DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendment filed 8/3/2026. As directed by the amendment, claims 1, 9, 12 and 19 have been amended, claim 8 has been cancelled, and claim 23 has been added. As such, claims 1-7, 9-15, 17-20, 22 and 23 are pending in the instant application.
Applicant has amended the claims to address the objections thereto, which are hereby withdrawn.
Applicant has not filed a terminal disclaimer to obviate the double patenting rejections; the double patenting rejections are updated below.
Applicant has cancelled claim 8, rendering the rejection thereof under 35 USC 112(d)/fourth paragraph moot.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/3/2026 (hereinafter “Remarks”) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 8 of Remarks that “applying the cuff of Smith…over the reflective material…is simply not an enabled interpretation of Smith.”
The Examiner is confused as to why Applicant believes an artisan reading Smith would have been unable (“not enabled”) to wrap the tube of Smith with the reflective material “from the proximal end 16 to the distal end 20” per Smith col. 4, lines 7-10, i.e. the reflective material is wrapped around/extends the full length of the tube, and subsequently install the cuff as explicitly taught by Smith col. 4, lines 64-66. These are basic steps that any artisan could follow, particularly one familiar with assembling endotracheal tubes, as evidenced by the body of prior art previously cited by the Examiner. Applicant has provided no objective evidence that an artisan would have been unable/not enabled to first wrap the tube and then install the cuff over the wrapped tube, i.e. arriving at an arrangement where the wrapped material extends underneath the cuff similar to that depicted by Shapiro Fig. 1; therefore, the rejections in view of Smith are maintained.
Applicant argues on page 8 of Remarks that “[t]he Office Action cites specifically that Smith discusses the cuff being positioned NEAR the distal end portion…[n]ot “over” the distal end portion” (emphasis Applicant’s).
The Examiner disagrees that Applicant arguments rebut the rejection as it stands in view of Smith. The wrapped reflective material is described by Smith as being continuously wrapped from the proximal end 16 to the distal end 20, and the cuff is located towards (“near”) the distal end, i.e. the subsequently-installed cuff is positioned between the proximal end and the distal end and thus over a region of the continuous wrapping, i.e. similar to that depicted by Shapiro Fig. 1. The rejections in view of Smith are maintained below.
Applicant’s remaining arguments with respect to amended claim(s) 1, 12 and 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8 and 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,628,264 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, patented claims 8 and 9 recite the same limitations/encompass the same subject matter as instant claims 19 and 20 (along with additional limitations), respectively, because one of the patented inflation lumen passageways being fluidly coupled to one of the patented cuffs through the patented second hole, which is aligned with the patented first hole that is cut through the resistant member, per patented claim 8, infers that at least one of the patented inflation lumen passageways passes through the resistant member via the patented first hole, and it would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the patented adhesive that extends along the perimeter of a hole proximate a lumen seals a perimeter of the lumen, both as a common function of adhesive and in order to provide the predictable result of a sealed lumen wall so that gas is not leaked when inflating the associated cuff.
Claims 1-9, 12-15, 17, 18 and 22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6 and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,628,264 B2 in view of Smith et al. (US 5,139,019; hereinafter “Smith”) and Patel (US 4,335,732; hereinafter “Patel”), OR, in the alternative in view of Smith, Shapiro et al. (US 5,027,812; hereinafter “Shapiro”) and Patel.
Regarding instant claims 1, 6-8, 12 and 22, patented claim 1 recites all of the instant limitations, wherein it would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the patented adhesive is positioned as claimed in amended instant claim 1 in order to provide the patented fluid seal by occluding any and all spaces along the perimeter, except that patented claim 1 is silent regarding wherein the resistant member is helically wrapped, formed of/comprises a metallic material/aluminum (which inherently resists penetration by a laser) and is positioned radially inside at least a portion of the expandable cuff (although this latter limitation is recited in patented claim 5). However, it has been held to be within the general skill of one in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use, see MPEP 2144.07, and Smith teaches that it was known in the laser-resistant endotracheal tube (ET) art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a overlappingly, helically-wrapped resistant member formed of/comprising a metallic material/aluminum that extends along the length of an ET from one end of an ET to the other and thus underneath a subsequently attached cuff, as discussed in the art rejection below, Shapiro, supplied in the alternative as an even more explicit teaching for compact prosecution, teaches that it was known in the laser-resistant ET art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a helical resistant member (metal conduit 11A) formed of/comprising a metallic material/aluminum (col. 4, lines 3-5) to be positioned radially inside at least a portion of the expandable cuff (inflatable cuff 12) (Figs. 1 and 5), and Patel teaches that it was known in the ET art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for an inflation lumen (inflation lumen 20) (Fig. 2) to pass from a tube (shaft 25) to an expandable cuff (balloon 18) though all layers (outer lamination 26 and core 27) under the cuff that extend between the inflation lumen