DETAILED ACTION
Status
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed 07/12/2025. The objections to the drawings, the claims, and the abstract have been withdrawn in light of the amendments filed. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections set forth in the previous Office Action have been withdrawn in light of the amendments filed. Claims 2, 4 and 10 have been canceled. Claims 1 , 3, 5-9 and 11-20 remain pending for consideration on the merits
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: the term “condenser-free sensible cooling stage” cannot be found in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 9, the recitation of “...a condenser-free sensible cooling stage…,” renders the claim unclear. Specifically, it is unclear as to what Applicant is intending to mean, as sensible cooling is merely the process of exchanging temperature with the air at the claimed evaporative cooler. Furthermore, the claim is considered indefinite because the negative limitation appears to be attempting to claim the invention by excluding what the inventors did not invent rather than distinctly and particularly point out what they did invent [MPEP 2173.05(i)]. Therefore, the claim and all claims depending therefrom are indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7-9, 11-14, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakikawa (WO 2021112025 A1), and further in view of Moghaddam (US 20190299158 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Sakikawa teaches an air conditioning process [Fig. 1] comprising:
a latent cooling stage comprising:
absorbing, via a responsive hygroscopic material [22], moisture from ambient air [¶ 0022; moist air is dehumidified via absorbing material 22];
heating, via a heat source [23], the responsive hygroscopic material above a transition temperature wherein the responsive hygroscopic material transitions from being hygroscopic to being hydrophobic [¶ 0035, 0064; absorbing material is hydrophilic in temperature ranges below a sensing point, and is hydrophobic above the sensing point, induced by heating];
expelling, from the responsive hygroscopic material, liquid [¶ 0035; moisture is released as droplets]; and
sensible cooling, via a heat exchanger [¶ 0055; heater 23 may be provided with cooling fins or fans to quickly release heat when not heated, and is therefore considered to be a heat exchanger] the responsive hygroscopic material below the transition temperature [¶ 0062-0065; moisture absorbing material 22 changes from a first to a second state after receiving a stimulus (i.e. heat) and returns from the second state to the first state in the absence of the stimulus. Therefore, the deactivation of the heater cools the material].
Sakikawa does not explicitly teach a sensible cooling stage comprising: sensible cooling, via an evaporative cooler, the ambient air; wherein the evaporative cooler evaporates the liquid expelled from the responsive hygroscopic material.
However, Moghaddam teaches a desiccant based dehumidification and cooling system [Fig. 4b] comprising and absorber [202], a desorber [212, 214] configured to receive fluid from the absorber [via heat exchangers 206, 208] and a condenser [204], wherein ambient air passes over an indirect evaporative cooler [210] configured to receive liquid from the desorber and sensibly cool the air [¶ 0063-0069]. Moghaddam further teaches that this ability to separately handle sensible and latent loads enables the control of indoor humidity levels, thus improving the system [¶ 0068]. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the evaporative cooler as claimed by known methods and that in combination, the evaporative cooler would improve the known device in a similar manner, and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. providing a means to separately handle sensible and latent loads enables the control of indoor humidity levels, thus improving the system [¶ 0068].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Sakikawa to have a sensible cooling stage comprising: sensible cooling, via an evaporative cooler, the ambient air, wherein the evaporative cooler evaporates the liquid expelled from the responsive hygroscopic material, in view of the teachings of Moghaddam, where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. providing a means to separately handle sensible and latent loads enables the control of indoor humidity levels, thus improving the system.
Claim 2 canceled
Regarding Claim 3, Sakikawa, as modified, teaches the process of claim 1 above and Moghaddam teaches wherein the evaporative cooler is one of a direct evaporative cooler, indirect evaporative cooler, or a partially direct and partially indirect evaporative cooler [¶ 0068; cooler 210 is an indirect evaporative cooler].
Claim 4 canceled
Regarding Claim 5, Sakikawa, as modified, teaches the process of claim 1 above and Sakikawa further teaches comprising:
moving the responsive hygroscopic material [22] from a first position to a second position [Fig. 9; ¶ 0088; accommodating portions 21 are mounted on a shaft [30] to be rotated between a plurality of positions],
wherein at the first position, the absorbing, via a responsive hygroscopic material, moisture from ambient air step is performed [¶ 0089-0090; the shaft is rotated to flow air through the accommodating portions for the absorbing material to absorb moisture in the air]; and
wherein at the second position, the heating, via the heat source [23], the responsive hygroscopic material above a transition temperature step is performed [¶ 0091; the configuration in Fig. 9 may have the heating accommodating portion 21, and is thus capable of heating the material above the sensing point to release moisture].
