DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 04/06/2026, with respect to amended claims 1, 5, and 8 have been fully considered and are persuasive.
Applicant has amended claim 1 to incorporate the limitations of previously presented claim 3, and claims 5 and 8 to incorporate all the limitations of previously presented independent claim 1. Claims 1, 3, 5, and 8 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Vidlund in view of Quadri. Applicant’s statement that the claimed invention and the subject matter disclosed by Vidlund were owned by or subject to an obligation of assignment to Cephea Valve Technologies, Inc. as of the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention is sufficient to establish that the AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b(2)(C) exception applies. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ratz et al. (US Patent No. 9,730,791) in view of Quadri et al. (US Patent No. 8,652,203) and Wallace et al. (US PG Pub No. 2017/0325948 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-7, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ratz et al. (US Patent No. 9,730,791) in view of Quadri et al. (US Patent No. 8,652,203) and Wallace et al. (US PG Pub No. 2017/0325948 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Ratz discloses a prosthetic heart valve (10) comprising: a collapsible and expandable frame (20; Col. 3, lines 23-26) that, in an expanded condition, includes a central portion (a portion of 20 between atrial portion 22 and ventricular portion 24), an atrial portion (22) flaring radially outwardly from the central portion (see Fig. 1), and a ventricular portion (24) flaring radially outwardly from the central portion (see Fig. 1), a prosthetic valve (valve 60) housed within the frame (20), and an outer skirt (outer skirt 30’) disposed on an outer surface of the frame (see Fig. 3), the outer skirt having a first end portion (68’), a second intermediate portion (the portion of 20 between the atrial portion 22 and the central portion), and a third intermediate portion (the portion between the central portion and the ventricular portion 24).
Ratz fails to disclose the first end portion having a first attachment to the atrial or the ventricular portion, the second intermediate portion having a second attachment to the frame adjacent the central portion, and the third intermediate portion having a third attachment to the frame adjacent the central portion, the central portion being disposed between the second attachment and the third attachment, wherein upon transition of the frame from the expanded condition to the collapsed condition, the first attachment does not translate relative to the frame, while the second and third attachments do translate relative to the frame.
Quadri also discloses a prosthetic heart valve comprising: a collapsible and expandable frame (Col. 10, lines 54-63, Figs 5A-5D, replacement heart valve 10”, self-expanding frame 20”), an atrial portion (see annotated Fig. 5 B below), a ventricular portion (see annotated Fig. 5 B below), a first end portion (adjacent to the atrial portion, see annotated Fig. 5B below), a second intermediate portion (adjacent to the central portion, see annotated Fig. 5B below), a third intermediate portion (adjacent to the central portion, see annotated Fig. 5B below), and an outer skirt disposed on an outer surface of the frame (Figs. 5A-5D, outer valve skirt 18”, frame 20”) having a central portion (see annotated Fig. 5 B below). Quadri teaches the outer skirt (outer valve skirt 18”) having the first end portion (adjacent to the atrial portion, see annotated Fig. 5B below) having a first attachment (tight stitches 82, see annotated Fig. 5B above) to the atrial or ventricular portion (see annotated Fig. 5B above), the second intermediate portion (adjacent to the central portion, see annotated Fig. 5B below) having a second attachment (loose or semi-loose stitching 80, see annotated Fig. 5B above) to the frame adjacent the central portion (see annotated Fig. 5B below), and the third intermediate portion (adjacent to the central portion, see annotated Fig. 5B below) having a third attachment (loose or semi-loose stitching 78, see annotated Fig. 5B below) to the frame adjacent the central portion (see annotated Fig. 5B below), the central portion (see annotated Fig. 5B below) being disposed between the second attachment (loose or semi-loose stitching 80, see annotated Fig. 5B below) and the third attachment (loose or semi-loose stitching 78, see annotated Fig. 5B below), wherein upon transition of the frame from the expanded condition to the collapsed condition (Col. 14, lines 6-16), the first attachment does not translate relative to the frame (tight stitches 82, see annotated Fig. 5B above), while the second (Fig. 5A-5D, loose or semi-loose stitching 80, see annotated Fig. 5B below) and third attachments (loose or semi-loose stitching 78, see annotated Fig. 5B below) do translate relative to the frame (Col. 14, lines 6-16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Ratz’s first end portion having a first attachment to the atrial or ventricular portion, second intermediate portion having a second attachment to the frame adjacent the central portion, and third intermediate portion having a third attachment to the frame adjacent the central portion, such that the central portion is disposed between the second attachment and the third attachment, wherein upon transition of the frame from the expanded condition to the collapsed condition, the first attachment does not translate relative to the frame (tight stitches 82, see annotated Fig. 5B above), while the second and third attachments do translate relative to the frame, as taught by Quadri, in order to enhance the attachment between the skirt to the frame in a way that still allows movement of the intermediate portion of the skirt when transitioning between collapsed and expanded positions (Col. 13, lines 37-49).
