DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
No claims have been amended. Thus, claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 9-13, 15, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore et al. [U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0355540] in view of Ahola [U.S. Patent Publication 2016/0072557], and in further view of McSheffry Jr. et al. [U.S. Patent Publication 2005/0056090]
With regard to claim 1, Moore et al. meets the limitations of:
a system, comprising a sensor assembly associated with a tank configured to store a fluid, the sensor assembly including a sensor configured to output a sensor reading indicative of an amount of fluid in the tank [a storage tank used for storing pressurized propane gas (paragraph 0075 and figure 1, item 10) and an ultrasonic sensing device used for determining a tank’s fluid level (paragraph 0071)]
a remote system configured to store tank information [a user interface device used for monitoring a tank where the user interface device is in wireless communication with a sensor module where the user interface device receives data from the sensor module associated with a monitored tank for display to the user thereby denoting the storage of the information as tank data is stored and displayed on the user device for viewing by the user where the sensor is associated with the monitored tank (paragraph 0105 and figure 10)]
a computing device communicatively coupled to the sensor assembly and the remote system, the computing device being configured to acquire the sensor reading from the sensor assembly and communicate the sensor reading acquired to the remote system [a user interface device used for monitoring a tank where the user interface device is in communication with a sensor module where the user interface device receives data from the sensor module for display to the user thereby denoting the storage of the information as it is stored and displayed on the user device for viewing by the user where the sensor data is transmitted to a display device and a multipurpose device wherein the computing device is the multipurpose device and the display device is the remote system (paragraphs 0073, 0076, 0077, and 0105 as well as figure 1, items 102, 104, and 112 and figure 10)]
However, Moore et al. fails to disclose of tank information in association with a tank identifier corresponding to the tank. In the field of wireless communications, Ahola teaches:
tank information in association with a tank identifier corresponding to the tank [an identification code of the sensor and tank being sent from a pressure sensor of the tank to a dive computer (paragraphs 0035 and 0036 as well as figure 1)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective date to combine the elements of Moore et al. and Ahola to create a wireless monitoring system for a fuel tank wherein the wireless sensor mounted to a fuel tank provides tank pressure measurement information and tank identification information to a user in order to inform said user of information regarding a specific pressure tank. However, the combination of Moore et al. and Ahola fails to disclose of the computing device being physically separate from the remote system. In the field of tank monitoring systems, McSheffrey, Jr. et al. teaches:
the computing device being physically separate from the remote system [a computer system in communication with oxygen tanks via a remote central station where the computer system is in communication with the tanks to collect internal/external information about the tanks where the remote central station communicates tank information received from tanks to the computer system over a wired or a wireless communications system where the remote central system and computer system are separate entities (paragraphs 0037-0041 and figure 3)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective date to combine the elements of Moore et al., Ahola, and McSheffrey, Jr. et al. to create a wireless monitoring system for a fuel tank wherein the wireless sensor mounted to a fuel tank provides tank pressure measurement information and tank identification information to a user via a device that is in communication with a remote monitoring system used for monitoring a fuel tank in order to inform said user of information regarding a specific pressure tank wherein the motivation to combine is to wirelessly monitor a fuel tank (Moore et al., paragraph 0005).
With regard to claim 2, Moore et al. fails to disclose of the computing device further communicates the tank identifier corresponding to the tank to the remote system with the sensor reading. In the field of wireless communications, Ahola teaches:
the computing device further communicates the tank identifier corresponding to the tank to the remote system with the sensor reading [an identification code of the sensor and tank being sent from a pressure sensor of the tank to a dive computer (paragraphs 0035 and 0036 as well as figure 1)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective date to combine the elements of Moore et al., Ahola, and McSheffrey, Jr. et al. to create a wireless monitoring system for a fuel tank wherein the wireless sensor mounted to a fuel tank provides tank pressure measurement information and tank identification information to a user via a device that is in communication with a remote monitoring system used for monitoring a fuel tank in order to inform said user of information regarding a specific pressure tank wherein the motivation to combine is to wirelessly monitor a fuel tank (Moore et al., paragraph 0005).
With regard to claim 5, please refer to the rejection for claim 1 as the citations meet the limitations of the present claim.
