DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 03/09/2026 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claims 1 and 3-10, the applicant argues the rejection under 35 U.S.C 102 or 103 is improper over Nakamura US 20020085284 because Nakamura fails to disclose the claim limitation “the display has a change rate of the contrast ratio satisfying the relationships (CR1- CR2)/CR1≤20%, wherein CR1 is a contrast ratio of a display with a protective film having a haze less than 5%, and CR2 is a contrast ratio of the display” in the currently amended claim 1. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding applicant’s argument about 102(a)(1) rejection in page 1-page 4 of Remark. It’s inherent that Nakamura teaches the claim limitations “the display has a change rate of the contrast ratio satisfying the relationships (CR1- CR2)/CR1≤20%, wherein CR1 is a contrast ratio of a display with a protective film having a haze less than 5%, and CR2 is a contrast ratio of the display” because Nakamura discloses (15.1% of total haze in Examples 1-7 of table 1) nearly the lowest possible total haze (15%) as the current application with total haze ranges from 15% to 60%. Also Nakamura teaches the rest of the claim limitations in claim 1 such as an inner haze less than or equal to 10% (0.1% or 5%, see internal haze in each of example 1-7 of table 1 and para.48 and 153), and a reflectivity satisfying the relationships of 0.35%≤ (RSCI-RSCE)≤1.50% (0.8%≤RSCI-RSCE=Mirror reflectance≤1.1%, see Mirror reflectance in each of example 1-7 of table 1) and RSCE≤1.50% (0.8%≤RSCE= integral reflectance-Mirror reflectance≤0.9%, see each of example 1-7 of table 1). In addition, it’s well-known the lower Haze value, the higher contrast ratio value will be (see Table 1 of current application below) and (Jang US 2023/0244099 teaches this well-known technology that the lower Haze value, the higher contrast ratio value will be (see fig.7 and para.156-161 of Jang teach (CR1-CR2)/CR1=5% with a display with an optical film with a haze value of 40%, and (CR1-CR2)/CR1=15% with a display with an optical film a haze value of 60%, as compare to a display with an optical film (a protective film) having a haze value of 0%). Also, Examples 1-5 of table 1 of Nakamura teaches haze value each of the total haze, inner haze and surface haze are even lower than Haze value in Example 1 (see Table 1 of current application below), so that ratio of (CR1- CR2)/CR1 would be about or less than -1.6% for Examples 1-5 of table 1 of Nakamura, and Examples 6-7 of table 1 of Nakamura will have ratio of (CR1- CR2)/CR1 equal to about 6.2% or less.
Thus, Examples 1-7 of table 1 of Nakamura will satisfy and teach the claim limitations “the display has a change rate of the contrast ratio satisfying the relationships (CR1- CR2)/CR1≤20%, wherein CR1 is a contrast ratio of a display with a protective film having a haze less than 5%, and CR2 is a contrast ratio of the display”.
Regarding applicant’s argument about 103 rejection in page 5-page 12 of Remark. If even Nakamura does not inherently teach the claim limitations “the display has a change rate of the contrast ratio satisfying the relationships (CR1- CR2)/CR1≤20%, wherein CR1 is a contrast ratio of a display with a protective film having a haze less than 5%, and CR2 is a contrast ratio of the display”, but it will still be obvious to have the claim limitations “the display has a change rate of the contrast ratio satisfying the relationships (CR1- CR2)/CR1≤20%, wherein CR1 is a contrast ratio of a display with a protective film having a haze less than 5%, and CR2 is a contrast ratio of the display” because Nakamura (Example 1-7 of table 1) teach all other claim limitations in claim 1, especially, Nakamura teaches internal haze of 0.1% or 5%, External/Surface haze of 15% or 17%, Total Haze of 15.1% to 22%, 0.8%≤RSCI-RSCE=Mirror reflectance≤1.1%, 0.8%≤RSCE= integral reflectance-Mirror reflectance≤0.9%, 1.7%≤RSCI≤1.9% are similar value to the Example 1 of table 1 of the current application as below. In addition, Nakamura discloses External/Surface haze can be 1 to 20% (para.15 and 52), not just 17% as shown in table 1.
