Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 13 recites “wherein the preparation of the return hose is started automatically in response to output of corresponding sensors” which is not originally disclosed and thus is new matter.
In the remarks filed on December 2, 2025, Applicant states that support for claim 13 is found at least on p. 7, line 20. However, no explicit support is found therein. The original specification does not disclose automatically starting the preparation in response to corresponding sensors. What are the corresponding sensors?
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a short refilling” which is indefinite. How short is short? The Examiner suggests the following amendments: “a
Claim 1 recites “a changing filling level” which is indefinite. What defines a changing filling level? The Examiner suggests incorporated the subject matter of claim 2 into claim 1, and then cancelling claim 2.
Claim 13 recites “corresponding sensors” which is indefinite. What do the sensors sense, and how are they corresponding?
Claim 14, line 13, “the supply devices” lack antecedent basis clarity. The Examiner suggests the following amendments: “the at least two supply devices”.
Claim 14 recites “a rinsing time” which is indefinite. What is the rinsing for, and how is the rinsing related to the claimed elements?
Claims not listed above are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4 and 7-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE
102013100812 in view of Bauer et al. (US 2012/0204999).
DE 102013100812 (figs. 1-2; see whole document of English translation attached to the Office
Action mailed on April 1, 2024) discloses a method for changing material in an extrusion device
comprising at least two supply devices ([0011], a single feed material OR different feed materials at the
same time; two or more feedstocks; [0013], at least one feed tank 20 and one feed weigher 30 for each
feed material on the extrusion device; fig. 5, [0046]) for supplying feedstock for an extruder 60,
comprising the following steps:
identifying a change request for changing the material in the extrusion device ([0006], [0010],
[0039]; a material change request),
preparing the at least two supply devices for changing the material by lowering a filling level of
the at least two supply devices ([0013]-[0015], the level of the flow container 20 is lowered (emptied) to
a changing fill level wherein excess feed material is no longer required for the current recipe at which
point the flow container can be completely emptied into a separate container so that the material
change is as short as possible),
separating the at least two supply devices from a feed of feedstock to the extruder ([0028],
sealed against flow (to separate); [0039] closing flap 44 separates the flow container 20 from feed to the
extruder 60 as shown in figs. 1-2),
discharging feedstock from the separated at least two supply devices to empty the at least two
supply devices ([0015], [0016], [0028], [0039]-[0041]; flow container 20 is completely emptied),
filling subsequent materials into the empty at least two supply devices [0015], [0028], [0039]-
[0041],
wherein a separate container (a discharge container) is used for emptying/discharging the
feedstock from the flow tank (flow container), which emptied/discharged feedstock material can be disposed of as waste or reused or recycled ([0015]-[0016], excess feed material in the flow container 20
is completely emptied/discharged into a separate container);
wherein the extrusion device comprises filling level sensors which initiate a short refilling in the form of a refilling push so that the filling level of the at least two supply devices does not go below a changing filling level ([0013]-[0015], individual fill sensors report fill level; as soon as the fill level has reduced to such an extent that there is risk of the extruder running empty (i.e., level below the changing filling level), refilling occurs before the extruder runs empty (i.e., refilled so it does not go below the changing filling level)).
However, DE 102013100812 does not disclose the discharge container being cleaned to prepare
the supply device, and being fastened to a container interface of the respective supply device, or
wherein removal of a filled discharge container is carried out after the discharge, as recited by instant
claim 1.
