DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1 and 9 are amended.
Claims 6 and 14 were previously canceled.
No new claims have been introduced.
Claims 1-5, 7-13, and 15-22 are currently pending.
The official correspondence below is an after non-final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-13, and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20220075392 A1) in view of Schwartz (US 20200041560 A1), in further view of Kajitani (JP 2006350600 A) and Martch (US 20170187993 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 1, Kim discloses, generating a randomized time to initiate (Kim: [0017]; [0076-0078]) a UAV inspection path (Kim: [0018]) using a time randomizing function, wherein the time randomizing function increases unpredictability of UAV operations (Kim: [0017-0018]; [0027-0028]); accessing predicted inspection path information for the randomized time (Kim: [FIG. 9]; [0076]), the predicted inspection path information including predicted governmental air space classification and restrictions of the inspection path (Kim: [FIG. 9]; [0012]; [0023]); programming at least one UAV to traverse the current inspection path (Kim: [FIG. 9]; [0012]; [0023]); comparing the predicted inspection path information to current predicted inspection path information (Kim: [0013]; [0072]; [0093-0096]), the current predicted inspection path information including governmental air space classification (Kim: [0013]; [0072]; [0093-0096]) and restrictions for the randomized time (Kim: [0013]; [0072]; [0093-0096]); and based on the comparison being within a threshold level (Kim: (Kim: [0013]; [0072]; [0093-0096])), initiating operation of the UAV to traverse the current inspection path (Kim: [0076]), and otherwise, automatically generating a new randomized time and corresponding new inspection path (Kim: [0013]; [0065]; [0072]).
The examiner respectfully submits, Kim discloses the limitations generating a current inspection path for the randomized start time based on the predicted inspection path information (Kim: [FIG. 9]; [0017]; [0076] flies in a prescribed manner or route and a random path-based flight scheme in which the reconnaissance UAV flies along a randomly adjusted path. The two flight schemes may be used selectively or in their combination; [0078]).
However, in the alternative, and in the same field of endeavor, Schwartz discloses, generating a current inspection path for the randomized start time based on the predicted inspection path information (Schwartz: [0053] the device's operational capabilities (e.g., range, battery life, mobility capabilities, inspection capabilities, etc.) … [0054] the inspection manager 308 autonomously generates one or more flight paths for the monitoring device such that the device avoids the cluster of trees and is able to perform one or more inspection operations with respect to the system component while being able to return to its home base (or at least a recharging station) prior to depleting its power/energy source(s)), for the benefit of autonomously inspecting and generating work orders for an AOI.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Kim to include operation capabilities and obstacle considerations taught by Schwartz. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to autonomously inspect and generate work orders for an AOI.
The examiner respectfully submits, Kim, as modified, discloses random start/initiate time (Kim: [0017]; [0076]; [0078]).
However, in the alternative, and in the same field of endeavor, Kajitani discloses, generating a randomized time to initiate (Kajitani: [0016] since the movement start time changes at random, the time for passing through each place on the patrol route also changes, and this also makes it difficult to predict the passage time at each place from the outside. In addition, since the movement start time changes randomly, the movement of the mobile monitoring robot becomes more difficult to predict, and the security capability can be further improved (examiner: Kajitani also discloses random routes, random travel speeds, random stopping)) using a time randomizing function (Kajitani: [0016] since the movement start time changes at random, the time for passing through each place on the patrol route also changes, and this also makes it difficult to predict the passage time at each place from the outside. In addition, since the movement start time changes randomly, the movement of the mobile monitoring robot becomes more difficult to predict, and the security capability can be further improved (examiner: Kajitani also discloses random routes, random travel speeds, random stopping)) a UAV inspection path (Kajitani: [0016] since the movement start time changes at random, the time for passing through each place on the patrol route also changes, and this also makes it difficult to predict the passage time at each place from the outside. In addition, since the movement start time changes randomly, the movement of the mobile monitoring robot becomes more difficult to predict, and the security capability can be further improved (examiner: Kajitani also discloses random routes, random travel speeds, random stopping)), for the benefit of the movement of the mobile monitoring robot becomes more difficult to predict, and the security capability can be further improved.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by a modified Kim to include random surveillance taught by Kajitani. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to the movement of the mobile monitoring robot becomes more difficult to predict, and the security capability can be further improved.