Thus, based on Examples 1-7 of table 1 of Nakamura and Nakamura teaches all other claim limitations of claim 1, it would have been an obvious design choice to “one of ordinary skill” in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize CR1 and CR2. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, there had been a recognized problem or need in the art to provide optimal visibility and contrast of a display. There were a finite number of identified and predictable potential CR1 and CR2 to the recognized need or problem without lowering visibility and contrast of the display. One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential CR1 and CR2 with a reasonable expectation of success since it has been held that "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." in re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955), so that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display of Nakamura so that the display has a change rate of the contrast ratio satisfying the relationships (CR1-CR2)/CR1≤20%, wherein CR1 is a contrast ratio of a display with a protective film having a haze less than 5%, and CR2 is a contrast ratio of the display for the purpose of preventing lowering visibility and contrast of the display device.
Therefore, The Examiner maintains the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakamura US 20020085284.
Regarding claim 1, Nakamura discloses a display (a liquid crystal display device), in fig.1, comprising:
a display panel (a display panel of the liquid crystal display device, para.29 and 161); and
an optical film (1) disposed on a viewing side of the display panel (para.29 and claim 18);
wherein the optical film has a total haze ranging from 15% to 60% (see haze value of Sum of internal and external Haze in each of example 1-7 of table 1 and para.48,52 and para.153), an inner haze less than or equal to 10% (see internal haze in each of example 1-7 of table 1 and para.48 and 153), and a reflectivity satisfying the relationships of 0.35%≤ (RSCI-RSCE)≤1.50% (RSCI-RSCE=Mirror reflectance, see Mirror reflectance in each of example 1-7 of table 1) and RSCE≤1.50% (RSCE= integral reflectance-Mirror reflectance, see each of example 1-7 of table 1) wherein Rsc1 is an average reflectivity of diffuse component and specular component, and RSCE is an average reflectivity of diffuse component (see example 1-7 of table 1);
wherein the display has a change rate of the contrast ratio satisfying the relationships (CR1- CR2)/CR1≤20%, wherein CR1 is a contrast ratio of a display with a protective film having a haze less than 5%, and CR2 is a contrast ratio of the display (it’s inherent that Nakamura teaches “the display has a change rate of the contrast ratio satisfying the relationships (CR1- CR2)/CR1≤20%, wherein CR1 is a contrast ratio of a display with a protective film having a haze less than 5%, and CR2 is a contrast ratio of the display” because Nakamura disclose (15.1% of total haze) nearly the lowest possible total haze (15%) as the current application with total haze ranges from 15% to 60%, and it’s well-known the lower Haze value, the higher contrast ratio value will be).
Regarding claim 3, Nakamura discloses the average reflectivity of diffuse component RSCE ranges from 0.80% to 1.50% (RSCE= integral reflectance-Mirror reflectance, see example 1-7 of table 1).
Regarding claim 4, Nakamura discloses the optical film comprises a substrate (2), a light diffusing layer (4, or 4 with 3) disposed on the substrate, and a refractive-index-matching layer (5) disposed on the light diffusing layer.
Regarding claim 5, Nakamura discloses the substrate has a thickness ranging from 10 µm to 150 µm (para.131,138 and139).
Regarding claim 6, Nakamura discloses the substrate is selected from one of group consisting of polymethyl methacrylate (PMMA), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polyethylene naphthalate (PEN), polycarbonate (PC), triacetyl cellulose (TAC), polyimide (PI), polyethylene (PE), polypropylene (PP), polyvinyl alcohol (PVA), polyvinyl chloride (PVC), cyclic olefin polymer (COP) and cyclic olefin copolymer (COC)(see para.33).
Regarding claim 7, Nakamura discloses the light diffusing layer has a refractive index of n1 (1.57 to 1.8, para.33 and 46), the refractive-index-matching layer has a refractive index of n2 (1.38 to 1.49, para.33), and index of n2 is less than index of n1 (see para.33).
Regarding claim 8, Nakamura discloses the refractive index of n 1 ranges from 1.50 to 1.70 (1.57 to 1.8, para.33 and 46), and the refractive index of n2 ranges from 1.20 to 1.50 (1.38 to 1.49, para.33).
Regarding claim 9, Nakamura discloses the light diffusion layer has a thickness ranging from 2 µm to 10 µm (para.58 and 131).
Regarding claim 10, Nakamura discloses the refractive-index-matching layer has a thickness ranging from 0.1 µm to 0.3 µm (para.134).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura US 20020085284.
