DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morton et al. (US 20100138025 A1), herein referred to as Morton, in view of Raslambekov’1 et al. (US 11166787 B1), herein referred to as Raslambekov’1.
Regarding claim 1, Morton discloses a method (100) for designing a dental aligner (refer to Paragraphs [0052]-[0053]; the present invention provides methods for designing orthodontic systems including orthodontic appliances), the method (100) comprising:
initializing a 3D model of a patient's dentition based on a stage of a treatment plan corresponding to the dental aligner (step 420) (Refer to Paragraphs [0087], [0092]; processes 200 and 400 are subprocesses of the method (100); the input data 404 includes the initial tooth positions for the current path segment);
generating a plurality of zones, each zone of the plurality of zones having one or more teeth from the 3D model of the patient's dentition (refer to Paragraphs [0080], [0092], [0094]; data structures that digitally represent individual tooth crowns are produced, where each individual tooth identified as movable is a zone);
simulating the dental aligner for each of the zones (process 400) (refer to Paragraphs [0092], [0094], Fig. 12; the process iterates over the movable teeth in the model, calculating the shape of the aligner for the current tooth); and
determining a probability that the dental aligner will improperly fit the patient's dentition (refer to Paragraph [0063]; Examiner understands “an improperly fitting aligner”, as an aligner that does not affect the desired force on the patient’s dentition to position the teeth to the desired final position; methods and systems according to the present invention advantageously consider and account for various factors which can have a significant effect on imparting a precise force system to a tooth, including probability of engagement between the aligner, analogous to a probability of improper fit);
modifying the treatment plan by adding one or more retention-enhancing attachments at one or more retention-enhancing attachment locations on the patient's dentition based on the determined probability (step 640) (refer to Paragraphs [0063], [0067], [0103], [0110], Fig. 14; upon determination that the aligner is unacceptable, or unable to effect the required motion and is thus an improper fit, the process 600 proceeds to execute a module that calculates the configuration of a hardware attachment to the subject tooth (modified treatment plan), where the present invention uses inputs (probability of engagement between the aligner) to determine the optimal design of the attachment to be used with the aligner for a specific tooth; determination of the optimal design includes determining optimal location of the attachment on the tooth); and
fabricating the dental aligner based on the modified treatment plan (180) (refer to Paragraph [0086]; appliances defined by the process are manufactured).
Morton is silent to simulating a retention value for each zone[[s]], based on an area of retention surfaces of the one or more teeth within the zone, the retention surfaces corresponding to tooth- surface portions that contribute a positive retention force and that are identified based on the one or more teeth within [[each]] the zone[[,]] and the zone; [[and]] determining a probability that the dental aligner will improperly fit the patient's dentition based on [[the]] retention values associated with the plurality of zones.
Raslambekov’1 discloses a method (1000) of determining a coupling point for an attachment on a subject’s tooth in the same field of endeavor (refer to col. 16, lines 65-68, Fig. 11). The method (100) includes generating a plurality of zones, each zone of the plurality of zones having one or more teeth from the 3D model of the patient's dentition (refer to col. 16, lines 15-28; each tooth of the lower teeth 16 is segmented to obtain a plurality of segmented crown portions or zones) and simulating a retention value (degree of relevance) for each zone[[s]], based on an area of retention surfaces of the one or more teeth within the zone (1840) (refer to col. 26, lines 29-33, 39-42; the third band 1840, which indicates a region of least degree of relevance, is based on the meshes of the tooth which form a desirable angle between the normal vector and the tooth axis), the retention surfaces (individual meshes of 1840) corresponding to tooth- surface portions that contribute a positive retention force (refer to col. 3, lines 17-19, col. 10, lines 35-37, col. 11, lines 56-60, col. 26, lines 29-33; the digital 3D representations of the tooth and the opposite arch form comprise meshes indicative of a surface of the given tooth and the opposing teeth; the meshes of the least degree of relevance correspond to a position on the tooth surface where the attachment engages with the aligner, applying a contact force analogous to a positive retention force, to apply the modeled forces for orthodontic treatment) and that are identified based on the one or more teeth within [[each]] the zone[[,]] and the zone (1030) (refer to col. 12, lines 2-4, col. 26, lines 34-46, col. 27, lines 1-7, Fig. 6; for each mesh location on a given tooth or zone, an angle difference of a normal axis with the tooth axis is determined; the degree of relevance is based on how far the determined angle deviates from the predetermined angle value; by definition, all collinear lines are also parallel (https://www.ck12.org/flexi/cbse-math/vectors/differentiate-between-collinear-and-parallel-vectors./), thus the determined tooth axis is parallel to a long axis of the tooth).