The examiner respectfully submits, Kim, as modified (see Kim or Kajitani above), discloses generating a randomized inspection start time.
However, in the alternative, and in the same field of endeavor, Martch discloses, generating a randomized time to initiate using a time randomizing function a UAV inspection path (Martch: [0059] Scheduled patrol configuration 324 may permit a user to define a schedule of when UAV 199 should follow a patrol route or randomly patrol around or near a home. Scheduled patrol configuration 324 may, for instance, allow a user to define that a patrol should be performed once per day at a fixed time (e.g., 7 PM), sunset (having a time that can be retrieved from the Internet and helps guarantee that enough natural light is preset for video capture), or a random time; [0062] a patrol is triggered to occur at a random time during a day or at a random time within a predefined time window), for the benefit of performing surveillance within known constraints (weather, lighting, no-fly restriction, etc.).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by a modified Kim to include randoms inspection times taught by Martch. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to perform surveillance within known constraints (weather, lighting, no-fly restriction, etc.).
REGARDING CLAIM 2, Kim, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1, and further, Schwartz also discloses, monitoring, by the UAV, the predicted utility equipment during the flight to create inspection data (Schwartz: [0011]; [0021]; [0029]).
REGARDING CLAIM 3, Kim, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 2, and further, Schwartz also discloses, the monitoring includes using one or more inspection parameters for the predicted utility equipment (Schwartz: [0066]; [0071-0077]).
REGARDING CLAIM 4, Kim, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 2, and further, Schwartz also discloses, the inspection data comprises at least one or more of image data, audio data, and environmental sensor data captured by the UAV (Schwartz: [0066]; [0071-0077]).
REGARDING CLAIM 5, Kim, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1, and further, Schwartz also discloses, the accessing predicted inspection path information includes accessing previous inspection paths by the same UAV or another UAV for at least a segment of the inspection path (Schwartz: [0031]; [0036]; [0058]).
REGARDING CLAIM 7, Kim, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1, and further, Schwartz also discloses, a status of utility equipment (Schwartz: [0030]; [0079]) reporting loss of electrical power (Schwartz: [ABS]) and assigning a segment with the utility equipment reporting loss of electrical power to be first and then the remaining segments to the randomized time (Schwartz: [0030-0032]; [0036]; [0052]; [0063]; [0066]; [0106]).
REGARDING CLAIM 8, Kim, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 7, and further, Schwartz also discloses, selecting an inspection path that has been generated based on proximity to one or more UAV bases (Schwartz: [0053-0054]; [0062]).
REGARDING CLAIM 9, Kim discloses, a processor; memory communicatively coupled to the processor; and an inspection manager communicatively coupled to the processor and the memory (Kim: [0109]) that, when operating, is configured to: generating a randomized time to initiate (Kim: [0017]; [0076-0078]) a UAV inspection path (Kim: [0018]) using a time randomizing function, wherein the time randomizing function increases unpredictability of UAV operations (Kim: [0017-0018]; [0027-0028]); accessing predicted inspection path information for the randomized time (Kim: [FIG. 9]; [0076]), the predicted inspection path information including predicted governmental air space classification and restrictions of the inspection path (Kim: [FIG. 9]; [0012]; [0023]); programming at least one UAV to traverse the current inspection path (Kim: [FIG. 9]; [0012]; [0023]); comparing the predicted inspection path information to current predicted inspection path information (Kim: [0013]; [0072]; [0093-0096]), the current predicted inspection path information including governmental air space classification (Kim: [0013]; [0072]; [0093-0096]) and restrictions for the randomized time (Kim: [0013]; [0072]; [0093-0096]); and based on the comparison being within a threshold level (Kim: (Kim: [0013]; [0072]; [0093-0096])), initiating operation of the UAV to traverse the current inspection path (Kim: [0076]), and otherwise, automatically generating a new randomized time and corresponding new inspection path (Kim: [0013]; [0065]; [0072]).
The examiner respectfully submits, Kim discloses the limitations generating a current inspection path for the randomized start time based on the predicted inspection path information (Kim: [FIG. 9]; [0017]; [0076] flies in a prescribed manner or route and a random path-based flight scheme in which the reconnaissance UAV flies along a randomly adjusted path. The two flight schemes may be used selectively or in their combination; [0078]).