and the cuff (Figs. 2 and 2a; col. 5, lines 212-25), i.e. via hole 32, such that it would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for patented claim 1 to include the absent limitations as taught by Smith, (Shapiro) and Patel, in order to provide the predictable results of a continuous/uninterrupted resistant member, formed from a standard material (aluminum) and using a standard method (overlapping helical winding), that provides laser resistance along the entirety of the ET (including under the cuff) to thereby protect the entire length of the ET, as well as to e.g. provide a versatile production method that allows pre-manufacturing of resistant tubing that can be subsequently modified with cuff(s) as desired, and to provide a standard means (inflation lumen that extends through all the layers of the ET wall, i.e. including the continuously wrapped material and sleeve, under the cuff to connect the cuff to an internal inflation lumen) to inflate the patented cuff in a low profile way (i.e. using an internal inflation lumen). Instant claims 2-5, 13-15, 17 and 18 are obvious over patented claims 2-4, 6 and 7 when the patented claim 1 is modified as discussed above because patented claims 2-4, 6 and 7 recite the same limitations as instant claims 2-5, 13-15, 17 and 18 (along with additional limitations), with patented claim 4 inferring that the inflation lumens are not fluidly coupled to one another as recited by instant claim 5 in order to provide the independent inflation recited by patented claim 4. Regarding instant claim 9, patented claim 6 infers that the sleeve is positioned radially outside of the resistant member in order to exert the patented compression, and this positioning is also taught by Smith Fig. 4, but modified patent claim 1 is silent regarding the sleeve extending at least the length of the resistant member. However, Smith teaches that the sleeve 40 extends from the proximal end to the distal end--the same as the resistant member--and that the function of a smooth sleeve is to cover the wrapped resistant member so as to space the resistant member from the patient (col. 2, lines 46-48 and col. 4, lines 31-32 and 50-61), such that it would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for modified patented claim 1 to further include the absent limitations as taught by Smith, in order to provide a radially external sleeve that is coextensive with the resistant member to provide the predictable results of ensuring the stability of, and providing smoothness to, the resistant member along its entire length.
Claims 10-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,628,264 B2 in view of Smith, (Shapiro) and Patel as discussed above, and further in view of Field (WO 2020/025912 A1; hereinafter “Field”). Regarding instant claim 10, modified patented claim 1 is silent regarding adhesive applied to the proximal and distal end of the resistant member and the sleeve to couple the resistant member and the sleeve to the ET. However, Field teaches/suggests that it was known in the ET art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, when providing a smooth outer surface that extends at least the length of the underlying, non-smooth portion/layer (portion 23) (Fig. 1), to utilize adhesive to bond an overlying layer/sleeve to the ET (Fig. 1; page 6, lines 1-3 and the second half of the second full para), inferred to include the ends of the sleeve, such that it would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for modified patented claim 1 to include adhesive applied to the proximal and distal end of the resistant member and the sleeve to couple the resistant member and the sleeve to the ET as taught/suggested by Field, in order to provide the predictable results of robustly securing the patented sleeve and resistant member to the patented ET using standard means (adhesive) and in a way that prevents delamination of the layers during use, particularly at the ends thereof, which could otherwise cause irritation to a patient if the ends peel up and/or seepage between the layers. Regarding instant claim 11, modified patented claim 1 is silent regarding the sleeve being formed of silicone. However, it has been held to be within the general skill of one in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use, see MPEP 2144.07, and Field demonstrates that it was well known in the ET art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a smooth outer sleeve (sleeve 30) (Fig. 1) to be formed of silicone (page 6, first full para in view of page 5, second full para). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the patented sleeve to be formed of silicone, in order to provide the predictable result of a smooth outer material that is highly flexible, very compatible with patient tissue and autoclavable (Field page 5, second full para).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7, 9-15, 17-20, 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 (and thus its dependent claims) recites the limitation "the perimeter of the inflation lumen" in line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, and tubular lumens can have inner perimeters, outer perimeters, and different perimeters along their length if tapered or stepped, such that a single perimeter is not inherent. Claim 1 also recites “adhesive is positioned along the perimeter…between the tube, resistant member, and sleeve,” wherein it is unclear in the claim if this is intended to be interpreted as “adhesive is positioned along [a] perimeter…[and] between the tube, resistant member, and sleeve,” or “adhesive is positioned along [a] perimeter…[that is positioned] between the tube, resistant member”, i.e. is adhesive what is between the tube, etc., or the perimeter is between the tube, etc.? As best understood per the top of page 9 of Applicant’s Remarks and instant para [0050], the claim is understood to describe where “adhesive is positioned along [a] perimeter…[and within gaps] between the tube, resistant member, and sleeve,” but this should be made clearer in the response to this Office Action.