Raslambekov’1 further teaches [[and]] determining that the dental aligner will improperly fit the patient's dentition based on [[the]] retention values (degree of relevance) associated with the plurality of zones (refer to col. 10, lines 35-37, col. 11, lines 57-60, col. 26, lines 32-46, col. 27, lines 54-59; Examiner understands “retention value” as a value which describes the ability of the aligner to engage the patient’s teeth and thus, apply the required forces for repositioning; the degree of relevance indicates where positioning an attachment will result in optimization of applied forces, thus also indicating aligner engagement or retentiveness; high degree of relevance indicates deviation from the optimal positioning such that the attachment will not engage the aligner to apply the required forces, while low degree of relevance indicates more optimal positioning for superior engagement with the aligner). Raslambekov’1’s method ensures optimal attachment placement to enact a planned orthodontic treatment, thus improving aligner retentiveness to apply the desired force system (refer to col. 11, lines 57-61).
As Morton teaches determining a probability that the dental aligner will improperly fit the patient's dentition based on engagement with the aligner (refer to Paragraph [0063]), and Raslambekov’1 teaches determining that a dental aligner will improperly fit based on retention values associated with the plurality of zones, the combined references teach determining the probability that the dental aligner will improperly fit the patient's dentition based on retention values associated with the plurality of zones.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the method (100) of Morton with the method (1000) of Raslambekov’1, to optimally enact a planned orthodontic treatment (refer to col. 11, lines 57-61), thus improving aligner retentiveness.
Regarding claim 2, Morton and Raslambekov’1 disclose the method of claim 1, Morton is silent to outputting one or more indicators of the determined probability that the dental aligner will improperly fit on the patient's dentition
Raslambekov’1 further outputting one or more indicators of the determination that the dental aligner will improperly fit on the patient's dentition (refer to col. 26, lines 43-46, Fig. 18; the heat map comprises colored bands (red, green, yellow) representative of a degree of relevance, where the degree of relevance indicates deviation from the predetermined optimal angle, or exclusion areas). The colored bands provide a visual indicator for the user.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modified the combined method of Morton and Raslambekov’1 to include outputting one or more indicators of the determination that the dental aligner will improperly fit on the patient's dentition to provide a visual indication of the determined probability to the user.
Regarding claim 3, Morton and Raslambekov’1 disclose the method of claim 1; Morton further discloses wherein the 3D model of the patient’s dentition corresponds to the patient’s dentition at initiation of the stage of the treatment plan (refer to Paragraph [0079], [0092]; the input data 404 includes the initial tooth positions for the current path segment; one such initial position is a digital data set that represents the initial (pretreatment) arrangement of the patient's teeth).
Regarding claim 4, Morton and Raslambekov’1 disclose the method of claim 1; Morton further discloses wherein the treatment plan includes multiple stages for moving teeth of the patient’s dentition toward a final position, wherein each of the multiple stages is associated with a corresponding aligner (refer to Paragraph [0085]; clinically acceptable appliance configurations are calculated (step 170); each appliance configuration represents a step along the treatment path for the patient).
Regarding claim 5, Morton and Raslambekov’1 disclose the method of claim 4; Morton further discloses repeating the method (100) the plurality of aligners associated with the multiple (refer to Paragraph [0083], Fig. 1; the process of calculating clinically acceptable appliances according to the subprocesses is repeated in an iterative process).
As disclosed in the rejection for claim 1 above, Morton and Raslambekov’1 combined teach the method of claim 1. As Morton teaches repeating the method steps for appliance design for each step of the treatment plan (refer to Paragraph [0083], Fig. 1), and the steps disclosed by Raslambekov’1 are essential to the appliance design and treatment plan, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to repeat the combined method of Morton and Raslambekov’1.