With regard to claim 9, Moore et al. meets the limitation of:
a base for supporting the tank [a foot ring located on the bottom of a tank used for supporting the tank (paragraph 0079 and figure 1, item 26)]
With regard to claim 10, Moore et al. meets the limitation of:
the sensor assembly is housed within the base [a sensor that can be mounted to the bottom of a tank (paragraph 0071)]
With regard to claim 11, Moore et al. meets the limitation of:
the sensor is an ultrasound sensor biased against a surface of the tank [an ultrasonic sensing device used for determining a tank’s fluid level (paragraph 0071) where the sensor is mounted to the bottom of the tank (paragraph 0074)]
With regard to claim 12, Moore et al. meets the limitations of:
a method comprising acquiring a measurement indicative of an amount of fluid in a tank with a sensor assembly coupled to the tank [a storage tank used for storing pressurized propane gas (paragraph 0075 and figure 1, item 10) and an ultrasonic sensing device used for determining a tank’s fluid level (paragraph 0071)]
acquiring the measurement from the sensor assembly with a computing device communicatively coupled to the sensor assembly [a user interface device used for monitoring a tank where the user interface device is in communication with a sensor module where the user interface device receives data from the sensor module for display to the user thereby denoting the storage of the information as it is stored and displayed on the user device for viewing by the user where the sensor data is transmitted to a display device and a multipurpose device wherein the computing device is the multipurpose device and the display device is the remote system (paragraphs 0073, 0076, 0077, and 0105 as well as figure 1, items 102, 104, and 112 and figure 10)]
communicating the measurement from the computing device to a remote system [a wireless link connecting the sensor module, multipurpose device, and display device denoting the communication of information between all three devices (figure 1, item 108 and paragraph 0073)]
However, Moore et al. fails to disclose of the remote system storing tank information in associated with a tank identifier corresponding to the tank. In the field of wireless communications, Ahola teaches:
the remote system storing tank information in associated with a tank identifier corresponding to the tank [data may include an identification code of the sensor or the tank, the volume of the tank, the current pressure, and the gas type where this information may be entered or programmed in the memory of the pressure sensor when the tank is filled and serviced (paragraph 0036)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective date to combine the elements of Moore et al. and Ahola to create a wireless monitoring system for a fuel tank wherein the wireless sensor mounted to a fuel tank provides tank pressure measurement information and tank identification information to a user in order to inform said user of information regarding a specific pressure tank. However, the combination of Moore et al. and Ahola fails to disclose of the computing device being physically separate from the remote system. In the field of tank monitoring systems, McSheffrey, Jr. et al. teaches:
the computing device being physically separate from the remote system [a computer system in communication with oxygen tanks via a remote central station where the computer system is in communication with the tanks to collect internal/external information about the tanks where the remote central station communicates tank information received from tanks to the computer system over a wired or a wireless communications system where the remote central system and computer system are separate entities (paragraphs 0037-0041 and figure 3)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective date to combine the elements of Moore et al., Ahola, and McSheffrey, Jr. et al. to create a wireless monitoring system for a fuel tank wherein the wireless sensor mounted to a fuel tank provides tank pressure measurement information and tank identification information to a user via a device that is in communication with a remote monitoring system used for monitoring a fuel tank in order to inform said user of information regarding a specific pressure tank wherein the motivation to combine is to wirelessly monitor a fuel tank (Moore et al., paragraph 0005).
With regard to claim 13, Moore et al meets the limitation of:
the computing device is a mobile device executing computer-executable instructions for a client application that, when executed, carry out acquiring the measurement from the sensory assembly and communicating the measurement to the remote system [a multipurpose device can be a mobile device, e.g., a mobile telephone, with a user interface arranged to display a GUI based upon received data related to the height of a fluid in a tank (paragraphs 0076 and 0078)
With regard to claim 15, Moore et al. fails to disclose of acquiring the tank identifier with the computing device and communicating the tank identifier with the measurement to the remote system. In the field of wireless communications, Ahola teaches:
acquiring the tank identifier with the computing device and communicating the tank identifier with the measurement to the remote system [an identification code of the sensor, tank, and pressure measurement being sent from a pressure sensor of the tank to a dive computer (paragraphs 0035 and 0036 as well as figure 1)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective date to combine the elements of Moore et al., Ahola, and McSheffrey, Jr. et al. to create a wireless monitoring system for a fuel tank wherein the wireless sensor mounted to a fuel tank provides tank pressure measurement information and tank identification information to a user via a device that is in communication with a remote monitoring system used for monitoring a fuel tank in order to inform said user of information regarding a specific pressure tank wherein the motivation to combine is to wirelessly monitor a fuel tank (Moore et al., paragraph 0005).