However, in the alternative, and in the same field of endeavor, Schwartz discloses, generating a current inspection path for the randomized start time based on the predicted inspection path information (Schwartz: [0053-0054]), for the benefit of autonomously inspecting and generating work orders for an AOI.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Kim to include operation capabilities and obstacle considerations taught by Schwartz. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to autonomously inspect and generate work orders for an AOI.
The examiner respectfully submits, Kim, as modified, discloses random start/initiate time (Kim: [0017]; [0076]; [0078]).
However, in the alternative, and in the same field of endeavor, Kajitani discloses, generating a randomized time to initiate (Kajitani: [0016]) using a time randomizing function (Kajitani: [0016]) a UAV inspection path (Kajitani: [0016]), for the benefit of the movement of the mobile monitoring robot becomes more difficult to predict, and the security capability can be further improved.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by a modified Kim to include random surveillance taught by Kajitani. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to the movement of the mobile monitoring robot becomes more difficult to predict, and the security capability can be further improved.
The examiner respectfully submits, Kim, as modified (see Kim or Kajitani above), discloses generating a randomized inspection start time.
However, in the alternative, and in the same field of endeavor, Martch discloses, generating a randomized time to initiate using a time randomizing function a UAV inspection path (Martch: [0059]; [0062]), for the benefit of performing surveillance within known constraints (weather, lighting, no-fly restriction, etc.).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by a modified Kim to include randoms inspection times taught by Martch. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to perform surveillance within known constraints (weather, lighting, no-fly restriction, etc.).
REGARDING CLAIM 10, Kim, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 9, and further, Schwartz also discloses, monitoring, by the UAV, the predicted utility equipment during the flight to create inspection data (Schwartz: [0011]; [0021]; [0029]).
REGARDING CLAIM 11, Kim, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 10, and further, Schwartz also discloses, the monitoring includes using one or more inspection parameters for the predicted utility equipment (Schwartz: [0066]; [0071-0077]).
REGARDING CLAIM 12, Kim, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 10, and further, Schwartz also discloses, the inspection data comprises at least one or more of image data, audio data, and environmental sensor data captured by the UAV (Schwartz: [0066]; [0071-0077]).
REGARDING CLAIM 13, Kim, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 9, and further, Schwartz also discloses, the accessing predicted inspection path information includes accessing previous inspection paths by the same UAV or another UAV for at least a segment of the inspection path (Schwartz: [0031]; [0036]; [0058]).
REGARDING CLAIM 15, Kim, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 9, and further, Schwartz also discloses, equipment status reporting loss of electrical power (Schwartz: [0030]; [0079]) and assigning a segment with the equipment to be first (Schwartz: [ABS]) and then the remaining segments to the randomized time (Schwartz: [0030]; [0032]; [0036]; [0052]; [0063]; [0066]; [0106]).
REGARDING CLAIM 16, Kim, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 15, and further, Schwartz also discloses, selecting an inspection path that has been generated based on proximity to one or more UAV bases (Schwartz: [0053-0054]; [0062]).
Claim(s) 17-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20220075392 A1) in view of Schwartz (US 20200041560 A1) in further view of Kajitani (JP 2006350600 A) and Martch (US 20170187993 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Farrell (US 20170345282 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 17, Kim, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1, and further, Kim, as modified, discloses, presenting an interactive map of a geographic area of interest (AOI), the interactive map comprises icons/widgets representing the AOl, electrical utility infrastructure components, geographical features, and UAVs within the AOl (Martch: [0057] a user may perform an initial property mapping or patrol route creation process via procedure 320; [0070] a user may be provided with a map on which the user touches locations that are desired to be used as waypoints; [0077] [0077] As a variation of method 500, rather than a user defining particular waypoints, the user may cause the patrol mapping interface being executed on the mobile device to enter a “record” mode. The user may then, with mobile device in hand, walk along a route that the user wants to use as the patrol route. While walking, the mobile device may periodically (e.g., once per second) capture GPS coordinates that will be used for mapping the patrol route. The user may “pause” the recording when necessary to walk around objects that the UAV will be able to fly over (e.g., a fence, deck furniture). Once the user has fully walked the desired route, the user may use the patrol route creation interface to define altitudes, associated home automation devices and objects, and directions for the UAV's camera to point. A patrol route may then be created from the input information. Further, based on the orientation of the mobile device, which may be observed by the camera of the mobile device being activated, the user may define camera orientation settings for use by the UAV camera. The user may be permitted to fine tune the created route using the interface).
