DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The official correspondence below is a first action non-final on an RCE.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1 and 9 are amended.
Claims 6 and 14 were previously canceled.
No new claims have been introduced.
Claims 1-5, 7-13, and 15-22 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 7-13, and 15-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
Claim(s) 1 and 9 contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The added material, in both claims 1 and 9, which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows:
generating a randomized inspection start time
accessing predicted inspection path information for the randomized inspection start time,
from an airspace authority feed;
generating a current inspection path for the randomized start time
comparing the predicted inspection path information to updated predicted inspection path information generated closer to the randomized inspection start time,
the updated predicted inspection path information including forecasted regulatory air space classification and restrictions
within a defined temporal buffer period prior to flight;
and based on the comparison satisfying a regulatory compliance threshold level
The examiner could not find support in text in the specification as originally filed for the amended limitations, and location of support provided by the applicant does not appear, to the examiner’s best understanding, to support the new limitations. For example, generating a randomized inspection start time for a UAV inspection path using a time randomizing function, wherein the time randomizing function increases unpredictability of UAV operations (instant spec: [0054] Further, the system and method provide the ability to randomize inspection paths or individual inspection path segments and time of flight to ensure the safety of equipment and reduce public anticipation of flights.; [0084] The “Part Number” column 614 comprises entries 626 indicating the part number/model of the system component. The “Location” column 616 comprises entries 628 identifying the location of the system component within the AOI. For example, location entries may comprise latitude/longitude coordinates of the component; altitude data; and/or the like. The “Function” column 618 comprises entries 630 identifying/describing the functions and features of the component; [00104] In one example, the inspection manager 308 utilizes one or more machine-learning mechanisms to determine the operational state of the system component, any damaged associated with the component, and/or the like. For example, the inspection manager 308 may utilize a deep learning artificial neural network (DLANN) model trained to recognize system components, determine damage to the system components, determine the type of damage, anticipate damage and/or abnormal operation conditions based on expected weather, and/or the like. It should be noted that other machine learning models and algorithms are applicable as well. ).
The remaining dependent or intervening claims are rejected based upon their dependency to a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-13, and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20220075392 A1) in view of Schwartz (US 20200041560 A1), in further view of Ohtsuji (US 20190361434 A1) and Martch (US 20170187993 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 1, Kim discloses, generating a randomized inspection start time (Kim: [0017] The cooperative flight controller may include: a random number generator configured to generate a random number for setting grids or monitoring positions for sequentially monitoring each of the monitoring areas divided by the virtual segmentation border; and a mapper configured to map the random number to an occupancy time for monitoring the grids or the monitoring positions; [0078] In the random path-based flight scheme shown in FIG. 4B, the flight path of the reconnaissance UAV is determined randomly within the UAV no-fly zone, thereby increasing the detection probability of the intruding UAV. Accordingly, the detection area 610 of the reconnaissance UAV may be located at an arbitrary position at any time within the UAV no-fly zone. That is, the detection area 610 of the reconnaissance UAV for detecting the intruding UAV may be selected by a random walk) for a UAV inspection path (Kim: [0018] a surveillance flight method of a reconnaissance UAV for detecting an unauthorized UAV includes: setting a detection area of one or more of an image sensor and a noise sensor of the reconnaissance UAV as a unit monitoring area; setting a time during which the reconnaissance UAV stays over the unit monitoring area as a unit flight duration; dividing a UAV monitoring area over which the reconnaissance UAV will fly into the unit monitoring areas and establish a monitoring grid; generating a random number for randomize the unit monitoring area and the unit flight duration; and mapping the random number to the monitoring grid) using a time randomizing function, wherein the time randomizing function increases unpredictability of UAV operations; (Kim: [0017-0018]; [0027-0028] generating a random number to determine a flight path and a flight duration of the member reconnaissance UAV according to the random