Regarding claim 1, Nakamura discloses a display (a liquid crystal display device), in fig.1, comprising:
a display panel (a display panel of the liquid crystal display device, para.29 and 161); and
an optical film (1) disposed on a viewing side of the display panel (para.29 and claim 18);
wherein the optical film has a total haze ranging from 15% to 60% (see haze value of Sum of internal and external Haze in each of example 1-7 of table 1 and para.48,52 and para.153), an inner haze less than or equal to 10% (see internal haze in each of example 1-7 of table 1 and para.48 and 153), and a reflectivity satisfying the relationships of 0.35%≤ (RSCI-RSCE)≤1.50% (RSCI-RSCE=Mirror reflectance, see Mirror reflectance in each of example 1-7 of table 1) and RSCE≤1.50% (RSCE= integral reflectance-Mirror reflectance, see each of example 1-7 of table 1) wherein Rsc1 is an average reflectivity of diffuse component and specular component, and RSCE is an average reflectivity of diffuse component (see example 1-7 of table 1).
Nakamura does not explicitly disclose the display has a change rate of the contrast ratio satisfying the relationships (CR1- CR2)/CR1≤20%, wherein CR1 is a contrast ratio of a display with a protective film having a haze less than 5%, and CR2 is a contrast ratio of the display.
However, based on table 1 of Nakamura and Nakamura teaches all other claim limitations of claim 1 and the optical film has low total haze value (15.1% see table 1), it would have been an obvious design choice to “one of ordinary skill” in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize CR1 and CR2. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, there had been a recognized problem or need in the art to provide optimal visibility and contrast of a display. There were a finite number of identified and predictable potential CR1 and CR2 to the recognized need or problem without lowering visibility and contrast of the display. One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential CR1 and CR2 with a reasonable expectation of success since it has been held that "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." in re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display of Nakamura so that the display has a change rate of the contrast ratio satisfying the relationships (CR1-CR2)/CR1≤20%, wherein CR1 is a contrast ratio of a display with a protective film having a haze less than 5%, and CR2 is a contrast ratio of the display for the purpose of preventing lowering visibility and contrast of the display device.
Regarding claim 3, Nakamura discloses the average reflectivity of diffuse component RSCE ranges from 0.80% to 1.50% (RSCE= integral reflectance-Mirror reflectance, see example 1-7 of table 1).
Regarding claim 4, Nakamura discloses the optical film comprises a substrate (2), a light diffusing layer (4, or 4 with 3) disposed on the substrate, and a refractive-index-matching layer (5) disposed on the light diffusing layer.
Regarding claim 5, Nakamura discloses the substrate has a thickness ranging from 10 µm to 150 µm (para.131,138 and139).
Regarding claim 6, Nakamura discloses the substrate is selected from one of group consisting of polymethyl methacrylate (PMMA), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polyethylene naphthalate (PEN), polycarbonate (PC), triacetyl cellulose (TAC), polyimide (PI), polyethylene (PE), polypropylene (PP), polyvinyl alcohol (PVA), polyvinyl chloride (PVC), cyclic olefin polymer (COP) and cyclic olefin copolymer (COC)(see para.33).
Regarding claim 7, Nakamura discloses the light diffusing layer has a refractive index of n1 (1.57 to 1.8, para.33 and 46), the refractive-index-matching layer has a refractive index of n2 (1.38 to 1.49, para.33), and index of n2 is less than index of n1 (see para.33).
Regarding claim 8, Nakamura discloses the refractive index of n 1 ranges from 1.50 to 1.70 (1.57 to 1.8, para.33 and 46), and the refractive index of n2 ranges from 1.20 to 1.50 (1.38 to 1.49, para.33).
Regarding claim 9, Nakamura discloses the light diffusion layer has a thickness ranging from 2 µm to 10 µm (para.58 and 131).
Regarding claim 10, Nakamura discloses the refractive-index-matching layer has a thickness ranging from 0.1 µm to 0.3 µm (para.134).
Claim(s) 1 and 3-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura US 20020085284 in view of Kuroda US 2013/0279155.