Claim 12 (and thus its dependent claims) recites the limitation "the perimeter of the inflation lumen" in line 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, and tubular lumens can have inner perimeters, outer perimeters, and different perimeters along their length if tapered or stepped, such that a single perimeter is not inherent. Claim 12 also recites “the perimeter of the inflation lumen as it transitions” (emphasis added), wherein it is unclear in the claim to what “it” refers: the perimeter or the lumen. As best understood, in light of similar amendments to claim 1 and for clearer antecedent basis using the language of claim 12, line 12, claim 12 will be considered to read “a perimeter…where the inflation lumen passes from the airway tube
Claim 19 (and thus its dependent claim) recites the limitation "the perimeter of the inflation lumen" in line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim, as no perimeter and only at least two “inflation lumen passageways” (emphasis added) have been recited in claim 19 (and if the inflation lumen is the same as an inflation lumen passageway, to which of the at least two is line 11 referring?), and tubular lumens can have inner perimeters, outer perimeters, and different perimeters along their length if tapered or stepped, such that a single perimeter is not inherent. As best understood, in light of similar amendments to claim 1 and for clearer antecedent basis using the language of claim 19, line 10, claim 19 will be considered to read “the at least one inflation lumen passageway where the at least one inflation lumen passageway passes through”.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claim 22, “comprising” is considered to be broader than “formed from” in claim 7, which is considered similarly to “composed of,” see MPEP 2111.03.IV., such that claim 22 is not considered to be a duplicate claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 7, 9-12, 17, 18 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al. (US 5,139,019; hereinafter “Smith”) in view of Patel (US 4,335,723; hereinafter “Patel”), Rosenblatt (US 5,469,864; hereinafter “Rosenblatt”) and Field (WO 2020/025912; hereinafter “Field”), OR, in the alternative, over Smith in view of Shapiro et al. (US 5,027,813; hereinafter “Shapiro”), Patel, Rosenblatt and Field.
Regarding claim 1, Smith discloses a tube (endotracheal device 10) (Figs. 1-6) for delivering fluid (abstract), comprising:
a tube (flexible conduit portion 28) extending between a first opening (inlet opening 14) and a second opening (outlet opening 18) (Fig. 1);
an expandable cuff (cuff 24) formed on a distal end of the tube (Fig. 1; col. 3, line 67-col. 4, line 3);
a resistant member (spirally wound laser reflective material 30) helically wrapped around a portion of the tube (Figs. 2-6; col. 4, lines 7-9, where the resistant member is said to extend the full length of the ET, i.e. from the proximal end 16 to the distal end 20); and
a sleeve (protective covering 40) formed around the resistant member (Figs. 2-6);
wherein, the sleeve presents a substantially smooth outer surface (a smooth flexible protective covering surrounds the laser reflective material so as to provide a smooth conformal exterior surface for the tube member, col. 2, lines 46-48);
wherein the resistant member is positioned radially inside of at least a portion of the first cuff (Figs. 1 and 3; col. 4, lines 7-9 and lines 64-66, where the laser reflective material is said to be (continuously overlappingly) wrapped from the proximal end 16 to the distal end 20 and the cuff installed afterward, i.e. positioned between the proximal end and the distal end and thus over a region of the continuous wrapping, thus the reflective material extends under/radially inside the cuff).
While Smith is considered to disclose wherein the resistant member is positioned radially inside of at least a portion of the first cuff as discussed above, for purposes of compact prosecution, Shapiro is included in the alternative, as an even more explicit teaching that it was known in the laser resistant ET art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the resistant member (metal conduit 11A) is positioned radially inside of at least a portion of the first cuff (inflatable cuff 12) (Figs. 1 and 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Smith to include wherein the resistant member is positioned radially inside of at least a portion of the first cuff as taught by Shapiro, in order to provide the predictable results of a continuous resistant member that provides laser resistance along the entirety of the ET (including under the cuff) to thereby protect the entire length of the ET, as well as to e.g. provide a versatile production method that allows pre-manufacturing of resistant tubing that can be subsequently modified with cuff(s) as desired.
While (modified) Smith discloses/teaches wherein the resistant member extends continuously under the cuff as discussed above, (modified) Smith is silent regarding wherein an inflation lumen passes from the tube to the expandable cuff through the resistant member. However, Patel teaches that it was known in the endotracheal tube art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for an inflation lumen (inflation lumen 20) (Fig. 2) to pass from a tube (shaft 25) to an expandable cuff (balloon 18) though multiple layers (outer lamination 26 and core 27) that extend under the cuff (Figs. 2 and 2a; col. 5, lines 212-25), i.e. via hole 32, such that it would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for (modified) Smith to include wherein an inflation lumen passes from the tube to the expandable cuff through the resistant member as taught by Patel, in order to provide a common means (i.e. an inflation line embedded in the tube 12 of Smith) by which to inflate the cuff (with continuous underlying resistant member) of Smith/Smith in view of Shapiro, i.e. by providing a hole from the embedded lumen through the overlying tube material, the laser reflective material 30 and protective cover 40 and into the cuff.