number), accessing predicted inspection path information for the randomized inspection start time (Kim: [FIG. 9]; [0076] the flight schemes of the reconnaissance UAV according to the exemplary embodiments shown in the drawings may include two flight schemes: a continuous path-based flight scheme in which the reconnaissance UAV flies in a prescribed manner or route and a random path-based flight scheme in which the reconnaissance UAV flies along a randomly adjusted path. The two flight schemes may be used selectively or in their combination), the predicated inspection path information including forecasted regulatory air space classification and flight restrictions (Kim: [FIG. 9]; [0012] fly along a predetermined flight path in a UAV no-fly zone; [0023] The surveillance flight method may further include: calculating, by the master reconnaissance UAV, flight paths of all the member reconnaissance UAVs in the UAV no-fly zone itself) from an airspace authority feed (Kim: [0028] In accordance with an aspect of another exemplary embodiment, a method of controlling a surveillance flight of a reconnaissance UAV for detecting an unauthorized UAV by a ground control center or an UAV detection device of the ground control center includes); generating a current inspection path for the randomized start time (Kim: [FIG. 9]; [0017] The cooperative flight controller may include: a random number generator configured to generate a random number for setting grids or monitoring positions for sequentially monitoring each of the monitoring areas divided by the virtual segmentation border; and a mapper configured to map the random number to an occupancy time for monitoring the grids or the monitoring positions; [0078] In the random path-based flight scheme shown in FIG. 4B, the flight path of the reconnaissance UAV is determined randomly within the UAV no-fly zone, thereby increasing the detection probability of the intruding UAV. Accordingly, the detection area 610 of the reconnaissance UAV may be located at an arbitrary position at any time within the UAV no-fly zone. That is, the detection area 610 of the reconnaissance UAV for detecting the intruding UAV may be selected by a random walk) based on the predicted inspection path information (Kim: [FIG. 9]; [0076] the flight schemes of the reconnaissance UAV according to the exemplary embodiments shown in the drawings may include two flight schemes: a continuous path-based flight scheme in which the reconnaissance UAV flies in a prescribed manner or route and a random path-based flight scheme in which the reconnaissance UAV flies along a randomly adjusted path. The two flight schemes may be used selectively or in their combination); programming at least one UAV to traverse the current inspection path (Kim: [FIG. 9]; [0012] fly along a predetermined flight path in a UAV no-fly zone; [0023] The surveillance flight method may further include: calculating, by the master reconnaissance UAV, flight paths of all the member reconnaissance UAVs in the UAV no-fly zone itself); comparing the predicted inspection path information to updated predicted inspection path information generated closer to the randomized inspection start time (Kim: [0013] a message receiver configured to receive a status reporting message from a member reconnaissance UAV other than a master reconnaissance UAV among a plurality of reconnaissance UAVs; a flight schedule generator configured to generate a flight schedule of the member reconnaissance UAV based on the status reporting message; a monitoring period setter configured to set a monitoring period for performing the reconnaissance flight in the UAV no-fly zone; a message transmitter configured to broadcast the flight schedule and the monitoring period through a beacon message; and an updater configured to update the flight schedule based on the status reporting message from the member reconnaissance UAV during the monitoring period; [0072] The updater 547, which may be provided only for the master reconnaissance UAV though the present disclosure is not limited to, may update the flight schedule of the master reconnaissance UAV itself or the member reconnaissance UAV based on status reporting message after receiving the status reporting message from the member reconnaissance UAV during the UAV monitoring period; [0093-0096]), the updated predicted inspection path information including forecasted regulatory air space classification and restrictions (Kim: [0013] a message receiver configured to receive a status reporting message from a member reconnaissance UAV other than a master reconnaissance UAV among a plurality of reconnaissance UAVs; a flight schedule generator configured to generate a flight schedule of the member reconnaissance UAV based on the status reporting message; a monitoring period setter configured to set a monitoring period for performing the reconnaissance flight in the UAV no-fly zone; a message transmitter configured to broadcast the flight schedule and the monitoring period through a beacon message; and an updater configured to update the flight schedule based on the status reporting message from the member reconnaissance UAV during the monitoring period; [0072] The updater 547, which may be provided only for the master reconnaissance UAV though the present disclosure is not limited