Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: Each “unit configured” in claims 1-14, 17-18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 11-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by CAI (US 2021/0272289).
As to claim 1, CAI discloses an image processing apparatus comprising:
at least one processor or circuit (para. 0062)configured to function as:
a boundary detection unit configured to detect a boundary in each divisional region obtained by dividing image information into a plurality of divisional regions on the basis of color information of each pixel of the image information (para. 0070, 0071, e.g. segmenting (or otherwise dividing) an image into multiple candidate regions for sky detection) ; and
a combined distance information determination unit configured to determine combined distance information for each sub-region separated by the boundary in the divisional region on the basis of distance information of each pixel of the image information (para. 0085, 0087, 0088, e.g., transforming or converting the identified second subset of regions that represent interfering feature(s) (e.g., the sky) to integrate with data obtained from the stereo vision system of the mobile platform; the sky is considered to be at an infinite distance from the cameras; the stereo vision system can filter out data corresponding to the interfering feature(s) (e.g., the sky) and associate proper depth value(s) (e.g., infinity) to the filtered-out area(s) or space(s). In some embodiments, the method 200 includes transforming or converting the identified regions to filter environment data (e.g., depth data) obtained by other sensor(s) (e.g., LiDAR, RADAR) and/or direct applicable sensor(s) to selectively perform depth measurement (e.g., skip the scanning of interfering feature(s)).
As to claim 2, CAI discloses the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor or circuit is further configured to function as: a classification unit configured to perform predetermined classification according to the combined distance information for the sub-region (para. 0045, 0087, e.g., controller can then transform data (e.g., location, boundaries, or the like) corresponding to the second region subset into detecting data obtained by a third sensor carried by the mobile platform. The third sensor (e.g., a stereo camera) may produce three-dimensional (3D) sensor data which the mobile platform typically uses for environment mapping, obstacle detection, automated navigation, or other functions).
As to claim 3, CAI discloses the image processing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the classification unit classifies the sub-region as one of three categories including the sky, a road, and others (para. 0087, e.g., a corresponding silhouette image indicating sky regions identified from the image).
As to claim 5, CAI discloses the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor or circuit is further configured to function as: a distance information measurement unit configured to detect the distance information for each pixel of the image information (para. 0085, 0087, 0088)
As to claim 11, CAI discloses the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the boundary detection unit detects a position where a difference in the color information of the adjacent pixels is more than a predetermined threshold value as the boundary (para. 0051, 0072-0077).
As to claim 12, CAI discloses the image processing apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the divisional region has a plurality of pixels arranged in a horizontal direction of a screen (Fig. 6, para. 0083), and the color information is a representative value obtained on the basis of the plurality of pixels arranged in the horizontal direction of the screen (para. 0043, 0081, 0083).
As to claim 13, CAI discloses the image processing according to claim 2, wherein the at least one processor or circuit is further configured to function as: an object detection unit configured to detect an object by integrating images of the plurality of divisional regions including the sub-region classified by the classification unit (para. 0056, 0059).
As to claim 14, CAI discloses the above claim limitations of claim 1, and further discloses a traveling control unit configured to control a traveling state on the basis of information regarding the object detected by the object detection unit (para. 0033, 0063, 0089).
As to claims 15-16, these claims recite features similar to those discussed above. Therefore, they are rejected for reasons similar to those discussed above.
As to claim 17, CAI discloses the above claim limitations of claim 1, and further discloses an output unit configured to output the combined distance information determined by the determination unit (para. 0085).
As to claim 18, CAI discloses the above claim limitations of claim 1, and further discloses a display control unit configured to display a color determined on the basis of the combined distance information acquired by the acquisition unit on a display device for each sub-region (para. 0062, 0066, 0102).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CAI (US 2021/0272289) in view of Brueckner (US 2019/0188496).
As to claim 4, CAI is silent regarding wherein the boundary detection unit divides the image information into the plurality of divisional regions that extend in a vertical direction of a screen and are arranged in a horizontal direction of the screen.