Modified Smith is silent regarding wherein adhesive is positioned along the perimeter of the inflation lumen, and, as best understood, within gaps between the tube, resistant member, and sleeve where the inflation lumen passes from the tube into the expandable cuff. However, Rosenblatt teaches that it was known in the laser-resistant endotracheal tube art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include adhesive (adhesive 28, 28a) positioned within gaps (i.e. the spaces between the layers) between the tube, resistant member (metallic layer 24), and outer layer (sponge layer 22) (Fig. 5), and Field teaches/suggests that it was known in the endotracheal tube art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include adhesive specifically beneath a sleeve (sleeve 30) to couple the sleeve to the underlying tubular element (portion 23) (Fig. 1; page 6, lines 1-3 and the second half of the second full para, which is inferred or at least suggested to have adhesive extend across the entire inner surface of the sleeve, in order to ensure full/complete/robust bonding). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for modified Smith to include wherein adhesive is positioned, as best understood, within gaps between the tube, resistant member, and sleeve, as taught by Rosenblatt and Field, such that adhesive is present along the perimeter of the inflation lumen where the inflation lumen passes from the tube into the expandable cuff of modified Smith because adhesive is taught by Rosenblatt and Field to be co-extensively applied between the layers, and thus would be present in the location of/around the perimeter of any openings/lumens passing through said layers as discussed above regarding Patel, in order to use common means (continuous layers of adhesive) along the entire common extents of the layers in order to predictably prevent delamination of the layers during use and facilitate the wrapping of the resistant member by providing means (adhesive) by which to secure the resistant member to the underlying tube while it is being wrapped so that it does not unravel.
Regarding claim 6, Smith in view of Patel, Rosenblatt and Field OR Smith in view of Shapiro, Patel, Rosenblatt and Field teaches the tube of claim 1, wherein Smith further discloses and Shapiro further teaches further wherein the resistant member is formed from a material that resists penetration by a laser (Smith Figs. 5-6; col. 4, lines 14-15 and col. 5, lines 20-24; Shapiro abstract).
Regarding claim 7, Smith in view of Patel, Rosenblatt and Field OR Smith in view of Shapiro, Patel, Rosenblatt and Field teaches the tube of claim 6, wherein Smith further discloses and Shapiro further teaches further wherein the resistant member is formed of an aluminum material (laser reflective material 30 is formed of aluminum, Smith col. 4, lines 14-15; Shapiro abstract).
Regarding claim 9, Smith in view of Patel, Rosenblatt and Field OR Smith in view of Shapiro, Patel, Rosenblatt and Field teaches the tube of claim 6, wherein (modified) Smith further discloses/teaches further wherein the sleeve is positioned radially outside of the resistant member and extends at least the length of the resistant member (Smith Figs. 1 and 3, col. 4, lines 28-32 in view of lines 7-9, where both the sleeve and the resistant member are said extend the full length of the ET from the proximal end 16 to the distal end 20, and see the teachings of Shapiro Figs. 1, 4 and 5, col. 4, lines 1-3, regarding a resistant member which is sheathed/sleeved the entire length thereof), particularly since Smith teaches that the function of the smooth sleeve is to cover the wrapped resistant member so as to provide stability and space the resistant member from the patient (col. 2, lines 46-48 and col. 4, lines 31-32 and 50-61), such that it would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to ensure that the sleeve of modified) Smith extends at least the length of the resistant member as taught by Smith and Shapiro, in order to provide a sleeve that is coextensive with the resistant member to provide the predictable results of ensuring the stability of, and providing smoothness to, the resistant member along its entire length.
Regarding claim 10, Smith in view of Patel, Rosenblatt and Field OR Smith in view of Shapiro, Patel, Rosenblatt and Field teaches the tube of claim 1, wherein modified Smith teaches/suggests wherein adhesive is applied to the proximal and distal end of the resistant member and the sleeve to couple the resistant member and the sleeve to the tube, because, as discussed above, Field teaches/suggests that it was known in the endotracheal tube (ET) art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize adhesive applied to an end of a sleeve (sleeve 30) to couple the sleeve to the underlying tube (portion 23) (Fig. 1; page 6, lines 1-3 and the second half of the second full para, which is inferred or at least suggested to include at the ends of the sleeve). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for modified Smith to include adhesive applied to the proximal and distal end of the resistant member and the sleeve to couple the resistant member and the sleeve to the tube as taught/suggested by Field, in order to provide the predictable results of securing the resistant member and sleeve to the ET using common means (adhesive) along the entire common extents thereof and in a way that prevents delamination of the layers during use, particularly at the ends thereof, which could otherwise cause irritation to a patient if the distal end peels up and/or allow fluids to become trapped between the layers and exit from the distal or proximal end, which could contaminate the lungs and/or the area around the patient.
Regarding claim 11, Smith in view of Patel, Rosenblatt and Field OR Smith in view of Shapiro, Patel, Rosenblatt and Field teaches the tube of claim 1, but modified Smith is silent regarding wherein the sleeve is formed of silicone. However, it has been held to be within the general skill of one in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use, see MPEP 2144.07, and Field demonstrates that it was well known in the endotracheal tube (ET) art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a smooth outer sleeve (sleeve 30) (Fig. 1) to be formed of silicone (page 6, first full para in view of page 5, second full para). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the sleeve of modified Smith to be formed of silicone as taught by Field, in order to provide the predictable result of a smooth outer material that is highly flexible, very compatible with patient tissue and autoclavable (Field page 5, second full para).