With regard to claim 18, Moore et al. meets the limitation of:
housing the sensor assembly within a base of the tank, wherein the sensor assembly is positioned at center portion of a bottom surface of the tank [a sensor module placed at the base and center of a tank (figure 1, item 102 and figure 2, items 12 and 102 as well as paragraph 0080)]
With regard to claim 19, Moore et al. meets the limitations of:
a level sensor system a tank configured to store a fluid, a base for supporting the tank, and a sensor assembly housed within the base [a storage tank used for storing pressurized propane gas, an ultrasonic sensing device used for determining a tank’s fluid level, and a sensor module placed at the base and center of a tank (figure 1, items 10 and 102 and figure 2, items 12 and 102 as well as paragraphs 0071, 0075, and 0080)]
the sensor assembly having a sensor configured to output a sensor reading indicative of an amount of fluid within the tank [an ultrasonic sensing device used for determining a tank’s fluid level (paragraph 0071)]
a communications interface for transmitting the sensor reading to a computing device [a wireless link connecting the sensor module, multipurpose device, and display device denoting the communication of information between all three devices (figure 1, item 108 and paragraph 0073)]
the computing device communicatively coupled to the sensor assembly and a remote system, the computing device configured to acquire the sensor reading and communicate the sensor reading to the remote system [a user interface device used for monitoring a tank where the user interface device is in communication with a sensor module where the user interface device receives data from the sensor module for display to the user thereby denoting the storage of the information as it is stored and displayed on the user device for viewing by the user where the sensor data is transmitted to a display device and a multipurpose device wherein the computing device is the multipurpose device and the display device is the remote system (paragraphs 0073, 0076, 0077, and 0105 as well as figure 1, items 102, 104, and 112 and figure 10)]
However, Moore et al. fails to disclose of a memory configured to store the sensor reading and the remote system configured to store tank information received from the computing device in association with a tank identifier corresponding to the tank. In the field of wireless communications, Ahola teaches:
a memory configured to store the sensor reading [data may include an identification code of the sensor or the tank, the volume of the tank, the current pressure, and the gas type where this information may be entered or programmed in the memory of the pressure sensor when the tank is filled and serviced (paragraph 0036)]
the remote system configured to store tank information received from the computing device in association with a tank identifier corresponding to the tank [an identification code of the sensor and tank being sent from a pressure sensor of the tank to a dive computer (paragraphs 0035 and 0036 as well as figure 1) where data may include an identification code of the sensor or the tank, the volume of the tank, the current pressure, and the gas type where this information may be entered or programmed in the memory of the pressure sensor when the tank is filled and serviced (paragraph 0036)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective date to combine the elements of Moore et al. and Ahola to create a wireless monitoring system for a fuel tank wherein the wireless sensor mounted to a fuel tank provides tank pressure measurement information and tank identification information to a user in order to inform said user of information regarding a specific pressure tank. However, the combination of Moore et al. and Ahola fails to disclose of the computing device being physically separate from the remote system. In the field of tank monitoring systems, McSheffrey, Jr. et al. teaches:
the computing device being physically separate from the remote system [a computer system in communication with oxygen tanks via a remote central station where the computer system is in communication with the tanks to collect internal/external information about the tanks where the remote central station communicates tank information received from tanks to the computer system over a wired or a wireless communications system where the remote central system and computer system are separate entities (paragraphs 0037-0041 and figure 3)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective date to combine the elements of Moore et al., Ahola, and McSheffrey, Jr. et al. to create a wireless monitoring system for a fuel tank wherein the wireless sensor mounted to a fuel tank provides tank pressure measurement information and tank identification information to a user via a device that is in communication with a remote monitoring system used for monitoring a fuel tank in order to inform said user of information regarding a specific pressure tank wherein the motivation to combine is to wirelessly monitor a fuel tank (Moore et al., paragraph 0005).
Claim(s) 3, 4, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore et al. [U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0355540] in view of Ahola [U.S. Patent Publication 2016/0072557], and in further view of McSheffry Jr. et al. [U.S. Patent Publication 2005/0056090] and Spare et al. [U.S. Patent Publication 2008/0079606]
With regard to claim 3, the combination of Moore et al. and Ahola fails to disclose of the sensor assembly further includes a temperature sensor configured to output a temperature reading indicative of a temperature associated with the tank. In the field of monitoring systems, Spare et al. teaches:
the sensor assembly further includes a temperature sensor configured to output a temperature reading indicative of a temperature associated with the tank [a wireless sensor arrangement providing both pressure and temperature information found in a fuel tank (paragraphs 0012 and 0016 as well as figure 2)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective date to combine the elements of Moore et al., Ahola, McSheffry Jr. et al., and Spare et al. to create a wireless monitoring system for a fuel tank wherein the wireless sensor mounted to a fuel tank provides fuel temperature information to a user in order to monitor conditions in the tank wherein the motivation to combine is to wirelessly monitor a fuel tank (Moore et al., paragraph 0005).