Regarding Claim 7, Sakikawa, as modified, teaches the process of claim 1 above and Sakikawa teaches wherein the responsive hygroscopic material comprises PNIPAAm (poly(N-isopropylacrylamide)) and one or more hydrogels [¶ 0009; Sakikawa discloses that a plurality of hygroscopic materials are used in zeolite and silica gels, including for example pNIPAM (poly N-isopropylacrylamide)].
Regarding Claim 8, Sakikawa, as modified, teaches the process of claim 1 above and Sakikawa teaches wherein the heat source comprises a free heat source, the free heat source comprising one or more of solar heat or waste heat, [¶ 0055-0056; sources of heat such as light emitters, lamps, LEDS, and the like be used instead of a heater 23, wherein the accommodation portion may be structured so that light is configured to impact the moisture absorbing unit].
Regarding Claim 9, Sakikawa teaches an air conditioning system [Fig. 1]comprising:
a latent cooling stage comprising:
a responsive hygroscopic material [22] configured to absorb moisture from ambient air [¶ 0022; moist air is dehumidified via absorbing material 22];
a heat source [23] configured to heat the responsive hygroscopic material above a transition temperature wherein the responsive hygroscopic material transitions from being hygroscopic to being hydrophobic causing the responsive hygroscopic material to expel a liquid previously absorbed from the ambient air [¶ 0035, 0064; absorbing material is hydrophilic in temperature ranges below a sensing point, and is hydrophobic above the sensing point, induced by heating, wherein moisture is released as droplets]; and
a heat exchanger [¶ 0055; heater 23 may be provided with cooling fins or fans to quickly release heat when not heated] configured for sensible cooling the responsive hygroscopic material [¶ 0062-0065; moisture absorbing material 22 changes from a first to a second state after receiving a stimulus (i.e. heat) and returns from the second state to the first state in the absence of the stimulus. Therefore, the deactivation of the heater cools the material].
Sakikawa does not explicitly teach a condenser-free sensible cooling stage comprising: an evaporative cooler configured for sensible cooling the ambient air by evaporating the liquid expelled from the responsive hygroscopic material.
However, Moghaddam teaches a desiccant based dehumidification and cooling system [Fig. 4b] comprising an absorber [202], a desorber [212, 214] configured to receive fluid from the absorber [via heat exchangers 206, 208] and a condenser [204], wherein ambient air passes over an indirect evaporative cooler [210] configured to receive liquid from the desorber and sensibly cool the air, wherein the condensate is used to sensibly cool the air [¶ 0063-0069]. Moghaddam further teaches that this ability to separately handle sensible and latent loads enables the control of indoor humidity levels, thus improving the system [¶ 0068]. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the evaporative cooler as claimed by known methods and that in combination, the evaporative cooler would improve the known device in a similar manner, and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. providing a means to separately handle sensible and latent loads enables the control of indoor humidity levels, thus improving the system [¶ 0068].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Sakikawa to have a sensible cooling stage comprising: sensible cooling, via an evaporative cooler, the ambient air, wherein the evaporative cooler evaporates the liquid expelled from the responsive hygroscopic material, in view of the teachings of Moghaddam, where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. providing a means to separately handle sensible and latent loads enables the control of indoor humidity levels, thus improving the system.
Claim 10 canceled
Regarding Claim 11, Sakikawa, as modified, teaches the system of claim 9 above and Moghaddam teaches wherein the evaporative cooler is one of a direct evaporative cooler, indirect evaporative cooler, or a partially direct and partially indirect evaporative cooler [¶ 0068; cooler 210 is an indirect evaporative cooler].
Regarding Claim 12, Sakikawa, as modified, teaches the system of claim 9 above and Moghaddam wherein the latent and sensile cooling of the ambient air is performed without the use of vapor compression refrigerants having high global warming potential [¶ 0068; Moghaddam discloses that the system is an HFC-free (Hydrofluorocarbon-free)].