to, may update the flight schedule of the master reconnaissance UAV itself or the member reconnaissance UAV based on status reporting message after receiving the status reporting message from the member reconnaissance UAV during the UAV monitoring period; [0093-0096]) within a defined temporal buffer period prior to flight (Kim: [0013] a message receiver configured to receive a status reporting message from a member reconnaissance UAV other than a master reconnaissance UAV among a plurality of reconnaissance UAVs; a flight schedule generator configured to generate a flight schedule of the member reconnaissance UAV based on the status reporting message; a monitoring period setter configured to set a monitoring period for performing the reconnaissance flight in the UAV no-fly zone; a message transmitter configured to broadcast the flight schedule and the monitoring period through a beacon message; and an updater configured to update the flight schedule based on the status reporting message from the member reconnaissance UAV during the monitoring period; [0072] The updater 547, which may be provided only for the master reconnaissance UAV though the present disclosure is not limited to, may update the flight schedule of the master reconnaissance UAV itself or the member reconnaissance UAV based on status reporting message after receiving the status reporting message from the member reconnaissance UAV during the UAV monitoring period; [0093-0096]); and based on the comparison satisfying a regulatory compliance threshold level (Kim: [0013] a message receiver configured to receive a status reporting message from a member reconnaissance UAV other than a master reconnaissance UAV among a plurality of reconnaissance UAVs; a flight schedule generator configured to generate a flight schedule of the member reconnaissance UAV based on the status reporting message; a monitoring period setter configured to set a monitoring period for performing the reconnaissance flight in the UAV no-fly zone; a message transmitter configured to broadcast the flight schedule and the monitoring period through a beacon message; and an updater configured to update the flight schedule based on the status reporting message from the member reconnaissance UAV during the monitoring period; [0072] The updater 547, which may be provided only for the master reconnaissance UAV though the present disclosure is not limited to, may update the flight schedule of the master reconnaissance UAV itself or the member reconnaissance UAV based on status reporting message after receiving the status reporting message from the member reconnaissance UAV during the UAV monitoring period; [0093-0096]), initiating operation of the UAV to traverse the current inspection path (Kim: [0076] a continuous path-based flight scheme in which the reconnaissance UAV flies in a prescribed manner or route and a random path-based flight scheme in which the reconnaissance UAV flies along a randomly adjusted path. The two flight schemes may be used selectively or in their combination), and otherwise, automatically generating a new randomized inspection start time and corresponding new inspection path (Kim: [0013] an updater configured to update the flight schedule based on the status reporting message from the member reconnaissance UAV during the monitoring period; [0065] a flight schedule generator 543, a flight schedule extractor 544, a monitoring period setter 545, a message transmitter 546, an updater 547, and a cooperative flight controller; [0072] The updater 547, which may be provided only for the master reconnaissance UAV though the present disclosure is not limited to, may update the flight schedule of the master reconnaissance UAV itself or the member reconnaissance UAV based on status reporting message after receiving the status reporting message from the member reconnaissance UAV during the UAV monitoring period).
The examiner respectfully submits, Kim discloses the amended limitations generating a current inspection path for the randomized start time based on the predicted inspection path information (Kim: [FIG. 9]; [0017]; [0076]; [0078]).
However, should it be found that Kim alone fails to disclose, generating a current inspection path for the randomized start time based on the predicted inspection path information, in the same field of endeavor, Schwartz discloses, generating a current inspection path for the randomized start time based on the predicted inspection path information (Schwartz: [0053] the device's operational capabilities (e.g., range, battery life, mobility capabilities, inspection capabilities, etc.) … [0054] the inspection manager 308 autonomously generates one or more flight paths for the monitoring device such that the device avoids the cluster of trees and is able to perform one or more inspection operations with respect to the system component while being able to return to its home base (or at least a recharging station) prior to depleting its power/energy source(s)), for the benefit of autonomously inspecting and generating work orders for an AOI.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Kim to include operation capabilities and obstacle considerations taught by Schwartz. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to autonomously inspect and generate work orders for an AOI.
