DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Korea on April 11, 2022.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communication filed on April 11, 2023.
Claims 1 – 20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references provided in the Information Disclosure Statement filed on October 26, 2023 and April 10, 2025 have been considered. Signed copies of the corresponding 1449 forms have been included with this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 5, 8 – 12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cho (US20160111644A1).
As per claims 1 – 5, 8 – 12, Cho teaches:
An organometallic compound represented by Formula 1
, wherein L1 is a ligand represented by Formula 1A
and L2 is a ligand represented by Formula 1B
(Cho teaches compounds of Formula I, which ligands represented by Formula 1A and Formula 1B
A specific compound taught by Cho is
([0283]), which reads on the claimed Formula wherein M is iridium; X1 and X4 are N; X2 and X3 are carbon; Y1 is O; rings CY1 and CY4 are both a C5 heterocyclic group, namely a pyrimidine ring as required by claim 4, CY1 is represented by Formula 1-9
in claim 5; CY2 is a C6 carbocyclic group, namely a benzene ring as required by claim 4; Z1 is -Si(Q1)(Q2)(Q3), wherein Q1 to Q3 are all CH3 as required by claim 12; a1 is 1 and a2 is 0 so that Z2 does not exist; R1 is an unsubstituted C1 alkyl group; b1 is 1; R2 is an unsubstituted C6 aryl group; b2 is 1; the remaining R groups are hydrogen. The compound reads on Formula 1B-1
in claim 11.)
As per claim 18, Cho is silent with respect to the emissive wavelength of the emission layer. However, since Cho teaches the same dopant structure as disclosed by the Applicant, the property of emissive wavelength of the emissive layer is considered to be inherent (and would be expected to fall within the range in the claim), absent evidence otherwise. Recitation of a newly disclosed property does not distinguish over a reference disclosure of the article or composition claims. When the structure recited in the prior art reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Applicant bears responsibility for proving that the reference composition does not possess the characteristics recited in the claims. See MPEP 2112.
Claims 1 – 4, 6, 8 – 12, and 15 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ma (CN110615816A, using the provided machine translation).
As per claims 1 – 4, 6, 8 – 12, Ma teaches:
An organometallic compound represented by Formula 1
, wherein L1 is a ligand represented by Formula 1A
and L2 is a ligand represented by Formula 1B
(Ma teaches compounds of Formula 1
([0010]). A particular compound taught by Ma is compound PD24 on page 4
, which reads on the claimed Formula wherein M is iridium; X1 and X4 are N; X2 and X3 are carbon; Y1 is O; rings CY1 and CY4 are both a C5 heterocyclic group, namely a pyrimidine ring as required by claim 4; CY2 is a C6 carbocyclic group, namely a benzene ring as required by claim 4, ring CY2 is represented by Formula 2-17
in claim 6; Z2 is -Si(Q1)(Q2)(Q3), wherein Q1 to Q3 are all a C6 aryl group, namely a phenyl group as required by claim 12; a1 is 1 and a2 is 0 so that Z1 does not exist; all remaining R groups are hydrogen. The compound reads on Formula 1B-1
in claim 11.)
As per claims 15, 16, and 19, Ma teaches:
An organic light-emitting device comprising a first electrode, a second electrode, and an organic layer arranged between the first electrode and the second electrode, wherein the organic layer comprises an emission layer, wherein the first electrode is an anode, the second electrode is a cathode, the organic layer further comprises a hole transport region arranged between the first electrode and the emission layer, and an electron transport region arranged between the emission layer and the second electrode, the hole transport region comprises a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, an electron blocking layer, a buffer layer, or a combination thereof, and the electron transport region comprises a hole blocking layer, an electron transport layer, an electron injection layer, or a combination thereof, wherein the emission layer comprises the at least one organometallic compound (In Example, 8, a device was prepared with compound PD24 as the dopant in the light emitting layer ([0100]). The device structure is described in ([0098]) as having a structure of anode/hole transport layer/emission layer/hole blocking layer/electron transport layer/electron injection layer/cathode.”)
