DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hase (US 2024/0275413) in view of Kapila (US 2022/0407557).
As to claim 1, Hase discloses a communication device (see at least figure 2), adapted to be coupled to an external antenna ANT11-ANT14 (see paragraph [0065]) configured to receive a wireless signal in a first frequency band (see paragraphs [0051], [0055], and [0058]), the communication device comprising: a first connector (see CH1-CH4 in block 30), adapted to be coupled to the external antenna ANT11-ANT14; a first internal antenna ANT1-ANT7 (see paragraph [0061]), configured to receive the wireless signal in the first frequency band; a first switch SW11-SW16, selectively coupled to the first connector 30 or the first internal antenna ANT1-ANT7; a first wireless communication module 10A-10C, coupled to the first switch SW11-SW16.
Hase fails to disclose that the first wireless communication module is configured to generate a first signal strength indicator parameter based on the wireless signal in the first frequency band; and a controller, configured to control switching of the first switch based on the first signal strength indicator parameter. Kapila discloses that a first wireless communication module (see figure 3) is configured to generate a first signal strength indicator parameter based on a wireless signal in a first frequency band; and a controller 330, configured to control switching of a first switch 380 based on the first signal strength indicator parameter. See paragraph [0024]. Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Kapila to Hase, in order to improve signal reliability and higher data throughput.
As to claim 5, as Hase is modified with Kapila as discussed in the rejection to claim 1 above, the combination of Hase and Kapila would read on the claimed limitations. Specifically, the combination of Hase and Kapila discloses that the external antenna ANT11-ANT14 (see Hase, figure 2) is further configured to receive a wireless signal in a second frequency band (see Hase, paragraphs [0051], [0055], and [0058]), and the communication device further comprises: a second connector (see CH1-CH4 in block 30), adapted to be coupled to the external antenna ANT11-ANT14; a second internal antenna ANT1-ANT7, configured to receive the wireless signal in the second frequency band (see paragraphs [0051], [0055], and [0058]); a second switch SW11-SW16, selectively coupled to the second connector CH1-CH4 or the second internal antenna ANT1-ANT7; and a second wireless communication module 10A-10C, coupled to the second switch SW11-SW16, wherein the second wireless communication module 10A-10C is configured to generate a second signal strength indicator parameter based on the wireless signal in the second frequency band (see Kapila, paragraph [0024]); and the controller 330 (see Kapila, figure 3) is configured to control switching of the second switch based on the second signal strength indicator parameter (see Kapila, paragraph [0024]).
As to claim 7, Hase discloses that the first wireless communication module 10A-10C and the second wireless communication module 10A-10C support different communication protocols (see paragraphs [0051], [0055], and [0058]).
Claims 2, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hase (US 2024/0275413) in view of Kapila (US 2022/0407557) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rose (US 2017/0230907).
As to claim 2, the combination of Hase and Kapila discloses when the first switch 380 (see Kapila, figure 3) is coupled to the first internal antenna 320, the first switch 380 is controlled by the controller 330 to switch and to be coupled to the first connector 355 and the first wireless communication module 340 when the controller 330 determines that the first signal strength indicator parameter is poor (see Kapila, paragraph [0024]). The combination of Hase and Kapila fails to disclose that the first signal strength indicator parameter is poor when it is less than a first strength lower limit. Rose discloses that when a first switch 428 (see figure 4B) is coupled to a first internal antenna 424, the first switch 428 is controlled by controller 412 to switch and to be coupled to a first connector 426 and a first wireless communication module 414 when the controller 412 determines that a first signal strength indicator parameter is less than a first strength lower limit. See paragraph [0112]. Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Rose to the above combination of Hase and Kapila, in order to further improve signal reliability and higher data throughput.
As to claim 16, it is rejected for similar reasons with respect to claim 2 as set forth above. See Rose, paragraph [0112] which discloses that “if a received signal strength is below a threshold, or if a transmission has not been received or acknowledged, the microcontroller 412 may be programmed to select the external antenna 426, which may be positioned outside of the environment”. Accordingly, if a received signal strength is not below a threshold, an internal antenna 424 will be selected instead of the external antenna 426. The combination of Hase, Kapila, and Rose fails to disclose that the controller regularly determines the first signal strength indicator parameter. The examiner, however, takes Official Notice that regularly determining RSSI parameter is known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above combination of Hase, Kapila, and Rose as claimed, in order to further improve signal reliability and higher data throughput.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hase (US 2024/0275413) in view of Kapila (US 2022/0407557) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liao (US 2020/0091778).
As to claim 3, the combination of Hase and Kapila fails to a first indicator light, wherein the controller controls the first indicator light to indicate a first light signal when determining that the first signal strength indicator parameter is greater than or equal to a first strength lower limit, and the controller controls the first indicator light to indicate a second light signal when determining that the first signal strength indicator parameter is less than the first strength lower limit. Liao discloses a first indicator light, wherein a controller controls the first indicator light to indicate a first light signal when determining that a first signal strength indicator parameter is greater than or equal to a first strength lower limit, and the controller controls the first indicator light to indicate a second light signal when determining that the first signal strength indicator parameter is less than the first strength lower limit. See paragraph [0070]. Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Liao to the combination of Hase and Kapila, in order to allow the user to be able to view the first signal strength indicator parameter.