Ratz as modified by Quadri fails to disclose wherein the frame is an outer frame, and the prosthetic heart valve includes an inner frame attached to and disposed within the outer frame, the prosthetic valve being coupled to the inner frame. Wallace also discloses a prosthetic heart valve (Figs. 6A-6D, replacement valve 3200) comprising: a collapsible and expandable frame (Paragraph [0068]), and an outer skirt (Fig. 6A) disposed on an outer surface of the frame (Figs. 6A-6B, expandable anchor 3201) having a central portion (Figs. 6A-6B, central portion 3203). Wallace teaches wherein the frame is an outer frame (Figs. 6A-6B, expandable anchor 3201), and the prosthetic heart valve (3200) includes an inner frame (Figs. 6A and 6D, strut frame 3215) attached to and disposed within the outer frame (Fig. 6A), the prosthetic valve being coupled to the inner frame (Fig. 6A; Paragraphs [0105-0106]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Ratz’s, as modified by Quadri, prosthetic heart valve wherein the frame is an outer frame, and the prosthetic heart valve includes an inner frame attached to and disposed within the outer frame, the prosthetic valve being coupled to the inner frame, as taught by Wallace, in order for the inner frame provide support and stability to the outer frame when implanted (Paragraph [0088]).
Regarding claim 2, Ratz as modified by Quadri and Wallace discloses wherein a center portion (see annotated Fig. 5 B above) of the outer skirt (Figs. 5A-5D, outer valve skirt 18”, frame 20”) positioned between the second attachment (loose or semi-loose stitching 80, see annotated Fig. 5B above) and the third attachment (loose or semi-loose stitching 78, see annotated Fig. 5B above) is in tension when the frame is in the expanded condition (Due to expansion force from the frame) and is not in tension when the frame is in the collapsed (due to lack of expansion force from the frame) condition (Col. 13, lines 37-49).
Regarding claim 5, Ratz discloses a prosthetic heart valve (10) comprising: a collapsible and expandable frame (20; Col. 3, lines 23-26) that, in an expanded condition, includes a central portion (a portion of 20 between atrial portion 22 and ventricular portion 24), an atrial portion (22) flaring radially outwardly from the central portion (see Fig. 1), and a ventricular portion (24) flaring radially outwardly from the central portion (see Fig. 1), a prosthetic valve (valve 60) housed within the frame (20), and an outer skirt (outer skirt 30’) disposed on an outer surface of the frame (see Fig. 3), the outer skirt having a first end portion (68’), the portion of 20 between the atrial portion 22 and the central portion), and a third intermediate portion (the portion between the central portion and the ventricular portion 24).
Ratz fails to disclose the first end portion having a first attachment to the atrial portion or the ventricular portion, the second intermediate portion having a second attachment to the frame adjacent the central portion, and the third intermediate portion having a third attachment to the frame adjacent the central portion, the central portion being disposed between the second attachment and the third attachment, wherein upon transition of the frame from the expanded condition to the collapsed condition, the first attachment does not translate relative to the frame, while the second and third attachments do translate relative to the frame.