Bauer et al. (US 2012/0204999) disclose a discharge method including a supply device 1 for
supplying a pourable bulk material such as powder or particulates [0033]; wherein a discharge container
10 is removably fastened to a container interface of the supply device ([0040], closing mechanism 4 of
the outlet 3 of the supply device 1 seats on the approximately congruent closing mechanism 11 of inlet
12 of the container 10 (i.e., seat interface); and wherein removal of a filled discharge container is carried
out after the discharge (figs. 1-11; [0034], [0040], [0043]-[0044], closing mechanism 11 of the discharge
container 10 is connected in a detachable manner with dosing outlet 3 of the supply device 1, the discharge container is detached/removed from the supply device 1 after filling, and then travels to an
evacuation station where the filled material is removed and transferred).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was
made, to modify the discharge container and method of DE 102013100812 with a discharge method, as
disclosed by Bauer et al. (US 2012/0204999), because DE 102013100812 discloses discharging feedstock
(bulk material) into a separate container (a discharge container), as disclosed above, and because such a
modification is known in the bulk material supply art and would provide an alternative configuration for
discharging the material into a separate container (a discharge container) known to be operable in the
bulk material supply art. As to the separate (discharge) container being cleaned to prepare the supply
device, DE 102013100812 further discloses that feed material may adhere to parts of the device, which
parts are cleaned from the feed material as a preparation step [0019]-[0022]. It would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to further modify the
method by cleaning the separate (discharge) container to prepare the supply device because it is known
in the art to clean parts of the device as a preparation step, as disclosed by DE 102013100812, and
because such cleaning would prevent mixing/contamination of the feed material being discharged into
the separate (discharge) container with any material previously in the separate (discharge) container
thereby enabling recycling of the discharged feed material. Note that DE 102013100812 further
discloses that discharged feed material in the separate (discharge) container can be returned to a
collecting container/silo containing that particular feed material [0015] (i.e., removal of material from the container).
DE 102013100812 further discloses the method:
(Claim 2) wherein the filling level of the at least two supply devices is reduced to a changing
filling level to prepare said supply devices ({0013]-[0015], the level of the flow container 20 is lowered
(emptied) to a changing fill level wherein excess feed material is no longer required for the current recipe at which point the flow container can be completely emptied into a separate container so that
the material change is as short as possible);
(Claim 4) wherein the steps at least of identifying, of preparing, of separating, of discharging or
of filling in are carried out automatically, based on a manual or an automatic activation [0010];
(Claim 7) wherein a cleaning step for cleaning the separated at least two supply devices is
carried out after the discharge of the feedstock from the separated supply devices ([0019]-[0022],
[0028], the flow container/tank 20 is sealed (separated), completely emptied and then cleaned);
(Claim 8) wherein the subsequent materials are brought to the extrusion device to prepare the
supply devices for changing the material ((0009], [0015], [0039], [0041], filling the empty flow container
is carried out as a preparation step; fig. 1, follow-up material is brought by suction pipe 90);
(Claim 9) wherein the material is changed in parallel at least sectionally in terms of time for all of
the supply devices of the extrusion device, except for a last supply device of all the supply devices
({0011], the extrusion device is fed with a single feed material (i.e., a first single supply device) or with
different feed materials (i.e., plural first supply devices), wherein changing plural feed stocks/materials
(i.e., plural first supply devices) can be carried out in parallel; a further modification includes adding a
last supply device (smaller flow container 24), wherein while feedstock is changed in the first single
supply device (or alternatively when different feedstocks are changed in the plural first supply devices in
parallel, as mentioned above), the last supply device feeds feedstock to the extrusion device (fig. 2;
[0018], [0042]); DE 102013100812 discloses that individual features of the embodiments can be freely
combined with one another [0047]);
(Claim 10) wherein a completion signal is output after the discharge of the feedstock, which
indicates the completion of the discharge to the operating personnel (paragraphs [0012]-[0013], [0025],
[0027], current status (signal) is output on an optical display (to operating personnel), a sensor device
communicates the fill level of the flow container and current operating status, note that a zero fill level
communication output on the optical display would define a completion signal indicating completion of
the discharge to operating personnel);
(Claim 11) wherein the cleaning step has the form of cleaning by a cleaning device ([0019]-
[0022], [0043], fig. 3; cleaning devices [0021]); and
(Claim 12) wherein the subsequent materials are filled into a feed container of the empty at least two supply devices ([0015], [0039]-[0041]; fig. 1; the follow-up (subsequent) material from silo 110 is filled into an empty container feed 20).
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE
102013100812 in view of Bauer et al. (US 2012/0204999) as applied to claims 1-2, 4 and 7-12 above, and
further in view of Koch et al. (US 4,336,012).
DE 102013100812 and Bauer et al. (US 2012/0204999) discloses the method substantially as
claimed, as mentioned above, except for all the limitations recited by claims 5 and 6. DE 102013100812
further discloses that the steps of the method can be carried out in a production machine comprising at
least two of the extrusion devices (fig. 4; [0045]). However, DE 102013100812 does not disclose each
extrusion device produces one layer of a plastic film.
