is described in ARINC Specification 620 in order to ensure the desired quality of service, for examiner see Nair ([0003]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zulch in having downlink message in the second native ARINC format to the AoIP gateway server, as per teaching of Nair, in order to ensure the desired quality of service.
Regarding claim 11, Zulch discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the communications management system is configured to forward the downlink message in the second message format to the AolP gateway server ([0021] PED 202 transmits the produced data to airborne server 222 over wireless connection 234), wherein the AolP gateway server is configured to send the downlink message to the at least one ground operations center via an AolP communication link ([0021], Airborne server 222 transmits data received from PED 202 that is intended for a ground peer application 230 over communication link 238 to ground network 226). Zulch differs from the claimed invention in not specifically teaching the downlink message in the second native ARINC format. However, it is known in the art of that ACARS ground/ground environment is described in ARINC Specification 620 in order to ensure the desired quality of service, for examiner see Nair ([0003]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zulch in having downlink message in the second native ARINC format, as per teaching of Nair, in order to ensure the desired quality of service.
Regarding claim 12, Zulch discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the communications management system is configured to send the downlink message in the second message format to the at least one ground operations center ([0016] processing unit 104 uses the application configuration information 112 to define the format and content of uplink and downlink messages, how uplink messages are displayed on PED 102, and how downlink messages are created and sent by PED 102) via an AolP communication link ([0021] Communication links 238 includes cellular communication links, broadband SATCOM links, ACARS links (such as VHF, traditional aeronautical SATCOM, and HF), WiFi, a wired link IF on the ground, and the like).
Regarding claim 13, the limitations of the claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 6.
Regarding claim 14, the limitations of the claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 7.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zulch, Ill et al. (US 2016/0344734 A1, hereinafter Zulch) in view of Nair et al. (US 2002/0032006 A1, hereinafter Nair) as applied in clam 1 above, and further in view of Gruyer et al. (US 2011/0047281 A1, hereinafter Gruyer).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Zulch and Nair differs from the claimed invention in not specifically teaching wherein the AoIP gateway server comprises a memory configured to store a destination IP address that corresponds to the at least one ground operations center. However, Gruyer teaches to store a destination IP address that corresponds to the at least one ground operations center, wherein the AolP gateway server is configured to send the downlink message to the at least one ground operations center that corresponds to the destination IP address ([0042] and [0045], message is then loaded in an IP datagram, before being routed towards the IP address of the CMU module of the aircraft, and the transmitter of the ACARS message was the CMU of the aircraft and the receiver the center of the airline, in other words, the communication was a downward communication). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Zulch and Nair in having that the AoIP gateway server comprises a memory configured to store a destination IP address that corresponds to the at least one ground operations center, as per teaching of Gruyer, in order to proper perform message delivery.
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eckert (US 2006/0080451 A1) in view of Tannenbaum (US 7,830,897 B1) and Nair et al. (US 2002/0032006 A1, hereinafter Nair).
Regarding claim 15, Eckert discloses a method for processing an Aircraft Communications, Addressing, and Reporting System (ACARS) message between a vehicle and at least one ground operations center as shown in figure 6A, the method comprising: (a) when the ACARS message is a downlink message originating from a system on the vehicle ([0040] the ACARS-IP downlink message is received at message processing server 506), generating the downlink message in a message format (figure 6A and [0039], an ACARS downlink message containing message content is preferably encoded into an ASN.1 compliant message containing the message content (task 616). In addition, process 600 translates, converts, or otherwise formats the encoded message into an ACARS-IP downlink message containing the message content (task 618)) used by the at least one ground operations center for processing ACARS messages ([0040] message processing server 506 converts the TCP/IP packets into a format that is recognizable by legacy ACARS messaging systems); and sending the downlink message in the message format directly to the at least one ground operations center ([0040] The ACARS-IP downlink message is received at message processing server 506) via an ACARS over Internet Protocol (AolP) communication link (fig 1 TCP/IP network, [0040] The ACARS-IP downlink message is received at message processing server 506), (b) when the ACARS message is an uplink message originating from the at least one ground operations center ([0042] obtaining the next ACARS uplink message from a message queue or from any suitable source associated with message processing server 506 (task 632)), receiving the uplink message directly from the at least one ground operations center via the AolP communication link (fig 1, [0042] message processing server 506 creates one or more ASN.1 PDUs during tasks 634 and 636. Thereafter, the ACARS-IP uplink message can be transmitted to the aircraft via the established TCP/IP datalink (task 638)), wherein the uplink message is in the message format used by the at least one ground operations center for processing ACARS messages ([0042] message processing server 506 creates one or more ASN.1 PDUs during tasks 634 and 636. Thereafter, the ACARS-IP uplink message can be transmitted to the aircraft via the established TCP/IP datalink (task 638)). Eckert differs from the claimed invention in not specifically teaching wherein the uplink message designates an intended recipient on the vehicle; processing the uplink message based on the intended recipient; and when the intended recipient is an avionics device on the vehicle, forwarding the processed uplink message to the intended recipient. However, as Tannenbaum discloses wherein the uplink message designates an intended recipient on the vehicle (col 5: 61-67, sending a message to a passenger, say on Central Airlines flight 123, by addressing the message to "CA flight 123, seat 2B"); processing the uplink message based on the intended recipient (col 5: 61-67, sending a message to a passenger, say on Central Airlines flight 123, by addressing the message to "CA flight 123, seat 2B"); and when the intended recipient is an avionics device on the vehicle (figure 2, control 12), forwarding the processed uplink message to the intended recipient (col 6, lines 1-9, the message would be delivered to the intended user at the proper seat location). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Eckert in having wherein the uplink message designates an intended recipient on the vehicle; processing the uplink message based on the intended recipient; and when the intended recipient is an avionics device on the vehicle, forwarding the processed uplink message to the intended recipient, as per teaching of Tannenbaum, in order to allow a user/passenger’s device to be connected and/or integrated with an avionics device for the user/passenger to be able to receive intended messages sent from external source. The combination of Eckert and Tannenbaum differs from the claimed invention in not specifically teaching that the downlink message and the uplink message in an Aeronautical Radio Incorporated (ARINC)-620 (A620) format. However, it is old and notoriously well known in the art that ACARS ground/ground environment is described in ARINC Specification 620, for example see Nair ([0003] and [0027]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Eckert and Tannenbaum in having that the downlink message and the uplink message in an Aeronautical Radio Incorporated (ARINC)-620 (A620) format, as per teaching of Nair, in order to ensure the desired quality of service.
Regarding claim 16, Eckert discloses wherein generating the downlink message in a message format used by the at least one ground operations center for processing ACARS messages comprises generating the downlink message via a communications management system coupled to the vehicle (figure 6A and [0039], an ACARS downlink message containing message content is preferably encoded into an ASN.1 compliant message containing the message content (task 616). In addition, process 600 translates, converts, or otherwise formats the encoded message into an ACARS-IP downlink message containing the message content (task 618); and sending the downlink message in the message format to the at least one ground operations center directly via the AolP communication link ([0040], the ACARSIP downlink message is received at message processing server 506) via an ACARS over Internet Protocol (AolP) communication link (figure 1 TCP/IP network and [0040], the ACARS-IP downlink message is received at message processing server 506). The combination of Eckert and Tannenbaum differs from the claimed invention in not explicitly disclosing the downlink message in the A620 format. However, it is old and notoriously well known in the art that ACARS ground/ground environment is described in ARINC Specification 620, for example see Nair ([0003] and [0027]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Eckert and Tannenbaum in having that the downlink message in an Aeronautical Radio Incorporated (ARINC)-620 (A620) format, as per teaching of Nair, in order to ensure the desired quality of service.
Regarding claim 17, Eckert discloses that receiving the uplink message directly from the at least one ground operations center via the AolP communication link comprises receiving the uplink message at a communications management system coupled to the vehicle, and converting the uplink message in the message format to a second message format ([0042], process 600 translates, converts, or otherwise formats the encoded message into an ACARS-IP uplink message containing the desired message content (task 636). In the practical embodiment, message processing server 506 creates one or more ASN.1 PDUs during tasks 634 and 636. Thereafter, the ACARS-IP uplink message can be transmitted to the aircraft via the established TCP/IP datalink (task 638)), wherein the second message format represents a format used by the avionics device in processing ACARS messages ([0043], Process 600 may construct the received ACARS uplink message such that it again becomes compliant with the conventional ACARS format. Eventually, process 600 extracts the ACARS message content from the received message (task 644) and/or performs ACARS message handling (task 646) in accordance with the needs and requirements of the system, the message, depending upon the destination, may be forwarded to other airborne end systems, such as the flight management system of the aircraft); and forwarding, by the communications management system, the uplink message in the second message format to the avionics device ([0043], the message, depending upon the destination, may be forwarded to other airborne end systems, such as the flight management system of the aircraft). The combination of Eckert and Tannenbaum differs from the claimed invention in not explicitly disclosing converting the uplink message in the A620 message format to a second native ARINC-619 (A619) format, wherein the second A619 format represents a format used by the avionics device in processing ACARS message. However, Nair teaches onboard end-system equipment communicates individually with an ACARS Management Unit (MU) according to the rules of ARINC Specification 619 and service provider to manage the air/ground exchange of data and provide routing and protocol conversions as needed to interface with the intended users' ground-based end-systems ([0003] and [0025]) in order to enhance overall network reliability. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Eckert and Tannenbaum in converting the uplink message in the A620 message format to a second native ARINC-619 (A619) format, wherein the second A619 format represents a format used by the avionics device in processing ACARS message, as per teaching of Nair, in order to enhance overall network reliability.