Quadri also discloses a prosthetic heart valve comprising: a collapsible and expandable frame (Col. 10, lines 54-63, Figs 5A-5D, replacement heart valve 10”, self-expanding frame 20”), an atrial portion (see annotated Fig. 5 B above), a ventricular portion (see annotated Fig. 5 B above), a first end portion (adjacent to the atrial portion, see annotated Fig. 5B above), a second intermediate portion (adjacent to the central portion, see annotated Fig. 5B above), a third intermediate portion (adjacent to the central portion, see annotated Fig. 5B above), and an outer skirt disposed on an outer surface of the frame (Figs. 5A-5D, outer valve skirt 18”, frame 20”) having a central portion (see annotated Fig. 5B above), and a first attachment (tight stitches 82, see annotated Fig. 5B above). Quadri teaches the outer skirt (outer valve skirt 18”) having the first end portion (adjacent to the atrial portion, see annotated Fig. 5B above) having a first attachment (tight stitches 82, see annotated Fig. 5B above) to the atrial or ventricular portion (see annotated Fig. 5B above), the second intermediate portion (adjacent to the central portion, see annotated Fig. 5B above) having a second attachment (loose or semi-loose stitching 80, see annotated Fig. 5B above) to the frame adjacent the central portion (see annotated Fig. 5B above), and the third intermediate portion (adjacent to the central portion, see annotated Fig. 5B above) having a third attachment (loose or semi-loose stitching 78, see annotated Fig. 5B above) to the frame adjacent the central portion (see annotated Fig. 5B above), the central portion (see annotated Fig. 5B above) being disposed between the second attachment (loose or semi-loose stitching 80, see annotated Fig. 5B above) and the third attachment (loose or semi-loose stitching 78, see annotated Fig. 5B above), wherein upon transition of the frame from the expanded condition to the collapsed condition (Col. 14, lines 6-16), the first attachment does not translate relative to the frame (tight stitches 82, see annotated Fig. 5B above), while the second (Fig. 5A-5D, loose or semi-loose stitching 80, see annotated Fig. 5B above) and third attachments (loose or semi-loose stitching 78, see annotated Fig. 5B above) do translate relative to the frame (Col. 14, lines 6-16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified to have modified Ratz’s first end portion having a first attachment to the atrial or ventricular portion, second intermediate portion having a second attachment to the frame adjacent the central portion, and third intermediate portion having a third attachment to the frame adjacent the central portion, such that the central portion is disposed between the second attachment and the third attachment, wherein upon transition of the frame from the expanded condition to the collapsed condition, the first attachment does not translate relative to the frame (tight stitches 82, see annotated Fig. 5B above), while the second and third attachments do translate relative to the frame, as taught by Quadri, in order to enhance the attachment between the skirt to the frame in a way that still allows movement of the intermediate portion of the skirt when transitioning between collapsed and expanded positions (Col. 13, lines 37-49).
Ratz as modified by Quadri discloses wherein the first attachment (tight stitches 82) would yield a suture (Col. 13, lines 45-46) extending in a circumferential direction of the frame, the suture crossing over a strut connection (Fig. 5A, longitudinal struts 56’’), but fails to disclose where a bottom apex of a first diamond-shaped cell joins a top apex of a vertically adjacent second diamond-shaped cell. Wallace also discloses a prosthetic heart valve (Fig. 10A, strut frame 2500) comprising: a collapsible and expandable frame (Paragraph [0068]). Wallace teaches where a bottom apex of a first diamond-shaped cell joins a top apex of a vertically adjacent second diamond-shaped cell (Paragraph [0098], Fig. 10A, diamond shaped sub features 2551). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Ratz’s, as modified by Quadri, prosthetic heart valve where a bottom apex of a first diamond-shaped cell joins a top apex of a vertically adjacent second diamond-shaped cell, as taught by Wallace, such that the first attachment suture crosses over a strut connection where a bottom apex of a first diamond-shaped cell joins a top apex of a vertically adjacent second diamond-shaped cell, as doing so would yield predictable results, namely, provide a framework that provides adequate structural support for a prosthetic heart valve (Paragraph [0068]).
Regarding claim 6, Ratz as modified by Quadri and Wallace discloses wherein when the frame is in the collapsed condition, the suture (tight stitches 82) is configured to slide along one or more struts (the sutures will have slack in the collapsed position allowing it to slide as claimed).
Regarding claim 7, Ratz as modified by Quadri and Wallace further discloses the suture is prevented from sliding along one or more struts when the frame is in the expanded condition (due to flare of diamond shaped cells above and below the attachments as shows in Wallace Fig. 10A).
Regarding claim 12, Ratz as modified by Quadri and Wallace discloses the claimed invention except for the first attachment of the first end portion of the outer skirt is to the atrial portion of the frame, and an opposite fourth end portion of the outer skirt attached to the ventricular portion of the frame via horizontal sutures that allow translation of the fourth end portion of the outer skirt relative to the ventricular portion of the frame.
Quadri further teaches wherein the first attachment (tight stitches 82, see annotated Fig. 5B above) of the first end portion (at 38” of non-foreshortening zone 52”, see annotated Fig. 5B above) of the outer skirt is to the atrial portion (38”, see annotated Fig. 5B above) of the frame, and an opposite fourth end portion of the outer skirt attached to the ventricular portion (see annotated Fig. 5B above) of the frame via horizontal sutures (see annotated Fig. 5B above illustrating loose or semi-loose sutures 78, 80 are horizontal) that allow translation (Col. 14, lines 6-16) of the fourth end portion of the outer skirt relative to the ventricular portion of the frame. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Ratz’s, as modified by Quadri and Wallace, device wherein the first attachment of the first end portion of the outer skirt is to the atrial portion of the frame, and an opposite fourth end portion of the outer skirt attached to the ventricular portion of the frame via horizontal sutures that allow translation of the fourth end portion of the outer skirt relative to the ventricular portion of the frame, as taught by Quadri, in order for the skirt to translate relative to the frame (Col. 12, lines 5-18).