Regarding claim 6, Morton and Raslambekov’1 disclose the method of claim 1;
Morton further discloses wherein generating the plurality of zones comprises:
dividing the 3D model into the plurality of zones (refer to Paragraphs [0080], [0092], [0094]; data structures that digitally represent individual tooth crowns are produced, where each individual tooth identified as movable is a zone); and
Morton is silent to wherein the retention value of each zone is based on an average retention value for the one or more teeth in the corresponding zone.
Raslambekov’1 further discloses normalizing gradients within each heat map describing the retention value of each zone (degree of relevance) (refer to col. 2, lines 44-46), which is analogous to basing each of the retention values on an average value, as the process of normalizing data by definition includes adjusting each individual value by subtracting the average value (https://www.datacamp.com/tutorial/normalization-vs-standardization).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the method (100) of Morton with retention values based on an average as taught by Raslambekov’1, as this is a demonstrated method of indicating attachment placement, the same function of the method (100) of Morton (refer to Paragraph [0063]) and Applicant (see Paragraph [0009] of specification).
Regarding claim 7, Morton and Raslambekov’1 disclose the method of claim 6;
Morton is silent to wherein simulating the retention value comprises: determining a reference vector parallel to a long axis of a tooth; determining the surface normal vectors distributed across a surface of the tooth and normal to the surface of the tooth; and calculating angles between the reference vector and each of the surface normal vectors.
Raslambekov’1 further discloses wherein simulating the retention value (degree of relevance) comprises:
determining a reference vector parallel to a long axis of a tooth (refer to col. 23, lines 35-40, Figs. 6-7; the method 1000 may further comprise determining the tooth axis 1560/120; by definition, all collinear lines are also parallel (https://www.ck12.org/flexi/cbse-math/vectors/differentiate-between-collinear-and-parallel-vectors./));
determining the surface normal vectors distributed across a surface of the tooth and normal to the surface of the tooth (refer to col. 4, lines 25-26; the method includes obtaining a normal axis of each vector of the mesh of the given tooth); and
calculating angles between the reference vector and each of the surface normal vectors (Refer to col. 26, lines 47-51; the method 1000 determines for each vector of the given tooth an angle between (i) a normal axis of the vector of the mesh of the given tooth, and (ii) a tooth axis of the given tooth).
Regarding claim 8, Morton and Raslambekov’1 disclose the method of claim 1; Morton is silent to wherein the retention surfaces comprise tooth-surface portions having angles greater than 90 degrees between the surface normal vectors and the reference vectors.
Raslambekov’1 further discloses wherein the retention surfaces (individual meshes of 1840) comprise tooth-surface portions having a value outside of a predetermined angle of 90 degrees between the surface normal vectors and the reference vectors (refer to col. 3, lines 17-19, col. 26, lines 47-53; if the determined angle for each surface vector of a given tooth or zone is outside of a predetermined angle, such as 90°, that given vector is considered to be part of the seventh excluded area). This ensures optimal positioning of the attachment (refer to col. 28, lines 10-16).
Although Raslambekov’1 does not explicitly disclose a number of angles greater than 90 degrees, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of “about 1-5%” while the claim was limited to “more than 5%.” The court held that “about 1-5%” allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.) MPEP § 2144.05-I.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the combined method of Morton and Raslambekov’1 wherein the retention surfaces (individual meshes of 1840) comprise tooth-surface portions having a value greater than 90 degrees as taught by Raslambekov’1 in order to ensure optimal positioning of the attachment (refer to col. 28, lines 10-16).
Regarding claim 9, Morton and Raslambekov’1 disclose the method of claim 1; Morton further discloses determining a shape and size of the one or more retention-enhancing attachments at [[the]] corresponding one or more attachment locations (refer to Paragraphs [0061], [0125]; attachment parameter values, including shape and sizing can be selected or modified for engagement or grip).
