DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. The limitations of Claim 9 are already present in Claim 1 upon which it directly or indirectly depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claims 1, 4, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 4, 8 and 9 recite two different chambers, i.e., a fuel combustion chamber and an additional chamber (surrounding at least in part said fuel combustion chamber). However, throughout the claims Applicant refers to “said chamber” which causes confusion because it is not completely clear which chamber the Applicant is referring to thereby causing the claims to be indefinite. In the interest of advancing prosecution, Applicant’s recitation of “said chamber” is interpreted as if amended to recite “said fuel combustion chamber”.
Claim 1 further recites “the part/material below” at the very end of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 depends from cancelled Claim 3 causing the claim to be indefinite. Claim 4 is interpreted as if amended to depend from Claim 1.
Claim 8 depends from cancelled Claim 7 causing the claim to be indefinite. Claim 8 is interpreted as if amended to depend from Claim 1.
Claim 9 depends from Claim 4 which depends from cancelled Claim 3 causing the claim to be indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GB 2528854 A (hereinafter “GOZNEY”) in view of WO 2017/202853 A1 (hereinafter “MURA”).
Regarding Claims 1, 4, 8 and 9, GOZNEY discloses a food oven comprising: a cooking compartment (102) configured to house at least one food being cooked and defining a plane (see 106) for holding the at least one cooking food item; a mouth (see opening/mouth covered by door 116) for inserting said food into said compartment and a pyrolytic burner (10) heating said compartment allowing the cooking of said food and defining a longitudinal axis suitably normal to said plane; wherein said pyrolytic burner comprises a fuel combustion chamber (defined by inner shell/skin 16); an additional chamber (defined by middle shell/skin 18) surrounding at least in part said combustion chamber; at least one connector (28/30) configured to place said chamber in fluid passage connection with said additional chamber; a base structure (100) comprising said compartment, said mouth and a support plane of said food being cooked; and in which said plane an opening (120) placed said compartment in fluid passage connection with said pyrolytic burner; wherein said combustion chamber has a substantially tumbler shape (see the figures) and thus it comprises a side wall suitably parallel to said longitudinal axis and a bottom suitably normal to said longitudinal axis (see Figs. 1, 2A-2E and 6); wherein said additional chamber has a substantially tumbler shape and comprises an additional side wall suitably parallel to said longitudinal axis and an additional bottom suitably normal to said longitudinal axis (see again Figs. 1, 2A-2E and 6); wherein said connector is configured to place said chamber in fluid passage connection with said additional chamber allowing the gases produced by pyrolysis in said combustion chamber of the fuel, enter said additional chamber and then enter said combustion chamber where the combustion of said gases takes place (“The secondary combustion zone is a ring of flame (blue flame) that is created by air being drawn in through the perforations at the bottom if the middle or inner skin and coming back in through the perforations at the top and upper portion and through the middle of the inner skin. As the fuel burns, hot air will rush around inside the burner 10 and travel downstream away from the base plate 36 towards the top portion of the burner 10 attached to the cooking chamber 102 of the oven assembly 100 where it will first hit the baffle plate 40. The baffle plate 40 acts as an obstacle and will force the air to move faster inside the burner and thus helps to reignite the hot oxygen from the secondary combustion zone Y just above the baffle plate 40.”); wherein said connector comprises first holes (28) placed at a distance H1 from said opening and second holes (30) placed at a distance from said opening greater than H1 and distance H2 from the bottom; in which said chamber is cylindrical (see again Figs. 1, 2A-2E and 6; see also the Abstract “The burner comprises a cylindrical hollow body”); and in which said additional chamber is cylindrical (see again Figs. 1, 2A-2E and 6; see also the Abstract “The burner comprises a cylindrical hollow body”); wherein said opening (120) places said compartment (102) in fluid passage connection with said chamber (i.e., the fuel combustion chamber defined by shell/skin 16); wherein said chamber comprises at least one connector (28/30) configured to place said chamber in fluid passage connection with said additional chamber (i.e., the additional chamber defined by shell/skin 18).
GOZNEY does not explicitly disclose in which said chamber has a diameter D and a height H comprised between D and 7xD; and in which said additional chamber has a diameter B comprised between 1.5 and 2 times D.
MURA teaches a similar pyrolytic burner in which said chamber has a diameter D and a height H comprised between D and 7xD (“In a preferred embodiment of the burner, the height H of the combustion chamber follows the relation D<H<7xD. In a more preferred embodiment of the burner, the height H of the combustion chamber follows the relation 2xD<H<3xD, even more preferably the height H is 2.5 times the diameter D of the combustion chamber.”); and in which said additional chamber has a diameter B comprised between 1.5 and 2 times D (“The diameter B of the outer jacket 20 is between 1.5xD and 2xD so as to obtain a volume of the toroidal interspace 60 adequate for the flow of air and of gases generated by the solid fuel and that allows correct operation of the burner. In a preferred embodiment, the diameter B of the outer jacket is between 1.5xD and 1.7xD, even more preferably is equal to 1.5xD.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify GOZNEY wherein said chamber has a diameter D and a height H comprised between D and 7xD; and wherein said additional chamber has a diameter B comprised between 1.5 and 2 times D as taught and/or suggested by MURA, since as stated by MURA such a modification would provide “a volume of the toroidal interspace 60 adequate for the flow of air and of gases generated by the solid fuel and that allows correct operation of the burner.”
Furthermore, GOZNEY does not disclose wherein said pyrolytic burner comprises an air supply circulator injecting air into the additional chamber suitably at the additional bottom and then generating a flow of air which is pushed into the additional chamber defining a Venturi effect that supports the passage of said gases; through said second holes from said combustion chamber to said additional chamber and then; through said first holes from said additional chamber to said chamber where said gases are combusted by the combustion of the fuel, creating a toroidal flame which performs the function of a plug to the entry of air into said chamber and of heating from the part/material below.
MURA teaches a similar pyrolytic burner wherein said pyrolytic burner comprises an air supply circulator (50) injecting air into the additional chamber suitably at the additional bottom (200) and then generating a flow of air which is pushed into the additional chamber (60) defining a Venturi effect that supports the passage of said gases (see Fig. 2); through said second holes (140) from said combustion chamber (10) to said additional chamber (60) and then; through said first holes (130) from said additional chamber (60) to said chamber (10) where said gases are combusted by the combustion of the fuel, creating a toroidal flame (see again Fig. 2) which performs the function of a plug to the entry of air into said chamber and of heating from the part/material below (inherently functions in this manner).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify GOZNEY wherein said pyrolytic burner comprises an air supply circulator injecting air into the additional chamber suitably at the additional bottom and then generating a flow of air which is pushed into the additional chamber defining a Venturi effect that supports the passage of said gases; through said second holes from said combustion chamber to said additional chamber and then; through said first holes from said additional chamber to said chamber where said gases are combusted by the combustion of the fuel, creating a toroidal flame which performs the function of a plug to the entry of air into said chamber and of heating from the part/material below as taught and/or suggested by MURA, since such a modification would provide a means to generate a forced flow of combustion air and a means of regulating the amount of combustion air provided, in contrast to passive combustion air supply via convection currents, in order to ensure complete combustion. In the alternative, since both references teach a pyrolytic burner, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute one pyrolytic burner for the other to achieve the predictable result of supplying heat to said food oven.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JORGE A PEREIRO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799