Regarding claim 13, Ratz in view of Quadri and Wallace discloses wherein the outer skirt (Fig. 3, outer skirt 30’) includes at least three discrete portions, including an atrial portion disposed on the atrial portion of the frame (Fig. 3, on proximal anchors 22), a ventricular portion disposed on the ventricular portion of the frame (Fig. 3, on distal anchors 24), and a center portion extending between the atrial portion of the outer skirt and the ventricular portion of the outer skirt (Paragraph [0052], “outer skirt 30' extends along a substantial part of the frame and extends between proximal and distal anchors”).
Claim(s) 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ratz et al. (US Patent No. 9,730,791) in view of Quadri et al. (US Patent No. 8,652,203).
Regarding claim 8, Ratz discloses a prosthetic heart valve (10) comprising: a collapsible and expandable frame (20; Col. 3, lines 23-26) that, in an expanded condition, includes a central portion (a portion of 20 between atrial portion 22 and ventricular portion 24), an atrial portion (22) flaring radially outwardly from the central portion (see Fig. 1), and a ventricular portion (24) flaring radially outwardly from the central portion (see Fig. 1), a prosthetic valve (valve 60) housed within the frame (20), and an outer skirt (outer skirt 30’) disposed on an outer surface of the frame (see Fig. 3), the outer skirt having a first end portion (68’), a second intermediate portion (the portion of 20 between the atrial portion 22 and the central portion), and a third intermediate portion (the portion between the central portion and the ventricular portion 24).
Ratz fails to disclose the first end portion having a first attachment to the atrial or the ventricular portion, the second intermediate portion having a second attachment to the frame adjacent the central portion, and the third intermediate portion having a third attachment to the frame adjacent the central portion, the central portion being disposed between the second attachment and the third attachment, wherein upon transition of the frame from the expanded condition to the collapsed condition, the first attachment does not translate relative to the frame, while the second and third attachments do translate relative to the frame, wherein the first attachment of the first end portion of the outer skirt is to the atrial portion of the frame, and an opposite fourth end portion of the outer skirt has a fourth attachment to the ventricular portion of the frame.
Quadri also discloses a prosthetic heart valve comprising: a collapsible and expandable frame (Col. 10, lines 54-63, Figs 5A-5D, replacement heart valve 10”, self-expanding frame 20”), an atrial portion (see annotated Fig. 5 B above), a ventricular portion (see annotated Fig. 5 B above), a first end portion (adjacent to the atrial portion, see annotated Fig. 5B above), a second intermediate portion (adjacent to the central portion, see annotated Fig. 5B above), a third intermediate portion (adjacent to the central portion, see annotated Fig. 5B above), an outer skirt disposed on an outer surface of the frame (Figs. 5A-5D, outer valve skirt 18”, frame 20”) having a central portion (see annotated Fig. 5 B above), and a first attachment (tight stitches 82, see annotated Fig. 5B above). Quadri teaches the outer skirt (outer valve skirt 18”) having the first end portion (adjacent to the atrial portion, see annotated Fig. 5B above) having a first attachment (tight stitches 82, see annotated Fig. 5B above) to the atrial or ventricular portion (see annotated Fig. 5B above), the second intermediate portion (adjacent to the central portion, see annotated Fig. 5B above) having a second attachment (loose or semi-loose stitching 80, see annotated Fig. 5B above) to the frame adjacent the central portion (see annotated Fig. 5B above), and the third intermediate portion (adjacent to the central portion, see annotated Fig. 5B above) having a third attachment (loose or semi-loose stitching 78, see annotated Fig. 5B above) to the frame adjacent the central portion (see annotated Fig. 5B above), the central portion (see annotated Fig. 5B above) being disposed between the second attachment (loose or semi-loose stitching 80, see annotated Fig. 5B above) and the third attachment (loose or semi-loose stitching 78, see annotated Fig. 5B above), wherein upon transition of the frame from the expanded condition to the collapsed condition (Col. 14, lines 6-16), the first attachment does not translate relative to the frame (tight stitches 82, see annotated Fig. 5B above), while the second (Fig. 5A-5D, loose or semi-loose stitching 80, see annotated Fig. 5B above) and third attachments (loose or semi-loose stitching 78, see annotated Fig. 5B above) do translate relative to the frame (Col. 14, lines 6-16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Ratz’s first end portion having a first attachment to the atrial or ventricular portion, second intermediate portion having a second attachment to the frame adjacent the central portion, and third intermediate portion having a third attachment to the frame adjacent the central portion, such that the central portion is disposed between the second attachment and the third attachment, wherein upon transition of the frame from the expanded condition to the collapsed condition, the first attachment does not translate relative to the frame (tight stitches 82, see annotated Fig. 5B above), while the second and third attachments do translate relative to the frame, as taught by Quadri, in order to enhance the attachment between the skirt to the frame in a way that still allows movement of the intermediate portion of the skirt when transitioning between collapsed and expanded positions (Col. 13, lines 37-49).