As per claim 17, Ma teaches:
Wherein the emission layer further comprises a host, and an amount of the host is greater than an amount of the at least one organometallic compound, based on weight (In [0098], Ma teaches that the host and dopant are mixed in the emission layer in a ratio of 95:5.)
As per claim 18, Ma teaches:
Wherein the emission layer emits a green light having a maximum emission wavelength of about 490 nm to about 550 nm (In [0115], Ma teaches that compound PD24 emits green light, which is within the claimed wavelengths.)
As per claim 20, Ma teaches:
An electronic apparatus, comprising the organic light-emitting device (As an OLED is an electronic apparatus, Ma anticipates claim 20.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 6, 7, 13, 15 – 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (US20160111644A1) as applied to claims 1 – 5, 8 – 12 and 18 above.
As per claim 6, Cho teaches that R16 can be selected from Si(Q1)(Q2)(Q3) ([0020]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify compound PD-16 above to include a silyl group on the benzene ring of the ppy ligand and arrive at the claimed compound wherein ring CY2 is represented by Formula 2-17
..
Cho includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Cho being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of higher efficiency and longer lifespan ([0348]), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claims 7 and 13, the specific compound of Cho above teaches a dibenzofuran group, instead of an aza-dibenzofuran group as required by the claims. However, in Formula 1A, Cho teaches that in Formula 1A, Y1 and Y4 can be selected from carbon or nitrogen ([0016]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to swap the carbon and nitrogen atoms in compound PD-16 above and arrive at the claimed invention wherein ring CY4 is represented by Formula 4-1
and the compound is represented by Formula 5-2 in claim 13
.
Cho includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Cho being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of higher efficiency and longer lifespan ([0348]), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claims 15, 16, and 19, Cho teaches:
An organic light-emitting device comprising a first electrode, a second electrode, and an organic layer arranged between the first electrode and the second electrode, wherein the organic layer comprises an emission layer, wherein the first electrode is an anode, the second electrode is a cathode, the organic layer further comprises a hole transport region arranged between the first electrode and the emission layer, and an electron transport region arranged between the emission layer and the second electrode, the hole transport region comprises a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, an electron blocking layer, a buffer layer, or a combination thereof, and the electron transport region comprises a hole blocking layer, an electron transport layer, an electron injection layer, or a combination thereof, wherein the emission layer comprises the at least one organometallic compound (Abstract: “An organic light-emitting device includes: a first electrode; a second electrode; an emission layer between the first electrode and the second electrode; and a hole transport region between the first electrode and the emission layer, wherein the emission layer includes an organometallic compound represented by Formula 1.”)
As per claim 17, Cho teaches:
Wherein the emission layer further comprises a host ([0200]: “The emission layer may include a host and a dopant.”)
An amount of the host is greater than an amount of the at least one organometallic compound, based on weight ([0284]: “An amount of the dopant in the emission layer may be in a range of about 0.01 to about 15 parts by weight based on 100 parts by weight of the host, but is not limited thereto.”)
As per claim 20, Cho teaches:
An electronic apparatus, comprising the organic light-emitting device (As an OLED is an electronic apparatus, Cho teaches the claimed limitations.)
Claims 1 – 5, and 7 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rayabarapu (US20120061654A1) in view of Lee (US20130334521A1).
An organometallic compound represented by Formula 1
, wherein L1 is a ligand represented by Formula 1A
and L2 is a ligand represented by Formula 1B
(Rayabarapu teaches compounds with a ligand represented by Formula I
([0015]). A particular compound taught by Rayabarapu is compound 1
, which does not have the claimed germyl or silyl substituent on the phenyl pyridine ring.