Regarding claim 1, Nakamura discloses a display (a liquid crystal display device), in fig.1, comprising:
a display panel (a display panel of the liquid crystal display device, para.29 and 161); and
an optical film (1) disposed on a viewing side of the display panel (para.29 and claim 18);
wherein the optical film has a total haze ranging from 15% to 60% (see haze value of Sum of internal and external Haze in each of example 1-7 of table 1 and para.48,52 and para.153), an inner haze less than or equal to 10% (see internal haze in each of example 1-7 of table 1 and para.48 and 153), and a reflectivity satisfying the relationships of 0.35%≤ (RSCI-RSCE)≤1.50% (RSCI-RSCE=Mirror reflectance, see Mirror reflectance in each of example 1-7 of table 1) and RSCE≤1.50% (RSCE= integral reflectance-Mirror reflectance, see each of example 1-7 of table 1) wherein Rsc1 is an average reflectivity of diffuse component and specular component, and RSCE is an average reflectivity of diffuse component (see example 1-7 of table 1).
Nakamura does not explicitly disclose the display has a change rate of the contrast ratio satisfying the relationships (CR1- CR2)/CR1≤20%, wherein CR1 is a contrast ratio of a display with a protective film having a haze less than 5%, and CR2 is a contrast ratio of the display.
Kuroda discloses a display, figs.2-6, a display with an optical film (antiglare film, para.222 and 164) has a contrast ratio of 90% or higher (para.222) for the purpose of preventing deterioration of dark room contrast becomes inferior and visibility (para.222) and suppressing generation of a rainbow interference pattern and interference fringes in a display images (Abstract).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a display with an optical film has a contrast ratio of 90% or higher as taught by Kuroda in the display of Nakamura in order to have the display has a change rate of the contrast ratio satisfying the relationships (CR1- CR2)/CR1≤20%, wherein CR1 is a contrast ratio of a display with a protective film having a haze less than 5%, and CR2 is a contrast ratio of the display for the purpose of preventing deterioration of dark room contrast becomes inferior and visibility and suppressing generation of a rainbow interference pattern and interference fringes in a display images.
Regarding claim 3, Nakamura discloses the average reflectivity of diffuse component RSCE ranges from 0.80% to 1.50% (RSCE= integral reflectance-Mirror reflectance, see example 1-7 of table 1).
Regarding claim 4, Nakamura discloses the optical film comprises a substrate (2), a light diffusing layer (4, or 4 with 3) disposed on the substrate, and a refractive-index-matching layer (5) disposed on the light diffusing layer.
Regarding claim 5, Nakamura discloses the substrate has a thickness ranging from 10 µm to 150 µm (para.131,138 and139).
Regarding claim 6, Nakamura discloses the substrate is selected from one of group consisting of polymethyl methacrylate (PMMA), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polyethylene naphthalate (PEN), polycarbonate (PC), triacetyl cellulose (TAC), polyimide (PI), polyethylene (PE), polypropylene (PP), polyvinyl alcohol (PVA), polyvinyl chloride (PVC), cyclic olefin polymer (COP) and cyclic olefin copolymer (COC)(see para.33).
Regarding claim 7, Nakamura discloses the light diffusing layer has a refractive index of n1 (1.57 to 1.8, para.33 and 46), the refractive-index-matching layer has a refractive index of n2 (1.38 to 1.49, para.33), and index of n2 is less than index of n1 (see para.33).
Regarding claim 8, Nakamura discloses the refractive index of n 1 ranges from 1.50 to 1.70 (1.57 to 1.8, para.33 and 46), and the refractive index of n2 ranges from 1.20 to 1.50 (1.38 to 1.49, para.33).
Regarding claim 9, Nakamura discloses the light diffusion layer has a thickness ranging from 2 µm to 10 µm (para.58 and 131).
Regarding claim 10, Nakamura discloses the refractive-index-matching layer has a thickness ranging from 0.1 µm to 0.3 µm (para.134).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jang US 2023/0244099 teaches this well-known technology that the lower Haze value, the higher contrast ratio value will be (see fig.7 and para.156-161) can be a secondary reference as well.
In addition, Matsunage US 20070104896 (table 11, 207,208, claims 1 and 6), Inoue US 2007/0229804 (para.124 and 125 and fig.1) and Watanabe US 20070231478 (fig.5, para.140, 190 and 191) can be a primary reference for claims 1 and 3-10 as well.
/JIA X PAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871