Regarding claim 12, Smith discloses an endotracheal tube assembly (endotracheal device 10/60) (Figs. 1 and 3/8), comprising:
an airway tube (flexible conduit portion 28) forming a fluid channel (main fluid passage 22) from a first opening (inlet opening 14) to a second opening (outlet opening 18) and defining a tube wall (Figs. 1 and 4/9; col. 3, lines 61-66);
a resistant member (laser reflective material 30/62) formed of a metallic material (Smith col. 4, lines 10-15) and positioned around a portion of the airway tube (Figs. 2-12);
a sleeve (protective covering 40/68) formed around the resistant member (Figs. 2-12); and
a first cuff (cuff 24) formed along the airway tube proximate to the second opening (18) (Fig. 1);
wherein the sleeve is formed of a single material (e.g. PTFE, col. 4, lines 28-34) having a substantially smooth outer surface (a smooth flexible protective covering surrounds the laser reflective material so as to provide a smooth conformal exterior surface for the tube member, col. 2, lines 46-48);
wherein the resistant member is positioned radially inside of at least a portion of the first cuff (Figs. 1 and 3; col. 4, lines 7-9 and lines 64-66, where the laser reflective material is said to be (continuously overlappingly) wrapped from the proximal end 18 to the distal end 20 and the cuff installed afterward, i.e. positioned between the proximal end and the distal end and thus over a region of the continuous wrapping, thus the reflective material extends under/radially inside the cuff).
While Smith is considered to disclose wherein the resistant member is positioned radially inside of at least a portion of the first cuff as discussed above, for purposes of compact prosecution, Shapiro is included in the alternative, as an even more explicit teaching that it was known in the laser resistant ET art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the resistant member (metal conduit 11A) is positioned radially inside of at least a portion of the first cuff (inflatable cuff 12) (Figs. 1 and 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Smith to include wherein the resistant member is positioned radially inside of at least a portion of the first cuff as taught by Shapiro, in order to provide the predictable results of a continuous resistant member that provides laser resistance along the entirety of the ET (including under the cuff) to thereby protect the entire length of the ET, as well as to e.g. provide a versatile production method that allows pre-manufacturing of resistant tubing that can be subsequently modified with cuff(s) as desired.
While (modified) Smith discloses/teaches wherein the resistant member extends continuously under the cuff as discussed above, (modified) Smith is silent regarding wherein an inflation lumen passes from the airway tube to the expandable cuff through the resistant member. However, Patel teaches that it was known in the endotracheal tube art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for an inflation lumen (inflation lumen 20) (Fig. 2) to pass from an airway tube (shaft 25) to an expandable cuff (balloon 18) though multiple layers (outer lamination 26 and core 27) that extend under the cuff (Figs. 2 and 2a; col. 5, lines 212-25), i.e. via hole 32, such that it would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for (modified) Smith to include wherein an inflation lumen passes from the airway tube to the expandable cuff through the resistant member as taught by Patel, in order to provide a standard means (i.e. an inflation line embedded in the tube 12 of Smith) by which to inflate the cuff (with continuous underlying resistant member) of Smith/Smith in view of Shapiro, i.e. by providing a hole from the embedded lumen through the overlying tube material, the laser reflective material 30 and protective cover 40 and into the cuff.
Modified Smith is silent regarding wherein adhesive seals the perimeter of the inflation lumen as it transitions from the tube wall to the first cuff. However, Rosenblatt teaches that it was known in the laser-resistant endotracheal tube art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include adhesive (adhesive 28, 28a) positioned within gaps (i.e. the spaces between the layers) between the tube, resistant member (metallic layer 24), and outer layer (sponge layer 22) (Fig. 5), and Field teaches/suggests that it was known in the endotracheal tube art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include adhesive specifically beneath a sleeve (sleeve 30) to seal the sleeve to the underlying tubular element (portion 23) (Fig. 1; page 6, lines 1-3 and the second half of the second full para, which is inferred or at least suggested to have adhesive extend across the entire inner surface of the sleeve, in order to ensure full/complete/robust bonding). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for modified Smith to include wherein sealing adhesive is positioned within gaps between the tube, resistant member, and sleeve, as taught by Rosenblatt and Field, such that the adhesive seals the perimeter of the inflation lumen as it transitions from the tube wall to the first cuff of modified Smith because the adhesive is taught by Rosenblatt and Field to be co-extensively applied between the layers, and thus would be present in the location of/around the perimeter of any openings/lumens passing through said layers as discussed above with regarding Patel, in order to use common means (continuous layers of sealing adhesive) along the entire common extents of the layers in order to predictably prevent delamination of and/or collection of material between the layers during use and facilitate the wrapping of the resistant member by providing means (adhesive) by which to secure the resistant member to the underlying tube while it is being wrapped so that it does not unravel.
Regarding claim 17, Smith in view of Patel, Rosenblatt and Field OR Smith in view of Shapiro, Patel, Rosenblatt and Field teaches the endotracheal tube assembly of claim 12, wherein Smith further discloses further wherein the resistant member is wrapped around the airway tube (Fig. 2; col. 4, lines 7-10) and the sleeve radially compresses the resistant member towards the airway tube (Figs. 3-4/8-9 and 13 in view of col. 2, lines 63-65, col. 4, lines 48-53 and col. 5, lines 18-20, where the sleeve is described as being stretched during assembly and in a stressed state while on the conduit, wherein such a stretched/stressed state will exert a compressive force on the resistant member towards the airway tube because the stretched sleeve is positioned radially outside of the resistant member and the airway tube).