Further, the examiner respectfully submits, Kim, as modified, discloses the repeated limitation of a “randomized inspection start time” (Kim: [0017] The cooperative flight controller may include: a random number generator configured to generate a random number for setting grids or monitoring positions for sequentially monitoring each of the monitoring areas divided by the virtual segmentation border; and a mapper configured to map the random number to an occupancy time for monitoring the grids or the monitoring positions; [0078] In the random path-based flight scheme shown in FIG. 4B, the flight path of the reconnaissance UAV is determined randomly within the UAV no-fly zone, thereby increasing the detection probability of the intruding UAV. Accordingly, the detection area 610 of the reconnaissance UAV may be located at an arbitrary position at any time within the UAV no-fly zone. That is, the detection area 610 of the reconnaissance UAV for detecting the intruding UAV may be selected by a random walk).
However, should it be found Kim, alone or as modified, fails to disclose randomized inspection start time, in the same field of endeavor, Ohtsuji discloses, generating a randomized inspection start time (Ohtsuji: [0150] the predetermined period (examiner: beginning and ending time) in the above-mentioned surveillance system is randomly determined for each time of unmanned flying object selection), for the benefit of concealing surveillance from a surveillance target [0015, 0018].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by a modified Kim to include random surveillance periods taught by Ohtsuji. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to conceal surveillance from a surveillance target.
The examiner respectfully submits, Kim, as modified (see Kim or Ohtsuji above), discloses generating a randomized inspection start time.
However, should it be found Kim, as modified, fails to disclose generating a randomized inspection start time, in the same field of endeavor, Martch discloses, generating a randomized inspection start time (Martch: [0059] Scheduled patrol configuration 324 may permit a user to define a schedule of when UAV 199 should follow a patrol route or randomly patrol around or near a home. Scheduled patrol configuration 324 may, for instance, allow a user to define that a patrol should be performed once per day at a fixed time (e.g., 7 PM), sunset (having a time that can be retrieved from the Internet and helps guarantee that enough natural light is preset for video capture), or a random time; [0062] a patrol is triggered to occur at a random time during a day or at a random time within a predefined time window), for the benefit of performing surveillance within known constraints (weather, lighting, no-fly restriction, etc.).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by a modified Kim to include randoms inspection times taught by Martch. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to perform surveillance within known constraints (weather, lighting, no-fly restriction, etc.).
REGARDING CLAIM 2, Kim, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1, and further, Schwartz also discloses, monitoring, by the UAV, the predicted utility equipment during the flight to create inspection data (Schwartz: [0011]; [0021]; [0029]).
REGARDING CLAIM 3, Kim, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 2, and further, Schwartz also discloses, the monitoring includes using one or more inspection parameters for the predicted utility equipment (Schwartz: [0066]; [0071-0077]).
REGARDING CLAIM 4, Kim, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 2, and further, Schwartz also discloses, the inspection data comprises at least one or more of image data, audio data, and environmental sensor data captured by the UAV (Schwartz: [0066]; [0071-0077]).
REGARDING CLAIM 5, Kim, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1, and further, Schwartz also discloses, the accessing predicted inspection path information includes accessing previous inspection paths by the same UAV or another UAV for at least a segment of the inspection path (Schwartz: [0031]; [0036]; [0058]).
REGARDING CLAIM 7, Kim, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1, and further, Schwartz also discloses, a status of utility equipment (Schwartz: [0030]; [0079]) reporting loss of electrical power (Schwartz: [ABS]) and assigning a segment with the utility equipment reporting loss of electrical power to be first and then the remaining segments to the randomized time (Schwartz: [0030-0032]; [0036]; [0052]; [0063]; [0066]; [0106]).
