DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Applicant's election of Group I, drawn to a method of treating a hematological malignancy by administering a compound of formula I and an allosteric inhibitor, in the reply filed on 6/23/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 1-2, 5-10, 14, 17-22, 26-27, 38, 40, 43 are pending. Claims 22, 26-27, 38, 40, 43 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 1-2, 5-10, 14, 17-21 are examined herein insofar as they read on the elected invention and species.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 5-10, 14, 17-21 are rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,544,370 in view of Hughes et al. (“Asciminib in Chronic Myeloid Leukemia after ABL Kinase Inhibitor Failure,” N. Eng. J. Med. 2019, 381, 2315-2326).
The referenced claims recite a method of treating chronic myeloid leukemia caused by BCR-ABL mutation that is resistant to ponatinib, wherein the mutation is T315I, by administering a compound of formula IA (same structure as the claimed HQP-1351).
However, the referenced claims fail to disclose the allosteric inhibitor, asciminib.
Hughes et al. teach that asciminib is an allosteric inhibitor that binds a myristoyl site of the BCR-ABL1 protein, locking BCR-ABL1 into an inactive conformation through a mechanism distinct from those for all other ABL kinase inhibitors. Asciminib was active in treating patients with CML who had resistance to tyrosine kinase inhibitors (page 2315).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the claimed invention was made, to have combined the compound of formula IA, with asciminib, as taught by Hughes et al., in the method of treating a patient with CML resistant to tyrosine kinase inhibitors caused by T315I mutation.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the compound of formula IA with asciminib because both are individually known to be useful for treating CML resistant to tyrosine kinase inhibitors caused by T315I mutation. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in treating CML resistant to tyrosine kinase inhibitors caused by T315I mutation by the combined therapeutically additive effect of two known active agents being used for the same purpose.
Claims 1-2, 5-10, 14, 17-21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6-14, 16-21, 36-37 of copending Application No. 19/422,564 in view of Hughes et al. (“Asciminib in Chronic Myeloid Leukemia after ABL Kinase Inhibitor Failure,” N. Eng. J. Med. 2019, 381, 2315-2326).
The referenced claims recite a method of treating chronic myeloid leukemia caused by BCR-ABL mutation that is resistant to tyrosine kinase inhibitors, wherein the mutation is T315I, by administering a compound of formula IA (same structure as the claimed HQP-1351).
However, the referenced claims fail to disclose the allosteric inhibitor, asciminib.
Hughes et al. teach that asciminib is an allosteric inhibitor that binds a myristoyl site of the BCR-ABL1 protein, locking BCR-ABL1 into an inactive conformation through a mechanism distinct from those for all other ABL kinase inhibitors. Asciminib was active in treating patients with CML who had resistance to tyrosine kinase inhibitors (page 2315).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the claimed invention was made, to have combined the compound of formula IA, with asciminib, as taught by Hughes et al., in the method of treating a patient with CML resistant to tyrosine kinase inhibitors caused by T315I mutation.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the compound of formula IA with asciminib because both are individually known to be useful for treating CML resistant to tyrosine kinase inhibitors caused by T315I mutation. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in treating CML resistant to tyrosine kinase inhibitors caused by T315I mutation by the combined therapeutically additive effect of two known active agents being used for the same purpose.
This is a provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-2, 5-10, 14, 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being obvious over Ren et al. (“Identification of GZD824 as an Orally Bioavailable Inhibitor That Targets Phosphorylated and Nonphosphorylated Breakpoint Cluster Region−Abelson (Bcr-Abl) Kinase and Overcomes Clinically Acquired Mutation-Induced Resistance against Imatinib,” J. Med. Chem. 2013, 56, 879-894) in view of Hughes et al. (“Asciminib in Chronic Myeloid Leukemia after ABL Kinase Inhibitor Failure,” N. Eng. J. Med. 2019, 381, 2315-2326).
The instant claims are directed to a method of treating a hematological malignancy by administering a compound of formula I and an allosteric inhibitor.
Ren et al. teach that GZD824 (same structure as the claimed HQP-1351) is a novel orally bioavailable inhibitor against broad spectrum Bcr-Abl mutants, including T315I, in patients with chronic myelogenous leukemia (CML) having imatinib resistance. Results show good oral bioavailability, reasonable half-life, and promising in vivo antitumor efficacy (abstract). Ren et al. also teach that several small molecules are capable of inhibiting Bcr-Abl mutant, such as the allosteric inhibitor, GNF-2 (page 880, left column, first paragraph).
However, Ren et al. fail to disclose the allosteric inhibitor, asciminib.
Hughes et al. teach that asciminib is an allosteric inhibitor that binds a myristoyl site of the BCR-ABL1 protein, locking BCR-ABL1 into an inactive conformation through a mechanism distinct from those for all other ABL kinase inhibitors. Asciminib was active in treating patients with CML who had resistance to tyrosine kinase inhibitors (page 2315).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the claimed invention was made, to have combined GZD824, as taught by Ren et al., with asciminib, as taught by Hughes et al., in the method of treating a patient with CML resistant to tyrosine kinase inhibitors caused by T315I mutation.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine GZD824 with asciminib because both are individually known to be useful for treating CML resistant to tyrosine kinase inhibitors caused by T315I mutation. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in treating CML resistant to tyrosine kinase inhibitors caused by T315I mutation by the combined therapeutically additive effect of two known active agents being used for the same purpose.
Conclusion
/Yong S. Chong/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1623