Claims 10-11 Cancelled
Regarding claim 12, Morton discloses a non-transient, computer-readable medium containing program instructions for designing of a dental aligner (refer to Paragraphs [0052]-[0053], [0168]; the present invention provides methods for designing orthodontic systems including orthodontic appliances ; storage devices suitable for tangibly embodying computer program instructions and data include all forms of nonvolatile memory) the program instructions causing [[a]] one or more processors (refer to Paragraph [0168]; a processor will receive instructions and data from a read-only memory and/or a random access memory) to:
initialize a 3D model of a patient's dentition based on [[the]] a stage of a treatment plan corresponding to the dental aligner (step 420) (refer to Paragraphs [0087], [0092]; processes 200 and 400 are subprocesses of the method (100); the input data 404 includes the initial tooth positions for the current path segment);
generate a plurality of zones, each zone of the plurality of zones having one or more teeth from the 3D model of the patient's dentition (refer to Paragraphs [0080], [0092], [0094]; data structures that digitally represent individual tooth crowns are produced, where each individual tooth identified as movable is a zone);
simulate the dental aligner for each of the zones (process 400) (refer to Paragraphs [0092], [0094], Fig. 12; the process iterates over the movable teeth in the model, calculating the shape of the aligner for the current tooth); and
determine a probability that the dental aligner will improperly fit the patient's dentition (refer to Paragraph [0063]; Examiner understands “an improperly fitting aligner”, as an aligner that does not affect the desired force on the patient’s dentition to position the teeth to the desired final position; methods and systems according to the present invention advantageously consider and account for various factors which can have a significant effect on imparting a precise force system to a tooth, including probability of engagement between the aligner, analogous to a probability of improper fit);
modify the treatment plan by adding one or more retention-enhancing attachments at one or more retention-enhancing attachment locations on the patient's dentition based on the determined probability (step 640) (refer to Paragraphs [0063], [0067], [0103], [0110], Fig. 14; upon determination that the aligner is unacceptable, or unable to effect the required motion and is thus an improper fit, the process 600 proceeds to execute a module that calculates the configuration of a hardware attachment to the subject tooth (modified treatment plan), where the present invention uses inputs (probability of engagement between the aligner) to determine the optimal design of the attachment to be used with the aligner for a specific tooth; determination of the optimal design includes determining optimal location of the attachment on the tooth); and
fabricate the dental aligner based on the modified treatment plan (180) (refer to Paragraph [0086]; appliances defined by the process are manufactured).
Morton is silent to simulating a retention value for each zone[[s]], based on an area of retention surfaces of the one or more teeth within the zone, the retention surfaces corresponding to tooth- surface portions that contribute a positive retention force and that are identified based on the one or more teeth within [[each]] the zone[[,]] and the zone; [[and]] determining a probability that the dental aligner will improperly fit the patient's dentition based on [[the]] retention values associated with the plurality of zones.
Raslambekov’1 discloses a method (1000) executable by a processor of a computer system of determining a coupling point for an attachment on a subject’s tooth in the same field of endeavor (refer to col. 2, lines 27-28, col. 16, lines 65-68, Fig. 11). The method (100) includes generating a plurality of zones, each zone of the plurality of zones having one or more teeth from the 3D model of the patient's dentition (refer to col. 16, lines 15-28; each tooth of the lower teeth 16 is segmented to obtain a plurality of segmented crown portions or zones) and simulating a retention value (degree of relevance) for each zone[[s]], based on an area of retention surfaces of the one or more teeth within the zone (1840) (refer to col. 26, lines 29-33, 39-42; the third band 1840, which indicates a region of least degree of relevance, is based on the meshes of the tooth which form a desirable angle between the normal vector and the tooth axis), the retention surfaces (individual meshes of 1840) corresponding to tooth- surface portions that contribute a positive retention force (refer to col. 3, lines 17-19, col. 10, lines 35-37, col. 11, lines 56-60, col. 26, lines 29-33; the digital 3D representations of the tooth and the opposite arch form comprise meshes indicative of a surface of the given tooth and the opposing teeth; the meshes of the least degree of relevance correspond to a position where the attachment engages with the aligner, applying a contact force analogous to a positive retention force, to apply the modeled forces for orthodontic treatment) and that are identified based on the one or more teeth within [[each]] the zone[[,]] and the zone (1030) (refer to col. 12, lines 2-4, col. 26, lines 34-46, col. 27, lines 1-7, Fig. 6; for each mesh location on a given tooth or zone, an angle difference of a normal axis with the tooth axis is determined; the degree of relevance is based on how far the determined angle deviates from the predetermined angle value; by definition, all collinear lines are also parallel (https://www.ck12.org/flexi/cbse-math/vectors/differentiate-between-collinear-and-parallel-vectors./), thus the determined tooth axis is parallel to a long axis of the tooth).