Regarding claim 18, Smith in view of Patel OR Smith in view of Shapiro and Patel teaches the endotracheal tube assembly of claim 17, wherein modified Smith teaches/suggests wherein the resistant member and the sleeve are adhesively coupled to the airway tube at a proximal and distal end of the resistant member and the sleeve, because, as discussed above, Field teaches/suggests that it was known in the endotracheal tube (ET) art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize adhesive at an end of a sleeve (sleeve 30) to adhesively couple the sleeve to the underlying tube (portion 23) (Fig. 1; page 6, lines 1-3 and the second half of the second full para, which is inferred or at least suggested to include at the ends of the sleeve). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for modified Smith to include wherein the resistant material and the sleeve are adhesively coupled to the airway tube at a proximal and a distal end of the resistant member and the sleeve as taught/suggested by Field, in order to provide the predictable results of securing resistant member and sleeve to the ET using common means (adhesive) along the entire common extents thereof and in a way that prevents delamination of the layers during use, particularly at the ends thereof, which could otherwise cause irritation to a patient if the distal end peels up and/or allow fluids to become trapped between the layers and exit from the distal or proximal end, which could contaminate the lungs and/or the area around the patient.
Regarding claim 22, Smith in view of Patel, Rosenblatt and Field OR Smith in view of Shapiro, Patel, Rosenblatt and Field teaches the tube for delivering fluid of claim 1, wherein Smith further discloses and Shapiro further teaches wherein the resistant member comprises aluminum (Smith col. 4, lines 14-15; Shapiro abstract).
Claim(s) 2-5, 13-15, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith in view of Patel, Rosenblatt and Field, OR Smith in view of Shapiro, Patel, Rosenblatt and Field as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Coleman et al. (US 4,834,087; hereinafter “Coleman”).
Regarding claim 2, Smith in view of Patel, Rosenblatt and Field OR Smith in view of Shapiro, Patel, Rosenblatt and Field teaches the tube of claim 1, but modified Smith is silent regarding a second expandable cuff formed at the distal end of the tube. However, Coleman demonstrates that it was well known in the endotracheal tube (ET) art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a laser-resistant ET (endotracheal tube 10) (Fig. 1; abstract) to include a first expandable cuff (liquid-inflatable barrier cuff 22) and a second expandable cuff (liquid-inflatable elastomeric sealing cuff 20) formed at the distal end of the tube (Fig. 1; col. 4, lines 28-42). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for modified Smith to include a second expandable cuff formed at the distal end of the tube as taught by Coleman, in order to provide the predictable result of redundant and/or more finely tailorable sealing at the distal end of the ET.
Regarding claim 3, Smith in view of Patel, Field and Coleman OR Smith in view of Shapiro, Patel, Field and Coleman teaches the tube of claim 2, wherein Smith further discloses a first inflation lumen (inflation lumen) (not shown), that is fluidly coupleable to the expandable cuff (Fig. 1; col. 4, lines 1-3), and Patel further educates modified Smith to include the first inflation lumen being partially formed within a wall of the tube as discussed above regarding claim 1. Additionally, Coleman demonstrates that it was well known in the endotracheal tube (ET) art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the first inflation line (first inflation lumen 28) of an ET to be partially formed within a wall of the tube (Figs. 2-3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for modified Smith to include the first inflation lumen being partially formed within a wall of the tube as taught by Patel and Coleman, in order to provide the predictable result of a standard inflation lumen configuration, particularly one that does not affect air flow through the ET or alter the outer surface of the ET.
Regarding claim 4, Smith in view of Patel, Field and Coleman OR Smith in view of Shapiro, Patel, Field and Coleman teaches the tube of claim 3, wherein Coleman further educates modified Smith to include a second inflation lumen (second inflation lumen 36) that is fluidly coupleable to the second expandable cuff, the second inflation lumen being partially formed within the wall of the tube (Coleman Figs. 2-3; col. 5, lines 23-30), in order to provide the predictable result of a known means by which to inflate the second cuff discussed above regarding claim 2, which provides the same benefits as discussed above regarding claim 3.
Regarding claim 5, Smith in view of Patel, Field and Coleman OR Smith in view of Shapiro, Patel, Field and Coleman teaches the tube of claim 4, wherein Coleman further educates modified Smith to include wherein the first inflation lumen and the second inflation lumen are not fluidly coupled to one another in the wall of the tube (Coleman Figs. 2-3), in order to provide the predictable result of allowing independent inflation of the cuffs to tailor the sealing as discussed above regarding claim 2.
