DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the communication filed on July 7, 2026, claims 1-10 are pending. Claims 1-2, 5 and 8-10 are amended.
Response to Arguments
The applicant argues that the combination of Kodera and Abe fail to disclose the “co-closing prevention unit” as claimed. The transistors of Abe are only provided to switch the voltage of a bias output terminal to the voltage of detection terminal rather than the simultaneous-closure prevention that provides a safety feature because it prevents the first and second switch from being closed at the same time causing a short circuit.
However, in each case presented by Abe, the third switch ensures that only one of switches 41 and 42 are turned on. In ¶77, when none of the abnormal charging/discharging states is detected then the switch 41 is turned on using the switch 74 and the switch 42 is turned off using switches 79/70. In ¶78, when an abnormal state is detected then the switch 41 is turned off via using switch 74 and switch 42 is turned on using the switches 79/70, thus, the switch system of 74/79/70 prevent both switches 41/42 from being closed at the same time.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kodera et al. JP2013031247A in view of Abe et al. US20180013298A1.
Regarding claim 1. Kodera discloses a bypass circuit (FIG. 1) that is provided in an electrical storage system (10) including a plurality of electrical storage batteries (B1-B3) connected in series and bypasses the electrical storage batteries (FIG. 1), the bypass circuit comprising:
a first switch (Sa1) provided between the adjacent electrical storage batteries (B1/B2), the first switch being opened and closed in response to a first control signal output from a control circuit (page 2, ¶3 - ECU 20 controls a switch);
a bypass line (BL) that bypasses the first switch (Sa1) and each of the electrical storage batteries (FIG. 1);
a second switch (Sb1) provided on the bypass line (BL), the second switch being opened and closed in response to a second control signal output from the control circuit (page 2, ¶2 - ECU 20 controls a switch); and
Although Kodera discloses the switch Sb1 not being simultaneously closed at the same time as Sa1, Kodera does not explicitly teach that this is prevented by a co-closing prevention unit configured to prevent the first switch and the second switch from being in a closed state at the same time.
Abe discloses a co-closing prevention unit (control circuit 98) configured to prevent the first switch (41) and the second switch (42) from being in a closed state at the same time (¶77 – when there is no abnormality the switch 41 is turned on and switch 42 is turned off; when an abnormal state occurs, then the switch 41 is turned off and switch 32 is turned on), the co-closing prevention unit (98/74/79/70) includes a third switch (74/79/70) configured to prevent the first switch and the second switch from being in a closed state at the same time (¶77-79).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the switching control as taught by Abe to the configuration of Kodera in order to provide protection to the battery that avoids abnormal charging to the batteries (¶16). When combined with Kodera, if an abnormality is determined in the first switch, then the switch is opened to prevent abnormal charging of the battery and is instead passed through the closed bypass switch. However, if no abnormality is detected, then the charging is not bypassed through the bypass switch but is passed through to the battery.
Regarding claim 2. Kodera discloses a first signal line configured to transmit the first control signal output from the control circuit to the first switch (page 3, ¶1 - the ECU measures the temperature and voltage of the batteries and controls the switches to open and close – because, as shown in FIGS. 5-7, individual batteries are bypassed, each switch has a control line to control the switch from the controller); and
a second signal line configured to transmit the second control signal output from the control circuit to the second switch (page 3, ¶1 - the ECU measures the temperature and voltage of the batteries and controls the switches to open and close – because, as shown in FIGS. 5-7, individual batteries are bypassed, each switch has a control line to control the switch from the controller)
Kodera does not explicitly teach that the third switch includes: a first contact provided on the second signal line; and a drive unit operated in response to the first control signal to open and close the first contact, and the first contact is opened to disconnect the second signal line when the first switch is in a closed state.