Raslambekov’1 further teaches [[and]] determining that the dental aligner will improperly fit the patient's dentition based on [[the]] retention values (degree of relevance) associated with the plurality of zones (refer to col. 10, lines 35-37, col. 11, lines 57-60, col. 26, lines 32-46, col. 27, lines 54-59; Examiner understands “retention value” as a value which describes the ability of the aligner to engage the patient’s teeth and thus, apply the required forces for repositioning; the degree of relevance indicates where positioning an attachment will result in optimization of applied forces, thus also indicating aligner engagement or retentiveness; high degree of relevance indicates deviation from the optimal positioning such that the attachment will not engage the aligner to apply the required forces, while low degree of relevance indicates more optimal positioning for superior engagement with the aligner). Raslambekov’1’s method ensures optimal attachment placement to enact a planned orthodontic treatment, thus improving aligner retentiveness to apply the desired force system (refer to col. 11, lines 57-61).
As Morton teaches determining a probability that the dental aligner will improperly fit the patient's dentition based on engagement with the aligner (refer to Paragraph [0063]), and Raslambekov’1 teaches determining that a dental aligner will improperly fit based on retention values associated with the plurality of zones, the combined references teach determining the probability that the dental aligner will improperly fit the patient's dentition based on retention values associated with the plurality of zones.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the method (100) of Morton with the method (1000) of Raslambekov’1, to optimally enact a planned orthodontic treatment (refer to col. 11, lines 57-61), thus improving aligner retentiveness.
Regarding claim 13, Morton and Raslambekov’1 disclose the non-transient computer-readable medium of claim 12; Morton is silent to wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to output one or more indicators of the determined probability that the dental aligner will improperly fit on the patient's dentition
Raslambekov’1 further outputting one or more indicators of the determination that the dental aligner will improperly fit on the patient's dentition (refer to col. 26, lines 43-46, Fig. 18; the heat map comprises colored bands (red, green, yellow) representative of a degree of relevance, where the degree of relevance indicates deviation from the predetermined optimal angle, or exclusion areas). The colored bands provide a visual indicator for the user.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modified the combined method of Morton and Raslambekov’1 to include outputting one or more indicators of the determination that the dental aligner will improperly fit on the patient's dentition to provide a visual indication of the determined probability to the user.
Regarding claim 14, Morton and Raslambekov’1 disclose the non-transient computer-readable medium of claim 12;
Morton further discloses the plurality of zones comprises:
dividing the 3D model into the plurality of zones (refer to Paragraphs [0080], [0092], [0094]; data structures that digitally represent individual tooth crowns are produced, where each individual tooth identified as movable is a zone); and
Morton is silent to wherein the retention value of each of the plurality of zones is based on an average retention value for the one or more teeth in the corresponding zone.
Raslambekov’1 further discloses normalizing gradients within each heat map describing the retention value of each of the plurality of zones (degree of relevance) (refer to col. 2, lines 44-46), which is analogous to basing each of the retention values on an average value, as the process of normalizing data by definition includes adjusting each individual value by subtracting the average value (https://www.datacamp.com/tutorial/normalization-vs-standardization).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the method (100) of Morton with retention values based on an average as taught by Raslambekov’1, as this is a demonstrated method of indicating attachment placement, the same function of the method (100) of Morton (refer to Paragraph [0063]) and Applicant (see Paragraph [0009] of specification).
Regarding claim 15, Morton and Raslambekov’1 disclose the non-transient computer-readable medium of claim 12;
Morton is silent to wherein simulating the retention value of the zones is based on a number of angles greater than 90 degrees.
wherein the retention surfaces comprise tooth-surface portions having angles greater than 90 degrees between the surface normal vectors and the reference vectors.
Raslambekov’1 further discloses wherein the retention surfaces (individual meshes of 1840) comprise tooth-surface portions having a value outside of a predetermined angle of 90 degrees between the surface normal vectors and the reference vectors (refer to col. 3, lines 17-19, col. 26, lines 47-53; if the determined angle for each surface vector of a given tooth or zone is outside of a predetermined angle, such as 90°, that given vector is considered to be part of the seventh excluded area). This ensures optimal positioning of the attachment (refer to col. 28, lines 10-16).
