DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Korea on April 11, 2022.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communication filed on April 11, 2023.
Claims 1 – 20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references provided in the Information Disclosure Statements filed on July 14, 2023 and April 2, 2025 have been considered. Signed copies of the corresponding 1449 forms have been included with this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ji (US20180375035A1) in view of Hwang (US20200181184A1).
As per claims 1 – 6, 8 – 14, Ji teaches:
An organometallic compound represented by Formula 1
, wherein L1 is a ligand represented by Formula 1A
and L2 is a ligand represented by Formula 1B
(Ji teaches organometallic ligands containing a ligand of Formula I
(Abstract). A particular ligand within the scope of Formula I is
([0094]). Li teaches the organometallic complexes may contain additional ligands of the Formula
([0109]), wherein Ra and Rb can be selected from silyl groups ([0107]). A specific compound taught by Li is
, which does not contain the claimed silyl group. However, Ji teaches silyl groups are allowed on the ppy ligand ([0107]). Furthermore, Hwang teaches ligands of Formula 2B
. Hwang teaches that the silyl group in the fifth position of the pyridine ring provides excellent heat resistance and decomposition resistance characteristics to the compound, resulting in devices with high stability and long lifespan ([0184]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the substituted alkyl group in the compound of Ji above with a silyl group and arrive at a compound of the claimed invention. When modified in this way, the modified compound reads on the claimed Formula wherein M1 is Ir; n1 is 2; n2 is 1; X1 and X3 are N; X2 and X4 are carbon; CY1 is a C5 heterocyclic group, namely a pyridine group as required by claim 4, and a group represented by Formula 1-9 in claim 6
; CY2 is a C6 carbocyclic group, namely a benzene group as required by claim 4; CY3 is a 6-membered heterocyclic group, namely a pyridine group as required by claim 5, represented by Formula 3-1 in claim 8
; Z1 is Si(Q1)(Q2)(Q3), wherein Q1 – Q3 are methyl groups; and a1 is 1; a2 is 0 so that Z2 does not exist; Y1 and Y2 are both O; X11 to X18 are C(R), wherein R are hydrogen; R3 is a substituted alkyl group and b3 is an integer of 2. The compound is represented by Formula 5-2 in claim 13. This compound is the same as compound 26 in claim 14
.)
Ji includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Ji being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of improved color saturation ([0167]), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E). It additionally would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the specific compound of Ji with a silyl group motivated by the desire to predictably provide excellent heat resistance and decomposition resistance characteristics to the compound, resulting in devices with high stability and long lifespan as taught by Hwang ([0184]).
As per claim 7, Ji also teaches that Rb can be selected from silyl groups ([0107]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the phenyl ring of the ppy ligand and arrive at a compound, such as that of Formula 2-17
.
Ji includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Ji being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of improved color saturation ([0167]), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claims 15, 16, and 19 Ji teaches:
An organic light-emitting device comprising a first electrode, a second electrode, and an organic layer located between the first and second electrode, wherein the organic layer comprises an emission layer, wherein the first electrode is an anode, the second electrode is a cathode, the organic layer further comprises a hole transport region located between the first electrode and the emission layer, and an electron transport region located between the emission layer and the second electrode, wherein the hole transport region comprises a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, an electron blocking layer, a buffer layer or a combination therefore, and the electron transport region comprises a hole blocking layer, an electron transport layer, an electron injection layer, or a combination thereof ([0035]: “Device 100 may include a substrate 110, an anode 115, a hole injection layer 120, a hole transport layer 125, an electron blocking layer 130, an emissive layer 135, a hole blocking layer 140, an electron transport layer 145, an electron injection layer 150, a protective layer 155, a cathode 160, and a barrier layer 170.”)
Wherein the emission layer comprises the organometallic compound ([0117]: “According to another aspect, an emissive region in an OLED is disclosed. The emissive region comprises a compound comprising a first ligand LA of Formula I as defined herein.”)
As per claim 17, Ji teaches:
Wherein the emission layer further comprises a host ([0119]: “In some embodiments, the emissive region further comprises a host.”)
Wherein an amount of host in the emission layer is greater than an amount of the organometallic compound in the emission layer (As generally understood, host materials are the matrix of the layer, and are present in an amount greater than the amount of any guest dopant materials.)
As per claim 18, Ji teaches:
Wherein the emission layer emits a green light having a maximum emission wavelength in a range of about 490 nm to about 550 nm (In [0167] Ji teaches that the specific compound above emits green phosphorescence at 540 nm. It is the Examiner’s position that the small modification above would still result in a compound that emits in the claimed range.)
As per claim 20, Ji teaches:
An electronic apparatus comprising the organic light-emitting device ([0028]: “A consumer product comprising the OLED is also disclosed.”)
Conclusion
All claims are rejected.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US20240122056A1 and CN114437138A both teach ligands that could be used in a rejection against the claims as currently presented.
/JENNA N CHANDHOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789