Regarding claim 13, Smith in view of Patel, Rosenblatt and Field OR Smith in view of Shapiro, Patel, Rosenblatt and Field teaches the endotracheal tube assembly of claim 12, but modified Smith is silent regarding a second cuff formed along the airway adjacent to the first cuff. However, Coleman demonstrates that it was well known in the endotracheal tube (ET) art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a laser-resistant ET (endotracheal tube 10) (Fig. 1; abstract) to include a first expandable cuff (liquid-inflatable barrier cuff 22) and a second expandable cuff (liquid-inflatable elastomeric sealing cuff 20) formed along the airway adjacent to the first cuff (Fig. 1; col. 4, lines 28-42). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Smith to include a second cuff formed along the airway adjacent to the first cuff as taught by Coleman, in order to provide the predictable result of redundant and/or more finely tailorable sealing at the distal end of the ET.
Regarding claim 14, Smith in view of Patel, Field and Coleman OR Smith in view of Shapiro, Patel, Field and Coleman teaches the endotracheal tube assembly of claim 13, wherein Smith further discloses a first inflation lumen (inflation lumen) (not shown), fluidly coupled to the first cuff (Figs. 1-2; (Fig. 1; col. 4, lines 1-3), and Patel further educates modified Smith to include wherein the first inflation lumen is defined at least partially within the tube wall as discussed above regarding claim 12, and Coleman further demonstrates that it was well known in the endotracheal tube (ET) art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the first inflation line (first inflation lumen 28) of an ET to be defined at least partially within the tube wall (Figs. 2-3), and Coleman further educates modified Smith to include a second inflation lumen (second inflation lumen 36) defined at least partially within the tube wall and fluidly coupled to the second cuff (Coleman Figs. 2-3; col. 5, lines 23-30). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for modified Smith to include the first inflation lumen defined at least partially within the tube wall and a second inflation lumen defined at least partially within the tube wall and fluidly coupled to the second cuff as taught by Patel and Coleman, in order to provide the predictable result of a standard inflation lumen configuration, particularly one that does not affect air flow through the ET or alter the outer surface of the ET, and in order to provide the predictable result of using the same means by which to inflate the second cuff discussed above regarding claim 13.
Regarding claim 15, Smith in view of Patel, Field and Coleman OR Smith in view of Shapiro, Patel, Field and Coleman teaches the endotracheal tube assembly of claim 14, wherein Coleman further educates modified Smith to include wherein the first cuff and second cuff are inflatable independent of one another (Coleman Figs. 2-3), in order to provide the predictable result of allowing independent inflation of the cuffs to tailor the sealing as discussed above regarding claim 13.
Regarding claim 19, Smith discloses a method for manufacturing an endotracheal tube (Figs. 2 and 13), comprising:
forming an airway tube (flexible conduit portion 28) with an inflation lumen passageway (inflation lumen) (not shown) (Fig. 1; col. 4, lines 1-3);
winding a resistant member (laser reflective material 30) around an outer portion of the airway tube (Fig. 2; col. 4, lines 7-10);
expanding a sleeve and positioning a sleeve (protective covering 40) around the resistant member (Figs. 3-4 and 13; covering 40 may be stretched [i.e. expanded] over…the conduit, col. 4, lines 28-32 and 48-52);
allowing the sleeve to contract to thereby compress the resistant member against the airway tube (Figs. 3-4 and 13 in view of col. 2, lines 63-65, col. 4, lines 48-53 and col. 5, lines 18-20, where the sleeve is described as being stretched during assembly and in a stressed state while on the conduit, wherein such a stretched/stressed state will exert a compressive force on the resistant member towards the airway tube because the stretched sleeve is positioned radially outside of the resistant member and the airway tube); and
coupling a proximal cuff (flexible cuff 24) to the airway tube (Fig. 1; col. 3, lines 67-68) and fluidly coupling the inflation lumen passageway to the proximal cuff (Fig. 1; col. 3, line 86-col. 4, lines 1-3, wherein, for the cuff to be inflated via the inflation lumen, the two must be fluidly coupled).
Smith is silent regarding coupling a distal cuff and forming the airway tube with at least two inflation lumen passageways defined in a wall of the airway tube, and fluidly coupling the proximal and distal cuffs to a different one of the two inflation lumen passageways. However, Coleman demonstrates that these elements/ configurations were well known in the endotracheal tube (ET) art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as discussed above regarding claims 2-5/13-15. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Smith to include coupling a distal cuff and forming the airway tube with at least two inflation lumen passageways defined in a wall of the airway tube, and fluidly coupling the proximal and distal cuffs to a different one of the two inflation lumen passageways as taught by Coleman, in order to provide the predictable results of redundant and/or more finely tailorable sealing (by allowing independent inflation of the cuffs) at the distal end of the ET, and a standard inflation lumen configuration, particularly one that does not affect air flow through the ET or alter the outer surface of the ET.