With regard to claim 4, Moore et al. meets the limitation of:
the computing device is further configured to acquire the reading from the sensory assembly and communicate the temperature reading to the remote system [a user interface device used for monitoring a tank where the user interface device is in wireless communication with a sensor module where the user interface device receives data from the sensor module associated with a monitored tank for display to the user thereby denoting the storage of the information and identification of the tank as tank data is stored and displayed on the user device for viewing by the user where the sensor is associated with the monitored tank (paragraph 0105 and figure 10)]
However, Moore et al. fails to disclose of a temperature reading. In the field of monitoring systems, Spare et al. teaches:
a temperature reading [a wireless sensor arrangement providing both pressure and temperature information found in a fuel tank (paragraphs 0012 and 0016 as well as figure 2) where the information is transmitted to a wireless remote unit (paragraph 0020)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective date to combine the elements of Moore et al., Ahola, McSheffry Jr. et al., and Spare et al. to create a wireless monitoring system for a fuel tank wherein the wireless sensor mounted to a fuel tank provides fuel temperature information to a user in order to monitor conditions in the tank wherein the motivation to combine is to wireless monitor a fuel tank (Moore et al., paragraph 0005).
With regard to claim 17, the combination of Moore et al. and Ahola fails to disclose of acquiring a temperature reading indicative of a temperature associated with the tank with a temperature sensor of the sensor assembly, acquiring the temperature reading with the computing device, and communicating the temperature reading to the remote system. In the field of monitoring systems, Spare et al. teaches:
acquiring a temperature reading indicative of a temperature associated with the tank with a temperature sensor of the sensor assembly, acquiring the temperature reading with the computing device, and communicating the temperature reading to the remote system [a wireless sensor arrangement providing both pressure and temperature information found in a fuel tank and transmitting the information to a remote unit (paragraphs 0012, 0016, and 0020 as well as figure 2)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective date to combine the elements of Moore et al., Ahola, McSheffry Jr. et al., and Spare et al. to create a wireless monitoring system for a fuel tank wherein the wireless sensor mounted to a fuel tank provides fuel temperature information to a user in order to monitor conditions in the tank wherein the motivation to combine is to wirelessly monitor a fuel tank (Moore et al., paragraph 0005).
Claim(s) 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore et al. [U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0355540] in view of Ahola [U.S. Patent Publication 2016/0072557], and in further view of McSheffry Jr. et al. [U.S. Patent Publication 2005/0056090] and Carr et al. [U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0102664]
With regard to claim 6, Moore et al. meets the limitation of:
the mobile device [a user interface device used for monitoring a tank where the user interface device is in wireless communication with a sensor module where the user interface device receives data from the sensor module associated with a monitored tank for display to the user thereby denoting the storage of the information and identification of the tank as tank data is stored and displayed on the user device for viewing by the user where the sensor is associated with the monitored tank (paragraph 0105 and figure 10)]
However, Moore et al. fails to disclose of acquiring a location of the tank and communicating the location to the remote system. In the field of monitoring systems, Carr et al. teaches:
the mobile device acquires a location of the tank and communicates the location to the remote system [a system configured to transmit telemetric device location information that is indicative of the location of the telemetric device (paragraph 0083)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective date to combine the elements of Moore et al., Ahola, McSheffry Jr. et al., and Carr et al. to create a wireless monitoring system for a fuel tank wherein the wireless sensor mounted to a fuel tank provides location information to a user in order to monitor the movement of the tank wherein the motivation to combine is to wireless monitor a fuel tank (Moore et al., paragraph 0005).
With regard to claim 14, the combination of Moore et al. and Ahola fails to disclose of acquiring a location of the tank and communicating the location to the remote system. In the field of monitoring systems, Carr et al. teaches:
acquiring a location of the tank and communicating the location to the remote system [a system configured to transmit telemetric device location information that is indicative of the location of the telemetric device (paragraph 0083)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective date to combine the elements of Moore et al., Ahola, McSheffry Jr. et al., and Carr et al. to create a wireless monitoring system for a fuel tank wherein the wireless sensor mounted to a fuel tank provides location information to a user in order to monitor the movement of the tank wherein the motivation to combine is to wireless monitor a fuel tank (Moore et al., paragraph 0005).