Abe discloses the third switch (79/70) includes:
a first contact provided on the second signal line (to switch 42); and
a drive unit operated in response to the first control signal to open and close the first contact (¶77-78 – when switch 41 is on switch 42 is turned off and vice versa), and
the first contact is opened to disconnect the second signal line when the first switch is in a closed state (¶77-78 – when switch 41 is on switch 42 is turned off and vice versa).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the switching control as taught by Abe to the configuration of Kodera in order to provide protection to the battery that avoids abnormal charging to the batteries (¶16). When combined with Kodera, if an abnormality is determined in the first switch, then the switch is opened to prevent abnormal charging of the battery and is instead passed through the closed bypass switch. However, if no abnormality is detected, then the charging is not bypassed through the bypass switch but is passed through to the battery.
Regarding claim 3. Kodera does not explicitly disclose that the third switch is provided in a control unit including the control circuit.
Abe discloses that the third switch is provided in a control unit including the control circuit (FIG. 6; ¶79 – control circuit 98 turns on the transistor 79/70, thus the transistors 79/70 is included in the control unit which includes the control circuit 98)).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the switching control as taught by Abe to the configuration of Kodera in order to provide protection to the battery that avoids abnormal charging to the batteries (¶16).
Regarding claim 4. Kodera discloses that the first switch (Sa1) includes a second contact provided on an electrical power line connecting the adjacent electrical storage batteries (FIG. 1 – the switch connects the adjacent batteries),
the drive unit is operated in response to the first control signal to open and close the first contact and the second contact (page 4, ¶2-3 - when a signal is sent by the ECU 20, the switch is opened and closed, thus including a drive unit), and
Kodera does not explicitly disclose that the first contact is opened to disconnect the second signal line when the second contact is in a closed state.
Abe discloses that the first contact is opened to disconnect the second signal line when the second contact is in a closed state (¶79 – the control circuit turns of transistors 79/70 and thus turns off switch 42).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the switching control as taught by Abe to the configuration of Kodera in order to provide protection to the battery that avoids abnormal charging to the batteries (¶16).
Regarding claim 5. Kodera discloses a first signal line configured to transmit the first control signal output from the control circuit to the first switch (page 3, ¶1 the ECU measures the temperature and voltage of the batteries and controls the switches to open and close – because, as shown in FIGS. 5-7, individual batteries are bypassed, each switch has a control line to control the switch from the controller); and
a second signal line configured to transmit the second control signal output from the control circuit to the second switch (page 3, ¶1 - the ECU measures the temperature and voltage of the batteries and controls the switches to open and close – because, as shown in FIGS. 5-7, individual batteries are bypassed, each switch has a control line to control the switch from the controller)
Although the combination of Kodera and Yuki discloses that upon detection of a failure or fault, the co-closing prevention unit prevents the first switch and the second switch from being in a closed state at the same time, Kodera and Yuki does not explicitly teach the third switch includes: a first contact provided on the first signal line; and a drive unit operated in response to the second control signal to open and close the first contact, and the first contact is opened to disconnect the first signal line when the second switch is in a closed state.
Abe discloses that the third switch (74) includes:
a first contact provided on the first signal line (signal sent to switch 41); and
a drive unit operated in response to the second control signal to open and close the first contact (¶77-78 – when switch 41 is on switch 42 is turned off and vice versa)
the first contact is opened to disconnect the first signal line when the second switch is in a closed state (¶77-78 – when switch 41 is on switch 42 is turned off and vice versa).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the switching control as taught by Abe to the configuration of Kodera in order to provide protection to the battery that avoids abnormal charging to the batteries (¶16).
Regarding claim 6. Kodera does not explicitly disclose that the third switch is provided in a control unit including the control circuit.
Abe discloses that the third switch is provided in a control unit including the control circuit (FIG. 6; ¶79 – control circuit 98 turns on the transistor 74, thus the transistor 74 is included in the control unit which includes the control circuit 98))
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the switching control as taught by Abe to the configuration of Kodera in order to provide protection to the battery that avoids abnormal charging to the batteries (¶16).