Quadri further teaches the first attachment (tight stitches 82, see annotated Fig. 5B above) of the first end portion (at 38” of non-foreshortening zone 52”, see annotated Fig. 5B above) of the outer skirt (outer valve skirt 18”) is to the atrial portion (38”, see annotated Fig. 5B above) of the frame, and an opposite fourth end portion of the outer skirt has a fourth attachment (Col. 13, lines 63-66) to the ventricular portion (foreshortening zone 54”; see col. 13, lines 63-65 disclosing tight stitches 82 can be located on the upstream and downstream sides) of the frame. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Ratz’s prosthetic valve to further provide the first attachment of the first end portion of the outer skirt to the atrial portion of the frame, and an opposite fourth end portion of the outer skirt with a fourth attachment to the ventricular portion of the frame, as further taught by Quadri in order to prevent longitudinal migration of the skirt (Col. 13, lines 63-66).
Regarding claim 9, Ratz as modified by Quadri further discloses wherein upon transition of the frame from the expanded condition to the collapsed condition, the fourth attachment does not translate relative to the ventricular portion of the frame (Col.13, lines 56-62, tight stiches 82).
Claim(s) 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ratz et al. (US Patent No. 9,730,791) in view of Quadri et al. (US Patent No. 8,652,203), as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Wallace et al. (US PG Pub No. 2017/0325948 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Ratz in view of Quadri fails to disclose wherein in the expanded condition of the frame, a center portion of the outer skirt positioned between the second attachment and the third attachment includes a protrusion extending around the circumference of the frame.
Wallace also discloses a prosthetic heart valve (Figs. 6A-6D, replacement valve 3200, Figs 18A-18C, valve 1800) comprising: a collapsible and expandable frame (Paragraph [0068], Figs. 18A-18C), and an outer skirt (Fig. 6A, Paragraph [0135], “Any of the valve prostheses described herein can include a fabric cover and/or skirt or one or more portions of the device”) disposed on an outer surface of the frame (Figs. 6A-6B, expandable anchor 3201, Figs 18A-18C, anchor assembly 1801) having a central portion (Figs. 6A-6B, central portion 3203, Figs. 18A-18C). Wallace teaches wherein in the expanded condition of the frame, a center portion (3203) of the outer skirt (see annotated Fig. 6A below) positioned between the second attachment (Fig. 6B, 3222a) and the third attachment (Fig. 6B, 3246) includes a protrusion extending around the circumference of the frame (see annotated Fig. 6A below). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Ratz’s, as modified by Quadri, prosthetic heart valve wherein in the expanded condition of the frame, a center portion of the outer skirt positioned between the second attachment and the third attachment includes a protrusion extending around the circumference of the frame, in order to compress the native tissue (Paragraph [0011]).
Regarding claim 11, Ratz as modified by Quadri and Wallace discloses wherein upon transition of the frame from the expanded condition to the collapsed condition (Figs. 18A-18C), the protrusion (see annotated Fig. 6A above) flattens as the outer skirt (Fig. 6A, Paragraph [0135], “Any of the valve prostheses described herein can include a fabric cover and/or skirt or one or more portions of the device”) elongates.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Noe et al. (US PG Pub No. 2023/0277307 A1) teaches a prosthetic heart valve (Fig. 5A, replacement valve 500) with a skirt (Fig. 5A, skirt 502) having a protrusion (Fig. 5A, upper region 516).
Yohanan et al. (US Patent No. 11,147,667 B2) teaches a prosthetic heart valve (Fig. 1, prosthetic heart valve 10) with a skirt (Fig. 1, outer skirt 18) having a protrusion (Fig. 1).
/K.L.C./ Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/MELANIE R TYSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774