Regarding claim 18, Eckert discloses processing, via a communications management system coupled to the vehicle (figure 2, CMU 200, aircraft 102), the downlink message in a first message format (figure 6A and [0039], an ACARS downlink message containing message content is preferably encoded into an ASN.1 compliant message containing the message content (task 616)), wherein the first message format represents a format that is native to the communications management system (figure 3 and [0026], CMU 200 may include the following elements: an ACARS router 302; ACARS messages 304; an ASN.1 encoder 306; and a TCP/IP translator 308); and converting, via the communications management system, the downlink message from the first message format to the message format (figure 6A and [0039], an ACARS downlink message containing message content is preferably encoded into an ASN.1 compliant message containing the message content (task 616). In addition, process 600 translates, converts, or otherwise formats the encoded message into an ACARS-IP downlink message containing the message content (task 618)) used by the at least one ground operations center for processing ACARS messages (figure 6A task 620 may transmit the ACARS-IP downlink message to message processing server). The combination of Eckert and Tannenbaum differs from the claimed invention in not explicitly disclosing downlink message in a A618 message format, and converting, via the communications management system, the downlink message from the A618 message format to the A620 message format. However, Nair teaches ACARS air/ground environment is described in ARINC Specification 618, and new application gateway converts the message from an ARINC 618 format to a different format tailored to the end-to-end network, such a format is ARINC Specification 620 ([0003] and [0027]) in order to allow direct communication with customer premises application gateway. Therefore, it would have ben obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Eckert and Tannenbaum in having downlink message in a A618 message format, and converting, via the communications management system, the downlink message from the A618 message format to the A620 message format, as per teaching of Nair, in order to allow direct communication with customer premises application gateway.
Regarding claim 19, Eckert discloses wherein the first message format represents a format used by the communications management system in processing ACARS messages ([0021] and [0024], PED 202 transmits the produced data to airborne server 222 over wireless
connection 234). The combination of Eckert and Tannenbaum differs from the claimed invention in not specifically teaching the steps of receiving, via an AolP gateway server of the vehicle, the downlink message from a communications management system in a the A618 message format, wherein the A618 message format represents a format used by the communications management system in processing ACARS messages; and converting, via the AolP gateway server, the downlink message from the A618 message format to the A620 message format used by the at least one ground operations center for processing ACARS messages, and wherein sending the downlink message in the A620 message format comprises sending the downlink message to the at least one ground operations center via the AolP gateway server. However, Nair teaches new application gateway converts the message from an ARINC 618 format to a different format tailored to the end-to-end network, such a format is ARINC Specification 620 ([0003] and [0027]) in order to allow direct communication with customer premises application gateway. Therefore, it would have ben obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Eckert and Tannenbaum in having the steps of receiving, via an AolP gateway server of the vehicle, the downlink message from a communications management system in a the A618 message format, wherein the A618 message format represents a format used by the communications management system in processing ACARS messages; and converting, via the AolP gateway server, the downlink message from the A618 message format to the A620 message format used by the at least one ground operations center for processing ACARS messages, and wherein sending the downlink message in the A620 message format comprises sending the downlink message to the at least one ground operations center via the AolP gateway server, as per teaching of Nair, in order to allow direct communication with customer premises application gateway.
Regarding claim 20, Eckert discloses the method of claim 15, processing the uplink message based on the intended recipient comprises: converting, the uplink message from the message format to a second message format (Eckert [0042] process 600 proceeds with encoding the ACARS uplink message into an ASN.1 compliant message (task 634). In addition, process 600 translates, converts, or otherwise formats the encoded message into an ACARS-IP uplink
message), wherein the second message format represents a format used by a communications management system in processing ACARS messages (Eckert [0042] process 600 proceeds with encoding the ACARS uplink message into an ASN.1 compliant message (task 634). In addition, process 600 translates, converts, or otherwise formats the encoded message into an ACARS-IP uplink message), wherein the communications management system is coupled to the vehicle
(Eckert fig 2 CMU 200, aircraft 102); and forwarding, the uplink message in the second message format to the communications management system (Eckert [0059] it is the responsibility of the ground end system to populate the header as described in Table 4 (see below) prior to sending
the ACARS message to the CMU). The combination of Eckert and Tannenbaum differs from the claimed invention in not specifically teaching the steps of converting, via an AoIP gateway server of the vehicle, the uplink message from the A620 message format to a second message format, wherein the second message format represents the A618 message format used by a communications management system in processing ACARS messages, w; and forwarding, via the AoIP gateway server, the uplink message in the second message format to the communications management system. However, Nair teaches new application gateway converts the message from an ARINC 618 format to a different format tailored to the end-to-end network, such a format is ARINC Specification 620 ([0003], [0027] and [0031]) in order to allow direct communication with customer premises application gateway. Therefore, it would have ben obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Eckert and Tannenbaum in having the steps of converting, via an AoIP gateway server of the vehicle, the uplink message from the A620 message format to a second message format, wherein the second message format represents the A618 message format used by a communications management system in processing ACARS messages, w; and forwarding, via the AoIP gateway server, the uplink message in the second message format to the communications management system, as per teaching of Nair, in order to allow direct communication with customer premises application gateway.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GEORGE ENG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2699