REGARDING CLAIM 8, Kim, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 7, and further, Schwartz also discloses, selecting an inspection path that has been generated based on proximity to one or more UAV bases (Schwartz: [0053-0054]; [0062]).
REGARDING CLAIM 9, Kim discloses, a processor; memory communicatively coupled to the processor; and an inspection manager communicatively coupled to the processor and the memory (Kim: [0109]) that, when operating, is configured to: generating a randomized inspection start time (Kim: [0017]; [0078]) for a UAV inspection path (Kim: [0018]) using a time randomizing function, wherein the time randomizing function increases unpredictability of UAV operations; (Kim: [0017-0018]; [0027-0028]), accessing predicted inspection path information for the randomized inspection start time (Kim: [FIG. 9]; [0076]), the predicated inspection path information including forecasted regulatory air space classification and flight restrictions (Kim: [FIG. 9]; [0012]; [0023]) from an airspace authority feed (Kim: [0028]); generating a current inspection path for the randomized start time (Kim: [FIG. 9]; [0017]; [0078]) based on the predicted inspection path information (Kim: [FIG. 9]; [0076]); programming at least one UAV to traverse the current inspection path (Kim: [FIG. 9]; [0012]; [0023]); comparing the predicted inspection path information to updated predicted inspection path information generated closer to the randomized inspection start time (Kim: [0013]; [0072]; [0093-0096]), the updated predicted inspection path information including forecasted regulatory air space classification and restrictions (Kim: [0013]; [0072]; [0093-0096]) within a defined temporal buffer period prior to flight (Kim: [0013]; [0072]; [0093-0096]); and based on the comparison satisfying a regulatory compliance threshold level (Kim: [0013]; [0072]; [0093-0096]), initiating operation of the UAV to traverse the current inspection path (Kim: [0076]), and otherwise, automatically generating a new randomized inspection start time and corresponding new inspection path (Kim: [0013]; [0065]; [0072]).
The examiner respectfully submits, Kim discloses the amended limitations generating a current inspection path for the randomized start time based on the predicted inspection path information (Kim: [FIG. 9]; [0017]; [0076]; [0078]).
However, should it be found that Kim alone fails to disclose, generating a current inspection path for the randomized start time based on the predicted inspection path information, in the same field of endeavor, Schwartz discloses, generating a current inspection path for the randomized start time based on the predicted inspection path information (Schwartz: [0053-0054]), for the benefit of autonomously inspecting and generating work orders for an AOI.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Kim to include operation capabilities and obstacle considerations taught by Schwartz. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to autonomously inspect and generate work orders for an AOI.
Further, the examiner respectfully submits, Kim, as modified, discloses the repeated limitation of a “randomized inspection start time” (Kim: [0017] The cooperative flight controller may include: a random number generator configured to generate a random number for setting grids or monitoring positions for sequentially monitoring each of the monitoring areas divided by the virtual segmentation border; and a mapper configured to map the random number to an occupancy time for monitoring the grids or the monitoring positions; [0078] In the random path-based flight scheme shown in FIG. 4B, the flight path of the reconnaissance UAV is determined randomly within the UAV no-fly zone, thereby increasing the detection probability of the intruding UAV. Accordingly, the detection area 610 of the reconnaissance UAV may be located at an arbitrary position at any time within the UAV no-fly zone. That is, the detection area 610 of the reconnaissance UAV for detecting the intruding UAV may be selected by a random walk).
However, should it be found Kim, alone or as modified, fails to disclose randomized inspection start time, in the same field of endeavor, Ohtsuji discloses, generating a randomized inspection start time (Ohtsuji: [0150]), for the benefit of concealing surveillance from a surveillance target [0015, 0018].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by a modified Kim to include random surveillance periods taught by Ohtsuji. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to conceal surveillance from a surveillance target.