Brueckner teaches dividing the image information into the plurality of divisional regions that extend in a vertical direction of a screen and are arranged in a horizontal direction of the screen (Fig. 3a, para. 0074).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Brueckner’s teachings into CAI since doing so would merely combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, and would lower system complexity and reduce image data to be processed thereby improving processing speed.
8. Claim(s) 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CAI (US 2021/0272289) in view of Tanaka (US 2019/0120950).
As to claim 6, CAI is silent regarding wherein the distance information measurement unit generates a reliability representing a likelihood of the distance information of each pixel on the basis of the color information, and the combined distance information determination unit determines the combined distance information for each sub-region on the basis of the distance information of each pixel that is weighted on the basis of the reliability.
Tanaka teaches wherein the distance information measurement unit generates a reliability representing a likelihood of the distance information of each pixel on the basis of the color information (para. , 0062, 0063, 0085) and the combined distance information determination unit determines the combined distance information for each sub-region on the basis of the distance information of each pixel that is weighted on the basis of the reliability (para. 0078, 0082, 0083).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Tanaka’s teachings into CAI since doing so would merely combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, and would improve system performance.
As to claim 7, Cai discloses an imaging unit configured to image a subject and generate a plurality of images with different viewpoints (para. 0033). CAI is silent regarding the distance information measurement unit calculates a parallax amount of the plurality of images on the basis of the color information, calculates a parallax reliability indicating a likelihood of the parallax amount of each pixel on the basis of the color information, and generates the reliability on the basis of the parallax reliability.
Tanaka teaches an imaging unit configured to image a subject and generate a plurality of images with different viewpoints (para. 0010), and the distance information measurement unit calculates a parallax amount of the plurality of images on the basis of the color information, calculates a parallax reliability indicating a likelihood of the parallax amount of each pixel on the basis of the color information, and generates the reliability on the basis of the parallax reliability (para. 0061-0063, 0073).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Tanaka’s teachings into CAI since doing so would merely combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, and would improve system performance.
As to claim 8, CAI is silent regarding wherein the distance information measurement unit calculates the parallax reliability of pixels in which a luminance value of the plurality of images is equal to or greater than a predetermined value to be lower than the parallax reliability of pixels in which a luminance value of the plurality of images is smaller than the predetermined value.
Tanaka teaches wherein the distance information measurement unit calculates the parallax reliability of pixels in which a luminance value of the plurality of images is equal to or greater than a predetermined value to be lower than the parallax reliability of pixels in which a luminance value of the plurality of images is smaller than the predetermined value (para. 0061-0063, 0073, 0103, 0104).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Tanaka’s teachings into CAI since doing so would merely combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, and would improve system performance.
As to claim 9, CAI discloses an imaging unit configured to image a subject and generate the image information (para. 0033, 0059). CAI is silent regarding an imaging unit configured to image a subject and generate the image information, and the distance information measurement unit measures the distance information according to a phase difference ranging method on the basis of signals from a first photoelectric conversion portion and a second photoelectric conversion portion disposed in a pixel of the imaging unit.
Tanaka teaches an imaging unit configured to image a subject and generate the image information, and the distance information measurement unit measures the distance information according to a phase difference ranging method on the basis of signals from a first photoelectric conversion portion and a second photoelectric conversion portion disposed in a pixel of the imaging unit (para. 0040, 0046-0047).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Tanaka’s teachings into CAI since doing so would merely combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, and would improve system performance.
As to claim 10, CAI is silent regarding wherein the distance information measurement unit measures the distance information according to a phase difference ranging method on the basis of two image signals from a stereo camera.
Tanaka teaches wherein the distance information measurement unit measures the distance information according to a phase difference ranging method on the basis of two image signals from a stereo camera (para. (para. 0040, 0046-0047).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Tanaka’s teachings into CAI since doing so would merely combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, and would improve system performance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
MOTOYAMA discloses a method comprising labeling each of a plurality of subjects in an image with a label, the label for each subject indicating a kind of the subject, wherein the labeling comprises analyzing the image and/or distance measurement points for an area depicted in the image, and determining additional distance information not included in the distance measurement point.
/PHUOC TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2668