Claim(s) 7, 8, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore et al. [U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0355540] in view of Ahola [U.S. Patent Publication 2016/0072557], and in further view of McSheffry Jr. et al. [U.S. Patent Publication 2005/0056090] and Ward et al. [U.S. Patent Publication 2014/0053645]
With regard to claim 7, the combination of Moore et al. and Ahola fails to disclose of a tag associated with the tank and configured to provide the tank identifier. In the field of monitoring systems, Ward et al. teaches:
a tag associated with the tank and configured to provide the tank identifier [an RFID tag having an identification used for identifying a tank (paragraph 0012)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective date to combine the elements of Moore et al., Ahola, McSheffry Jr. et al., and Ward et al. to create a wireless monitoring system for a fuel tank wherein an RFID mounted to a fuel tank provides identification information to a user in order to identify a monitored tank when it is amongst other tanks wherein the motivation to combine is to wirelessly monitor a fuel tank (Moore et al., paragraph 0005).
With regard to claim 8, the combination of Moore et al. and Ahola fails to disclose of the tag is at least one of a QR code, a barcode, an NFC tag, or a RFID tag. In the field of monitoring systems, Ward et al. teaches:
the tag is at least one of a QR code, a barcode, an NFC tag, or a RFID tag [an RFID tag having an identification used for identifying a tank (paragraph 0012)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective date to combine the elements of Moore et al., Ahola, McSheffry Jr. et al., and Ward et al. to create a wireless monitoring system for a fuel tank wherein an RFID mounted to a fuel tank provides identification information to a user in order to identify a monitored tank when it is amongst other tanks wherein the motivation to combine is to wireless monitor a fuel tank (Moore et al., paragraph 0005).
With regard to claim 16, the combination of Moore et al. and Ahola fails to disclose of acquiring the tank identifier includes reading a tag associated with the tank. In the field of monitoring systems, Ward et al. teaches:
acquiring the tank identifier includes reading a tag associated with the tank [an RFID tag having an identification used for identifying a tank and the tag being read by an identification scanner (paragraph 0012)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective date to combine the elements of Moore et al., Ahola, McSheffry Jr. et al., and Ward et al. to create a wireless monitoring system for a fuel tank wherein an RFID mounted to a fuel tank provides identification information to a user when read by a scanner in order to identify a monitored tank when it is amongst other tanks wherein the motivation to combine is to wireless monitor a fuel tank (Moore et al., paragraph 0005).
With regard to claim 20, the combination of Moore et al. and Ahola fails to disclose of a tag attached to the tank, the tag providing the tank identification. In the field of monitoring systems, Ward et al. teaches:
a tag attached to the tank, the tag providing the tank identification [an RFID tag having an identification used for identifying a tank (paragraph 0012)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective date to combine the elements of Moore et al., Ahola, McSheffry Jr. et al., and Ward et al. to create a wireless monitoring system for a fuel tank wherein an RFID mounted to a fuel tank provides identification information to a user in order to identify a monitored tank when it is amongst other tanks wherein the motivation to combine is to wireless monitor a fuel tank (Moore et al., paragraph 0005).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 26, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 7, the Applicants state “…the combination of Moore and McSheffrey fails to disclose at least "a computing device physically separate from the remote system, communicatively coupled to the sensor assembly and the remote system, the computing device being configured to acquire the sensor reading from the sensor assembly and communicate the sensor reading acquired to the remote system" as recited in claim 1. Moore fails to disclose a remote system beyond the multipurpose device communicating with the sensor module. McSheffrey describes a remote central station but tanks communicate directly with the remote central station. Thus, in both Moore and McSheffrey, a tank (or a sensor/gauge attached thereto) communicates with a system (a local, multipurpose device in Moore; remote central station in McSheffrey) directly. Thus, the combination of Moore and McSheffrey does not suggest a computing device as an intermediary between sensor and remote system.” The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Figure 3 and paragraph 0041 of McSheffrey discloses the use of a remote central station acting as an intermediary device between the devices used to monitor the oxygen quantities in oxygen tanks in patient rooms. The signals relating to the oxygen quantities, as disclosed in paragraph 0037, are sent from the remote central station to the computer system 164 in figure 3 and described in paragraph 0041. Thus, one with ordinary skill in the art would conclude the combination of Moore, Aloha, and McSheffrey teach the claimed limitation.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PAMESHANAND MAHASE whose telephone number is (571) 270-7223. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday- Friday 8:00AM - 5:00PM. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Davetta Goins can be reached on 571-272-2957. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/PAMESHANAND MAHASE/Examiner, Art Unit 2689
/DAVETTA W GOINS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2689