The examiner respectfully submits, Kim, as modified (see Kim or Ohtsuji above), discloses generating a randomized inspection start time.
However, should it be found Kim, as modified, fails to disclose generating a randomized inspection start time, in the same field of endeavor, Martch discloses, generating a randomized inspection start time (Martch: [0059]; [0062]), for the benefit of performing surveillance within known constraints (weather, lighting, no-fly restriction, etc.).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by a modified Kim to include randoms inspection times taught by Martch. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to perform surveillance within known constraints (weather, lighting, no-fly restriction, etc.).
REGARDING CLAIM 10, Kim, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 9, and further, Schwartz also discloses, monitoring, by the UAV, the predicted utility equipment during the flight to create inspection data (Schwartz: [0011]; [0021]; [0029]).
REGARDING CLAIM 11, Kim, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 10, and further, Schwartz also discloses, the monitoring includes using one or more inspection parameters for the predicted utility equipment (Schwartz: [0066]; [0071-0077]).
REGARDING CLAIM 12, Kim, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 10, and further, Schwartz also discloses, the inspection data comprises at least one or more of image data, audio data, and environmental sensor data captured by the UAV (Schwartz: [0066]; [0071-0077]).
REGARDING CLAIM 13, Kim, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 9, and further, Schwartz also discloses, the accessing predicted inspection path information includes accessing previous inspection paths by the same UAV or another UAV for at least a segment of the inspection path (Schwartz: [0031]; [0036]; [0058]).
REGARDING CLAIM 15, Kim, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 9, and further, Schwartz also discloses, equipment status reporting loss of electrical power (Schwartz: [0030]; [0079]) and assigning a segment with the equipment to be first (Schwartz: [ABS]) and then the remaining segments to the randomized time (Schwartz: [0030]; [0032]; [0036]; [0052]; [0063]; [0066]; [0106]).
REGARDING CLAIM 16, Kim, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 15, and further, Schwartz also discloses, selecting an inspection path that has been generated based on proximity to one or more UAV bases (Schwartz: [0053-0054]; [0062]).
Claim(s) 17-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20220075392 A1) in view of Schwartz (US 20200041560 A1) in further view of Ohtsuji (US 20190361434 A1) and Martch (US 20170187993 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Farrell (US 20170345282 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 17, Kim, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1, and further, Kim, as modified, discloses, presenting an interactive map of a geographic area of interest (AOI), the interactive map comprises icons/widgets representing the AOl, electrical utility infrastructure components, geographical features, and UAVs within the AOl (Martch: [0057] a user may perform an initial property mapping or patrol route creation process via procedure 320; [0070] a user may be provided with a map on which the user touches locations that are desired to be used as waypoints; [0077] [0077] As a variation of method 500, rather than a user defining particular waypoints, the user may cause the patrol mapping interface being executed on the mobile device to enter a “record” mode. The user may then, with mobile device in hand, walk along a route that the user wants to use as the patrol route. While walking, the mobile device may periodically (e.g., once per second) capture GPS coordinates that will be used for mapping the patrol route. The user may “pause” the recording when necessary to walk around objects that the UAV will be able to fly over (e.g., a fence, deck furniture). Once the user has fully walked the desired route, the user may use the patrol route creation interface to define altitudes, associated home automation devices and objects, and directions for the UAV's camera to point. A patrol route may then be created from the input information. Further, based on the orientation of the mobile device, which may be observed by the camera of the mobile device being activated, the user may define camera orientation settings for use by the UAV camera. The user may be permitted to fine tune the created route using the interface).