However, in the alternative, and in the same field of endeavor, Farrell discloses, presenting an interactive map of a geographic area of interest (AOI) (Farrell: [0086]), the interactive map comprises icons/widgets representing the AOl (Farrell: [0103]), electrical utility infrastructure components (Farrell: [0088]), geographical features (Farrell: [0084]), and UAVs within the AOl (Farrell: [0103]), for the benefit of periodically inspecting infrastructure or performing repairs on the infrastructure as needed.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by a modified Kim to include the user interface taught by Farrell. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to periodically inspect infrastructure or perform repairs on the infrastructure as needed.
REGARDING CLAIM 18, Kim, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 17, and further, Kim, as modified, also discloses, the interactive map further includes topographical features (Farrell: [0084] include road elements 305 and nature elements 310, identifying roads and nature elements such as hills, rivers and the like on the interactive map; [0103]).
REGARDING CLAIM 19, Kim, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 17, and further, Kim, as modified, also discloses, the interactive map further includes system components associated with a work order (Farrell: [0041] The system may further enable the user to print map for generating directions or instructions to workers).
REGARDING CLAIM 20, Kim, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 18, and further, Kim, as modified, also discloses, the interactive map further includes receiving user input to control the UAV (Farrell: [0097] remote control may be used to control intelligent remote systems, such as drones, or remote robotic spraying or ploughing equipment. Furthermore, the map can act as a mission control planner for UAV photographic bore runs, precision farming and contour mapping).
REGARDING CLAIM 21, Kim, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 9, and further, Kim, as modified, discloses, presenting an interactive map of a geographic area of interest (AOI), the interactive map comprises icons/widgets representing the AOl, electrical utility infrastructure components, geographical features, and UAVs within the AOl (Martch: [0057] a user may perform an initial property mapping or patrol route creation process via procedure 320; [0070] a user may be provided with a map on which the user touches locations that are desired to be used as waypoints; [0077] [0077] As a variation of method 500, rather than a user defining particular waypoints, the user may cause the patrol mapping interface being executed on the mobile device to enter a “record” mode. The user may then, with mobile device in hand, walk along a route that the user wants to use as the patrol route. While walking, the mobile device may periodically (e.g., once per second) capture GPS coordinates that will be used for mapping the patrol route. The user may “pause” the recording when necessary to walk around objects that the UAV will be able to fly over (e.g., a fence, deck furniture). Once the user has fully walked the desired route, the user may use the patrol route creation interface to define altitudes, associated home automation devices and objects, and directions for the UAV's camera to point. A patrol route may then be created from the input information. Further, based on the orientation of the mobile device, which may be observed by the camera of the mobile device being activated, the user may define camera orientation settings for use by the UAV camera. The user may be permitted to fine tune the created route using the interface).
However, in the alternative, and in the same field of endeavor, Farrell discloses, presenting an interactive map of a geographic area of interest (AOI) (Farrell: [0086]), the interactive map comprises icons/widgets representing the AOl (Farrell: [0103]), electrical utility infrastructure components (Farrell: [0088]), geographical features (Farrell: [0084]), and UAVs within the AOl (Farrell: [0103]), for the benefit of periodically inspecting infrastructure or performing repairs on the infrastructure as needed.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by a modified Kim to include the user interface taught by Farrell. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to periodically inspect infrastructure or perform repairs on the infrastructure as needed.
REGARDING CLAIM 22, Kim, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 21, and further, Kim, as modified, also discloses, the interactive map further includes system components associated with a work order (Farrell: [0041]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 05-04-2026, with respect to the rejection of independent claim(s) 1 and 9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the reference combination applied in the prior rejection of record for matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Ouellette (US 20230106617 A1)
Stoschek (US 20150205298 A1)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.S./ Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ANGELA Y ORTIZ/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663