Koch et al. (US4,336,012) disclose a method of extruding a multilayer plastic film comprising
providing at least two extrusion devices 24, 25, 26, wherein each extrusion device produces one layer A,
B, C of the plastic film (figs. 1-17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was
made, to further modify the at least two of the extrusion devices of DE 102013100812 wherein each
extrusion device produces one layer of a plastic film, as disclosed by Koch et al. (US 4,336,012), because
such a modification is known in the art and would enable the method to produce a multilayer plastic
film.
As to claim 6, DE 102013100812 further discloses the method, wherein an analysis of all
feedstock and of all subsequent materials, on the basis of which a change order is output, which
provides an execution order at least for the individual extrusion devices or for the individual supply
devices of the extrusion devices, takes place after the identification of the change request ((fig. 4;
[0045], two extrusion devices according to the embodiment of fig. 1; [0013]-[0017], after change
request, analysis of current recipe (feedstocks of the extrusion devices) and expected recipe
(subsequent materials for the extrusion devices) provides calculation of the point in time and under
what conditions the production of the first recipe is ended, on the basis of this knowledge and
calculation, a preparation step/steps (a change order) is/are carried out (output), which enables
execution (provides the execution order) of the material change for the extrusion devices and/or the
supply devices).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102013100812 in
view of Satake et al. (US 4,955,550) and Mohammed et al. (US 2014/0261873).
DE 102013100812 (figs. 1-2; see whole document of English translation attached to the Office
Action mailed on April 1, 2024) discloses a method for changing material in an extrusion device
comprising at least two supply devices ([0011], a single feed material OR different feed materials at the
same time; two or more feedstocks; [0013], at least one feed tank 20 and one feed weigher 30 for each
feed material on the extrusion device; fig. 5, [0046]) for supplying feedstock for an extruder 60,
comprising the following steps:
identifying a change request for changing the material in the extrusion device ({O006], [0010],
[0039]; a material change request),
preparing the at least two supply devices for changing the material by lowering a filling level of
the at least two supply devices ([0013]-[0015], the level of the flow container 20 is lowered (emptied) to
a changing fill level wherein excess feed material is no longer required for the current recipe at which
point the flow container can be completely emptied into a separate container so that the material
change is as short as possible),
separating the at least two supply devices from a feed of feedstock to the extruder ([0028],
sealed against flow (to separate); [0039] closing flap 44 separates the flow container 20 from feed to the
extruder 60 as shown in figs. 1-2),
discharging feedstock from the separated at least two supply devices to empty the at least two
supply devices ([0015], [0016], [0028], [0039]-[0041]; flow container 20 is completely emptied),
filling subsequent material into the empty at least two supply devices [0015], [0028], [0039] -
[0041],
wherein a separate container (a discharge container) is used for emptying/discharging the
feedstock from the flow tank (flow container), which emptied/discharged feedstock material can be
disposed of as waste or reused or recycled ([0015]-[0016], excess feed material in the flow container 20
is completely emptied/discharged into a separate container).
However, DE 102013100812 does not disclose a return hose, which returns the discharged
feedstock into a storage device, is fastened to a corresponding container interface.
Satake et al. (US 4,955,550) disclose a method of changing material in an extrusion device
(abstract; fig. 2), including a container 33 for emptying/discharging feedstock, wherein a return hose 62,
72, 74, 75, which returns the discharged feedstock into a storage device 22, 23, 24, is fastened to a
corresponding container interface (the return hose is connected to the container 33 at a container
interface as shown in fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was
made, to modify the method of DE 102013100812 wherein a return hose, which returns the discharged
feedstock into a storage device, is fastened to a corresponding container interface, as disclosed by
Satake et al. (US 4,955,550) because such a modification is known in the art and would enable discharged feedstock to be returned to a storage device and because DE 102013100812 discloses that
discharged material in the separate container can be reused or recycled, as mentioned above. DE
102013100812 further disclose that a return hose (suction line) is prepared by cleaning the return hose
directly after a respective change as the previous feed material may adhere to the return hose ([0019],
[0040]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention
was made, to further prepare the return hose by cleaning the return hose directly after a respective
material change, as disclosed by DE 102013100812, because such a modification is known in the art and
would enable the return hose to be prepared for a coming material change. As shown in 2 of Satake et
al. (US 4,955,550), if the return hose 62 is cleaned after a respective material change in view of the
modification above, the return hose 62 would be already present in a receptive position and
embodiment for a coming material change.