Although Raslambekov’1 does not explicitly disclose a number of angles greater than 90 degrees, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of “about 1-5%” while the claim was limited to “more than 5%.” The court held that “about 1-5%” allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.) MPEP § 2144.05-I.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the combined method of Morton and Raslambekov’1 wherein the retention surfaces (individual meshes of 1840) comprise tooth-surface portions having a value greater than 90 degrees as taught by Raslambekov’1 in order to ensure optimal positioning of the attachment (refer to col. 28, lines 10-16).
Regarding claim 16, Morton and Raslambekov’1 disclose the non-transient computer-readable medium of claim 12;
Morton is silent to wherein simulating the retention value comprises: determining a reference vector parallel to a long axis of a tooth ;determining the surface normal vectors distributed across a surface of the tooth and normal to the surface of the tooth; and calculating angles between the reference vector and each of the surface normal vectors.
Raslambekov’1 further discloses wherein simulating the retention value (degree of relevance) comprises:
determining a reference vector parallel to a long axis of a tooth (refer to col. 23, lines 35-40, Figs. 6-7; the method 1000 may further comprise determining the tooth axis 1560/120; by definition, all collinear lines are also parallel (https://www.ck12.org/flexi/cbse-math/vectors/differentiate-between-collinear-and-parallel-vectors./));
determining the surface normal vectors distributed across a surface of the tooth and normal to the surface of the tooth (refer to col. 4, lines 25-26; the method includes obtaining a normal axis of each vector of the mesh of the given tooth); and
calculating angles between the reference vector and each of the surface normal vectors (refer to col. 26, lines 47-51; the method 1000 determines for each vector of the given tooth an angle between (i) a normal axis of the vector of the mesh of the given tooth, and (ii) a tooth axis of the given tooth).
Claim 17- Cancelled
Regarding claim 18, Morton and Raslambekov’1 disclose the non-transient computer-readable medium of claim 12; Morton further discloses wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to determine a shape and size of one or more retention- enhancing attachments at the one or more retention-enhancing attachment locations (refer to Paragraphs [0061], [0125]; attachment parameter values, including shape and sizing can be selected or modified for engagement or grip).
Claim 19 – Cancelled
Regarding claim 42, Morton and Raslambekov’1 disclose the method of claim 1; Morton is silent to wherein the retention value for each zone is determined from an average of tooth retention values associated with the one or more teeth within the zone.
Raslambekov’1 further discloses normalizing gradients within each heat map describing the retention value of each zone (degree of relevance) (refer to col. 2, lines 44-46), which is analogous to basing each of the retention values on an average of tooth retention values, as the process of normalizing data by definition includes adjusting each individual value by subtracting the average value (https://www.datacamp.com/tutorial/normalization-vs-standardization).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the method (100) of Morton with retention values based on an average of tooth retention values as taught by Raslambekov’1, as this is a demonstrated method of indicating attachment placement, the same function of the method (100) of Morton (refer to Paragraph [0063]) and Applicant (see Paragraph [0009] of specification).
Regarding claim 43, Morton and Raslambekov’1 disclose the method of claim 1; Morton is silent to wherein each surface normal vector is associated with a polygon of a surface mesh of a corresponding tooth, wherein the retention values are determined based on areas of the polygons associated with the retention surfaces.
Raslambekov’1 further discloses wherein each surface normal vector is associated with a polygon of a surface mesh of the tooth (refer to col. 4, lines 25-26; the method includes obtaining a normal axis of each vector of the mesh of the given tooth; by definition, a 3D mesh consists of polygons (https://www.techtarget.com/whatis/definition/3D-mesh)), and wherein the retention values (degree of relevance) are determined based on areas of the polygons associated with the retention surfaces (individual meshes of 1840) (refer to col. 26, lines 29-33, 39-42; the third band 1840, which indicates a region of least degree of relevance, is based on the polygon meshes of the tooth which form a desirable angle between the normal vector and the tooth axis). The polygons define the area of the heatmap that is colored by green, indicating an optimal attachment point (refer to col. 26, lines 39-43).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the method (100) of Morton with polygon associated surface normal vectors and retention values as taught by Raslambekov’1, as the polygons define the area of the heatmap that is colored by green, indicating an optimal attachment point (refer to col. 26, lines 39-43).