Lee teaches compounds of Formula 1
([0031]), wherein at least one substituent R1 to R4 is represented by Formula 2
([0033 – 0036]) and the A-B ligand is a bidentate ligand coordinated with iridium ([0035]). A specific compound taught by Lee is
([0045]). Lee teaches that when a germanium substituent is added to a phenyl pyridine ligand, intramolecular interaction of the compound is inhibited, allowing the compound to be effectively used in solution processing, resulting in improvements in light-emitting efficiency when processed into a light-emitting diode (Abstract)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify compound 1 of Rayabarapu above to include a germanium substituent, motivated by the desire to predictably inhibit intramolecular interaction of the compound and allowing the compound to be effectively used in solution processing, resulting in improvements in light-emitting efficiency when processed into a light-emitting diode as taught by Lee (Abstract).
When modified in this way, compound 1 of Rayabarapu reads on the claimed Formula wherein M1 is a transition metal, namely Ir; n1 is an integer of 2; n2 is an integer of 1; X1 and X3 are N; X2 and X4 are C; Y1 is O; ring CY1 is a C5 heterocyclic group, namely a pyridine group as represented by claim 4, specifically a group represented by Formula 1-9 in claim 5
; ring CY2 and CY4 are both C6 carbocyclic groups, namely a benzene ring as required by claim 4, ring CY4 is represented by Formula 4-1 in claim 7
; Z1 is Ge(Q1) (Q2) (Q3), wherein Q1 to Q3 are all CH3 and a1 is 1; a2 is 0 so that Z2 does not exist; all the R groups are hydrogen. L2 is represented by Formula 1B-1
in claim 11 and Formula 5-2
in claim 13. This compound is the same as compound 1
in claim 14.
As per claims 15, 16, and 19, Rayabarapu teaches:
An organic light-emitting device comprising a first electrode, a second electrode, and an organic layer arranged between the first electrode and the second electrode, wherein the organic layer comprises an emission layer, wherein the first electrode is an anode, the second electrode is a cathode, the organic layer further comprises a hole transport region arranged between the first electrode and the emission layer, and an electron transport region arranged between the emission layer and the second electrode, the hole transport region comprises a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, an electron blocking layer, a buffer layer, or a combination thereof, and the electron transport region comprises a hole blocking layer, an electron transport layer, an electron injection layer, or a combination thereof ([0038]: “Device 100 may include a substrate 110, an anode 115, a hole injection layer 120, a hole transport layer 125, an electron blocking layer 130, an emissive layer 135, a hole blocking layer 140, an electron transport layer 145, an electron injection layer 150, a protective layer 155, and a cathode 160.”)
Wherein the emission layer comprises the at least one organometallic compound ([0047]: “Preferably, these compounds may be used as an emitting dopant in the emissive layer.”)
As per claim 17, Rayabarapu teaches:
Wherein the emission layer further comprises a host ([0076]: “In one aspect, the organic emissive layer is an emissive layer and the compound is an emitting dopant. The organic layer may further comprise a host.”)
An amount of the host is greater than an amount of the at least one organometallic compound, based on weight (In Table 2, the specific Examples taught by Rayabarapu all show the dopant material as a minority component in the emission layer.)
As per claim 20, Rayabarapu teaches:
An electronic apparatus, comprising the organic light-emitting device ([0044]: “Devices fabricated in accordance with embodiments of the invention may be incorporated into a wide variety of consumer products, including flat panel displays, computer monitors, televisions, billboards, lights for interior or exterior illumination and/or signaling, heads up displays, fully transparent displays, flexible displays, laser printers, telephones, cell phones, personal digital assistants (PDAs), laptop computers, digital cameras, camcorders, viewfinders, micro-displays, vehicles, a large area wall, theater or stadium screen, or a sign.”)
Conclusion
All claims are rejected.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US20220348599A1, US20200181184A and KR20180020878A all teach compounds that could be used in a rejection against the claims as currently presented.
/JENNA N CHANDHOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789