However, should it be found Kim, as modified, fails to disclose, presenting an interactive map of a geographic area of interest (AOI), the interactive map comprises icons/widgets representing the AOl, electrical utility infrastructure components, geographical features, and UAVs within the AOl, in the same field of endeavor, Farrell discloses, presenting an interactive map of a geographic area of interest (AOI) (Farrell: [0086]), the interactive map comprises icons/widgets representing the AOl (Farrell: [0103]), electrical utility infrastructure components (Farrell: [0088]), geographical features (Farrell: [0084]), and UAVs within the AOl (Farrell: [0103]), for the benefit of periodically inspecting infrastructure or performing repairs on the infrastructure as needed.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by a modified Kim to include the user interface taught by Farrell. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to periodically inspect infrastructure or perform repairs on the infrastructure as needed.
REGARDING CLAIM 18, Kim, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 17, and further, Kim, as modified, also discloses, the interactive map further includes topographical features (Farrell: [0084] include road elements 305 and nature elements 310, identifying roads and nature elements such as hills, rivers and the like on the interactive map; [0103]).
REGARDING CLAIM 19, Kim, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 17, and further, Kim, as modified, also discloses, the interactive map further includes system components associated with a work order (Farrell: [0041] The system may further enable the user to print map for generating directions or instructions to workers).
REGARDING CLAIM 20, Kim, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 18, and further, Kim, as modified, also discloses, the interactive map further includes receiving user input to control the UAV (Farrell: [0097] remote control may be used to control intelligent remote systems, such as drones, or remote robotic spraying or ploughing equipment. Furthermore, the map can act as a mission control planner for UAV photographic bore runs, precision farming and contour mapping).
REGARDING CLAIM 21, Kim, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 9, and further, Kim, as modified, discloses, presenting an interactive map of a geographic area of interest (AOI), the interactive map comprises icons/widgets representing the AOl, electrical utility infrastructure components, geographical features, and UAVs within the AOl (Martch: [0057] a user may perform an initial property mapping or patrol route creation process via procedure 320; [0070] a user may be provided with a map on which the user touches locations that are desired to be used as waypoints; [0077] [0077] As a variation of method 500, rather than a user defining particular waypoints, the user may cause the patrol mapping interface being executed on the mobile device to enter a “record” mode. The user may then, with mobile device in hand, walk along a route that the user wants to use as the patrol route. While walking, the mobile device may periodically (e.g., once per second) capture GPS coordinates that will be used for mapping the patrol route. The user may “pause” the recording when necessary to walk around objects that the UAV will be able to fly over (e.g., a fence, deck furniture). Once the user has fully walked the desired route, the user may use the patrol route creation interface to define altitudes, associated home automation devices and objects, and directions for the UAV's camera to point. A patrol route may then be created from the input information. Further, based on the orientation of the mobile device, which may be observed by the camera of the mobile device being activated, the user may define camera orientation settings for use by the UAV camera. The user may be permitted to fine tune the created route using the interface).
However, should it be found Kim, as modified, fails to disclose, presenting an interactive map of a geographic area of interest (AOI), the interactive map comprises icons/widgets representing the AOl, electrical utility infrastructure components, geographical features, and UAVs within the AOl, in the same field of endeavor, Farrell discloses, presenting an interactive map of a geographic area of interest (AOI) (Farrell: [0086]), the interactive map comprises icons/widgets representing the AOl (Farrell: [0103]), electrical utility infrastructure components (Farrell: [0088]), geographical features (Farrell: [0084]), and UAVs within the AOl (Farrell: [0103]), for the benefit of periodically inspecting infrastructure or performing repairs on the infrastructure as needed.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by a modified Kim to include the user interface taught by Farrell. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to periodically inspect infrastructure or perform repairs on the infrastructure as needed.
REGARDING CLAIM 22, Kim, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 21, and further, Kim, as modified, also discloses, the interactive map further includes system components associated with a work order (Farrell: [0041]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 09-28-2025, beginning on page 8, with respect to the rejection of independent claim(s) 1 and 9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the reference combination applied in the prior rejection of record for matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Ouellette (US 20230106617 A1)
Stoschek (US 20150205298 A1)
/A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ANGELA Y ORTIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663