Regarding Claim 13, Sakikawa, as modified, teaches the system of claim 9 above and Sakikawa further teaches comprising:
an actuator [30] configured to move the responsive hygroscopic material from a first position to a second position [¶ 0088-0094; Fig. 9; Sakikawa discloses that shaft 30 is a rotating shaft, and is operated in order to capture air through the wind openings 21a counter to the direction of rotation of the shaft. Sakikawa further discloses a driving mechanism for rotating the accommodating portion 21];
wherein at the first position, the responsive hygroscopic material absorbs moisture from the ambient air [Fig. 9; ¶ 0088; accommodating portions 21 are mounted on shaft 30 to be rotated between a plurality of positions] [¶ 0089-0090; the shaft is rotated to flow air through the accommodating portions for the absorbing material to absorb moisture in the air]; and
wherein at the second position, a heat source heats the responsive hygroscopic material above the transition temperature [¶ 0091; the configuration in Fig. 9 may have the heating accommodating portion 21, and is thus capable of heating the material above the sensing point to release moisture].
Regarding Claim 14, Sakikawa, as modified, teaches the system of claim 9 above and Sakikawa further teaches comprising:
a first polymer bed [21] comprising the responsive hygroscopic material [22];
a second polymer bed [21] comprising the responsive hygroscopic material [22] [¶ 0088-0094; See Fig. 9 comprising a plurality of accommodating portions 21 ; and
one or more actuators [13,30] configured to control heat flow to the first polymer bed and second polymer bed [¶ 0012; Sakikawa further discloses introduction holes disposed within the bodies, allowing for the introduction of outside air into the container, further facilitated by the movement induced by a rotating shaft 30] [¶ 0088-0094; Fig. 9; Sakikawa discloses that shaft 30 is a rotating shaft, and is operated in order to capture air through the wind openings 21a counter to the direction of rotation of the shaft. Sakikawa further discloses a driving mechanism for rotating the accommodating portion 21].
Regarding Claim 16, Sakikawa, as modified, teaches the system of claim 9, wherein the responsive hygroscopic material comprises PNIPAAm (poly(N-isopropylacrylamide)) and one or more hydrogels [¶ 0009; Sakikawa discloses that a plurality of hygroscopic materials are used in zeolite and silica gels, including for example pNIPAM (poly N-isopropylacrylamide)].
Regarding Claim 17, Sakikawa, as modified, teaches the system of claim 9 above and Sakikawa teaches wherein the heat source comprises a free heat source, the free heat source comprising one or more of solar heat or waste heat, [¶ 0055-0056; sources of heat such as light emitters, lamps, LEDS, and the like be used instead of a heater 23, wherein the accommodation portion may be structured so that light is configured to impact the moisture absorbing unit].
Regarding Claim 18, Sakikawa, as modified, teaches the system of claim 9 above and Sakikawa teaches wherein the heat exchanger is an ambient heat exchanger [¶ 0055; Sakikawa’s disclosure of cooling fins or fans with the heater 23 indicates heat exchange with the ambient air].
Regarding Claim 19, Sakikawa teaches an air conditioning system [Fig. 1] comprising:
a latent cooling stage comprising:
a responsive hygroscopic material [22] configured to absorb moisture from ambient air [¶ 0022; moist air is dehumidified via absorbing material 22];
a heat source [23] configured to heat the responsive hygroscopic material above a transition temperature wherein the responsive hygroscopic material transitions from being hygroscopic to being hydrophobic causing the responsive hygroscopic material to expel a liquid previously absorbed from the ambient air [¶ 0035, 0064; absorbing material is hydrophilic in temperature ranges below a sensing point, and is hydrophobic above the sensing point, induced by heating, wherein moisture is released as droplets]; and
a heat exchanger [¶ 0055; heater 23 may be provided with cooling fins or fans to quickly release heat when not heated] configured for sensible cooling the responsive hygroscopic material [¶ 0062-0065; moisture absorbing material 22 changes from a first to a second state after receiving a stimulus (i.e. heat) and returns from the second state to the first state in the absence of the stimulus. Therefore, the deactivation of the heater cools the material].