Regarding claim 7. Kodera discloses that the second switch (Sb1) includes a second contact provided on the bypass line (BL) (the switch has a first contact side and a second contact side that is connected to the bypass line – see FIG. 1),
the drive unit is operated in response to the second control signal to open and close the first contact and the second contact (page 4, ¶2-3 - when a signal is sent by the ECU 20, the switch is opened and closed, thus including a drive unit), and
Kodera does not explicitly disclose that the first contact is opened to disconnect the first signal line when the second contact is in a closed state.
the first contact is opened to disconnect the first signal line when the second contact is in a closed state (¶78 – control circuit 98 turns off the transistor 74 thus turning off the switch 41)
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the switching control as taught by Abe to the configuration of Kodera in order to provide protection to the battery that avoids abnormal charging to the batteries (¶16).
Regarding claim 8. Kodera discloses a first signal line configured to transmit the first control signal output from the control circuit to the first switch (page 3, ¶1 - the ECU measures the temperature and voltage of the batteries and controls the switches to open and close – because, as shown in FIGS. 5-7, individual batteries are bypassed, each switch has a control line to control the switch from the controller); and
a second signal line configured to transmit the second control signal output from the control circuit to the second switch (page 3, ¶1 - the ECU measures the temperature and voltage of the batteries and controls the switches to open and close – because, as shown in FIGS. 5-7, individual batteries are bypassed, each switch has a control line to control the switch from the controller)
Kodera does not explicitly teach that the third switch includes: a first contact provided on the second signal line; a detection unit configured to detect that the first switch is in an opened state; and a drive unit configured to operate in response to a detection signal of the detection unit to open and close the first contact, and the first contact is opened to disconnect the second signal line when the detection unit does not detect the opened state of the first switch, and is closed to connect the second signal line when the detection unit detects the opened state of the first switch.
Abe discloses that the third switch (79/70) includes:
a first contact provided on the second signal line (to switch 41); and
a drive unit operated in response to the first control signal to open and close the first contact (¶77-78 – the switch 41 is turned off when the switch 42 is turned on and vise vera), and
the first contact is opened to disconnect the second signal line when the detection unit does not detect the opened state of the first switch (¶77 – switch 41 is turned on and switch 42 is turned off; ¶73 – switch 41 is controlled using a transistor 74), and is closed to connect the second signal line when the detection unit detects the opened state of the first switch (¶77-78 – switch 41 is turned on and switch 42 is turned off and vice versa).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the switching control as taught by Abe to the configuration of Kodera in order to provide protection to the battery that avoids abnormal charging to the batteries (¶16).
Regarding claim 9. Kodera discloses a bypass circuit (FIG. 1) that is provided in an electrical storage system (10) including a plurality of electrical storage batteries (B1-B3) connected in series and bypasses the electrical storage batteries (FIG. 1), the bypass circuit comprising:
a first switch (Sa1) provided between the adjacent electrical storage batteries (B1/B2), the first switch being opened and closed in response to a first control signal output from a control circuit (page 2, ¶3 - ECU 20 controls a switch);
a bypass line (BL) that bypasses the first switch (Sa1) and each of the electrical storage batteries (FIG. 1);
a second switch (Sb1) provided on the bypass line (BL), the second switch being opened and closed in response to a control signal output from the control circuit (page 2, ¶2 - ECU 20 controls a switch);
a first signal line configured to transmit the first control signal output from the control circuit to the first switch (page 3, ¶1 - the ECU measures the temperature and voltage of the batteries and controls the switches to open and close – because, as shown in FIGS. 5-7, individual batteries are bypassed, each switch has a control line to control the switch from the controller);
a second signal line configured to transmit the second control signal output from the control circuit to the second switch (page 3, ¶1 - the ECU 20 measures the temperature and voltage of the batteries and controls the switches to open and close – because, as shown in FIGS. 5-7, individual batteries are bypassed, each switch has a control line to control the switch from the controller); and
Although Kodera discloses the switch Sb1 not being simultaneously closed at the same time as Sa1, Kodera does not explicitly teach that this is prevented by a co-closing prevention unit configured to prevent the first switch and the second switch from being in a closed state at the same time, wherein the co-closing prevention unit includes: a detection unit configured to detect that the first switch is in an opened state; and an output control unit configured to determine whether the second control signal is output in response to a detection signal of the detection unit; and the second control signal is not output when the detection unit does not detect the opened state of the first switch, and is output when the detection unit detects the opened state of the first switch
Abe discloses a co-closing prevention unit (98/74/79/70) configured to prevent the first switch and the second switch from being in a closed state at the same time(¶77-79).