While modified Smith further teaches wherein the resistant member is positioned radially inside of the cuffs (Smith Figs. 1 and 3; col. 4, lines 7-9 and lines 64-66, where the laser reflective material is said to be (continuously overlappingly) wrapped from the proximal end 16 to the distal end 20 and the cuff installed afterward, i.e. positioned between the proximal end and the distal end and thus over a region of the continuous wrapping, such that the reflective material would extend under/radially inside both the cuffs of modified Smith because they would both be positioned between the proximal and distal ends of the tube), and where Shapiro is included in the alternative for purposes of compact prosecution, as an even more explicit teaching that it was known in the laser resistant ET art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the resistant member (metal conduit 11A) is positioned radially inside of at least a portion of the first cuff (inflatable cuff 12) (Figs. 1 and 5), such that it would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Smith to include wherein the resistant member is positioned radially inside of at least a portion of the first cuff as taught by Shapiro, in order to provide the predictable results of a continuous resistant member that provides laser resistance along the entirety of the ET (including under the cuff) to thereby protect the entire length of the ET, as well as to e.g. provide a versatile production method that allows pre-manufacturing of resistant tubing that can be subsequently modified with cuff(s) as desired, modified Smith is silent regarding wherein at least one of the two inflation lumen passageways passes through the resistant member. However, Patel teaches that it was known in the endotracheal tube art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for an inflation lumen (inflation lumen 20) (Fig. 2) to be embedded in a tube (shaft 25) and fluidly connected to an expandable cuff (balloon 18) by passing through multiple layers (outer lamination 26 and core 27) that extend under the cuff (Figs. 2 and 2a; col. 5, lines 212-25), i.e. via hole 32, such that it would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for modified Smith to include wherein at least one of the two inflation lumen passageways passes through the resistant member as taught by Patel, in order to provide standard means (i.e. inflation line(s) embedded in the tube 12 of modified Smith that are directly connected to the cuff(s) by a hole underlying the cuff(s)) by which to inflate the cuff(s) (with underlying resistant member) of modified Smith, i.e. by providing a hole from the embedded lumen(s) through the overlying tube material, laser reflective material 30 and protective cover 40 and into the cuff(s).
Modified Smith is silent regarding wherein adhesive seals the perimeter of the inflation lumen as it transitions through the resistant member. However, Rosenblatt teaches that it was known in the laser-resistant endotracheal tube art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include adhesive (adhesive 28, 28a) positioned within gaps (i.e. the spaces between the layers) between the tube, resistant member (metallic layer 24), and outer layer (sponge layer 22) (Fig. 5), and Field teaches/suggests that it was known in the endotracheal tube art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include adhesive specifically beneath a sleeve (sleeve 30) to seal the sleeve to the underlying tubular element (portion 23) (Fig. 1; page 6, lines 1-3 and the second half of the second full para, which is inferred or at least suggested to have adhesive extend across the entire inner surface of the sleeve, in order to ensure full/complete/robust bonding). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for modified Smith to include wherein sealing adhesive is positioned within gaps between the tube, resistant member, and sleeve, as taught by Rosenblatt and Field, such that the adhesive seals the perimeter of the inflation lumen as it transitions through the resistant member of modified Smith because the adhesive is taught by Rosenblatt and Field to be co-extensively applied between the layers, and thus would be present in the location of/around the perimeter of any openings/lumens passing through said layers as discussed above with regarding Patel, in order to use common means (continuous layers of sealing adhesive) along the entire common extents of the layers in order to predictably prevent delamination of and/or collection of material between the layers during use and facilitate the wrapping of the resistant member by providing means (adhesive) by which to secure the resistant member to the underlying tube while it is being wrapped so that it does not unravel.
Regarding claim 20, Smith in view of Patel, Field and Coleman OR Smith in view of Shapiro, Patel, Field and Coleman teaches the method of claim 19, wherein modified Smith teaches/suggests the method further comprising applying adhesive to a proximal and distal end of both the sleeve and resistant member to thereby adhesively couple the sleeve and resistant member to the airway tube, because, as discussed above, Field teaches/suggests that it was known in the endotracheal tube (ET) art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize adhesive at an end of a sleeve (sleeve 30) to adhesively couple the sleeve to the underlying tube (portion 23) (Fig. 1; page 6, lines 1-3 and the second half of the second full para, which is inferred or at least suggested to include at the ends of the sleeve). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the method of modified Smith to include applying adhesive to a proximal and distal end of both the sleeve and resistant member to thereby adhesively couple the sleeve and resistant member to the airway tube as taught/suggested by Field, in order to provide the predictable results of securing resistant member and sleeve to the ET using common means (adhesive) along the entire common extents thereof and in a way that prevents delamination of the layers during use, particularly at the ends thereof, which could otherwise cause irritation to a patient if the distal end peels up and/or allow fluids to become trapped between the layers and exit from the distal or proximal end, which could contaminate the lungs and/or the area around the patient.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 23 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional references teaching the inclusion of adhesive between layers in laser resistant endotracheal tubes: previously-cited Toppses and previously-cited Kirschbaum. Reference teaching the application of adhesive around the port into the inflation cuff of a breathing tube: Neame (US 5,881,726; Fig. 1, col. 3, lines 32-34). Reference teaching a lumen extending from a cuff into an inflation line of an endotracheal tube: Goldin et al. (US 4,327,721).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHRYN E DITMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785