Sakikawa does not explicitly teach a sensible cooling stage comprising: an evaporative cooler configured for sensible cooling the ambient air by evaporating the liquid expelled from the responsive hygroscopic material.
However, Moghaddam teaches a desiccant based dehumidification and cooling system [Fig. 4b] comprising and absorber [202], a desorber [212, 214] configured to receive fluid from the absorber [via heat exchangers 206, 208] and a condenser [204], wherein ambient air passes over an indirect evaporative cooler [210] configured to receive liquid from the desorber and sensibly cool the air [¶ 0063-0069]. Moghaddam further teaches that this ability to separately handle sensible and latent loads enables the control of indoor humidity levels, thus improving the system [¶ 0068]. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the evaporative cooler as claimed by known methods and that in combination, the evaporative cooler would improve the known device in a similar manner, and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. providing a means to separately handle sensible and latent loads enables the control of indoor humidity levels, thus improving the system [¶ 0068].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Sakikawa to have a sensible cooling stage comprising: sensible cooling, via an evaporative cooler, the ambient air, wherein the evaporative cooler evaporates the liquid expelled from the responsive hygroscopic material, in view of the teachings of Moghaddam, where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. providing a means to separately handle sensible and latent loads enables the control of indoor humidity levels, thus improving the system.
Claim(s) 6, 15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakikawa and Moghaddam as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cui et al. (US 20220062858 A1, hereinafter “Cui”), Wilkinson (US 5,022,241 A) and Wilkinson (US 5,070,703 A, hereinafter “Wilkinson 703”).
Regarding Claim 6, Sakikawa, as modified, teaches the process of claim 1 above but Sakikawa does not further teach comprising: transferring at least a portion of the heat removed from the hygroscopic material by sensible cooling the responsive hygroscopic material below the transition temperature; storing the heat in a recuperator; and transferring at least a portion of the stored heat back to the responsive hygroscopic material.
However, Cui teaches an air conditioning system [400; Fig. 5], a diagram showing both flow mass and energy, comprising a desiccant wheel [410; ¶ 0063], configured to dehumidify a process air stream [430], wherein the system may further include an evaporative cooler to remove sensible heat [¶ 0062, 0070]. A heat supply gas inlet stream [440] from a regeneration heat source provides energy needed for the desiccant to remove absorbed water [¶ 0063]. Upon inspection of Figure 5, it is apparent that a regeneration air stream, passes over the sensible heat exchanger, therefore providing a sensible heat gain towards a regeneration heat source, and thus effectively provides heat to contribute to the heat supply [440] [¶ 0070], thus providing heat to the desiccant. Cui further teaches that this configuration may only require one-third the energy used by traditional air conditioning systems and would therefore lead to a higher COP [¶ 0070]. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the process as claimed by known methods and that in combination, the process would perform the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. providing a configuration requiring one-third the energy used by traditional air conditioning systems, therefore leading to a higher COP, thus improving the system [¶ 0070].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Sakikawa to transfer at least a portion of the heat removed from the hygroscopic material by sensible cooling the responsive hygroscopic material below the transition temperature; and transferring at least a portion of the stored heat back to the responsive hygroscopic material, in view of the teachings of Cui where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. providing a configuration requiring one-third the energy used by traditional air conditioning systems, therefore leading to a higher COP, thus improving the system.
While Cui teaches air conditioning and desiccant system above, Cui does not explicitly teach wherein sensible heat gain is transferred through/stored in a recuperator.
However, Wilkinson teaches an air conditioning system [10] comprising a dehumidification subsystem [14], a regenerator unit [26] and heat exchanger [27, 28] configured to supply desiccant solution to a plurality of desorber-like regenerator tubes [31], wherein a recuperative heat exchanger [34] is provided to provide heat exchange between the desiccant solution and the air flowing therethrough [Col. 3, 23-68]. Wilkinson 703 further teaches that that a recuperative heat exchanger serves to preheat a solution before beginning other operations, such as concentration or further heating, and thus supplements the requirements of any following processes [Wilkinson 703; Col. 5, 67 – Col. 6, 23; Fig. 2; recuperator provides the solution to an arbitrary point E, wherein the solution may progress to other points, for example F or K]. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined recuperator as claimed by known methods and that in combination, the recuperator would perform the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. a recuperator preheats a solution, therefore contributing to the overall heat demand of the system, thus improving the system [Col. 5, 67 – Col. 6, 23].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Sakikawa to have a recuperator in view of the teachings of Wilkinson and Wilkinson 703 where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. a recuperator preheats a solution, therefore contributing to the overall heat demand of the system, thus improving the system.