the co-closing prevention unit includes:
Abe discloses a detection unit configured to detect that the first switch is in an opened state (¶77-79 - an anomaly detection circuit 22 is used to determine when the control circuit 98 turns the transistors 74/79/70 on and off – when there is an abnormal charging state of the battery, the switch 41 is off); and
an output control unit configured to determine whether the second control signal is output in response to a detection signal of the detection unit ( ¶78 - switch 42 is turned on when there is an abnormal charging state and the switch 41 is turned off); and
the second control signal is not output when the detection unit does not detect the opened state of the first switch (¶78 – if no abnormality in the charging then the switch 41 is not off), and is output when the detection unit detects the opened state of the first switch (¶78 – when the switch 41 is open, there is an abnormal charging state, thus, the signal is sent such that the switch 42 is turned on).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the switching control as taught by Abe to the configuration of Kodera in order to provide protection to the battery that avoids abnormal charging to the batteries (¶16).
Regarding claim 10. Kodera discloses an electrical storage system (FIG. 1) comprising:
a plurality of electrical storage batteries connected in series (B1-B3); and
a bypass circuit configured to bypass the electrical storage batteries (FIG. 1 – a bypass line BL bypasses the batteries – see the bypassing function in FIGS. 5-7),
wherein the bypass circuit includes:
a first switch (Sa1) provided between the adjacent electrical storage batteries (B1/B2), the first switch being opened and closed in response to a first control signal output from a control circuit (ECU 20 controls a switch);
a bypass line (BL) that bypasses the first switch (Sa1) and each of the electrical storage batteries (FIG. 1);
a second switch (Sb1) provided on the bypass line (BL), the second switch being opened and closed in response to a second control signal output from the control circuit (page 2, ¶2 - ECU 20 controls a switch); and
Although Kodera discloses the switch Sb1 not being simultaneously closed at the same time as Sa1, Kodera does not explicitly teach that this is prevented by a co-closing prevention unit configured to prevent the first switch and the second switch from being in a closed state at the same time the co-closing prevention unit includes a third switch configured to prevent the first switch and the second switch from being in a closed state at the same time.
Abe discloses a co-closing prevention unit configured to prevent the first switch (41) and the second switch (42) from being in a closed state at the same time (¶77 – when there is no abnormality the switch 41 is turned on and switch 42 is turned off; when an abnormal state occurs, then the switch 41 is turned off and switch 32 is turned on) the co-closing prevention unit (98/74/79/70) includes a third switch (74/79/70) configured to prevent the first switch and the second switch from being in a closed state at the same time (¶77-79).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the switching control as taught by Abe to the configuration of Kodera in order to provide protection to the battery that avoids abnormal charging to the batteries (¶16). When combined with Kodera, if an abnormality is determined in the first switch, then the switch is opened to prevent abnormal charging of the battery and is instead passed through the closed bypass switch. However, if no abnormality is detected, then the charging is not bypassed through the bypass switch but is passed through to the battery.
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ferber US20110221398A1 discloses that switches are operated to prevent switch 425/430 from being closed at the same time as switches 415/420 (¶40).
Zeiler et al. US20190160972A1 discloses that the position of the switches 30/32 are such that they are not in the closed position at the same time (¶50).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAMELA J JEPPSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859