As to the limitations of “wherein the preparation of the return hose is started automatically in response to output of corresponding sensors”, Mohammed et al. (US 2014/0261873) discloses the preparation of a discharge container 192 is automatically started in response to presence sensors 205, 210, 215 to detect if the container 192 is in a fill position and to enable the start of the discharge into the container 192. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to further modify the method wherein the preparation of the discharge container hose is started automatically in response to output of corresponding sensors, as disclosed by Mohammed et al. (US 2014/0261873), because such a modification is known in the discharging art and would provide an alternative configuration enabling detection of a discharge container to enable the start of the discharge. As mentioned above, it is known to discharge using a discharge container or a return hose. Thus, it would have been further obvious, if a return hose is used, that starting automatically the preparation of the return hose in response to the sensors would detect if the return hose is in a position to receive the discharge.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102013100812 in
view of Bauer et al. (US 2012/0204999), Koch et al. (US 4,336,012) and Stevens et al. (US 2013/0131288).
DE 102013100812 (figs. 1-2; see whole document of English translation attached to the Office
Action mailed on April 1, 2024) discloses a method for changing material in an extrusion device
comprising at least two supply devices ([0011], a single feed material OR different feed materials at the
same time; two or more feedstocks; [0013], at least one feed tank 20 and one feed weigher 30 for each
feed material on the extrusion device; fig. 5, [0046]) for supplying feedstock for an extruder 60,
comprising the following steps:
identifying a change request for changing the material in the extrusion device ({O006], [0010],
[0039]; a material change request),
preparing the at least two supply devices for changing the material by lowering a filling level of
the at least two supply devices ([0013]-[0015], the level of the flow container 20 is lowered (emptied) to
a changing fill level wherein excess feed material is no longer required for the current recipe at which
point the flow container can be completely emptied into a separate container so that the material
change is as short as possible),
separating the at least two supply devices from a feed of feedstock to the extruder ([0028],
sealed against flow (to separate); [0039] closing flap 44 separates the flow container 20 from feed to the
extruder 60 as shown in figs. 1-2),
discharging feedstock from the separated at least two supply devices to empty the at least two
supply devices ([0015], [0016], [0028], [0039]-[0041]; flow container 20 is completely emptied),
filling subsequent material into the empty at least two supply devices [0015], [0028], [0039]-
[0041],
wherein a separate container (a discharge container) is used for emptying/discharging the
feedstock from the flow tank (flow container), which emptied/discharged feedstock material can be
disposed of as waste or reused or recycled ({0015]-[0016], excess feed material in the flow container 20
is completely emptied/discharged into a separate container); and
wherein an analysis of all feedstock and of all subsequent materials, on the basis of which a
change order is output, which provides an execution order at least for the individual extrusion devices or
for the individual supply devices of the extrusion devices, takes place after the identification of the
change request ((fig. 4; [0045], two extrusion devices according to the embodiment of fig. 1; [0013]-
[0017], after change request, analysis of current recipe (feedstocks of the extrusion devices) and
expected recipe (subsequent materials for the extrusion devices) provides calculation of the point in
time and under what conditions the production of the first recipe is ended, on the basis of this knowledge and calculation, a preparation step/steps (a change order) is/are carried out (output), which
enables execution (provides the execution order) of the material change for the extrusion devices
and/or the supply devices), wherein the change order comprises analysis of a viscosity of a material
([0022], high viscosity differences between the feed material and the follow-up material are analyzed
(considered)).
However, DE 102013100812 does not disclose the discharge container being cleaned to prepare
the supply device, and being fastened to a container interface of the respective supply device, OR
wherein removal of a filled discharge container is carried out after the discharge, OR wherein the steps
are carried out in a production machine comprising at least two of the extrusion device, wherein each
extrusion device produces one layer of a plastic film, OR wherein a rinsing time is changed depending on the viscosity.