Regarding Claim 15, Sakikawa, as modified, teaches the system of claim 9 above, but Sakikawa does not further teach comprising: a recuperator configured to transfer at least a portion of the heat removed from the hygroscopic material by sensible cooling the responsive hygroscopic material below the transition temperature, storing the heat in the recuperator, and transferring at least a portion of the stored heat back to the responsive hygroscopic material.
However, Cui teaches an air conditioning system [400; Fig. 5], a diagram showing both flow mass and energy, comprising a desiccant wheel [410; ¶ 0063], configured to dehumidify a process air stream [430], wherein the system may further include an evaporative cooler to remove sensible heat [¶ 0062, 0070]. A heat supply gas inlet stream [440] from a regeneration heat source provides energy needed for the desiccant to remove absorbed water [¶ 0063]. Upon inspection of Figure 5, it is apparent that a regeneration air stream, passes over the sensible heat exchanger, therefore providing a sensible heat gain towards a regeneration heat source, and thus effectively provides heat to contribute to the heat supply [440] [¶ 0070], thus providing heat to the desiccant. Cui further teaches that this configuration may only require one-third the energy used by traditional air conditioning systems and would therefore lead to a higher COP [¶ 0070]. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the process as claimed by known methods and that in combination, the process would perform the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. providing a configuration requiring one-third the energy used by traditional air conditioning systems, therefore leading to a higher COP, thus improving the system [¶ 0070].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Sakikawa to transfer at least a portion of the heat removed from the hygroscopic material by sensible cooling the responsive hygroscopic material below the transition temperature, storing the heat, and transferring at least a portion of the stored heat back to the responsive hygroscopic material., in view of the teachings of Cui where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. providing a configuration requiring one-third the energy used by traditional air conditioning systems, therefore leading to a higher COP, thus improving the system.
While Cui teaches air conditioning and desiccant system above, Cui does not explicitly teach a recuperator.
However, Wilkinson teaches an air conditioning system [10] comprising a dehumidification subsystem [14], a regenerator unit [26] and heat exchanger [27, 28] configured to supply desiccant solution to a plurality of desorber-like regenerator tubes [31], wherein a recuperative heat exchanger [34] is provided to provide heat exchange between the desiccant solution and the air flowing therethrough [Col. 3, 23-68]. Wilkinson 703 further teaches that a recuperative heat exchanger serves to preheat a solution before beginning other operations, such as concentration or further heating, and thus supplements the requirements of any following processes [Wilkinson 703; Col. 5, 67 – Col. 6, 23; Fig. 2; recuperator provides the solution to an arbitrary point E, wherein the solution may progress to other points, for example F or K]. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined recuperator as claimed by known methods and that in combination, the recuperator would perform the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. a recuperator preheats a solution, therefore contributing to the overall heat demand of the system, thus improving the system [Col. 5, 67 – Col. 6, 23].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Sakikawa to have a recuperator in view of the teachings of Wilkinson and Wilkinson 703 where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. a recuperator preheats a solution, therefore contributing to the overall heat demand of the system, thus improving the system.
Regarding Claim 20, Sakikawa, as modified, teaches the system of claim 19 above but Sakikawa does not further teach comprising: a recuperator configured to transfer at least a portion of the heat removed from the hygroscopic material by sensible cooling the responsive hygroscopic material below the transition temperature, storing the heat in the recuperator, and transferring at least a portion of the stored heat back to the responsive hygroscopic material.