As to claim 4, as the combination of Hase and Kapila is modified with Liao as discussed in the rejection to claim 3 above, the combination of Hase, Kapila, and Liao would read on the claimed limitations. Specifically, the combination of Hase, Kapila, and Liao discloses that the first switch 380 (see Kapila, figure 3) is coupled to the first internal antenna 320 and the first wireless communication module 340, the controller controls the first indicator light 120 (see Liao) to indicate the first light signal when determining that the first signal strength indicator parameter is greater than or equal to the first strength lower limit (see Liao, paragraph [0070]); and when the first switch 380 is not electrically connected to the internal antenna 320 or the first wireless communication module 340 and the first switch 380 is coupled to the first connector 355 and the first communication module 340, the controller controls the first indicator light 120 to indicate a third light signal when determining that the first signal strength indicator parameter is greater than or equal to the first strength lower limit (see Liao, paragraph [0070]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hase (US 2024/0275413) in view of Kapila (US 2022/0407557) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Liao (US 2020/0091778), and Patel (US 2008/0009324).
As to claim 6, with respect to the combination of Hase, Kapila, and Liao, it is rejected for similar reasons with respect to claim 4 as set forth above. The combination of Hase, Kapila, and Liao fails to further disclose a second indicator light for communication in the second frequency band. Patel discloses a first indicator light for communication in a first frequency band, and a second indicator light for communication in a second frequency band. See at least paragraphs [0020], [0021], and [0022]. Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Patel to the combination of Hase, Kapila, and Liao, in order to allow the user to be able to view signal strength indicator parameters in both first and second communication bands.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hase (US 2024/0275413) in view of Kapila (US 2022/0407557), Rose (US 2017/0230907) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Cunningham (US 2022/0149896).
As to claim 17, the combination of Hase, Kapila, and Rose fails to disclose that the controller temporarily switches the first switch to the first internal antenna in response to a preset time point, so as to electrically couple the first wireless communication module to the first internal antenna through the first switch, so that the first wireless communication module receives the wireless signal in the first frequency band from the first internal antenna. Cunningham discloses that a controller temporarily switches a first switch to a first internal antenna in response to a preset time point, so as to electrically couple a first wireless communication module to the first internal antenna through the first switch, so that the first wireless communication module receives the wireless signal in a frequency band from the first internal antenna. See paragraphs [0022], [0039], [0040]. Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Cunningham to the combination of Hase, Kapila, and Rose, in order to allow the user to be able to select an internal antenna at his/her chosen preset time point.
Claims 18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hase (US 2024/0275413) in view of Kapila (US 2022/0407557) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Harden (US 2019/0044227), and Rose (US 2017/0230907).
As to claim 18, the combination of Hase and Kapila fails to disclose a removable antenna search button, wherein the controller determines whether the first signal strength indicator parameter received from the first internal antenna is greater than or equal to a first strength lower limit in response to a control signal generated by the removable antenna search button, and the first switch is controlled by the controller to switch and to be coupled to the first internal antenna when the first signal strength indicator parameter is greater than or equal to the first strength lower limit.
Harden discloses a removable antenna search button 46, wherein a controller 42 determines scan antennas 12, 14, 16, in order to utilize the antenna that is providing the best signal quality (see paragraph [0022]). Rose discloses that a first switch is controlled by a controller to switch and to be coupled to a first internal antenna when a first signal strength indicator parameter is greater than or equal to the first strength lower limit (see paragraph [0112] which discloses that “if a received signal strength is below a threshold, or if a transmission has not been received or acknowledged, the microcontroller 412 may be programmed to select the external antenna 426, which may be positioned outside of the environment”. Accordingly, if a received signal strength is not below a threshold, an internal antenna 424 will be selected instead of the external antenna 426). Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Harden and Rose to the above combination of Hase and Kapila, in order to further improve signal reliability and higher data throughput, and allow the user to be able to select an internal antenna at his/her chosen time.
As to claim 20, the modified Hase and Harden discloses that the controller temporarily switches the first switch to the first internal antenna in response to the control signal generated by the removable antenna search button, so that the first wireless communication module receives the wireless signal in the first frequency band from the first internal antenna. See Harden paragraph [0022].
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hase (US 2024/0275413) in view of Kapila (US 2022/0407557), Harden (US 2019/0044227), and Rose (US 2017/0230907) as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Liao (US 2020/0091778).
As to claim 19, the modified Hase fails to disclose a first indicator light, wherein the controller controls the first indicator light to indicate a first light signal when determining that the first signal strength indicator parameter is greater than or equal to the first strength lower limit. Liao discloses a first indicator light, wherein a controller controls the first indicator light to indicate a first light signal when determining that the first signal strength indicator parameter is greater than or equal to the first strength lower limit. See paragraph [0070]. Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Liao to the modified Hase, in order to allow the user to be able to view the first signal strength indicator parameter.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As to claims 8-15, the prior art of record fail to anticipate, or render obvious, a third connector, adapted to be coupled to an external high-gain antenna, wherein the external high-gain antenna is configured to receive the wireless signal in the first frequency band; and a sub-switch, wherein the first switch is selectively coupled to the sub-switch, and the sub-switch is selectively coupled to the first connector or the third connector; and when the first switch is coupled to the first internal antenna, the first switch is controlled by the controller to switch and to be not electrically connected to the first wireless communication module and the first internal antenna but to be coupled to the sub-switch and the first wireless communication module when the controller determines that the first signal strength indicator parameter is less than a first strength lower limit; and when the first switch is coupled to the sub-switch and the sub-switch is coupled to the first connector, the sub-switch is controlled by the controller to switch and to be not electrically connected to the first switch and the first connector but to be coupled to the first switch and the third connector when the controller determines that the first signal strength indicator parameter is less than the first strength lower limit.
Conclusion
/NGUYEN T VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646