Bauer et al. (US 2012/0204999) disclose a discharge method including a supply device 1 for
supplying a pourable bulk material such as powder or particulates [0033]; wherein a discharge container
10 is removably fastened to a container interface of the supply device ([0040], closing mechanism 4 of
the outlet 3 of the supply device 1 seats on the approximately congruent closing mechanism 11 of inlet
12 of the container 10 (i.e., seat interface); and wherein removal of a filled discharge container is carried
out after the discharge (figs. 1-11; [0034], [0040], [0043]-[0044], closing mechanism 11 of the discharge
container 10 is connected in a detachable manner with dosing outlet 3 of the supply device 1, the
discharge container is detached/removed from the supply device 1 after filling, and then travels to an
evacuation station where the filled material is removed and transferred).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was
made, to modify the discharge container and method of DE 102013100812 with a discharge method, as
disclosed by Bauer et al. (US 2012/0204999), because DE 102013100812 discloses discharging feedstock
(bulk material) into a separate container (a discharge container), as disclosed above, and because such a
modification is known in the bulk material supply art and would provide an alternative configuration for
discharging the material into a separate container (a discharge container) known to be operable in the
bulk material supply art. As to the separate (discharge) container being cleaned to prepare the supply
device, DE 102013100812 further discloses that feed material may adhere to parts of the device, which
parts are cleaned from the feed material as a preparation step [(0019]-[0022]. It would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to further modify the
method by cleaning the separate (discharge) container to prepare the supply device because it is known
in the art to clean parts of the device as a preparation step, as disclosed by DE 102013100812, and
because such cleaning would prevent mixing/contamination of the feed material being discharged into
the separate (discharge) container with any material previously in the separate (discharge) container
thereby enabling recycling of the discharged feed material. Note that DE 102013100812 further
discloses that discharged feed material in the separate (discharge) container can be returned to a
collecting container/silo containing that particular feed material [0015].
Koch et al. (US 4,336,012) disclose a method of extruding a multilayer plastic film comprising
providing at least two extrusion devices 24, 25, 26, wherein each extrusion device produces one layer A,
B, C of the plastic film (figs. 1-17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was
made, to further modify the at least two of the extrusion devices of DE 102013100812 wherein each
extrusion device produces one layer of a plastic film, as disclosed by Koch et al. (US 4,336,012), because
such a modification is known in the art and would enable the method to produce a multilayer plastic
film.
DE 102013100812 further discloses that feed material may adhere to parts of the device, which
parts are cleaned from the feed material as a preparation step [0019]-[0022]. Stevens et al. (US 2013/0131288) discloses cleaning extrusion equipment between runs of different polymers by rinsing [0007], [0045].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to further modify the method by rinsing, as disclosed by Stevens et al. (US 2013/0131288), because such a modification is known in the art and would enable cleaning between production runs of different polymers and because DE 102013100812 discloses cleaning is desired. It would be obvious, if not inherent, that rinsing would require a rinsing time that enables the equipment to be cleaned. As to
the rinsing time being changed depending on the viscosity, viscosity dictates the flowability of the material. Thus, it would have been further obvious that the viscosity (flowability) of the material would affect the rinsing time. For example, materials with low viscosity flow easily and thus require less rinse time to enable cleaning. Material with high viscosity do not flow easily and thus require more rinse time to enabling cleaning.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 2, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that claim 1 was amended to require that the extrusion device comprises filling level sensors which initiate a short refilling in the form of a refilling push SO that the filling level of the at least two supply devices does not go below a changing filling level. This is not taught or suggested by DE 10 2013 100812 and Bauer. DE 10 2013 100812 recites sensors whose readings are used to predict when the first recipe will be terminated (e.g., [0013]). However, DE 10 2013 100812 does not suggest a refilling push or an attempt to prevent going below a changing filling level. Bauer does not have sensors, at all, and does not suggest a refilling push or an attempt to prevent going below a changing filling level.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Such limitations are taught by DE 10 2013 100812 as mentioned in the prior art rejections above.
Applicant argues the new limitations of claims 13 and 14 However, such limitations are obvious in view of the newly cited art used in the prior art rejections above.
Conclusion
/J.S.L/Examiner, Art Unit 1744
/XIAO S ZHAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1744