Regarding claim 44, Morton and Raslambekov’1 disclose the method of claim 1; Morton is silent to wherein the probability that the dental aligner will improperly fit the patient's dentition is determined based on a comparison of the retention values associated with the plurality of zones to one or more threshold values.
Raslambekov’1 further discloses determining that the dental aligner will improperly fit the patient's dentition is determined based on a comparison of the retention values (degree of relevance) associated with the plurality of zones to one or more threshold values (refer to col. 26, lines 33-39, 59-65, col. 27, lines 6-7; the bands each represent a degree of relevance, where the degree of relevance is a measure of the deviation of an angle from the desired 90° angle; the first band 1820, second band 1830, and the third band 1840 are determined based on a predetermined angle range, or threshold, associated with each band). The predetermined angle range is based on optimal attachment placement to enact a planned orthodontic treatment, thus improving aligner retentiveness to apply the desired force system (refer to col. 11, lines 57-61).
As disclosed in the rejection for claim 1 above, Morton teaches determining a probability that the dental aligner will improperly fit the patient's dentition based on engagement with the aligner (refer to Paragraph [0063]). As Raslambekov’1 teaches determining that the dental aligner will improperly fit the patient's dentition is determined based on a comparison of the retention values (degree of relevance) associated with the plurality of zones to one or more threshold values, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the combined method of Morton and Raslambekov’1 since the predetermined angle range is based on optimal attachment placement to enact a planned orthodontic treatment, thus improving aligner retentiveness to apply the desired force system (refer to col. 11, lines 57-61).
Claim(s) 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morton et al. (US 20100138025 A1), herein referred to as Morton, in view of Raslambekov’1 et al. (US 11166787 B1), herein referred to as Raslambekov’1 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Raslambekov’2 (US 10945812 B1).
Regarding claim 41, Morton and Raslambekov’1 disclose the method of claim 1; Morton is silent to wherein the retention value for each zone is determined based on a cumulative area of the retention surfaces of the one or more teeth within the zone.
As disclosed in the rejection for claim 1 above, Raslambekov’1 teaches wherein the retention value for each zone is determined based on an area of the retention surfaces of the one or more teeth within the zone (1840), but not a cumulative area (refer to col. 26, lines 29-33, 39-42).
Raslambekov’2 discloses a method of determining normal vectors for mesh elements in the same field of endeavor (refer to Abstract, col. 27, lines 57-60), teaching that determining the normal vector can be computed by a mean that is weighted by multiple areas of mesh elements, equivalent to a cumulative area (refer to col. 28, lines 8-11). As Raslambekov’1 teaches the retention value for each zone is based on the normal vector for an area of the tooth, together, the references teach determining the retention value for each zone based on multiple areas. Raslambekov’2 demonstrates this as a known method (refer to col. 28, lines 12-18).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of determining the retention value of each zone as taught by Morton and Raslambekov’1 with using cumulative areas to determine the retention value as taught by Raslambekov’2, as Raslambekov’2 demonstrates this as a known method (refer to col. 28, lines 12-18).
Response to Arguments
The outstanding drawing objections are withdrawn in view of the newly submitted specification amendment.
The outstanding objection of claim 20 is withdrawn in view of the newly submitted claim amendment.
The outstanding 35 U.S.C. 101 rejections are withdrawn in view of the newly submitted claim amendments incorporating a practical fabrication step in independent claims 1 and 12.
Applicant's arguments filed 10/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument that Morton in view of Raslambekov’1 does not suggest all the features recited in the amended claims, Examiner points to the above rejection.
In response to the argument that Raslambekov’1’s degree of relevance is non-analogous due to its function of identifying suitable attachment locations, Applicant’s own specification states that attachments are added at locations on the patient’s teeth deemed retention surfaces for increasing aligner retention (refer to Paragraph [0011]). Thus, the polygon areas that Raslambekov’1’s identifies as optimal attachment regions of the tooth, are analogous to Applicant’s own retention surfaces.
Additionally, in response to the argument that Raslambekov’1’s degree of relevance is merely an attachment placement metric, Applicant’s own specification defines that the retention value calculation includes calculating angles between the reference vector and surface normal vector, which is the same process of Raslambekov’1’ (refer to Paragraph [0016]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADRIENA J WEBB LYTTLE/Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/EDELMIRA BOSQUES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3772