However, Cui teaches an air conditioning system [400; Fig. 5], a diagram showing both flow mass and energy, comprising a desiccant wheel [410; ¶ 0063], configured to dehumidify a process air stream [430], wherein the system may further include an evaporative cooler to remove sensible heat [¶ 0062, 0070]. A heat supply gas inlet stream [440] from a regeneration heat source provides energy needed for the desiccant to remove absorbed water [¶ 0063]. Upon inspection of Figure 5, it is apparent that a regeneration air stream, passes over the sensible heat exchanger, therefore providing a sensible heat gain towards a regeneration heat source, and thus effectively provides heat to contribute to the heat supply [440] [¶ 0070], thus providing heat to the desiccant. Cui further teaches that this configuration may only require one-third the energy used by traditional air conditioning systems and would therefore lead to a higher COP [¶ 0070]. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the process as claimed by known methods and that in combination, the process would perform the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. providing a configuration requiring one-third the energy used by traditional air conditioning systems, therefore leading to a higher COP, thus improving the system [¶ 0070].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Sakikawa to transfer at least a portion of the heat removed from the hygroscopic material by sensible cooling the responsive hygroscopic material below the transition temperature, storing the heat, and transferring at least a portion of the stored heat back to the responsive hygroscopic material., in view of the teachings of Cui where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. providing a configuration requiring one-third the energy used by traditional air conditioning systems, therefore leading to a higher COP, thus improving the system.
While Cui teaches air conditioning and desiccant system above, Cui does not explicitly teach a recuperator.
However, Wilkinson teaches an air conditioning system [10] comprising a dehumidification subsystem [14], a regenerator unit [26] and heat exchanger [27, 28] configured to supply desiccant solution to a plurality of desorber-like regenerator tubes [31], wherein a recuperative heat exchanger [34] is provided to provide heat exchange between the desiccant solution and the air flowing therethrough [Col. 3, 23-68]. Wilkinson 703 further teaches that a recuperative heat exchanger serves to preheat a solution before beginning other operations, such as concentration or further heating, and thus supplements the requirements of any following processes [Wilkinson 703; Col. 5, 67 – Col. 6, 23; Fig. 2; recuperator provides the solution to an arbitrary point E, wherein the solution may progress to other points, for example F or K]. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined recuperator as claimed by known methods and that in combination, the recuperator would perform the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. a recuperator preheats a solution, therefore contributing to the overall heat demand of the system, thus improving the system [Col. 5, 67 – Col. 6, 23].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Sakikawa to have a recuperator in view of the teachings of Wilkinson and Wilkinson 703 where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. a recuperator preheats a solution, therefore contributing to the overall heat demand of the system, thus improving the system.
Response to Arguments
On pages 2-3 of the remarks, Applicant argues that the cooling fins disclosed in Sakikawa appear to be safety features of the heater and should not be considered active cooling components for hygroscopic material. Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e. active vs. passive cooling of the fins) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Under broadest reasonable interpretation, the prior art meets the claim limitations. Further structural limitations of the invention previously not taught by Sakikawa alone have been incorporated and rejected by additional prior art Moghaddam. Therefore, the combination of prior art teaches the necessary structure to accomplish the claimed process, therefore the claims remain rejected.
On pages 3-4 of the remarks, Applicant argues that Moghaddam’s system is different in application because the condensate from the dehumidification process is not returned to the process air stream. Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not persuasive.
Respectfully, Applicant’s argument cannot be followed, as it is unclear as to what Applicant is implying by stating that the hygroscopic material in the combination of Sakikawa and Moghaddam is replaced by the condenser 204 of Moghaddam, as the prior art explicitly states that the hygroscopic solution exists in the absorber, not the condenser [Moghaddam ¶ 0051]. Thus, is believed that the prior art fulfills the claims requirement as they are plainly written because the invention of Moghaddam discloses that the condensate is used to cool the air [Moghaddam ¶ 0068]. Any further limitations to which Applicant believes the invention holds over the prior art must be present in the claims, and cannot be extrapolated from the specification. Accordingly, the rejection is maintained.
On pages 5-7 of the remarks, Applicant argues that Moghaddam’s system does not cool the hygroscopic material itself below a transition temperature. Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Specifically, Moghaddam is not taught to rely upon this limitation. Rather, the Office Action describes that Sakikawa discloses the nature of absorbing materials and their respective temperature ranges to respectively induce hydrophilic and hydrophobic states [Sakikawa ¶ 0035, 0064]. Therefore, the prior art is rejected upon the combination of references.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bonner et al. (US 11,874,018 B1) discloses a cooling and dehumidification system
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEITH STANLEY MYERS/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763