DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-7 and 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/29/2025.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II in the reply filed on 7/29/2025 is acknowledged.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-20 are currently pending. Claims 1-7 and 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration as being drawn to an unelected invention. In response to the Office Action mailed 8/06/2025 Applicant amended claims 1, 8 and 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-9 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20170160600 A1 to Galstian et al. in view of US 20220196799 A1 to Tien et al.
Regarding Claim 8. Galstian discloses an optical device comprising: a liquid crystal lens comprising (See at least Fig. 1 and Fig. 3 disclosing the top cell wall of a tunable liquid crystal lens): a first optical substrate (Fig. 1 upper substrate); a second optical substrate overlying and spaced away from the first optical substrate (Fig. 1 lower substrate); a liquid crystal (LC) layer disposed between the first and second optical substrates (Fig. 1 liquid crystal LC); a first electrode structure between the LC layer and the first optical substrate (Fig. 1 hole patterned electrode HPE); and a second electrode structure between the LC layer and the second optical substrate (Fig. 1 uniform transparent electrode UTE); a sensor configured to assess at least one attribute of the liquid crystal layer (Fig. 5 temperature sensor 12, para 56); a heat source (para 56 “a heater to keep the temperature stable”); and a controller configured to mediate heat flow between the heat source and the liquid crystal layer based on a signal provided by the sensor in an amount effective to tune the at least one attribute (para 56, Fig. 5 Controller 20).
Galstian does not specifically disclose that the at least one attribute comprises a switching speed of the liquid crystal layer during operation of the liquid crystal lens.
However, Matsushima discloses switching speed of the liquid crystal layer during operation of the liquid crystal device is at least dependent on temperature (See para 44), and includes a controller configured to mediate heat flow between the heat source and the liquid crystal layer (See para 44), as the substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP2143(I)(B), KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to include that the at least one attribute comprises a switching speed of the liquid crystal layer during operation of the liquid crystal lens.
Regarding Claim 9. Galstian further discloses a first dielectric layer disposed between the first electrode structure and the liquid crystal layer; and a second dielectric layer disposed between the second electrode structure and the liquid crystal layer (See Fig. 1 LC alignment layer, para 22).
Regarding Claim 12. Galstian further discloses the first electrode structure and the second electrode structure each comprise an optically transparent conductive layer (para 19).
Regarding Claim 13. Galstian further discloses the first electrode structure and the second electrode structure are each disposed within an optical aperture of the liquid crystal lens (as shown in Fig. 1 and Fig. 3).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galstian and Tien as applied to claim 8 in view of US 20220057691 A1 to Piskunov et al.
Regarding Claim 10. As stated above, Galstian and Tien discloses all the limitations of base claim 8.
Galstian does not specifically disclose the liquid crystal lens comprises an optical aperture having mutually orthogonal lateral dimensions each measuring at least approximately 10 mm.
However, Piskunov discloses a liquid crystal lens comprises an optical aperture having mutually orthogonal lateral dimensions each measuring at least approximately 10 mm (See para 94), as the substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP2143(I)(B), KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to include that the liquid crystal lens comprises an optical aperture having mutually orthogonal lateral dimensions each measuring at least approximately 10 mm
Regarding Claim 11. Piskunov further discloses the first optical substrate and the second optical substrate each have a thickness independently ranging from approximately 100 to 300 micrometers (para 82).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 8-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EDMOND C LAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871